The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition (Video Game 1990) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
22 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Like Being IN a Movie! well...at least a really cool computer game.
ChetB15 January 2003
The Secret of Monkey Island is one of the greatest PC games of all time for several reasons:

(1) The Secret of Monkey Island requires REAL involvement in every aspect of the game. Through interacting with many elements of the landscape, story, and the very characters, the player is thoroughly pulled in to the action.

(2) The Secret of Monkey Island is full of comic genius! Thorough and thoughtful writing have provided jokes around every turn.

(3) Problem solving and puzzle solving skills are a must. Prowess at sword fighting is not based on the player's "eye-hand coordination" but rather on her ability to use insults picked up from fighting with other pirates.

(4) It uses cinematic techniques (I.E. great score (dated, but great), inter-cutting scenes, and real character involvement) to provide a wonderful gaming experience.

I won't be exaggerating to say that this game helped make my childhood complete. I'd love to see the original Lucasarts team responsible for this humorous and intelligent game produce a live-action film.

Maybe someday?
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best graphic adventure game... EVER.
insomniac_rod15 July 2006
Join Guybrush Threepwood in a wonderful tale of fantasy, adventure, and mystery; the tale of "The Secret of Monkey Island".

The humor in this game is simply awesome. It's a particular sense of humor that makes Guybrush one of the most symphatetic heroes ever. The story is always interesting and you can't say that it isn't entertaining. I really enjoy this game. I play it every year as a tradition and I don't regret spending my time on it.

The ending always makes me feel nostalgic also. This is one of the games that will always stay with you. It makes you feel things that only a few games can.

Now, this is probably one of the best games ever produced. It should rank in the top 10 of all time along with "Mario 64" , "Zelda", "Sonic", "Mortal Kombat", etc.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Enjoyable
Lam_on_the_lam20 July 2003
I first got this game when I was around 7 or 8 and it was slightly difficult to complete at that age but when I was a bit older and tried it I got through it fairly well. The story isn't difficult to follow a young pirate-wannabe named Guybrush Threepwood comes to Melée Island to try and become a pirate. He is set three trials to complete and while trying to complete them he meets Elaine Marley the Governor and future love of his life but he isn't the only one who loves her. The ghost pirate LeChuck plans to kidnap Elaine and make her his wife and of course it ends up being down to Guybrush to stop him.

There are so many lines that make you want to laugh out loud, Guybrush is a great character altogether and it's a game that'll have you addicted fast. When you've started playing you'll be in a rush to get through it and see more of it. I recommend it especially for people who love this type of game.

Lam_on_the_lam a.k.a Minnie Goodsoup
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Magnificent
Dockelektro30 July 2002
This is one of the reasons I miss the pc games made on the beginning of the decade. There was an atmosphere that only those never too clear graphics and that pc speaker music could offer. And this game shows that atmosphere perfectly. It was passionating to play it, and even addictive, it provided hours of good fun and many thinking, even despair. At the end, it's completely satisfying, in the tradition of lucasarts' magnificent graphical adventures (like the spectacular Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis).
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Brilliant, intelligent, funny!
jaspervanzyl23 March 2001
This classic game from LucasArts is a masterpiece at first glance. The puzzles aren't extremely difficult, nor very easy, so it provides good entertainment for young and old. I was six when I first played this game, and it took me years to finish.

You play Guybrush Threepwood, a genius in disguise. This becomes the basic outline on which all else in the game is based. Director Ron Gilbert has done smashing job on creating this classic gaming series, something all others could aspire to.

The game is filled with brilliant punchlines, extremely funny characters, and a simple, yet twisted plot.

Ladies and Gentlemen, please stand up for the fantastic talents and creations of LucasArts!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Threepwood's greatest adventure!
Will-1645 October 2000
This game is an absolute classic. Guybrush Threepwood must go down in history as the most likeable computer sprite of all time and LeChuck is his perfect nemesis. The Secret of Monkey Island and LeChuck's revenge or similar in formula but both extremely unique and imaginative. The more modern follow-on was great too but not in the same league as the early '90s originals. This game is cheap to buy and will run on any PC (it worked even on an Amiga for goodness sake!) so there is no excuse why any PC owner shouldn't own the game. The solutions to puzzles aren't simple, but especially in the original game they are logical and realistic in the context of the game. That is what makes the game stand out for me as better than modern equivalents. A true classic, buy it!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Classic. Well stood against the currents of time.
Squirelly Joe10 April 2002
A game rarely comes along that spawns many a fan and "successful" sequels. Monkey Island is at the top rank (When it comes to Computer games, that is). What you might think of as a rough, violent pirate game, totally turns away from it from the moment you enter the bar. (You'll see if you play). Laugh a minute and unpredictable, Monkey Island gets 11/10.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Classic!!
cheeseboy8010 August 2000
This is my all-time favorite computer game. It's one of the best point-and-click adventure games I have ever played. The plot and puzzles are impressive. You must buy this game, It's great and the best Monkey Island game ever. The sequels are great too, but they're not as good as this one. This is a masterpiece.

I give this game 10 out of 10
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Arguably the best computer game ever
C.J. Lazaretti21 December 2001
The first Monkey Island game is a landmark in computer game history. It pretty much begins the adventure genre (actually Maniac Mansion came before, but it is very limited and primitive when compared to the subtleties of MI). At its time, games were simple jump-hit-and-walk side-scrollers and flight or sports simulators, no more than an afternoon worth of fun for kids. Then came MI and introduced complex plots, not unlike movie´s (so much, in fact, that you are reading this on IMDb), complete with meaningful dialogues which affect the plot´s direction (instead of mere interludes between action scenes). In MI, as well as in the adventure genre it helped create, interaction with computer-controlled characters went beyond physical confrontation, including dialogue, negotiation (even bargaining prices!), seduction and intrigue. And, perhaps its most remarakable feature, the humour. Satyre, irony or just plain good nonsense, in the tradition of Monthy Python. Indeed, the experience of playing MI (and all subsequent Lucasarts adventure games) is very much like watching a movie, except that you direct the action of the protagonist(s), changing events and outcomes in the plot.

Way before videogames got into the present 3D trend, spawning tiresome clones of the likes of 'Doom', 'Tekken' and 'Tomb Raider', companies like Lucasarts and Sierra made games with subtlety, malice and humour, best suited for intelligent, mature players instead of competitive children with aching fingers. Today these adventures might seem tecnically rough in comparison with all these vectorial 3d shooters that require endlessly more memory and more processing power. But in terms of creativity, of mature entertainment (and I don´t mean porn), modern games seem to be dull, technologically-enhanced versions of the same old Nintendo and Genesis action games of the past.

Belonging to the same line of adventure classics of the Monkey Island series are Sierra´s 'Leisure Suit Larry' series, 'Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis', 'Sam & Max', 'Full Throttle' and 'Grim Fandango' (Lucasarts´ foray into 3d, although keeping the adventure genre´s highlights). But I don´t think any of these, great as they are, have half the importance of the Monkey Island games. Technology is ever-evolving, nonstop, but these adventure games offer a kind of entertainment mere technology cannot.

On a final note about 'The Secret of Monkey Island', look for a CD version of this game, updated with more songs (carribean rhythms like reggae and calypso) and a visual inventory - see 'Alternate Versions' in this entry.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews