Die Another Day (2002) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
1,193 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
6/10
The End of an Era.
namideo16 October 2007
It's the 20th Bond film and premiered on the 40th anniversary of the series, and, in many ways, it is really a tribute to the entire series itself. This film's strength and its weakness both lie in the fact that it is a blend of the classic Connery films, the outlandish Moore films, and the grittiness of the Dalton films. It's rolling the entire series into a single two hour adventure and the result is actually pretty entertaining. The first half is definitely stronger than the second; a more serious adventure with a classic feel to it, before taking a nose dive down into utter camp territory. I didn't mind the idea of making some scenes a little over-the-top, but I think they went overboard at times. Throughout the movie, the filmmakers toss in little references to previous Bond films. I suppose it's a fun idea to stop and consider how far these films have come over the last 40-something years, and a long time Bond fan can find amusement in finding these subtle, but long remembered treasures that poke their head in this film for one last time. As for the technical aspects of the film: The special effects are a little too ambitious and don't always come across convincing. The dialogue goes back and forth from excellent to atrocious. The ensemble of actors is pretty strong, except for Halle Berry, who in my opinion was completely wrong for a Bond movie. The villains are a little more dynamic. The action sequences are an improvement, in my mind. Granted, there are some instances where the filmmakers push the envelope a little too far, as mentioned above. However, they also show a certain amount of creativity that seemed to be lacking in the previous two films. Overall, this film is really a mixed bag. At moments there is potential for one of the greatest Bond adventures. At other moments you're thinking, "What the heck am I watching." Personally, I feel the positives balance out the negatives, but if anything, this film is a good popcorn movie. All in all, it wasn't a bad way to close out the series before rebooting it again with Casino Royale.
56 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Fourth Brosnan 'Bond' Starts Promisingly, but Falters...
Creating new, exciting adventures for 007 after 20 feature films in forty years is a difficult task at best, particularly as public tastes change, and the character of James Bond has to maintain at least a degree of the 'persona' created by Ian Fleming. While the heirs of Albert Broccoli, his daughter Barbara and son-in-law Michael G. Wilson, have done a remarkable job in keeping the series 'fresh', if DIE ANOTHER DAY is any indication, the creative forces surrounding them seem to be losing 'touch' with James Bond, and his world.

After an astonishing pre-title sequence, climaxing with Bond being captured by the North Koreans, the film offers a horrendous montage of torture, with Bond only surviving due to a timely prisoner exchange (with an unsympathetic M remarking, "If it had been up to me, you'd have stayed in North Korea...", obviously forgetting that 007 had saved her life in THE WORLD IS NOT ENOUGH). Pierce Brosnan, at fifty, is superb in this sequence, vulnerable yet defiant, and to this point, DIE ANOTHER DAY has all the makings of a first-class Bond entry.

Then Bond jaunts off to find the agent who betrayed him, becoming involved in an investigation involving diamonds, solar power, and a 'too-good-to-be-true' industrialist (smarmy Toby Stephens), and all of the creativity of the opening is lost, with the film becoming an uneasy mix of references to past films and silly, unbelievable situations, sets and gadgets (culminating with an 'Ice Palace' and an 'invisible' Aston Martin).

As she had won an Oscar prior to filming DIE ANOTHER DAY, sexy Halle Berry, 36, was publicized extensively as Bond's latest leading lady, CIA agent 'Jinx'. Unfortunately, after a spectacular 'rising from the waves' introduction (borrowed from Ursula Andress, in DR. NO), and a few nicely choreographed fights, she spoke...and lost all of her credibility in the role. While much of the problem was certainly in the script, she was never believable as Bond's 'counterpart' in the American intelligence community. On the other hand, Rosamund Pike, 23, was both sexy and duplicitous as British double agent Miranda Frost, as chilly as her name, but capable of igniting under 007's gaze. In a part equally poorly written, she made far more of her scenes than the writers gave her.

The most interesting character in the film was certainly Rick Yune, as Graves' 'enforcer', Zao. Charismatic, ruthless, and nearly unstoppable, Zao was nearly a primal force, far more menacing than Graves at his worst.

While a sword-fight sequence between Bond and Graves provided a rare film highlight, and certainly ranks as one of the film series' more memorable sequences, much of the rest of the production was silly, with the story set at a break-neck pace to 'hide' the absurdities. The climax, as a solar 'ray' destroyed the minefield between North and South Korea, allowing an 'invasion' to occur, as 007 and Jinx attempted to commandeer the aircraft controlling the 'ray', stands as one of the most ludicrous finales to a Bond film since MOONRAKER.

Although DIE ANOTHER DAY would become Pierce Brosnan's highest-grossing Bond, to date, the film, despite heavily promoting Halle Berry's presence, failed to crack the 'Top Ten' box office attractions in the U.S., and disappointed many fans, worldwide.

With the purchase of MGM by Sony, which has wanted to produce a Bond film for years (the studios were entangled in a legal suit that ended just as DIE began production), surprising changes were in store...CASINO ROYALE, the only Fleming title NOT owned by Eon Productions was named as the next 007 adventure...and Pierce Brosnan was FIRED (a sad finish for an actor who'd worked so hard to make 007 viable in the new millennium!) While Broccoli and Wilson are still 'in charge' of Bond productions, they have to answer to new bosses, with definite opinions of their own on where the franchise should go...Can 007 survive THIS?

We can only wait and see!
63 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Well, what did you expect??
kphurley-123 November 2002
Look, let's be clear about it...it's the year 2002, not 1962. This franchise of movies has evolved over the years from a cool and clever spy series to an over-the-top slam bang action series. When you go to see a James Bond film, you should EXPECT any or all of the following: 1) A completely unrealistic, contrived plot 2) Unbelievably cheesy and corny one-liners (almost all of which are sexual in nature) 3) A supervillain seemingly brilliant and mad enough to quest for world domination, but is somehow stupid enough to let Bond get close enough to spoil the whole thing 4) A female counterpart (or several) that looks good, gets captured, and ultimately gets saved by our hero 5) Gadgets, cars, and weapons that do fantastic, unbelievable things 6) Action sequences and stunts that defy fundamental laws of physics and logic

Having said all of that, and knowing what I knew, I was so excited to see this movie, and I loved it. Why? Because I got to escape for a couple of hours in a fantasy-spy world. Because I've seen the other 19 movies and I got to see what other directions they went with the characters. Because I love the characters and have gotten to know them over the course of the last 19 movies. Of course it has its shortcomings (the CG was weak in parts) but it has everything that makes the franchise successful. It pays homage to the older films while pleasing younger fans with it's incredible action sequences.

Like it or not, this is what the series has evolved to. Personally, I like it, but having seen Dr. No, From Russia With Love, etc, I know that the newer movies don't really appeal to many of the fans of those movies (my dad hates the new movies) because they have completely moved away from reality (not to mention the novels). So understand that before you go and see this movie. If you can just sit back and enjoy the ride, you will. But if you're looking for the magic of 1962 to return, than you might be disappointed. But I will bet on this...judging by the reaction of the theater I was at, James Bond isn't going away anytime soon.

Oh by the way, what's with the comment "Look out Bond, xXx is taking over." Huh? When xXx has 20 successful movies under his belt, then we can start comparing the two.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fun but tries too hard to it's detriment
bob the moo5 December 2002
On a mission in Korea, James Bond is captured and tortured for 18 months. He is swapped with Korean agent Zao for his freedom. However M has swapped him not to save him, but because she believes Bond has cracked and is giving away information. However Bond knows there is another mole in the area and escapes to uncover what Zao is up to and to uncover his Western ally.

I looked forward to this film because I like Bond and easily get caught up in the hype. I think it is just down to the success of the formula and the fact that it feels comfortable to know you're getting a slightly different version of reliable product. For me, familiarity has yet to breed contempt in this series. I wanted to like this film more, although I did enjoy the vast majority of it. It's biggest problem is simply that it tries too hard and wants to do too much. The plot is OK and is a brave start showing our hero broken and in prison, but from there it does try and do way too much. It was good to relate the pre-credits scene to the rest of the film but the film seems restless unless it is having a major bit of plot happening - too many little twists or new bits of plot that stopped the film flowing. The plot is OK at heart but the little additions of diamonds, ice palace, weapons in space, DNA alteration, electrical suits all gets a bit much.

The film's direction is also a bit frantic. A little bit of Matrix creeping in and sudden rushing cameras etc. It isn't needed, indeed they make the cake feel over egged, like the director didn't trust himself enough to a good job and needed gimmicks etc. On top of this there are three or so cgi shots that are really poor (and I mean Mummy Returns poor). It doesn't help that the theme song is one of the worst ever but I could get past that as the action under the credits helped distract from it. The action is all good on the whole but there didn't seem enough room for them and all that plot - also everything was overdone. We don't need matrix type effects in Bond - all we need is a certain amount of flair and well designed shots etc. I sound negative but I still enjoyed this despite the weaknesses cause at the end of the day the formula still works even with the monkeying around.

One of the main reasons is Brosnan himself. he is getting better every film. He does some bad puns but never to the mocking extent of Moore and he also does the dangerous element of Connery. Even when the film starts to get silly he remains strong in the lead. Berry is wasted and is a distraction more than a good addition. From the cringe worthy first scene with Bond (trading smutty one liners) onwards she has no character worth speaking of. Her dialogue is innuendo and not lines, her acting is all in the twitch of her lips as she flirts and that's it. To look at, she does the job, but i thought we'd gotten past Bond girls that are eye-candy and nothing more. Pike is given a more frosty role and does pretty well despite being very cold when viewed beside the flirtatious Berry. Stephens hams it up as Graves. He starts well but the plot spin on his character (esp. the electric suit stuff) takes away from his credibility as a bad guy and he ends up as a cartoon type rather than a real threat. Yune on the other hand is a real good villain - a gimmick (his face) but also presence and real menace without hamming it up. I had hoped he would be the focus but alas no. Dench is good and Madsen is an interesting addition - but perhaps he wasn't the best choice for the head of NSA given the type of roles he is best known for - how many other people could only see Mr Blonde? Cleese does well as the new Q and brings his comedy into the role well, making it similar to the spirit of Q without being a copy. Madonna's cameo is as bad and as pointless as her theme song.

Overall let me stress I enjoyed this film but couldn't help but see the many flaws. It simply tries too hard in almost every area - plot, writing, action, direction. The formula is all there but it feels like they want to up the ante in every way, only at the basic level does the film feel comfortable in it's own skin and relaxes, for most of the time you'd think this was a new film desperately trying to start a franchise as opposed to a long running series.
102 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What on earth have they done to James Bond?
bahgdadc15 January 2004
Come back George, all is forgiven: At lease "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" was recognizable as a Bond film. The latest installment in the franchise, the 20th installment in fact, should have been a cause for celebration. Instead, I have to rate it a solid 1, and that only because the system won't let me rate it lower. When did James Bond morph with Rambo? What happened to the wit and charm that was evident in the best of the series, films like 'Goldfinger" and "The Spy Who Loved Me"?

There is nothing in this film that feels original or fresh. And the John Woo influenced cinematics have no place in a Bond film. And what's with the use of CGI in place of real stuntmen doing the impossible, as they did in every other film? Sure, it may look "super cool" in concept, but in fact it looks fake and out of place. They didn't use CGI to make trucks act like race cars in "License To Kill".

I'm afraid that on his 40th anniversary, the cinematic James Bond is looking every bit his age, dressed up like a 70 year old hustler trying to pick up teenagers. Forget the snazzy trappings and the flashy action scenes and get back to the basics.
251 out of 445 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The Batman and Robin of the James Bond series
David_Frames9 November 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Pis*-poor, Ill-conceived, soulless, mindless, horrifying - and thats just the title track in this 40th Anniversary defunctular - proof positive that the series is in terrible terrible trouble. In fact, based on the this exercise in self-parody (even the title sounds like a parody), devoid of any new or exciting elements, it might be worth pondering whether its time for the super-spy to take a sabbatical while all concerned contemplate a wholesale reinvention of the Francaise; a full-scale rebuilding from the ground up with absolutely no return to the cut and paste methodology that rots this one from the inside out. It isn't even worth discussing the story to this anniversary entry because there isn't one but it might be worth pointing out the contrast between this and the last anniversary story The Living Daylights (1987) for therein lies the clues to what's gone wrong with 007's exploits. Whereas Dalton's film used the anniversary as a sort of reaffirmation of principles and a throw back to the series dramatic and literary roots, a new dawn if you like (and frankly even if you don't), Die Another Dies goes the other way and represents the zenith of the Pervis/Wade era of Brosnan Bonds that has seen the action and budgets scale upward while the substance has conversely dipped and with the arrival of an invisible car, evaporated. This is about a trillion miles away from the 25th anniversary Bond in which familiar elements made the odd cameo appearance - the Astin Martin for example. Here the familiar is everything - in fact its the building blocks of the story (such as it is) and the characters and, well everything really. The tone is pure fantasy - deadly lasers in space, an evil ice palace lair for the villain, Madonna etc... Characters with silly names trade puns and insipid dialogue while Brosnan goes through the motions. If it was the intention of all concerned to make a companion piece for Austin Powers then they should consider DAD a roaring success. For those of us expecting a serious Bond movie however, its a minor travesty - Bonds have been lazy before (Moonraker, naturally) but this one completes the post-Goldeneye trajectory toward total self-parody and in doing so arguably takes its place along other genre greats such as Rocky 4, Star Trek: Nemesis and Batman and Robin in the 'film that crashed the series' category. Bond films have also been looking down the business end of oblivion before but 'tis no exaggeration to say that this time the martini loving super-spy is fighting for his life. Bond is a great character but unless the powers that be start to take him seriously again and refrain from this derivative fluff, they might as well call it a day.
147 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Better Than I Expected
Theo Robertson28 October 2004
DIE ANOTHER DAY is a unique Bond film for me because I had seen the other entries in the franchise before I discovered the IMDb . In other words my only knowledge of its reputation is down to the comments I have read on these pages and because many commentators are so loud in their condemnation ( Bad CGI , awful title track etc ) I was expecting a really bad movie never mind a really bad Bond movie , but DIE ANOTHER DAY wasn't as bad as I was expecting

It's interesting to note that the Bond series never really concerned itself with painting communists as bad guys . OCTOPUSSY ties in with the cold war very much as does THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS to a lesser degree but in no way can the series be criticised as being right wing or reactionary with GOLDENEYE wearing its heart on it's sleeve that Russian gangsterism is more of a worry than Russian communism so it's something of a shock seeing Bond battle Stalinist commies in North Korea . That is in no way a criticism either .

We're then treated to a bizarre title sequence composed of a torture montage with quite simply the worst theme tune ever devised for a Bond movie . I don't know what is about the Pierce Brosnan Bonds but they all have very poor title songs despite having all round superb production values and DIE ANOTHER DAY continues the high production values , a lot of people complain about the CGI and I must admit the cartoonish jet at the end does look like a cartoon but compare this sequence to all the action scenes in the 1980s which were composed of Roger Moore standing in front of some back projection and no matter how much you don't want to say it you must confess we've come a long way since then

Some people have also let rip that the film is ruined by post modernist self reference but I disagree . Come on chaps when you've seen one Bond movie since the late 1960s you've seen most of them . Plot wise DIE ANOTHER DAY is very , very similar to GOLDENEYE with a " British " villain in charge of a death ray in outer space with a fair amount of LICENSED TO KILL thrown in . It should be remembered both YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE and THE SPY WHO LOVED ME had the same identical plot with serious hardware being stolen from the USSR and America in order to start a nuclear holocaust . There is a ridiculous amount of humour though involving John Cleese as Q . I know you shouldn't take James Bond movies seriously but did we need an invisible car ?

The other thing I disliked was Jinx . Think about it , she's tough and kills without hesitation so how come she needs rescuing from Bond ? She's just a cypher there to create a love interest and it's amazing that the producers seriously considered starting a spin off series with Jinx as the heroine . It would have been as successful as CATWOMEN . There is a problem with a plot twist involving both Gustav Graves and Miranda Frost , the twist is good but unfortunately the surprise only works once which means on second viewing the shock value of the plot revelation is gone therefore DIE ANOTHER DAY doesn't have the same enjoyment second , third or fourth viewing unlike classic Bond movies

I'm not a big Bond fan but have been fairly impressed with the standards of the franchise from GOLDENEYE to DIE ANOTHER DAY , they've really come leaps and bounds from the Roger Moore debacles like MOONRAKER and VIEW TO A KILL . One aspect that is over looked in the series is the character interaction between Bond and M ( Convincingly played by Judi Dench ) and I hope to see this abrasive relationship continue when the series returns with a new actor in the lead role
66 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Moneypenny finally gets her first hot kiss after exactly 40 years!
Nazi_Fighter_David4 November 2007
After being captured, imprisoned and tortured in North Korea for 14 months, Bond (Pierce Brosnon) is released in exchange for a recently captured Zao… Unfortunately, MI6 and the American NSA believe the mission was compromised… They think their super agent has cracked under torture… So Bond's license to kill is rescinded along with his freedom by M (Judi Dench) and is ordered to be send to an evaluation center in the Falklands…

Determined to clear his name and find out who really betrayed him in North Korea, Bond soon escapes and tracks Zao to Cuba, who was undergoing a 'D.N.A. transplant,' in a strange clinic, to heal his ravaged face… There, he finds someone else after the Korean, a capable secret agent, called Jinx...

