IMDb > "Six Feet Under" (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Six Feet Under"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Six Feet Under" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 242 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

six feet under

10/10
Author: DeRuve18 from United States
4 January 2008

i picked up the complete box set when it went on sale for 125$ which seems to be the best sale deal on this and i watched the first couple episodes and i wasn't as pleased as i was told i would be. but i continued to watch and i really couldn't stop. something about the dry humor the ups and downs the fact that i shared some characteristics with these people and some of the same problems made this show seem real and comforting to watch. does that make sense? it wasn't laugh out loud funny it wasn't cry my eyes out sad (all the time) it was just very pleasant to watch from beginning to end. each season brings a little bit more to the table. i really did not want the series to end and now that i have finished it... i will revisit and watch all five seasons over again.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Best Series Ever

10/10
Author: (water.wiz@verizon.net) from San Bernardino, California
23 November 2007

I just finished watching the final four episodes of the final season of Six Feet Under. I had started watching the show on HBO's On Demand last year, and immediately became addicted to it. I eagerly awaited the new episodes to arrive and before I knew it, I was viewing the final 4 episodes tonight. The series finale, especially the final 5 to 10 minutes,is without question, the most incredibly emotional moments I've ever witnessed for any television show either network or cable. The soundtrack tied to the final moments of this episode fit just perfectly. It was simply overwhelming. After viewing the series finale, and regaining my composure, I came to the conclusion that what I had just finished watching was the best show I'd ever seen on T.V. I doubt that I will ever see anything that could approach the impact that this series provided. The only downside to Six Feet Under is that it is over.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Unique show that brought death out of closet

9/10
Author: mervei from Turkey
5 March 2007

I just finished watching the entire series and I can truly say that "Everybody's Waiting" was the best episode of any shows ever! The show depicted infinite number of ways to die in a very honest, true, touching and provocative way and I have witnessed silent, violent and sometimes timely deaths throughout the show. Yet, the last six-minutes depicting the deaths of all major characters through Claire's vision was definitely unique in TV history. I think SFU is one of the best shows I have ever seen despite its overly sexually explicit content. I think I will need to watch it a couple of times to appreciate the nuances I may have missed watching for the first time. I learnt that there was no time limit for grief and that "time is the best remedy" is nonsense. In each episode, the major character was darkness. I had a strong sense of identification towards the Fishers who were in the midst of a trauma.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It's hard, but it's all we have

10/10
Author: Rei_Lilith from Spain
22 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I heard that the writer of American Beauty was doing a TV show I got really excited. And of course it reminds you of American Beauty, all the dream sequences, the breaking-outs of normality. But Six Feet Under is still different. I absolutely LOVE American Beauty, I think it's very special, but 6FU is somehow darker, not with this clear message in the end that you should live your life up to the fullest and realize how much beauty there is in the world, even if it affects you at the same place in your soul and heart. It does the same in a more realistic way. I think I never thought about a TV show that it really got the meaning and essence of life like 6FU did. It's so full of funny, weird, eccentric, touching and affecting moments, but it always felt so real, so honest to me. It felt so real but never lost it's poetic language. The characters struggle, fight, get lost, find meaning again, try to do things right but never get out of their own skins, they are so much more than the general TV show protagonists with their three, maybe four characteristics. In general, I prefer watching SF epic shows like Babylon 5 or Battlestar Galactica, shows that have a goal for the end (like finding earth in BSG) which keeps me in front of the TV over the episodes. I always felt bored about the shows in a more real live setting, I never quite understood the reason why I should watch them, they felt so pointless. There is no visible goal for the end of 6FU, you just watch the characters growing and developing, trying to find the meaning of their lives, like you do yourself all the time and it's just fascinating to grow with them. There is not such a thing in life as happily ever after, life doesn't end when Pretty Woman marries Richard Gere, and 6FU never tries to make fun of you that way. We can only always try to find meaning, to live our life as long as it lasts. We can try to grow, and sometimes we succeed, like David, sometimes we fail, like Nate. We are responsible for all our actions, everything has consequences, and there never is the possibility of going back, just on and on, moving forward, until the end. Of course, it's not just the characters but the setting in a funeral home as well that makes you realize that life is so f***ing short and f***ing hard but always worth trying. THIS SHOW IS ABOUT SOMETHING, so Sex and the City (and other meaningless shows) Fans: Get ready to feel, get ready to face it. It's hard, it sometimes sucks, but it's also deep and full of possibilities. And it's all we have. One life. And the ever coming end of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Masterpiece

10/10
Author: Dennis_s_ik from Netherlands
18 February 2007

In first I would like to say that this series is the best series i have ever watched. It's one of the most realistic of series out there.

The acting is amazingly good, I really admire the cast and crew. Personally I think Peter Krause has done a great job on this one.

I also like that there isn't a main character in the series. You follow the life of different people, all facing there own problems and confronting these problems on there own different ways.

I thought Alan ball would stay in my mind as the creator of "American beauty", but for me "Six feet under" takes away that number 1 place in my list.

I would highly recommend this to anyone with interest in motion picture's with "real" emotion, leaving beside the corny melodramatic scene's and replacing them with "real" human emotions.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Simply the most pleasantly disturbing TV series ever!

10/10
Author: spasme from Romania
21 January 2007

I just finished a two week marathon of this infinitely impressive and emotionally disturbing TV series. I blazed through the episodes like never before and was eager to see what shocking facts of life the next episode had in store for me.

I cant even begin to describe how the whole show impressed me and how it slightly opened my eyes on some of the every day situations we usually take for granted.

Each episode is simply brilliant in illustrating the everyday lives of common people that have to get through life one day at a time, struggling with everything thats being thrown at them.

Throughout the series i was impressed by many episodes but the last episode really messed me up! To be honest o cried for about 20min. to the end of the last episode. This was something new for me.

So, anyway i'd just like to say that this has been 'bestest' show i've ever seen and strongly recommend it to everyone!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Six Feet and a Foot, Under

9/10
Author: adrian chan from San Francisco, CA, United States
18 January 2007

I must have been six feet under myself, to have avoided this show for so long. Either I wasn't listening or I just didn't get it. After watching the pilot last night (Series one, episode one), I sunk into the couch and played the rest of the first disc's episodes straight through. I wouldn't normally go out on a limb and post on a show this early into watching it, but its beginning really seems to set up an emotional logic that will serve the director's purposes for the show's duration that I'm going to climb out there and see what comes to mind.

In spite of its title, and its gimmick, the show is not about death. Yes, each episode kicks off when somebody kicks off (the big one; aka bites the dust, meets his maker, buys the farm up in the sky), but these are just dead people, not people who die. Since we're given their death at the beginning of an episode, we're not emotionally invested in what's happened to them. Instead, we'll become emotionally invested in what happens to the family as the death creates consequences requiring the family members' attention.

So it's not really about death, it's about an afterlife. In fact the family's been given a second chance by the death of their father (I'm not spoiling anything here). His death is a gift, sacrifice perhaps so that in his absence, members of the family might consider their own lives seriously for the first time. Each of the family members is eccentric in his or her own right. This tells us we're watching HBO. Characters, for being eccentric, will each have a greater range of action and reaction for the reason that they're quirky. But in many other respects, the show is conservative.

Though surrounded by death, the father's death gives the family a second shot at being a family. The first family was built on death, literally on the repression that bound a family to support a father's funereal existence. To individual family members, the family house was a funeral home. They were each living out a death sentence of sorts, whether by maintaining secrets, keeping the closet door locked, by lying about affairs, by struggling against conformity and family obligation while trying to be different.. In other words, the usual family dynamics!

If what it took was for the father to die in order for this particular family home to confront its deathly service, then so be it, but it's a TV show. What makes this second life interesting is that we're given a family of idiosyncratic individuals. They're going to repair and remake the family on their own terms. Isn't this the blueprint of the socially conservative, or hopeful indie? That conventional social organization won't get us there; but individualism will. And individualism can rescue dying social institutions after all. We'll each have to make our own choices, but if we're true to ourselves and honest with each other, it can be done. The recent hit "Little Miss Sunshine" followed the same line: a VW bus, quirky in its own right with a clutch gone bad and failing horn, propels a family barely contained across hundreds of miles of imminent disaster to support the hopeless but lovable dream of its youngest family spirit.

The genre is optimistic, probably as unrealistic as any other family drama, but at least optimistic. Not to mention just hilarious. So looking forward to the rest!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant

9/10
Author: edezagon from Belgium
15 January 2007

What can I say that has not already been said. I finally saw the whole thing on DVD. It is a must for any fan or anyone who has a remote interest in the series. Aside from superb acting, (even if there are some characters you may dislike) it contains a lot of real life situations, although a bit exaggerated at times (Claire's indifference, 'screw this life' attitude is a bit over the top, though well acted!) and the 'death du jour' are great but beware, if you've lived through a tough death with your family or close friend, it can be tough to see. I cried more than once! But it demystifies death and all the bonuses on the DVDs are great and give more insight into the story, why and characters (though never watched with audio commentary... find those annoying) Buy it, rent it, but watch it. It's simply brilliant. Better than 'Sex and the City' (of course this is drama, not comedy, though some situations are absurd...)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Have only been through season 1

10/10
Author: Wes Wilds from United States
8 January 2007

I've been told by many people that the best television was on HBO...I'm kind of ashamed to admit that except for movies and sports the only thing I watch on TV is ER reruns(think I'm caught up now) and Seinfeld. Honestly, while I think Seinfeld may be the most brilliant situation comedy ever made and ER is a very solid series dealing with real issues there has been nothing that has touched me, either a movie or a television show, like 6 Feet Under. This family is obviously in an abnormal situation, they live in a funeral home and deal with death every day. Yet they are still pretty close to a normal American family if you ask me. I believe the stats say in a three-sibling household it is normal to have one homosexual and even though I am hetero I find him the most compelling character of them all. When I heard his prayer at the end of episode 12 "A Private Life":"Please God. Help me take this pain away. Please fill this loneliness with your love. Help me God. Please Help me." I immediately identified with him even though as I said I'm not gay and I also don't believe in God. But I feel that every day...I'm not gay but I'm sick and feel his loneliness and the way people look at him sometimes when they know he's gay like they do when I'm in the hospital and know I'm sick. I don't know, I identify with this guy...we all look at porn, just not the gay stuff for me and while I've never done it I have to say when I was in Vegas I was tempted to call one of those numbers he got busted on. HE'S REAL!!

AS IS THE WHOLE SHOW!! These are problems that we all have even though these people have them in a crazy atmosphere and deal with some different situations than most of do. Regardless of atmosphere and situation I identify with all of the characters. My father is alive and my mother is dead so I have a little different life but I understand how the living parent all of a sudden decides to try to get closer to his/her family after their spouse is gone. I don't know everyone's names yet but the mother has created a perfect character, she's smart, tough, and yet confused on how to deal with her children. I've already raved about the gay son...the other one, while it hard to connect with someone with Hollywood looks and who seems to always know the right thing to say fits in perfectly with the family dynamic. And the younger sister is me in high school as a boy...wasn't popular, wasn't unpopular, just didn't get along with too many people as I realized that my life was about to start and it didn't have to revolve around my yearbook quote. Anyway, I have gotten chills every time the show has gone to white and the music has started. Every episode is a masterpiece in my opinion. Starting Season 2 tonight, I've heard some comments that things get a little out of control by season 3 but I'll keep an eye on this board to see some comments, etc. Amazing show, proof that television can still be an art form and just tell a really good story that when finished can make you feel better/different about yourself. Kudos to the creators.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It is like watching a mirror

10/10
Author: Fred Reverdy from France
17 July 2006

This is the greatest TV show I have ever seen. It is like watching life: having fears, making mistakes, trying, failing and succeeding, learning… You watch this show thinking that the characters are real, living next door to you; you want to go comfort them and you want them to reassure you that life will be okay. It definitively changed my way of thinking; life is not for ever (duh!) and one day I will die too; do I want to wait for things to happen or do I want to live life to its fullest? The last 15 minutes are original, simple and efficient with a great music from Sia, Breathe Me (if you are looking for it). This show is a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history