IMDb > "Da Ali G Show" (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Da Ali G Show"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Da Ali G Show" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

What a Recipe!

10/10
Author: wiztwas from Bracknell, England
17 April 2000

Ali G comes from Staines, and his larger than life obsession with Staines, drugs and all things youth like will make him a huge hit.

Take a dose of Goodness Gracious Me, a dollop of Louis Therioux, a whole lot of a gangster rapper attitude, mixed with a quantity of recreational drugs and no fear of saying what he thinks to get Ali G.

If you can hang up your hang ups and chill out with the TV Ali G will have you rolling around even if like me your well past the obvious youth market audience.

Ali G has several characters, taking on the persona of a dumb rapper, he deliberately misinterprets his interviewees with such style and conviction that they seem to really believe him and have to climb down to the kindergarten level.

His apparent naivety as he says to the man from the home office with a display of narcotics "it's not as if it's illegal is it?" (The poor man had no idea what to say or where to turn.) and the skill with which he brings down the top dog from the FBI whom he takes literally whilst making a figurative comment about doing a hypothetical crime. Suggesting that is was not such a good idea to talk about the job whilst the cameras were on.

Behind it all is a great talent who enjoys performing his art as much as I do watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Best Personality Ever

Author: T1mil477 from US
14 March 2003

Ali is the best personality on television. I live in America and only found out about him from a friend but once I saw him I couldn't stop laughing. This guy is hilarious and would take America by storm if his show ever aired here. I recommend that everyone watches this guy at least once and I'll guarantee that you'll be coming for more.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Superb, Absolutely Superb

Author: David Marsden (jmar389070@aol.com) from Mold, Wales
13 August 2000

Ali G has to be the best talkshow host ever as he is not afraid of what he says. He interviews people with a sense of some seriousness but mainly getting laughs from the audience and his guests. M favourite episode is when he interviewed mohamed al fayed the owner of Harrods. He managed to get a 75 year old up and dancing and rapping with him.

This show is definately worth watching

**********out of **********

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Ali G Is Da Best.

Author: famousgir1 from London/England
16 September 2001

Sacha Baron Cohen aka Ali G is just absolutely brilliant and this video/dvd of his award-winning show is absolutely hilarious. Da Ali G Show is definitely one to be owned by everyone. Since, Ali G, first came on to our screen, he was destined to be a comedy classic and of course he is. Ali G is the best and I give his fantastic show, Da Ali G Show, a well deserving 20/20.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

''WHAT ARE THEY ALL BANGIN' ON ABOUT?''

Author: Christopher Owens from Belfast, Northern Ireland
13 July 2001

Sacha Baron Cohen's Ali G must be the funniest thing to hit British TV since Blackadder.

Packed with great humour, a bizzare look at politics, the art etc you'll be guaranteed to be laughing your head off at classics like

''Did Van Gough chop his knob off?''

''Me heard this 80 year old had sex with a test tube and had a baby!''

''Were you sad when Versace got shot?Me heard it was Calvin Klien that did it!''

''Like Tommy Hilfinger, except much less good!''

ENJOY AND BOYAKASHA.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Da Genius Show

Author: LoudMouth from Chicago, IL
27 May 2003

This guy is brilliant. The show is absolutely hysterical and keeps your attention the entire time. I have seen a variety of TV shows that were ahead of it's time and this is one of them. I wouldn't doubt it if HBO kept this around for another few years before dumping it. Shows such as, "Mr. Show," and "The Ben Stiller Show," were just too much for TV in its era. The Ali G Show is the same, it's ahead of it's time. It takes total normality, throws in politics and to top it all of, adds a twisted sense of wannabe urban culture. Ali G is an original idea that is making it in the underground culture so far and hopefully spreading to mainstream society. The only problem I see is that it may be too much for standard America to handle. Some uptights might get offended seeing a guy sporting a yellow jumpsuit interviewing Newt Gingrich and obviously making him look like a fool. But who cares, it's entertainment, take it for the value or just plain laughter. And always remember, "It's not T.V., it's HBO."

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Inspired - at first

Author: The Spectacular Spider-Man from Can you get me a cup of coffee, please?
29 June 2001

Ali G is the most original comedy character to come out of Britain since Alan Patridge. At first, on The 11 O'Clock Show, he was a stupid, uninformed waster, who wanted to be a black rapper, who thought drugs and violence and rap were cool because his friends told him so. An all-too-acurate parody of British youth today, and hilariously funny.

But when Ali G became popular enough to get his own show, it all changed. No longer was Ali a fool; he was somewhat of a hero for the kids who tuned in. They never understood his humour, nor where they mean to; this is 20-something cult comedy, and should have remained so. However, thanks to his new-found fame, Ali actor Sasha baron Cohen turned Ali into a character you laughed with rather than at. He was in on the joke, and instead of making viewers laugh at today's youth, he made today's youth laugh at the rest of society. It's still funny, but no way near as clever.

It's a shame that such a great concept has been so diluted, but hey, that's what happens when cult goes swimming in the mainstream. Atleast Cohen's other character, Borat, is as unchanged as he is hilarious.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Ali G in da house

9/10
Author: cynthialev4 from United States
23 April 2007

Da Ali G Show may not have been the first place where real people have been put in uncomfortable situations for the sake of entertaining an audience, but it is definitely the most thought provoking, edgy, and hilarious incarnation of the format for our time. The list of Sascha Baron Cohen's unfortunate interviewees is unbelievable, a survey of controversial figures from the worlds of politics, fashion, and caricatures of everyday types. And he milks each one for what we all really want to hear them say. The personas of Ali G, Borat, and Bruno are all brilliantly developed and right in the pocket of what is just barely believable to the subjects in the moment, and entirely ridiculous in the hindsight of the program. My favorite moments are when you can tell that Cohen himself can hardly believe what is coming out of the mouths of his subjects. It is a great reminder to be careful not to believe everything you encounter in the world, and to take a good moment to think before speaking- especially when you're being recorded.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history