After having proved himself to MI6 and to the NSA, Bond returns to London and has a spirited fencing match with Graves at the Blades Club… There he meets his publicist the gorgeous Miranda Frost…

In "Die Another Day," Brosnon is wild, and ready to light the fuse on any explosive situation… His methods are to provoke and confront… His Aston Martin is loaded with high tech gadgetry that renders his vehicle invisible to Zao's sporty Jaguar… There's an amazing chase between the two across the frozen waters of Iceland… There's also an interesting battle inside Graves' treacherous fortress; and two battles to the death aboard Graves' airplane …

Halle Berry is one of the Bond girls who looks so stunning especially when she emerged from the Cuban waters in her bright orange bikini… This Oscar-winning beauty matches 007 in intelligence, sophistication and toughness, leaving Bond in the island in an explosive situation…

Toby Stephens as the psycho billionaire Gustav Graves appears determined to use his unique satellite the Icarus using its power to 'bring light and warmth to the darkest parts of the world… or to clear the minefield creating a highway for his North Korean's troops… Rosamund Pile plays the fencing master with breathless beauty Miranda Frost…

Rick Yune plays Zao, the dangerous Korean arms dealer and sports-car aficionado who works for Colonel Moon (Will Yun Lee), the renegade North Korean army officer who was determined to invade the south…

Michael Madsen plays Damian Falco, NSA spy master and Jinx's boss who's tough on Bond…

The comical British character actor John Cleese takes over the role of Q...

Madonna was hired to record the title tune and appeared in a cameo role as a fencing instructor…

"Die Another Day" is the 20th in the series, and is arguably a fun movie to watch delivering a great sword fight… so don't miss it!
50 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Worst Bond to date
ametaphysicalshark25 March 2008
To its credit, "Die Another Day" starts out reasonably well, even the much maligned title song actually isn't terrible. Then it gets worse, and worse, and worse. You know, there's ridiculousness that's enjoyable, like in "GoldenEye", then there's "Die Another Day", a movie so caught up in its complete silliness it forgets to realize it, thinking its overzealous use of gadgetry, its hilariously bad Robo-villain (cut me some slack, I couldn't think of a better nickname), and Halle Berry. Miss Berry is easily among the very worst Bond girls, and the fact that she's alongside Rosamund Pike, who manages to do such a good job with what little she's given, doesn't really help at all.

In "Die Another Day", there's not a second of humor that works. All the one-liners will have you cringing, albeit less than any attempt at actual serious dialogue this pathetic mess makes, as the script is completely ludicrous from start to finish, which is a continuation of the 'good writers writing terribly' theme in Bond history, where genuinely good writers write horrible messes like this, mainly because it seems they're lazy. I do find it humorous that the biggest fans of "Casino Royale" who claim it is by far the best Bond film conveniently ignore the fact that it was written by the same writing crew (with the addition of script-polisher Paul Haggis) which gave us the last three installments of the Bond franchise. Writers do what they're asked to do, and my guess is that "Die Another Day" is as much the producers' fault as the writers'.

Lee Tamahori is a completely bizarre choice for director, and a terrible one at that, seeing how he has never made an especially good film. David Arnold's score is again very good but he can't save the film and though I really like Brosnan's Bond the direction the series was going in at this point was truly dangerous and could've resulted in the end for Bond if allowed to go on. There was no reason to stop- "Die Another Day" was a massive financial success, the highest grossing of Brosnan's films and actually about as well-reviewed by major critics as the last two films in the series, but audience feedback and hopefully common sense led to the reinvigoration of the franchise in "Casino Royale". Thank heavens for that.

3/10
52 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
The Power Of The Sun Itself
bkoganbing24 November 2009
Pierce Brosnan's last outing as James Bond takes place in Die Another Day which finds 007 trying to stop a rogue North Korean general from starting the Korean War all over again with the attending consequences. The North Koreans must have been watching Plan 9 From Outer Space because the gimmick they've come up with sounds remarkably like what those aliens were warning the Earth against developing.

The power of the sun itself is brought into play here. There's a giant mirror in space which seeks to focus and concentrate the sun's energy for peaceful power purposes. But it sure can be an effective weapon of war as we see towards the film's end as Brosnan and his American counterpart agent Halle Berry.

Part of the charm of the James Bond series is that you don't take it too seriously, but there are times that it becomes more like Indiana Jones and his narrow escapes than a modern espionage story. Die Another Day takes this point to the extreme.

The year before Halle Berry won her Oscar for Monster's Ball and Die Another Day was her next film. Of course she's forever in the record books as the first black woman to win a Best Actress Oscar. But that's for history. I wonder if film fans remember her better as a Bond girl.

There's another Bond girl as well, another MI6 agent played by Rosamund Pike. She's one deadly female and most resourceful. Toby Stephens, son of Maggie Smith plays a wealthy industrialist with a mysterious past and a cunning adversary for Pierce Brosnan.

One thing I really liked towards the end was Ms. Moneypenny fulfilling her fantasy with James Bond. She's engaged in an early version of the Star Trek holograph deck. The poor woman has been carrying a torch for 007 for almost 50 years now, you'd think one of the Bonds would have given her a tumble already. Poor lovelorn Lois Maxwell now Samantha Bond ain't that ironic casting.

Die Another Day is not as good as some of the other Brosnan entries in the Bond series, but should satisfy the cult of fans out there.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Die Another Day means Landscapes, Gadgets, non-Visual but Virtual Effects in Bond literature
There is one of the widest cluster of spectators ever possible for a franchised movie. There is its own fans. For almost half a century from the old generations to the youth it is always advised that the 007-Bond movies are the best action & thriller of all. Yet to watch Die Another Day there are so many other reasons! Relying on the protection of its confidence and splendour, Die Another Day sight sees some of the larger-than-life and glamorous centres of the earth. In "You Only Live Twice" and "The Man with the Golden Gun" Bond has visited Hong-Kong several times; and he does once more in Die Another Day. We are going to see Cuba for the second time after "Golden Eye", and again for the second time we will be in Bond's top-secret MI6 office in London,U.K after "On Her Majesty's Secret Service". We also have a chance to see unforgettably spectacular views from Hawaii's virgin hills and from Iceland. In fact, wherever it says it's North Korea, it's location is still Hawaii. Some of the North Korean scenes like the elaborate hovercraft chase scene were shot in U.K. as well.

It is joyful to catch homage moments in respect to the previous Bond movies like the conspiracy plot at the presidential suite in the Hong Kong hotel with the Chinese masseuse beauty, and Halle Berry's first appearance moment where she wore an orange bikini with a white belt attached to an army knife. Best of all -the most alluring of all- were the gadgets and equipments used throughout the movie:

* Hovercrafts

** Electromagnetic ring

*** Bounding mines

**** Laser cutting watch

***** Giant Space Laser Mirror named "Icarus"-a satellite weapon that directs a blazing ray of heat at its landed or aerial global targets

****** Switchblade Jet Gliders

******* The Invisible Aston Martin

If you liked the movie, you'd better see the Special Edition D.V.D that includes very very precious and confidential technical details: -DataStream's trivia track with video streaming, storyboard comparisons from scratch to the shot,the advisory details on how to choose the best suitable FPS adjusted camera giving samples of multi-angle camera explorations, the visual effects featurette transcribes the odds-and -ends differences between make-ups and models and non-computer based visual effects and CGI based virtual effects, and finally Madonna's original uncut edition of 007-Nightfire music video that has been banned in some countries of Europe at its time of screening. It is as good as an HD-DVD of today's.

Die Another Day is Brosnan's fourth Bond movie. Director Tamahori, who has gained recognition in his film "Once Were Warriors", is an award-winning commercial director; and in my opinion he has been influenced by Paul Verhoeven a lot. Die Another has some snoops from Verhoeven, mostly Robocop and Total Recall.

The title has taken from an A.E.Housman poem. In Housman's poem, it is the coward who runs away from battle so that he may die another day. Die Another Day is a perfect choice for a wonderful evening with family and friends,neighbours,relatives,colleagues and with all types of crowds.

Film: 7/10 DVD: 10/10(one of my favourite DVDs of all-time)
33 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Pierce Brosnan Is Shaken, but Not Stirred
wes-connors24 December 2010
"When his top-secret mission is sabotaged, James Bond (Pierce Brosnan) finds himself captured by the enemy, abandoned by MI6, and stripped of his 00-license. Determined to get revenge, Bond goes head-to-head with a sultry spy (Halle Berry), a frosty agent (Rosamund Pike), and a shadowy billionaire (Toby Stephens) whose business is diamonds… but whose secret is a diabolical weapon that could bring the world to its knees!" according to the DVD sleeve description.

Here comes a long, bombastic Bond film!

The formula is turned up to the hilt, but without (or at the expensive of) any real substantive plot intrigue. Notable as Mr. Brosnan's last in a run of four appearances as the Cold War-created spy; there were some comments about Brosnan's age being a factor in his vacating the role, but he certainly looks fit to be tied herein. Adding to the box office lure is (then) recent "Academy Award" winner Halle Berry (as Giacinta "Jinx" Johnson). Toby Stephens (as "Gustav Graves") is fine as the main villain. Titular song singer Madonna (as Verity) has a cameo that would have been funnier done by Richard Simmons.

****** Die Another Day (11/18/02) Lee Tamahori ~ Pierce Brosnan, Halle Berry, Toby Stephens, Rosamund Pike
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
About as bad as it can get...
Jexxon3 April 2004
Of the four Brosnan Bond-films, this is by far the worst. The story is so stupid that you just don't care. Sure, Bond has always been more or less silly, (possibly except Dalton's films), but this looks more like a rejected Batman & Robin script. The filmmakers aren't even trying to base the film in real life anymore, (dna manipulation and invisible cars!?!). Instead, the attention is focused on mindless action scenes with seriously crappy CGI and effects.

Moreover, the film looks awful, the dialogue consists of bad one liners and lame sexual innuendos, and the acting belongs in a made for TV movie, (Halle Berry is especially bad). Die Another Day easily qualifies as one of the worst films I've ever seen. James Bond has definitely passed his sell-by-date.
98 out of 197 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Arguably the worst Bond flick since "Moonraker"...
This movie starts out with Ian Fleming rolling on his grave for the millionth time since he passed away. When I saw the trailer, it looked like just another one of Brosnan's not-so-hot outings as James Bond (which was a more refined Remington Steele), lots of explosions, an Aston Martin with an invisibility feature and a deadly weapon called Icarus. "Doesn't look bad" - I thought.

I stand corrected.

I've seen every Bond movie many times and I can tell you that this one is, by far and away, the worst of the bunch. This one got a lot of publicity because not only it was the 20th film, but the year 2002 also marked the 40th anniversary of the series, so I was expecting some mind-blowing awesome movie. Brosnan had been confirmed as James Bond, which was already disappointing for me, but I never thought it would be this bad. If the movie had been billed as "Just another Hollywood action thriller" starring some Vin Diesel clown, it would've been OK, but this is James Bond and this movie is the perfect example of how dim even the brightest lights can get.

The previous movie, "The World Is Not Enough" was a sub-par effort. This is a lot worse than that. With Maddonna not only doing the movie's main theme but also a cameo appearance, and a 50 year old Brosnan that will remind folks of Roger Moore's last efforts, Die Another Day turned out to be a huge disappointment. To me, at least. Brosnan looks sick and tired, (he stated in an interview that he didn't like the script, but had to do the movie because of contract issues - way to promote the movie that got you 16 million, Pierce!) and later in 2004 it was announced that his "licence to kill" would not be "renewed", which never happened to the other fellas (pardon the pun).

Despite everything, this movie was successful. It grossed out $431,971,116 worldwide (as of 5/1/03), more than enough to cover the budget and Brosnan's over-paid salary.

I wouldn't recommend this movie to the purist, although casual fans might be interested. 5/10
64 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Watch It Some Other Day
Haze17 June 2004
Die Another Day is almost like watching a parody of a Bond movie. The script and action is driven to the limit that you think your are watching a Zuckerman production.

Clearly the director must have thought that the ingredients for a Bond movie is explosions, gadgets, one liners and then multiplied that with 10. Not all but most Bond movies used to have a script suited for a spy movie. Die Another Day has a script suited for a Lethal Weapon movie or any movie of that kind.

If you are a Bond fan you will certainly need more than one vodka martini to get thru this movie :)
57 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
James Bond?
cookscourt16 December 2002
Warning: Spoilers
For those who haven't seen it yet, ***SPOILERS*** follow.

For me, and for many others, James Bond is a unique character who was established for decades by Sean Connery and Roger Moore. The producers quickly learned with the first few movies starring Sean Connery that the hard core Bond of the Flemming novels needed some adaptation to survive and they did a superlative job of doing so for quite some time.

As such, there is, (or I should say, WAS), a certain surrealistic magic about the James Bond character which allowed us movie goers to transcend reality and truly escape the headlines we all read daily regarding the heroes who die too young. During this period, if you wanted all out action and violence in a movie, you went to a Schwartznegger, Stalone, etc flick.

Certain rules, which have applied to James Bond for a long time, have been stripped away by most of the so called "Bond" films since Roger Moore's era and were ably and completely done away with in this film, such as:

1) Bond NEVER gets caught. Well, OK. He can get caught by the bad guy, threatened, bragged at by the Bad guy, then escape in just the nick of time and foil his plan. Truth be known, he could have escaped whenever he wanted to, but allowed himself to be held for a day or two just to learn more from the "inside."

2) Bond NEVER gets tortured endlessly. Maybe roughed up, but not tortured for over a year. His quick wit and matchless skills simply won't allow it.

3) Bond is NEVER in a situation from which his unmatched genius, talent, and cool can't save him.

4) Bond NEVER gets abandoned by his country or told by his superior that if it were up to her, he would still be rotting in prison. He might get a disapproving sneer from a stuffed shirt government rep, but deep down he's appreciated and respected for his talents and bravery.

Yet in "Die Another Day", we are presented with a James Bond who gets captured for 14 months, ruthlessly tortured by near drowning and scorpion stings, with anti venom used to bring him back from the brink of death time and time again. There was no doubt that he was captured, was to remain so, was completely at his captors mercy, and there was no way he could figure a way to escape.

At the end of the 14 months, when Bond thought he was going to be executed, he started walking that "last mile" out of the prison camp clearly in a hopeless situation in which he was going to be unceremoniously shot in the back with no way out. You could even see the look of broken despair and hopelessness on Brosnan's face as he walked bravely forward. One is reminded of Roger Moore in "Live and Let Die", when he is being quite literally walked out to a back alley by multiple thugs, spots an opportunity and takes out the gun men handily. A good job of acting out the role of helplessness, exhaustion, and nearly mental collapse by Brosnan, but simply not a fit for James Bond.

Last, but not least, when he realizes he is being traded and gets met by the "good guys", he is injected with a sedative and wakes up in a high tech "prison" of sorts where M tells him that if it were up to her, he would still be rotting in prison, that his freedom was bought at too high a price, that they suspect he was broken and gave away priceless secrets, and that he was to remain in their custody until she deemed it fit to release him.

I could go on, but the movie does so, (unfortunately), illustrating my point, so why bother?

In the real world, an agent with a license to kill and put on assignments like James Bond would probably not last very long. There are undoubtedly such heroes giving their lives daily in the protection of freedom and human rights which we will never hear about, as well as others who we do hear about. But the true Bond character is not real world. Rather, he stands unique. He allows us to escaped the carnage of real life and believe for a few fleeting moments, that the good guy really can survive AND save the day, and do it with suave and cool. What a shame they have ruined the franchise that was so ably established for decades.

Perhaps M's words to Bond summarized things best: Bond is not England's celebrated, priceless treasure anymore, not the man who stands head and shoulders above the rest. He does not walk coolly and calmly down the path to certain death, only to cheat death yet again simply because he is, well, "BOND, JAMES BOND!" In fact, at this point, he can be captured without displaying the wits necessary to escape, tortured endlessly, and taken out to the back ally and shot, in just the same manner as with any other John Doe in the real world. In fact, he is not even to be trusted and has been locked away indefinitely.

For my part, I've given the industry moguls many years to clean up the mess they've made of this franchise, and they will not get another dime of mine to see this (not even) poor excuse for James Bond they have been portraying recently in any future movies.
38 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Gadgets
stephan-8629 September 2005
I could go on a rampage about all the impossible things in this movie, such as cars falling from an airplane into rice fields without even getting scratched or the ever popular Hollywood myth of shooting a window in a plane, but I won't.

The main reason I don't like this movie is this short and simple reason: This movie is not a movie with gadgets in it anymore, it has become gadgets with a movie built around it. And that's just not right.

If you like pure action without a story or if you're in love with Halle Berry (who was awful in this movie by the way, she can do MUCH better) by all means go see it. But if you don't want to be disappointed, don't.
43 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Junk Bonds
Scott Casey27 February 2004
I've seen every James Bond film, including the original TV version of Casino Royale and Die Another Day manages to make it into the bottom of the mediocre pile. It's nowhere near as bad as the embarrassing Diamonds are forever, the painful Moonraker, or the nearly unwatchable Man With A Golden Gun, but it's still pretty bad and is probably the worst entry since Octopussy.

For one thing, Bond is thoroughly incompetent throughout the movie. He fails in his mission objectives, he gets captured, he doesn't escape, and he remains clueless as to the identity of his adversaries. Sure, he can surf and handle a sword, but he's a lousy spy.

Most Bond movies have relatively weak plots but this one seems totally rambling and inconsequential. What exactly were the scorpions meant to symbolize? Do we care? And why Iceland? Apparently just because it was cool, since it had no intrinsic meaning to the villain. Then again, this villain is one of the least fleshed out I've ever seen in a Bond movie.

