IMDb > "Lock, Stock..." (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Lock, Stock..." More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Brilliance, a fine example of how a follow on TV series should be...

Author: dash-wortley from York, England
29 August 2003

Well, the anticipation of this series was there when it was first aired in early 2000....and it paid off! I've just re-watched the seven episode set on DVD, and nothing has been lost in the 3 years since first release....in fact the whole series is very watchable all over again! If you like the two movies, "Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" and "Snatch", you'll absolutely love this made for TV series, its a fine example of how a TV follow up to a movie should be.Fine acting from a very fine cast-the four "heroes" of the show, played brilliantly by Daniel Caltagirone, Scott Maslen, Shaun Parkes and Del Synnott, and the two classic bad guys played by Ralph Brown and Christopher Adamson, as Miami Vice and his faithfull right hand man Three Feet. Put together, these guys are unforgettable, a cult in the making, and it must be said this series should be bigger, more widespread, so a bigger audience can appreciate it.I personally hope a follow-up movie can come of this-Miami Vice is too good a character to lose on film, but then they all are to be honest! I can't to be honest think of any negative points about this collection of stories, other than there hasn't been a second series!So yes, if you enjoyed the movies, dig this out....you won't be dissapointed. 9/10 Classic

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

I Recently Re-Watched This Series One Year On - So, Is It Any Good?

Author: Myk R (myk.r@virgin.net) from London
25 January 2001

Fresh? Maybe. Stylish? Definitely.

Having taken a leaf out of the Guy Ritchie, (that's Mr Madonna for those of you who've been elsewhere recently), school of film-making, this series is definitely THE most originally stylised show this side of the millennium, well so far anyhoo.

Some great talent involved, both in front and behind the camera. Ralph Brown, (aka: 'Danny the Dealer' in 'Withnail & I'), is superb as comic book crook 'Miami Vice'. As are the many and various cameos and guests. The regular team, i.e. the Boys from the Boozer, and the Hollandaise Hop Heads are a delight to watch.

The content is, as ever for Channel 4, fresh and down to the bare knuckles at times, (Bravo Channel 4 - Fight the sell-off, PLEASE!) But the plots wear thin very quickly. After all, how many times can you recycle the Lovejoy-esque cyclic con routine? It seems as often as you like, so long as you make it fresh and trendy.

However, on second viewing - one year on - it's an unfortunate fact that 'trendy' shows tend not to hold their with the passing of time. But who cares, especially if you live for the moment, as the main characters in the show do. Twelve months on, I'm glad to say, it was still as fresh as a daisy. (But the jury is out as to whether it will prove to be a contemporary classic).

At the end of the day it's a job well done, with essentially limited material. I have to err on the side of style over content, but I enjoyed every minute of the whole series. Some very funny, and oddly familiar-thru-experience, episodes beautifully shot and acted.

Well done, all concerned.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Tragically Underrated

8/10
Author: Riftwing from United Kingdom
10 April 2007

This series is an excellent piece of work. Stylishly shot and put together with the kind of amusingly silly and intricate story lines you'd expect from Guy Richie. The characters are believable and likable, and although most of the acting isn't exactly top notch everyone has been extremely well cast and fit into their roles perfectly. The acting that IS good however, is superb... Ralph Brown in particular gives an outstanding performance and dominates any scene he's in. A well thought out and superbly cool soundtrack brings the whole thing together nicely.

I know very few people who have even heard of the Lock Stock series, let alone taken the time to sit down and watch it, but those who i've introduced to it have always found it funny and always ended up watching the whole series! In my (admittedly biased) opinion, it is well worth buying the DVD. Failing that if you ever get a chance to watch it, don't just dismiss it straight off... Sit down and watch, because I guarantee you'll be hooked.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A classy Tv series worthy of the film.

Author: David Cahill (dpc@eircom.net) from Wexford, Ireland.
7 June 2000

The press hasn't exactly loved this, but I liked it even more than the film. The script for Lock Stock and 200 Smoking Kalashnikovs was funny and pacy. The direction was classy and stylish, and overall it was really enjoyable.Watch this -ESPECIALLY if you liked lock, stock itself.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A classy Tv series worthy of the film.

Author: David Cahill (dpc@eircom.net) from Wexford, Ireland.
7 June 2000

The press hasn't exactly loved this, but I liked it even more than the film. The script for Lock Stock and 200 Smoking Kalashnikovs was funny and pacy. The direction was classy and stylish, and overall it was really enjoyable.Watch this -ESPECIALLY if you liked lock, stock itself.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Lock Stock and much more fun!

8/10
Author: JimmyCamel from utrecht
4 February 2006

OK,they replaced almost everybody from the original film! but i have to say the new cast is just Awesome!! This is the stuff we want to see on TV/DVD! fast,funny,hard!! a lot of foul language and pretty good action scenes! every episode stands on it's own so you get 7 great lock stock adventures, and they are all good. The soundtrack is also great and is edited perfectly into the scenes. The coolest about the series is that the bad guys are so funny(as in almost all of ritchíe's) Especially Miami Vice is great(mister big gangster) he has only one Hench man haha!!! so if you like movies like Lock stock and Snatch you will love this!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

TV as it should be.

Author: propsguy from Toronto
21 July 2000

I've only seen one episode but based on that one episode I am impressed. This is the type of TV that we should be getting all the time. Once again we must rely on Channel 4. I just hope they do not cancel it.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

''I'm not flapping my gums here for dental practise''

Author: Christopher Owens from Belfast, Northern Ireland
6 July 2001

This series is a worthy follow up to Lock,Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.

This has a sharper picture, a bigger sense of the absurd and a bigger range of sterotypical characters(eg:porn merchents Deep Throat and Debbie).

Also a little bit more violent and bloody, so watch out.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Lock Stock, absolutely the best ever gangster TV Series ever made!

10/10
Author: scott-2382 from United Kingdom
10 March 2009

The greatest ever Gangster TV Series ever made.I never watch it when it was on in the summer 2000. Because I love watching gangster films especially LOCK,STOCK AND TWO SMOKING BARRELS AND SNATCH I decided in winter 2007 that I would buy this TV series.I enjoyed every minute of this series and it was money well spent. The acting is top class especially from Ralph Brown who played Miami Vice. The four leading lads were brilliant. My favourite lad in the series is Scott Maslen who played his character Jamie brilliantly. Overall, this gangster spin off is hilarious and funny to watch. Readers, you must buy this series on DVD, Trust me, it is brilliant. The series is available on DVD, so just go to these websites -Amazon.co.uk and Play.com.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Take a great movie, add some fresh young talent, give 'em a weekly show and Robert's your mother's brother!

Author: waltflanagansdog
6 June 2000

I saw the pilot of the series last week and it was excellent, the cast was great, it was the best looking TV show I've ever seen and I'm really looking forward to the second episode.

Once again, Channel 4 have excelled themselves and brought a funny, gritty, ground breaking series that should run for years!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history