IMDb > P.S. Your Cat Is Dead! (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
P.S. Your Cat Is Dead!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
P.S. Your Cat Is Dead! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 29 reviews in total 

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful adaption of James Kirkwoods novel/play

10/10
Author: thepetshopboy from La Jolla, CA
17 July 2002

Just saw a screening of this at Outfest. Despite it being based on one of my favorite novels (Kirkwood also wrote A Chorus Line) I was a bit disturbed to see 80's cheeseball actor Steve Guttenberg (he of Police Academy fame) as the director and star. Let me be the first to say I was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the film wonderful but Guttenberg's against type portrayal of a down-on-his luck actor who begins to doubt his heterosexuality in the face of tragedy managed to completely make me reevaluate his acting prowess. His hissy fit in the scene where he finds out his girlfriend is leaving him for another man is absolutely hilarious as are his comic interactions with his burglar/prisoner (Lombardo Boyar) which are both touching and funny. All in all a very good adaption of a very good book...one of the better independent films of the year from Steve Guttenberg of all people...who would have thought it?

Howard Stern fans keep on the lookout for one-time Howard sidekick/E! Scandals host/NY Gossip Columnist AJ Benza in a over-the-top turn as a gay hairdresser who tries to rape Guttenberg...LOL... hilarious!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

It all works out in the end

7/10
Author: tulsastorm from Tulsa, OK
11 December 2003

Jimmy is still getting over the death of his best friend. His one-man show gets the axe. He's being evicted from his apartment. His girlfriend leaves him for another guy, and his cat dies. He's been burglarized 2--now almost 3 times--this month. Eddie the divorced father turned gay burgler picked the wrong day to mess with Jimmy.

After having wrecked my car this week, enduring some rotten weather, and a handful of other minor complaints, I watched this movie. I realized, like Jimmy, that it could be much worse, but everything works out for the best in the end. This isn't the best (or worst) movie, but it is worth the warm, fuzzy feeling you get at the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Sal Mineo would have been honored..GREAT!

10/10
Author: John Seger from Los Angeles
18 April 2004

I am the owner of the official website of the great, late actor, Sal Mineo. I rented this as Sal was starring in the hit play shortly before his murder, which is now this film, and I was curious. I am impressed! Lombardo Boyer plays the role Sal was playing, and gave me an idea of what Sal's performance was like in the play. Boyer is great! Steve Guttenberg is great here too, who also adapted this to film and directed it. I am suprised it wasn't released by a bigger studio! The credits dedicate the film to SAL MINEO!! Bless you, Steve.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Small, personal movie --very like an off-Broadway play.

8/10
Author: catman47 from United States
22 August 2003

This is a small film dealing with people going through breakdowns of various relationships. The main character is on the verge of being evicted from his apartment, having his girl-friend leaving him for another man, learning that his feline companion has died from a urinary infection at the vet's, and being burgled for a second time in two day's.

Steve Guttenberg does a super job as Jimmy, the main character. In fact, the entire cast does excellent work, especially, Ms Watrous, as the Jimmy's girl friend, and Lombardy, the young actor who plays the burglar.

The sense of outrage and loss which Jimmy feels comes across powerfully, as he takes his frustration out on the captured burglar who is bound and strapped semi-nude over the kitchen sink. What could have become ludicrous becomes very touching as each of them slowly realizes that they have much more in common than they could ever have realized. They are each others salvation! (Actually, it seems that the core of this awareness has been edited out because things happen a little too quickly! Several lines don't make sense)

I would say that the film does not go far enough in conveying the emotion that is developing between Jimmy and the burglar. There is a holding back which does not seem realistic. Even on the special feature section of the DVD the cast was responding to the final scenes and began shouting out comments as to the lack of physical expression between the two men.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Not quite the character I read in the novel

3/10
Author: mindnbody from United States
5 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having recently read James Kirkwood's novel, I was interested to see the movie, which received much film festival exposure not too long ago. Although I'd never seen the play, I found the novel engrossing: sometimes funny, sometimes sad, sometimes squirm-in-your-seat uncomfortable. Still, the story of a man who appears to have so much going for him -- steady acting jobs; beautiful, successful girlfriend; great best friend; fabulous (and cheap) apartment in NYC; and, yes, a loyal cat -- who finds himself experiencing devastating setback after setback really held my attention.

While I think that Steve Guttenberg's adaptation was actually commendable -- e.g., having Jimmy interview Eddie in order to provide exposition for the burglar's character -- I cannot help but wonder if the Jimmy Zoole that he wrote was an entirely different character than the one I read. The Jimmy Zoole that I envisioned was more of a neat, conservative, draw-inside-the-lines type of guy. That is, boring. However, Guttenberg's portrayal showed only a very narrow part of Zoole: the needy, unhinged and sleep-deprived man who refused to be burgled one more time. Unfortunately, because little of the character's history made it into the screenplay, the impression that I got was that Zoole was always a sad-sack. And that's what doesn't make sense to me: how could such a desperately miserable man have ever occupied that amazing loft, or won the affection of such a smart and beautiful woman, or had such wonderful friends (not shown in the movie)?

I'm curious to see how versions of this story are played out on the stage. Perhaps my read of the novel differs from most. Nonetheless, I was sorely disappointed by the film, in spite of the powerful performance by Lombardo Boyer.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

This guy has the worst day in his life and comes home to find it just got worse, his place got robbed and the burglar is still there. He catches the burglar, ties him up and tortures him.

10/10
Author: splice-5 from New York
18 January 2003

Funny stuff. I laughed my ass off. I went in on a whim and I was glad that I did. It was a real emotional roller coaster. I couldn't make up my mind with what they were trying to say with the ending, but aside from that it was fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

'Dead Cat' is unexpectedly alive and executed with grace

8/10
Author: Benny Tommy from Santa Barbara
24 July 2002

Guttenberg is stabbed while on the phone with Olivier in Boys From Brazil and we believe him. In Cocoon and Short Circuit, he is ebullient, almost to a fault. So which is PS Your Cat Is Dead? Guttenberg as Actor-Director shows his strengths as a mature, light handed artist. We expect to see the actor at work behind the mask, or the Director favor himself too much on camera, but no - the grubby, self absorbed attitude of the character draws us into the narrative and we believe it. This film will do very well among quality film buffs especially in San Francisco, New York and West Los Angeles. I'm sure it will take off in Paris and Berlin. It's a personal ride, executed with dignity in a tight plausible style. It's easy to sneer at stars doing something smaller and limited, but this one has authored a film that carries itself and does none of the performers anything but good.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The perfect cure for the blues

8/10
Author: Andi from Richmond, KY
19 June 2005

I picked up this film at my local Blockbuster following a bitter breakup. I was in such a depressed mood I didn't think anything could help me out. I decided to take a chance since I'm a big fan of the novel.

The gamble was worth it. Within two minutes, I was smiling and having a wonderful time. The movie helped me put things into perspective. Things could be more dire than my situation; I could be Jimmy (or worse, Eddie).

Lombardo Boyar should have gotten an Academy Award for his role as Eddie the would-be cat burglar. He made this a lot of fun to watch. Steve Guttenberg fared well at both directing and playing the half-crazed Jimmy Zoole.

I highly recommend it for anyone who's a fan of the novel or has just had a horrendous day. I must warn you, however, that you have to have a sort of strange sense of humor to appreciate the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Guttenberg definitely puts the noir in film noir.

7/10
Author: xxxneon
15 January 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(spoilers)

Poor guy-he's having a bad day, on New Year's Eve, no less. But that's typical karma for Jimmy Zoole (Steve Guttenberg). Come to think of it, he had a pretty bad year, too, even by bad-aspiring-actor/writer standards. Yes, life has kicked him hard and repeatedly in his not-so-golden globes. Trust me, if the highlight of your year is a one-man show of Hamlet with puppets, you're in need of some serious help.

Guttenberg tells us all this in the opening voice-over, piquing both our interest and our sympathy. Well, WHAT ELSE can go wrong? we wonder. Plenty. His best friend died a while back and his girlfriend Kate (Cynthia Watros) is leaving him, moving out and spending New Year's Eve with new beau Fred (Tom Wright) instead. Ouch! And that's just the start of Jimmy's misery. Did I mention he's being evicted? All he wants to do is go home, make a TV dinner and go to bed. Uh uh. Before we're done, his cat dying will seem like GOOD NEWS, relatively speaking.

Kate walks in on a burglary, the third to hit Jimmy in recent months (yep, same guy each time). Eddie the thief (Lombardo Boyar) astutely hides in the closet while Kate leaves a Dear John letter (with that bummer of a P.S.). Then Jimmy comes home and they get into a fight about his Aunt Claire (Shirley Knight), his liking to be alone and a couple dozen other things.

So Kate leaves. Then Jimmy finds Eddie hiding under the bed and just plain loses it-he ties up Eddie (he's so pathetic, he doesn't even have rope and duct tape to do it properly). Then he steps out to put in an obligatory appearance at his aunt's party. She gives him his monthly support check but balks at providing front money for any more writing projects (good move, I say).

Number one on Jimmy's angst list is the fact that Eddie previously stole the novel he wrote. To make up for that, when he gets back, he proceeds to interview the guy (I told you he wasn't thinking straight). Eventually, they arrive at a sort of camaraderie, kind of a male Vampire Lesbians of Sodom. He comes to regret inviting over Crazy Carmine (A.J. Benza) and a couple of his pals. I'm not gonna say what THEIR idea of "fun" is, but it makes Jimmy's previous tales of woe pale by comparison.

Watros is ideal as the kind, misunderstood, yet subject to random rants and raves girlfriend. Alas, she's onscreen less here than in an episode of Titus; but considering what goes down in that apartment, perhaps that's for the best.

Guttenberg utilizes a nice, slow pacing throughout, the soothing jazz and opera strains playing a nice counterpoint to the building tension. I was left wishing the relationship between Jimmy and Eddie, two opposites that somehow attract, had been explored further. Maybe in a sequel-P.P.S. Your Girlfriend's Still Gone, perhaps. The confinedness and isolation of the apartment are palpable and reminiscent of Rear Window. In this sordid downward spiral of a tale, Guttenberg definitely puts the noir in film noir.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Doesn't work

7/10
Author: preppy-3 from United States
16 July 2006

Jimmy (Steve Guttenberg), a failed writer and actor, comes home on New Years Eve to find his girlfriend has left him, his cat has died and a gay burglar (Lombardo Boyar) is robbing his place...for the third time that month. He captures him, ties him up and things get strange.

James Kirkwoods' play was an off-Broadway hit in the 1970s. I never saw it but I read the script and it was wonderful. This film comes far too late--the play was very much of its time. The gay character (which was pretty revolutionary when the play came out) is old hat by now and the movie feels washed out. Basically the comedy doesn't work. Boyar is VERY good in his role but Guttenberg (who can be good) was pretty bad. Maybe both directing and acting for the movie was too much. The two actors have no chemistry at all (even though Boyar is trying). The movie isn't unwatchable...it's just no big deal. Also Guttenberg's apartment was WAY too big and beautifully decorated for a starving artist. They also (badly) changed the ending of the play.

So it's worth seeing for Boyar alone. Also he's got guts--he spends half the movie tied down with his pants cut wide open showing his back side. I give it a 7 for him alone.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history