In some ways this was almost a retrospective of Bond movies, as the director tried to lift a scene from all the previous ones. I was slightly reminded of the homage scenes in On Her Majesty's Secret Service, but at least there the retrospectives had a narrative point. Here it just feels heavy-handed.

Nobody is going to get any awards for acting in this movie. Halle Barry is miscast as Jinx and serves more as a distraction than a partner. The villain seemed like a pale imitation of John Malkovich's character in Johnny English. Judi Dench can play M in her sleep and it looks as if she's doing so this time. The obligatory Q scene felt forced. And I'm still trying to figure out why they felt the need to humiliate poor Moneypenny at the end.

If Brosnan is going to make another Bond film before he retires the role I hope they get a director who understands the Bond mystique, because this one seems to think it's all about blowing things up while making jokes about your genitals.
37 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
If Octopussy was an ' All Time High ', this is an ' All Time Low '.
co010c665016 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
An outing which represents a first for the Bond franchise i.e. one that fails abjectly in virtually every discernible area. The most prominent one being that of a cut'n'paste, dog's dinner of a screenplay that looks as though it was cobbled together by the screenwriters during their dinner break. Previous entries such as 'OHMSS' and 'From Russia With Love' managed to treat their audiences with more than a modicum of intelligence. This is in stark contrast to D.A.D. which seemed to be aiming for an audience predominately populated by XXX-loving, popcorn-munching, baseball capped cretins who will demand the right to see as many things blown up as possible with at least as many people being either shot or wasted whilst being assured that such minor trivialities as 'plot' or 'characterization' are not allowed to spoil their enjoyment of proceedings.

The standard of acting varies from merely perfunctory to downright dreadful. Brosnan simply goes through the motions whilst Halle Berry tries desperately hard to pass what turned out to be an audition for her own character's franchise but ends up being the most irritating leading lady since Tanya Roberts. In her Ursula Andress homage (on second thoughts, make that 'rip-off'), you can almost sense Tamahori saying 'That's right, Halle, swivel your hips. A bit more. A bit more. Keep going and cut !!!' Any chemistry with 007 is all but non-existent with their 'banter' being invariably puerile and tedious.

We have a nemesis who is totally lacking in anything remotely resembling charisma, threat or menace. Indeed Gustav Graves' only real 'gimmick' appears to be a total lack of need for sleep ( watching this drivel would soon change that ). The obligatory henchman, Zao, had mild potential but was under-used.

Much has been said about the risible CGI sequence involving the ice wave ( and deservedly so ) but, for me, the sequence which preceded it was even more ludicrous. Our hero is doing about 300mph in a rocket car and heading for a plunge to his certain death. Don't fret, however, as a trailing anchor digs a few inches into the ice and, over the space of a few yards, brings the car to a complete halt, causing it to flip over the edge and smash into the side of the precipice without so much as a scratch on the vehicle and 007 left not the least bit shaken nor stirred. It was a scene which was more akin to 'The Wacky Races' with Dastardly & Muttley once again receiving their come-uppance.

On the subject of growlers, the living legend (in her own mind) that is Madonna ensured that the title 'song' would, by several light years, be the worst ever. However, Madge's monstrous ego ensured that her contribution to proceedings wouldn't end there and so the unsuspecting viewing audience would then be treated to an equally awful cameo. Did Shirley Bassey, Tom Jones or Carly Simon receive cameos ? Of course not. Many would correctly say that none of them can act. However, based on the evidence of D.A.D. and a clutch of other big-screen stinkers, neither can Madonna.

Pierce Brosnan's outrageous salary demand ( £24 million ) for the next epic appeared to give the producers little option but to announce that it was 'taxi for Brosnan'. Granted, this sage and onion-stuffed extravaganza managed to trouser over 400 mill at the box office so many might say that it's only fair that he's entitled to be angling for a bigger slice of the pie. Never-the-less it sure as hell wouldn't have just been Brosnan's name that sold tickets for a film which I'm sure would still have made a mint even if Graham Norton had been donning the tuxedo. OK, perhaps a slight exaggeration but clearly no individual is bigger than the licenced to kill ( and make money ) Bond franchise.

All-in-all, a charmless, hideous mess that tries, like 'Octopussy', to cram too much in. The introduction of Daniel Craig (and hopefully a decent script) can perhaps inject the series with fresh impetus to help prevent the 007 money-making juggernaut from going the same way as the one from 'Duel'.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Shockingly awful
supersonic142529 January 2004
I like James Bond films. I haven't seen them all, but I've seen most. This has got to be the worst one out of the ones I've seen.

The best word I can think of to describe this film is: Stupid.

The plot is stupid. The gadgets are stupid (invisible cars? Who the hell thought of that?). The big action scenes are stupid. The characters are stupid. etc.

A few moments in this film really stand out as being awful. One of these is the ridiculous surf scene where Bond uses a piece of metal and a parachute from a crashed 'something' and uses them to surf this huuuuuge tidal wave. Not only does this scene look unbelievably fake, but it also is too ridiculous even for a Bond movie. Bond films are known to have over-the-top action sequences that probably wouldn't ever happen in real life, but this just takes it too far.

They tried to mix Bond, The Matrix & music videos. Not my cup of tea, to be honest.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
WORST BOND MOVIE EVER MADE BY A WIDE MARGIN
prince_baron_00723 November 2003
For years people have argued over the likes of Diamonds Are Forever, The Man with the Golden Gun, A View to a Kill, and Moonraker on the subject of what is the worst Bond film ever. Well as soon as this turkey Die Another Day was released that discussion became forever and permanently DEAD. Die Another Day contains some of the most IDIOTIC one-liners of all time, DREADFULL CGI, HORRIBLY unfunny jokes, pathetically LAME sexual innuendos, a Bond girl (Halle Berry) that is probably the WORST Bond girl of all time, a main villain (Toby Stephens) that is like Robocop meets a snootish/spoiled British brat, a main henchman (Rick Yune) that is like something out of a Star Wars movie for crying out loud, and last but certainly not least, Brosnan stinks it up as well.

Brosnan is now officially the WORST of the five Bonds, and this was by MILES the worst acting performance by any Bond ever. This is supposed to be a remake of Moonraker, which has often been derided as being the worst Bond movie, and as usual the remake is 10 times worse than the original. For any serious Bond fan this is an absolute DISGRACE. Ian Fleming, Harry Saltzman, Cubby Broccoli, Terence Young, and Peter Hunt must be rolling in their graves after this joke, and poor Guy Hamilton, the last of the original Bond creators that is still living probably nearly had a heart attack when he saw this piece of trash.

Barbara Broccoli, Dana Broccoli, and Michael G. Wilson, along with MGM should be ASHAMED of themselves. They have completely DESTROYED Cubby Broccoli's legacy. And to top it all off and add insult to injury, the only good character in the film Miranda Frost (Rosamund Pike) is extremely underused, and the worst thing of all, Madonna (who sings a very good Bond theme) is not only singing the song, but is in the movie. One of the worst actresses ever and she is actually BETTER than Berry and Brosnan are in this, and they are supposed to be "talented". Berry and Brosnan are so pathetic and lame with their acting in this that they should both have been FORCED to reimburse people who paid money to see this film out of their salaries for the movie. And as far Tamahori goes.........I won't even discuss my feelings on that one, because that would not be appropriate for this forum. RATING: 2/10 OFFICIAL BOND FILM RATING: 20 out of 20 BOND FILM RATING INCLUDING CASINO ROYALE AND NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN: 22 OUT OF 22
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A james bond b-movie
Jolly_Jumper14 March 2004
This is without doubt the one of the very worst James Bond movies. In fact this is a b- movie, plain and simple. The Storyline is crap, the acting is crap and the special effects are especially crap (the die cast car models cast thrown out of the "airplane" at the end). Brosnans acting is as wooden as ever, and the story is just laughable. Let's face it, there is noting left that distinguishes a James Bond movie form any other action movie. They have run out of ideas.
41 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Pathetic!
buiger5 January 2006
This is definitely and by far the worst Jams Bond movie to date.

The plot is non-existent, there is absolutely no character interaction, dialog, we don't get to feel anything for anybody. The whole film is just a collage of special effects and pyrotechnics. And this is where the main problem lies... The special effects and pyrotechnics are by far the worst I have seen in over 20 years, totally unfit for a film made in the 21st century! I mean, even the first Bond movies in the 60's looked much more realistic than this one! Even the Bond girls in the film are terrible. Halle Berry looks so bad in this film, not having been given the chance to show any part of her that is even remotely sexy. The filming and the music during her remake of the 'Ursulla Andress' original "coming out of the water scene in a bikini" was so un-sexy it is unbelievable. The camera was so bad, it managed to show all the negative aspects of her figure rather than the positive ones. Not to mention Rosamund Pike, where the only good part of her appearance was that she was named "Ms Frost". And the villains... they are funnier than they are mean... for goodness sake, where are the Bond villains of the past?

All in all, a total catastrophe, there is not even one aspect of this movie that can be salvaged, from direction, cinematography, acting, all the way down to the musical soundtrack, the only adjective that comes to mind is... pathetic!
29 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
End Of Golden Bond Era & Last Great Film In Franchise
M MALIK26 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
i mean it from the title i am serious about this.i am a huge James bond fan I've collected every bond film on Discs.so far i enjoy Timothy Dalton & Pierce Brosnan bond films more then any other.

die another day 2002 is pierce Brosnan;s 4th and last best film in James bond franchise.

Brosnan started in golden-eye 1995 which is my favorite bond film die another day got bad reviews but it became a million dollars hit.i love this film no matter what anyone says.

the plot is about bond gets trapped in north Korea & after that he goes out to find the terrorist Zao he later bumps into the famous Gustav Graves/colonel and finds out that he is planning to create a new war. how bond solves the mission you will have to see it yourself.

i agree that this film got a lot of Cgi,Vfx & other stuff but remember this is a film so watch it only to get entertained.the cast & story is great here with hot bond girls.

i wish Mr Brosnan did a few more bond films after this & i wish he comes back because after this the Daniel Craig era began in 2006 with casino Royal .the franchise never needed a reboot but anyways this for me is the last best bond film his James bond history and end of golden bond era of Pierce Brosnan as 007.

just don't listen to bad reviews leave the brain behind & enjoy it

My rating is 10/10 a must have DVD for every bond fan out there.i recommend watching it its a total entertainer.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
James Bond < 007 > Die Another Day
tbills22 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Die Another Day is an awesome 007. Enough said.

Halle Berry is something special. The scene where Halle is emerging out of the ocean in that gorgeous orange bikini dripping wet sun glistening her beautiful skin water beads bouncing off of her perfectly sculpted body... ... I...I'm afraid I've lost myself. What were we talking about again? Halle Berry, yes! Thank you. Halle Berry is a goddess and that one particular scene is visually stunning! It's a classic bikini movie moment just like the original classic scene it pays homage with Ursula Andress in that amazing white two-piece from Dr. No! They're both classic! Pierce Brosnan plays a great Bond!

While it is true that Die Another Day does steer away from the early slick and charming Bond motive, even outright abandons it, it realizes it's not a brilliant Bond spy escapade like the originals and doesn't try to be. It delivers spectacular and simple straightforward entertainment that's well done. More mainstream? Yes. Less intelligent? Not really. For better or for worse, you must love Die Another Day's faithful attempt to stay true to itself.

I love Die Another Day! It's smart, sexy, cool entertainment. It has stunning visuals, sophisticated action, and plenty of top secret gadgets. Brosnan and Berry are the stars. It may not be one of the best Bonds, but it's one of my personal favorites.

""I guess I'll die another day. Another day. I guess I'll die another day. Another day. I guess I'll die another day. Another day. I guess I'll die another day.""
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews