IMDb > Never Again (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Never Again
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Never Again More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 34 reviews in total 

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Real Love

10/10
Author: stormhav from Indianapolis, Indiana
31 October 2003

For once a real love story that involves real people. Middle aged, overweight and wringled. Great writing and great acting. Everyone over the age of 49 ought to be required to watch this film. Jill is great.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

For liberated 50-something women

9/10
Author: rosepoli from Denver, CO
21 September 2002

A romantic farce with complications. The movie loves its over-50 characters yet presents them behaving ridiculously in outrageous situations.

Core to "Never Again" is the perspective and experience of liberated, divorced, over-50 women with sexual relationships. These are presumed and exemplified without being examined. Under 25 women, even the heroine's daughter, show themselves to be inert, callow dolts. Their parents live vivid lives with humor and pain, joy and despair, wit and incredulity, dignity and abnegation. So the generational roles are reversed from the usual teenage romantic comedy; that will keep a lot of viewers away. Additionally, the movie frankly talks and pictures frank abundant and diverse sex, which will keep a lot of over-25 women away.

The movie's topic, two individuals in a romantic relationship, interests woman most, but structurally the movie is presented as symmetrical among the genders, with an early alternation between the lives and concerns of its male and female leads. Further, both have friends who are core to the movie: the other half of a jazz duet in the case of Christopher and two close gabbies for Grace. In the end, though, "women do more of everything," as Christopher's buddy says, and our hero confesses to Grace that "you were right about everything," so we are back to women-centric starting place.

Curiously, the words do not match the deeds portrayed. While Grace complains (and we are supposed to agree) that Christopher has a standard Madonna/whore complex about women, nothing of the sort is pictured. Rather, the relationship starts in sex, and he comes to love and appreciate her fully through what is revealed in sex and develops as part of sex. Again, while Christopher supposedly fears intimacy, no fear is actually shown -- he relishes intimacy and honesty (and has a male friendship exemplifying these) and the under 25 women bore him because they offer neither. Instead, threats to the relationship come from the constraints of social context -- the daughter, the friends, and the social demands to be insincere and superficial. When these press in, Christopher starts having second thoughts.

Claybaugh is outstanding -- I haven't laughed so hard in years as I did at her strap-on scene. What would the part look like performed with less skill and charm? Unpleasant, perhaps. Grace carelessly injures her daughter, her friends, and her boyfriend whenever things don't go exactly her way. The farce, the happy ending, the acting, and the perspective all move attention away from the heroine's actual problems. She is brave, inventive and winsome, and we over-50 males are happy to fall in love with her.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Laugh-out-loud funny, outrageous, yet deeply moving and sweet

Author: belovedfreak from NY
10 July 2002

Eric Schaeffer's latest film is remarkably funny. It puts two people in a slightly extraordinary predicament and handles them as real people. Christopher and Grace have both been hurt in relationdhips, are both 54, and neither wants to risk falling in love again. Hence the title. The odd parts come in when each tries to at least find something new, even if it is just sex. It should be noted, this film, while dealing heavily with sex, never becomes even arguably pronagraphic. The dialogue is so wonderfully intelligent and (need I say again) funny that I found myself quoting lines throughout the trip home! If you are lucky enough to have this play in your area, I completely advise you to see it. I found myself laughing and cheering for characters as well as sighing and sobbing for them. The film's outrageous comedy is great, but the touching moments are so realistic that they also deserve a mention.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

There is a sex (and love) life after 50!!

9/10
Author: angrywomanent from United States
12 August 2005

I am totally enthralled with this film. Not only is the script, acting (for the most part), and the directing superb-- it has a plot that is not seen in ever other love film known to man! I would have given the movie a 10 out of 10, but I have an issue with a handful of aspects about it. I didn't like a lot of the soundtrack; the songs just did not seem to fit the mood of the film in the beginning. Also, there is a cheese factor towards the end. However, if that is all that can be wrong with a film, then it is near perfection in my book. This film deals with real life issues, underneath the humor, and is so well written from both the male and female aspects of things that I kept wondering if two people had written it. (Imagine my surprise when a man had done it. He's got us down pat, ladies!) Plus, it isn't afraid to show a sexual side to humanity beyond 35-- a triumph for this day and age. Currently, this movie is my favorite of all time, and in my opinion, is a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Fiftyish Fun

Author: sumytra-2 from United States
15 June 2003

I think you have to be over 50 to enjoy this film. The humor is mostly sublime not the stupid, over-the-top site gags that drive most of todays immature comedies. I watched this film alone and laughed out loud till my sides ached. That could be because I have arthritis and fibromyalgia and I'm one of those "Never Again" used and abused people.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This movie is touching.

9/10
Author: paraffintouch from Under the bed
27 November 2005

First off. I would like to state I have never written a review in my life, let alone, one for IMDb. I watched this movie and felt so strongly that it needed a fair review on this site. There will be no major spoilers.

The movie centers on Christopher and Grace. Both of whom are in their early fifties and love lorn, even though they won't admit it. Through a series of strange events (Chris's botched attempt to have a new sexual experience, to Grace's attempt to blind date) bringing both together at a gay bar.

What's great about the film is the writing, first and foremost. Some may be put off by it's candidness. Some may also find it heartless at who it pokes fun at. I can assure you that the writer/director Eric Schaeffer gives everyone a chance to be the butt end of a joke. His characters tend to have imperfect qualities. Especially his lead male characters (i.e. Starved or Mind the Gap). He gives such respect to the sexuality of an older man and woman that has never been represented in Hollywood. They are portrayed as sexual, feeling creatures. He shows them as human beings looking for love and tenderness. Not just the typical older man/woman who can't let go of their ex or their kid who went off to college and that's what their life is about. The forever the parent without an identity of their own. These people go on with their life... like real people do. Outside of the writer/director are the performers. The characters are given direct, BS free dialogue. They are very open at any given moment to asking for what they want from each other. Which what I'd imagine ones demeanor to be when reaching their age. This especially comes out when dealing with their sexuality. Jeffrey Tambors portrayal as a disaffected bachelor is a quiet, sweet performance, but one that also has these moments of assertive strength that you are not used to seeing out of him as an actor. He's usually used as a goof or some weaselly character. As a lead, the man shines. Jill Clayburgh is wonderful as Grace, the spurned, icy divorcée that is ready to open up and love again. There is not much I know of her work, but her willingness to give herself to the role is something you don't expect on face value. Bill Duke is absolutely great in this film as Chris best friend and music partner. He there to give Chris' levity and does so in a very endearing way. While the rest of cast does a fine job, the last person that really stood out was Micheal McKean . I won't spoil where and how he shows up, but let's just say it's twelve hours since I watched it and my ribs still feel a little sore from laughing.

The movie is sad. The movie is funny. The movie is touching. Is the movie sappy? Yes. But not in the way you'd expect. The movie has this Hollywood like ending but is justified because it's completely with the realm of the characters, and not forced. The movie makes you believe that getting older doesn't preclude the loss of desire and sexuality. Everyone should watch this movie. Teenagers, adults, senior citizens, they should all watch to see that being older doesn't mean your dead from the waist down.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

An Important Theme not Explored by Hollywood

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
25 March 2005

In New York, Grace (Jill Clayburgh) and Christopher (Jeffrey Tambor) are two lonely souls of fifty and something years old. Jill has not had sex for seven years, and the straight Christopher is very insecure with his masculinity. Both of them have made a promise in the past that they would never fall in love again. When they meet each other, they have a very complicated affair and of course in the end they fall in love for each other. This irregular low budget movie explores an important theme completely disregarded by Hollywood: sex after fifty years old. The story looks like a "Sex and the City" of middle-aged women and has many good jokes and situations. The problem is the trailer released by the distributor. I saw it a couple of days ago, and it shows the best parts of the story, spoiling the funny situations. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Coisas do Amor" ("Things About Love")

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Laugh-out-loud funny, outrageous, yet deeply moving and sweet

Author: belovedfreak from NY
10 July 2002

Eric Schaeffer's latest film is remarkably funny. It puts two people in a slightly extraordinary predicament and handles them as real people.

Christopher and Grace have both been hurt in relationdhips, are both 54, and neither wants to risk falling in love again. Hence the title. The odd parts come in when each tries to at least find something new, even if it is just sex. It should be noted, this film, while dealing heavily with sex, never becomes even arguably pornagraphic.

The dialogue is so wonderfully intelligent and (need I say again) funny that I found myself quoting lines throughout the trip home! If you are lucky enough to have this play in your area, I completely advise you to see it. I found myself laughing and cheering for characters as well as sighing and sobbing for them. The film's outrageous comedy is great, but the touching moments are so realistic that they also deserve

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

"I wanna grow old with you." ... "I'm already old."

7/10
Author: moonspinner55 from las vegas, nv
8 October 2008

Thoroughly charming! Jill Clayburgh masterfully plays another savvy, divorced woman attempting to date again, and though some viewers may say she has mined this territory before, Clayburgh absolutely nails the love/hate relationship fifty-somethings have with getting back into the swing of things (sometimes it's much more enticing to just sit home and mope). After a blind date goes south, Jill unintentionally winds up in a gay bar with her girlfriends and they decide to make a night of it; luckily, exterminator/part-time jazz musician Jeffrey Tambor has also wandered in and the two singles 'meet cute' (he tells her he's open to "experimenting" and thinks she's a transsexual, she finds the situation amusing). Writer-director Eric Schaeffer loves a good cliché, and he doesn't mind playing up the storybook aspects of this wacky romance, however the film does fall into a predictable pattern (they meet, they fall in love, they fight, etc.). Still, when the writing is this delicious, and the cast is so attuned to the straightforward, occasionally barbed material, the results can be joyous. While Clayburgh mixes her playful, feisty bit with a more serious, defensive undercurrent (and succeeds beautifully), Jeffrey Tambor is the revelation here. Too often cast in sitcoms as a dunderhead or buffoon, Tambor displays wonderfully dry comic timing--and the embittered quality of his character is never off-putting (we can sympathize). Tambor seems to have no notion of what a handsome lug he is, and his aw-shucks shuffling and nervous body language is that much more appealing because of it. He's thoughtful and deep (and troubled), but also an old-fashioned romantic at heart, and Clayburgh's salty, sneaky wit brings out the best in him (he's dry, she's wry). Despite some comically 'shocking' scenes, the film isn't about sexual humiliation (thank God), and Schaeffer wants these two to be together as much as we do. It's a hip, sassy affair that should resonate with a lot of folks over forty. *** from ****

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A Great Film Worth Watching

10/10
Author: moovieee from United States
7 March 2008

I have loved this film for years. There are some unforgettably hysterical moments in this movie that will have your friends in stitches when you recount them. This move also shows us the vulnerability of people negotiating a relationship which is rarely seen on screen. It portrays people and a romance that is real. The actors and characters are not the fit-firm-20- somethings with perfect hair, clothes, and make-up. They are people who are average and flawed. The story line reflects the difficulty of finding a mate who is genuinely a good match. It also addresses the reality of life after divorce in our culture. The relationship between the main characters (and others) is honest and I really appreciate that. The movie accurately portrays some of the milestones of building a truly loving relationship. Trust, love, and commitment are developed when we are tested and choose one another again and again, through good times and bad. I continue to love this movie, I think I'll watch it tonight.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history