IMDb > "Six Feet Under" (2001) > Parents Guide
"Six Feet Under"
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Parents Guide for
"Six Feet Under" (2001) More at IMDbPro »

The content of this page was created directly by users and has not been screened or verified by IMDb staff.
Since the beliefs that parents want to instill in their children can vary greatly, we ask that, instead of adding your personal opinions about what is right or wrong in a film, you use this feature to help parents make informed viewing decisions by describing the facts of relevant scenes in the title for each one of the different categories: Sex and Nudity, Violence and Gore, Profanity, Alcohol/Drugs/Smoking, and Frightening/Intense Scenes.
Visit our Parents Guide Help to learn more
Unable to edit? Request access

-- Season 2 --

Some examples of the stronger sexual scenes include a man masturbating while watching porn (Episode 7); a brief depiction of a side-profile view of two men having sex (Episode 7); and a sex scene portraying two couples having sex separately on the same bed while being watched by a naked man in the corner of their room (Episode 10).

-- Six Feet Under: Season 3 (2003) --

The series contains several sexual scenes with the strongest ones occurring in Episode 12, where there is a prolonged scene in which a heterosexual couple is seen engaging in sexual activity with female upper-body nudity clearly visible, as well as a scene portraying two men kissing passionately while lying on the bed and removing each other's clothing.

-- Six Feet Under Season 4 (2004) --

Some of the stronger sexual scenes include an implied scene of a man performing oral sex on another man (Episode 2); sexual foreplay between two women (Episode 3); a couple engaged in sexual activity (Episode 4); a man performing oral sex on another man in a car (Episode 5); two women kissing each other and engaging in sexual foreplay (Episode 8); and two men implied to be having sex (Episode 8).

-- Six Feet Under (Season 5) --

This season contains several sexual scenes, but with minimal nudity featured.

Every episode begins with a death/deaths. Not very gory but still can be disturbing.

In one episode, a man is cut in half by an elevator. His corpse is shown later.

A young gay man gets beaten death. Not much is shown, but it is very upsetting.

David gets car jacked by a disturbed individual in one episode.

There are violent images and sequences of murder and accident scenes that would be more appropriate for an older audience, as it is bloody and disturbing.

-- Season 2 --

The series features the use of some coarse language, such as "motherf**k", "c**t", "pu**y", "f**k", etc.

-- Six Feet Under Season 4 (2004) --

Language that denigrates religion or is religiously profane (e.g. "Jesus f***ing Christ") is present in this series.

The series contains utterances of some religious profanities in Episode 2 (In Case Of Rapture), Episode 5 (That's My Dog) and Episode 10 (The Black Forest).

The series also features the use of some other coarse language, such as "motherf**k", "c**t", "pu**y", "f**k", etc.

-- Six Feet Under (Season 5) --

Language that denigrates religion or is religiously profane is present in this series.

The second episode of this season, 'Dancing For Me', contains utterances of a religious profanity ("Jesus f**k").

There are also various usage of expletives such as "f**k", "motherf**ker", "cocksucker" and "c**t".

-- Six Feet Under (Season 5) --

There is moderate drug use, such as characters smoking joints, as well as lighting spliffs and glass bongs.

'Six Feet Under' is a drama series revolving around members of the dysfunctional Fisher family who runs an independent funeral home.

-- Season 2 --

In Season 2, Nate Fisher learns that he has a tumor in his brain and is contemplating on whether to get it removed. His brother, David Fisher, on the other hand, is trying to come to terms about his breakup with Keith. Meanwhile, their mother is being kept in the dark about Nate's condition while at the same time trying to accept David's sexuality.

The series also contains a subplot on David and Keith's homosexual relationship.

-- Six Feet Under: Season 3 (2003) --

Season Three depicts eldest brother Nate Fisher's apparently blissful marriage with his wife Lisa who later goes missing and is found dead; younger brother David's troubled relationship with his partner Keith; youngest sister Claire's recurrent failed relationships; and their mother Ruth's unexpected romance.

In addition, a subplot on the homosexual relationship between David and Keith is portrayed throughout all episodes of this season.

-- Six Feet Under Season 4 (2004) --

Season Four covers the various characters' relationship woes and struggles; including mother Ruth Fisher's struggles with her second marriage; the love triangle between Nate Fisher, his girlfriend Brenda and her friend Joe; etc.

The series also contains a subplot on David and Keith's homosexual relationship, with them discussing the possibility of adopting a child (Episode 10).

-- Six Feet Under (Season 5) --

Some segments portray, as a main theme, same-sex marriage or parenting in the series.

In the fifth season, David Fisher and his partner Keith decide that they wish to become parents. They explore the two options of surrogacy and adoption but end up adopting a pair of brothers, Anthony and Durrell. David and Keith subsequently deal with the difficulties of caring for the adopted children who are initially rebellious but soon grow to accept David and Keith as their adoptive parents.

Thus, it is more suited for an adult audience, mainly for the exploration of same-gender parenting and family unit.

Rating: TV-MA

Argentina:16 / Australia:MA15+ (some episodes) / Australia:M (some episodes) / Canada:14A / Finland:K-15 (DVD rating) / France:Tous publics / Germany:12 (DVD rating) / Netherlands:AL / New Zealand:R16 / Portugal:M/12 (DVD rating) / Singapore:M18 (cable rating) (cut) / Singapore:R21 (uncut) / South Korea:15 (season 1) / South Korea:18 (seasons 2-5) / UK:18 (5 episodes) / UK:15 (season 3 & 5) / USA:TV-MA

Related Links

Plot summary User reviews Plot keywords
FAQ Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Main details