IMDb > Plan B (2001/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Plan B
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Plan B More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Even Diane Keaton and Paul Sorvino Can't Save this Mess!

2/10
Author: gradyharp from United States
4 May 2006

PLAN B has the appearance of a quickly made, unedited, sloppy script for a movie with the attempt for an outing for the actors involved - an outing that should have been nixed from the start. It is just another Mafia-based 'comedy' that has nothing new and lowers the standard for those participating.

Joe Maloni (Paul Sorvino) is the crime boss more concerned about clothing and appearances than about his business of control. His personal assistant Mario (Anthony DeSando) is dumber than dirt and his ignorance is supposed to be funny. Maloni has whacked one of his debtors (who just happens to be married to bookish Fran - Diane Keaton) and Maloni takes Fran on as his assistant to work off her dead husband's debt by being Maloni's 'hit man'. Fran is afraid of her own shadow and is unable to carry out Maloni's assignments, electing instead to transport her 'whackees' to Florida to hide at her brother James' house until she can figure out what to do next. This alternative to killing the three candidates is called Plan B, Plan A being to kill them! The ending is wholly predictable just as is every line assigned in the script to the characters.

Diane Keaton has made a lot of fine films and is one of our most talented actresses and comediennes, but here she screams and rants and twitches her way through a ridiculous part that quickly becomes annoying to watch. Paul Sorvino is, well, the Paul Sorvino type cast from other mobster films. The supporting cast is likewise allowed to play to the balcony in the broadest slapstick, pratfall fashion imaginable. What is supposed to be a comedy ends up being just silly and overdone. Director Greg Yaitanes needs to go back to TV sitcoms: had this flimsy story been compressed into a half-hour gig it might have had a chance. Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Annoying......

5/10
Author: Mike from The Netherlands
9 September 2002

After 5 minutes of watching Diana Keaton Playing this clumsy bookkeeper, i wished somebody shot her (in the movie that is..) The character she plays is very annoying and overdone, as are some other characters. There is little to laugh in this comedy. However, the second part of this movie gets better and the plot of the movie is less predictable than the jokes in it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

I still love it!!

10/10
Author: mpackard-4 from United States
20 April 2006

The plot line is very funny, and right away you know this movie is going to be good. Diane Keaton is perfect in her role, and the concept is kind of like taking a Woody Allen movie and merging it with a Mafioso theme, all in a really clever and funny way. I can definitely watch his movie over and over and find new things to laugh at. Paul Sorvino is also really good, and Natsha Lyonne was in her prime and still on track for a good career for this one. I have a weakness for movies based in New York City, but this one is especially fun because you see good visuals. Strong cast and the movie progresses well. I love quirky comedies and this one is a must see :)

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A gem that you don't want to miss

10/10
Author: Livia McRee from Rockport, MA
19 June 2002

I was fortunate enough to see a sneak preview of this truly wacky mob comedy, which hasn't been released yet. It's a great film, on many levels: The plot is so off-beat that you can't help getting drawn in. You get to see awesome actors like Paul Sorvino and Burt Young play with some fabulously funny writing. And director Greg Yaitanes creates a spaghetti-western like world that is just so visually COOL, you have to see this film on the big screen. Hopefully, this movie is coming soon to a theater near you!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Funny Movie!! Good for Mafia Laughs!!

10/10
Author: Holly Magdalene from United States
20 April 2006

I really loved this movie and I am not even a Diane Keaton fan! There are so many mafia movies like Goodfellas and Godfather that when a really funny mob comedy comes out like Plan B (or Analyze This) its a lot of fun to watch. This movie is a lot of fun and follows Fran, a bookkeeper played by Diane Keaton, as she finds herself involved with the mob in a lot of crazy situations. The story gets pretty wacky but is so much fun to watch. I was laughing out loud so many times and my husband was laughing too; that doesn't always happen. I would rate this movie about even with (or maybe just below?) Analyze This and definitely better than Analyze That and The Whole Nine (and Ten) Yards! The movie never gets boring and its fun to watch Bob Balaban, Burt Young (from the Rocky movies) and Paul Sorvino have so much fun working together. I give this one an A-

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Are you serious??

1/10
Author: jericho34 from United States
18 April 2009

Screenwriter Lisa Lutz began writing the screenplay at the age of 21 in 1991

Is she even in business? If someone gave her another chance after this piece of crap, she's up for the most Fortunate Person Of Ever award.This movie sucks to no END...It never ceases to amaze me what the turn into movies...and the fact that they made this writer put it off for a bit? Seriously? I can write better crap than this in my sleep.

OK, so how many lines to I have to type? I don't get this at all. I guess I"m a newbie. I guess I don't understand why there should ever be a limit to what anyone has to say...or a quota? Seriously, I don't care if you have a one word sentence...or even a one word response. I mean, c'mon?

Thanks...is this enough, finally?

This movie is worthless.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Very Clever

10/10
Author: from United States
20 April 2006

This irreverent comedy rolls along at a great pace, with Diane Keaton's one-liners and witty banter with the rest of the cast. Its a madcap comedy in the style of the 1930s style of comedy. Kind of like "Bringing Up Baby" meets "The Sopranos". In fact I could recognize a bunch of Sopranos actors playing supporting roles here and there. By the end of the movie the situations get so crazy I was really laughing! Anyone who is a fan of mafia related movies must go see this one. What makes this movie really funny is the interaction between all the talented actors. So, in the end, I rate this movie as 'Excellent' and would recommend to anyone.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Disappointed...

Author: Thomas Holmström Frandzen (thf@fzc.dk) from Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark
26 July 2002



The cast looked promising, the storyline seemed to hold some laughs, and I was in the mood for some off-beat Diane Keaton gangster comedy.

Well, there are a few laughs to be had through-out the movie, but most of the time I just thought 'when is something interesting going to happen?' and 'when does Diane stop crying/shouting/babbling hysterically?'. I'm used to watching Diane Keaton playing this type of character, but in this case she really overdid it (may be the Director's fault, who knows). An outright terrible performance is made by Anthony DeSando playing the son/sidekick/whatever of Sorvino's character. The part in itself is exceptionally stupid (very cliché), but DeSando manages to make the character appear so stupid, that it isn't even funny (which I believe it was intended to be).

Bob Balaban (as Keaton's brother), Burt Young (as one of the persons she's asked to kill) and sometimes also Maury Chaykin makes the last half the movie somewhat tolerable, after 40 minutes of Keaton freaking out all the time.

The movie isn't exactly terrible, but it is the worst Diane Keaton-flick I've seen for some time.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Ladies and Gentleman I Give You The Worst Movie Ever Made

1/10
Author: TD-TAS from Australia
19 August 2003

Simply put, this is the worst movie since "Police Academy: Mission to Moscow" (if you liked that movie you will probably like this one).

What were they thinking ? Some ideas should stay just that, an idea. The fact that this idea could itself to film should be a criminal offense.

What was so bad about it I hear you ask. One word ... EVERYTHING.

Cost to Hire: $4.50 Cost in Time to Watch: 89 Minutes

I want a refund on both!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history