God's Army (2000) Poster


User Reviews

Review this title
62 Reviews
Sort by:
It's a great movie
Sheltdawg20004 November 2004
If there was ever a movie that accurately described LDS missionary life, it's this one. One of the reasons that I liked this movie, is because I could identify with a lot of the experiences, i.e. The pictures on the toilet, the cockroach family tree, etc. I could also identify with the times that he didn't want to be on his mission. There were plenty of those times for me. As an LDS missionary I definitely could appreciate the attitude of the movie. Some people say that it offends them, and it doesn't accurately portray LDS missionaries, but having been on one myself, It does.

LDS missionaries aren't all about being strict and serious 24/7. They are out to share their beliefs with others who want to know, because they believe it as well. I admire Richard Dutcher for taking a stand and being the first to produce a movie that tells the public what missionaries do, and what they go through. He's opened a whole new world to movie-goers.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This film is an amazing accomplishment.
carlstrobel-127 July 2004
If anyone had dared suggest that I could sit through 104 minutes of 20-something youths trying to convert people around Los Angeles to the Mormon church, I would have snickered. But I did sit through it and loved it.

The motives driving these young men gradually become apparent, but at no time are the religious aspects of the film overbearing to a non-Mormon (I am a Unitarian and am extremely sensitive to propagandizing or proselytizing) At the end of the movie, the viewer has a understanding of and respect for the beliefs the missionaries are trying to instill in others.

Most appealing is the gentle humor when the real world of Los Angeles comes in conflict with the Mormons' beliefs. One scene is priceless -- the harried father, two children screaming, his wife yelling, who is being assured by the Mormon missionaries that the family is eternal.

This film is well off the beaten cinema path -- if religion is not central to your life but you enjoy well written, well directed drama, God's Army is for you.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good Acting... Great Writing... Priceless Subject! An inspiring
mjrei30 March 2000
I saw "God's Army" with my wife, who is not a member of the Mormon church. We both loved this movie, but for different reasons... That's the mark of good film-making.

This was truly an entertaining and informative movie. The movie accurately depicts the experience of an LDS mission. Having been on a mission myself, revelled in the chance to relive those choice moments that are now difficult to remember, and even more difficult to put into words. The acting was good, the writing great, and subject matter priceless! Throughout most of the movie, I forgot I was watching actors.

While I felt this was a movie about Mormons, for Mormons, it was so well done that it could have more broad appeal. My wife who is not Mormon, and knows little about my mission, really enjoyed the characters and their development.

I hope this movie does well, encouraging not just Richard Dutcher, but other filmmakers to make more movies of this kind. Big thanks to everyone who made this movie possible!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Integrity sets this film apart from other works in the fledgling "Mormon cinema."
kynang4 September 2002
The start of, and perhaps, the definitive work thus far with regards to the fledgling "Mormon cinema" movement, God's Army is an honest and worthy cinematic effort. Writer/Director/Actor/Producer Richard Dutcher tells a story he really beliefs in with honesty and passion, and although the acting and production value of the film are not up to par with his subsequent effort, Brigham City, the integrity of the film makes it far more enjoyable and far more appealing. With reference to the other works within "Mormon cinema" including Singles Ward, Brigham City and Out of Step, God's Army stands tall in comparison, the quality perhaps being reflected in a boxoffice take more than twice it's closest competitor. Singles Ward and Out of Step in particular are cheap, easy and unimaginative swill churned out to an eager, but small, target audience of Mormons starved of entertainment they can reallly call their own. These films pander to the lowest common denominator, whereas God's Army

attempts to rise above purely Mormon culture and give the world a taste of what it is like to serve a higher and unseen entity - relying purely on faith, as an insecure, young, and unlearned youth.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
By and for Mormons
Yuggoth21 November 2000
I had a chance to see a screening in Utah with Richard Dutcher. He said that he made the film for the LDS community so they could see a bit of themselves on screen in an entertaining way. After having seen the movie, I agree that is what he accomplished.

For a Mormon to wade through movies where they are portrayed as rustics, idiots or laughing-stocks (My Five Wives, or Orgazmo, anyone?) is tiring. For a Mormon to wade through other movies about people who act immorally (in their view) and are praised in the movie for it (any action film, and many romances) is equally tiring or even offensive. He thought 5 million Mormons in the US wanted to see something different. He was right.

He did not make the film to proselytize to non-mormons, address or explain "issues" about the Mormon church, teach doctrinal points or any other such thing. Anyone saying otherwise probably missed the entire "raison d'etre" of the movie.

The plot was a bit more formulaic than one might like, but less so than any "Action movie blockbuster" of the year (For example, did anyone really *wonder* how the plot of "Gladiator" would develop?).

The acting was solid. That's pretty suprising for essentially an indy. Dutcher said that only a few of the actors were Mormon, but they were convincingly Mormon. The dialog was good and too jargon-filled for any non-mormon to follow 100%. It wasn't the movie's intent to provide explanations for these things. If you need a glossary for the movie, ask the target audience. The music was well done, contributed to the movie without being to obtrusive. The production was very professional, even considering it was done on a shoestring budget and shot in less than 3(?) weeks.

Compared to such high-profile stinkers as the Blair Witch Project, this movie was masterpiece. Compared to a masterpiece, it was good, not stellar but good.

That's my $.02 opinion. Take it for what it is.


P.S. For those who wonder if the movie is a "realistic" portrayal of Mormon missionary life, the answer is "yes, it is inasmuch as a 108 minute movie can do."
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Minor spoilers ahead from a heathen reviewer
keala20 October 2000
Warning: Spoilers
I was dying to hate this movie. There are lots of Mormons where I live, and since an unpleasant political conflict occurred with me and the Church on opposite sides, I haven't exactly been smiling on the soldiers in God's Army who try to convert me. I watched this with my fellow agnostics hoping for a personal appearance from God, mass conversions of pimps and drug dealers, a lightning bolt incinerating a gay pride rally or a Starbuck's, anything that would give us some laughs.

Well...we weren't 100% disappointed. There are conversions, one of them rather unlikely. There's a 'miracle' that I'm sure is technically possible, but doesn't fit this film. And while the movie isn't homophobic, it never addresses the Church's anti-gay stance.

This is noticeable because, surprisingly, it does address other grim issues. In one scene the main character and a black partner sheepishly explain the Church's former bigotry toward blacks and present chauvinism toward women to a skeptical black couple. At one point the unbelieving male racistly disregards the white missionary, which at first struck me as the film's cheap summons for indignant sympathy ("see, blacks are racist too!") at a moment when it should have bitten the bullet and said, "That was wrong of the Church." It doesn't in so many words...but I now wonder if the remark was the film's quiet acknowledgment that the past injustice is offensive enough to make some blacks blindly angry.

The film is like that. It isn't mean to its opponents or loudly preachy. It is quite pro-Mormon, but it goes out of its way to be even-handed. In one of its most admirable scenes, a dying missionary attacks a departing colleague who's lost faith; he subsides when the doubter soberly points out that imminent death might be fuelling a desperation to believe and persuade others...and the ex-LDS is allowed to leave - permanently - with some dignity.

It also skillfully imparts the atmosphere of the young men's spartan lifestyle; sharing cramped, dingy apartments on tiny budgets, dressing in identical outfits, eating identical rations of cold breakfast cereal, and passing out tracts to identical reactions in a scene that will make the rest of us feel guilty (I was never cold enough to trash those leaflets where they could SEE it, but still...) They play jokes on each other to enliven the proceedings, and I can believe the earlier poster who said their real life pranks are even more extreme; if I had to live that way I'd end up streaking down the avenue.

All in all, GOD'S ARMY is pretty worthwhile viewing. It has flaws - some of the plot is weak, it should have addressed the gay issue, etc. - but it stirred subtle respect in me for these proselytizers, replacing an admiration that had been more akin to what you feel for Evel Knievel making a 1,000 foot motorcycle drop. Another poster described a character's religious epiphany as a moment of insanity, and he might be right. One of the film's virtues was reminding me that a somewhat irrational life based on 'moments of insanity' might be more valid than a strictly logical life without them.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An interesting look at an interesting culture
Jolard16 June 2003
Some of the reviewers seem to have expected a movie that preaches mormonism. That is not what this movie appears to be. It is simply a snapshot of people's lives, living in a very unusual way in modern times. The characters seem real, the situations mostly non-contrived, and the writing is good.

This is just as much a movie about Mormons as Witness was a movie about the Amish. You get a glimpse into their lives and a small taste of what they believe and do, but the story is the important part.

Dutcher has stated that his purpose was to make movies for the mormon market, and if other people enjoyed them then that was ok. While it can be a little rough around the edges, it is a fine piece of independent cinema, and a joy to watch.

I really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to Dutcher's next effort, The Prophet, the story of the mormon prophet Joseph Smith. He is an interesting character and lived an interesting life, whether you believe he was a prophet or not.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Ajtlawyer27 January 2003
I'm an ex-Mormon who, as a film buff, thought that "God's Army" was saleable merchandise. One thing that is great about movies is that it can take you to worlds or lifestyles that you wouldn't get to see otherwise (or want to see) such as "Boogie Nights" look at the porn industry. "God's Army" is that sort of look into the world of an LDS missionary. Of course the movie is aimed at Mormons but I did like Richard Dutcher's willingness to have one of the missionairies start to question the validity of Mormonism and finally quit his mission. I can guarantee you that every LDS propaganda film made has always shown missionaries and LDS leaders as stalwarts without a hint of doubt about their work.

I also liked it that he included the scene where the black couple gives a dressing down to the African-American LDS missionary (I'm sure that there're are some; I've never seen one in person or even met anyone who has met one!). The missionary's response to past, blatant LDS institutional racism falls like a lead balloon to the couple and it seems evident that Dutcher feels that the official LDS line on past race problems is insufficient.

He's also willing to show the missionaries with not only their hair down, but their pants down as well. The practical joke photos of different missionaries sitting on the john were funny and I can only imagine more than a few LDS leaders being a bit offended by that. Again, a bit of Dutcher's unorthodoxy seeping through? Everything I've read about him says he's a TBM (true believing Mormon) but there is something about Dutcher that seems just a little out of step, just a little unorthodox for the usual Mormon. I know that he's trying to create a "Mormon Cinema" and it will probably make him a wealthy man since he has no real competitors for the LDS-drama genre. I would like to see what he could do though with just a straight, non-LDS theme movie and some better actors.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Let's go out and do some good
lou-502 September 2000
I attended an open house for the recently completed 97th Mormon Temple and was once again impressed by these 'true believers' - men and women of steadfast religious conviction (some would say, the product of communal brainwashing). But judging by "God's Army", an honest and down-to-earth depiction about Mormon conversion, you have to say the young members are far from being willing robots, ready to accept their faith. It took a lot of guts for writer, director, and star Richard Dutcher to make this mainstream religious feature that, on the whole, is both inspiring and entertaining. But in his quest for a wide audience, Dutcher has toned down the religious preaching and built up a story about multi-ethnic characters in the heathen Los Angeles. Devoid of some proselytizing however, we don't fully appreciate the Mormon beliefs nor their missionary work. The various conflicts in the story and their syrupy resolutions also lent themselves more to the "Touched by an Angel" TV series. That being said, "God's Army" has several good points. The humor is both refreshing and yet self-directed: in their pristine mission quarters, the men have a posted cockroach board with specimen and species identification; Elder Sandoval boosts himself above a railing to face the famous Hollywood sign as he delivers his salvation message even as his fellow missionaries are throwing pieces of food at him; and the house antic is to take pictures of fellow missionaries sitting on the commode. The acting (mostly first-timers) is surprisingly good, especially the genuine chemistry between Elder Dalton (Dutcher) the mentor and Elder Allen (Matthew Brown) the student. In their shared dialogues, we learn much about a disciplined lifestyle that will lead to personal growth and salvation. It isn't afraid to air out dirty laundry in discussing issues of black bigotry and dissent to the Book of Mormons. It shares with us flawed characters trying to overcome their barriers - Elder Allen raised by a stepfather who baptized him to the Mormon faith and later landed in prison for child molesting, Sister Fronk unable to commit to a Mormon suitor because of her inadequate faith, and Elder Kinegar who could not overcome his religious disbeliefs. "God's Army" isn't a film for everyone because in witnessing men and women struggling to understand their faith and commitment, we are bound to ask ourselves the same questions.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Mormons Are People Too.
bokonon4225 May 2000
A dull stroll through the banalities of Mormon prosthelatizing. Utterly un-funny. A testament to the widely held theory, that in order for bathroom humor to be funny, it must necessarily be vulgar; it also bolsters the claim that a close relationship with Jesus makes you not funny. More propaganda than film, don't worry about any touchy social issues coming up at the dinner table after this one. The saving grace of this movie is its accurate portrayal of young Mormon females as particularly attractive. Oh well, its your $7.50.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Powerful title. Not so powerful movie.
George Parker4 August 2002
Rising star Mormon auteur/actor Dutcher's breakthrough film "God's Army" tells of a group of Los Angeles based door-to-door religion peddlers. A shoestring indie with obvious low budgetness and inescapable nonsequiturs, the film manages a sense of earnestness as it shows the cell of young male LDS missionaries struggling with issues of faith, converting, healing, and getting lots of doors slammed in their faces. A somewhat interesting and marginally entertaining watch for anyone who ever wondered what's up with those annoying my-religion-is-better-than-your-religion LDS door knockers. (C+)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An honest, yet often funny glimpse into the world of the Elders...
Tim Rollins17 March 2004
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, let me make it clear that I am an active Latter-day Saint who takes an open-minded approach to life and all that it has to offer. I am not narrow-minded nor am I paranoid like the scale I witnessed as being so prevalent when I attended school in Utah over 20 years ago.

This movie – Richard Dutcher's first – was a delight to watch because it portrayed a realistic glimpse of life as a Mormon missionary, especially in Los Angeles, and was not some sanitized cream-puff flick cranked out by the BYU public-relations machine. I have long felt that LDS cinema would have its time; even President Spencer W. Kimball (1895-1985) had said the time would come where we would have 'our own kind of music', etc., and that our people would become achievers in the arts. We are seeing that in music, film and in other mediums that our time is not only now here, but that it is being welcomed – even embraced – by all who are seeking an escape from the filth that permeates so much of our modern society, especially in the areas of contemporary cinema and music.

GOD'S ARMY showed how many of these young men – who are still basically boys at heart – come out, many of them away from home for the very first time. Here you see some of the emotional baggage, to include Dutcher's companion the 'greenie' (a term for a brand new missionary) who comes from a family where the father was a sexual predator that is currently incarcerated, to another elder who is reading tracts that has him struggling with his faith to Dutcher's character himself who we learn is fighting the greatest battle of all – cancer.

As we watch these characters grow, change and develop, we find ourselves cheering for them; for to a greater or lesser extent, we find a part of ourselves in each of them. The greenie who grows into his calling as a missionary, Dutcher's role as 'Pop', the other missionaries and the qualities they add, to include the practical jokes they pull on each other only add to the quality – and even authenticity – of the film.

The scene with the mission president in the first part of the film has him coming across as a real jerk and could have been handled with more dignity. Frankly, the mission president depicted in the film came across as a real heavy-handed Bozo the Clown. While I have never met a mission president like that, I imagine there is one like that that slips through the cracks from time to time, I believe that scene could have been handled better while still adding a little to the storyline in this case.

A treat to watch, well acted, superbly written and directed by a very talented Richard Dutcher and a welcome addition to any film library, on a scale of one to ten, I give this one a 10/10. ***
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The beginning of the Mormon New Wave
Adrian Smith (trouserpress)10 February 2004
A movie written and directed by a Mormon, as well as starring in it as well, could give the potential viewer some trepidation, but have no fear! God's Army gives a fairly accurate and entertaining view of life as an LDS missionary. Having been one myself I approached the film with some scepticism, which turned out to be entirely unnecessary.

The film follows a new missionary (or greenie) as he leaves Kansas and goes on a mission to California. There he is teamed up with Pops, a well-worn, and in my opinion slightly too old missionary who shows him a thing a too, not only about teaching the gospel but also about developing his own faith.

If you're not religious don't be put off. It's a great film, with some very funny moments, and if you have been on a mission like me you'll appreciate it even more.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Surprised, positively and negatively
drew_graham129 January 2003
First things first, I LOVE this film. Sure, it was raw and real, and even a titch cheesy, but I think the world has been fed sugar-coated views of the church for far too long and to show members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (and missionaries, to boot!) as real, imperfect people was a stroke of genius. I must say, however, that as I read through many of these reviews, I was pretty unpleasantly surprised with some of what was said (even and especially by Mormons!). This film was not propaganda, nor was it "anatomy of a cult." I've heard Richard Dutcher himself address his position in making this film and his intentions are pure and his film is real. Sure, it doesn't bring up particularly touchy issues the gospel has with the world, but does ANY movie address every aspect of its subject matter? To those who think that Dutcher's script dismisses those struggling with faith with a wave of the hand, claiming, as the film states "sometimes I think God gives us a few hundred reasons to believe, and just throws in a couple not to, so that we can choose for ourselves," I would say THAT IS WHAT FAITH IS ABOUT. You can find imperfections with even a perfect system if you look hard enough. This film showed real people in real situations. The moment of insanity, as so many have put it, when Elder Allen realizes his true identity was the most touching thing I had seen in a theater to date (until, of course, Dutcher's next brilliant film, Brigham City). I'm disappointed that people have decided to use their film review as a Mormon-bashing forum (although, I suppose I'm using it as a Mormon-promoting forum, but all in the name of defending the truth, right?). I give this film 11/10 and recommend it to anyone who has an open mind or faith in what the true gospel is really about.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A negative look at a positive environment.
flikflak18 February 2002
Director / lead actor Dutcher revels in this look-at-me film, wherein he attempts to gain worldly acceptance for tarnishing the otherwise very upbeat world of Mormon missionaries. Some of the acting is fair. But some roles are unrealistic, i.e. the ominous (rather than fatherly) Mission President, etc. The film does give a fair look at how some missionaries may struggle with their faith, but the actual missionary program he claims to represent is far from his concept of it, in terms of being upbeat, cohesive, and inspired. The only inspiration I see in this film is Dutcher's self-inspiration. The film is slow and boring, and the shooting and screenplay look like a college student project.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This is a well made propaganda LDS Film
mchlhrrs23 November 2001
This movie has a look and feel of many "Fresh" directors (closeups and focus on the emotions being experienced by the actors). The point of the film was presented from many angles and expressed well by the relatively inexperienced cast. The point being "Have faith in Jesus Christ and the Morman Church" Oh, and if you read or hear anything contrary to the teachings of the Prophet, it is just Haterade. (Fuel for Hatred)
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Nice Try!
timskousen14 April 2001
This film makes a lot of attempts, and for that it is admirable, but it's total lack of accuracy of a Mormon mission really prostitutes the faith and the greatness of missionary work. The ridiculous 29 year old Elder Dalton (no missionaries are allowed out after 26) who is known as pops by everyone including the mission president (no mission president should or would ever use such nicknames) could be acceptable if he didn't die from a brain tumor. How many preposterous things can happen in one movie? This gets a 3 out of 10 for it's attempts, but let's hope Dutcher learns how to write a story before his third film.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Mormons aren't so bad...
marieldechagny4 January 2001
I was disturbed that the only comment I saw on this page was so negative, so I thought I'd give my opinion. Mormons have been misinterpreted and misunderstood in nearly every media for many years. Can you really blame any Mormon who goes to see this piece and acts a bit over-enthusiastic that there is a very true to life (and definitely more positive) depiction of Mormons out for the public's view? Mormons' enthusiasm for the gospel (which is often mistaken for fanaticism) is merely an eagerness to share that great feeling with others. I can think of no better story to help show that enthusiasm than one that depicts the life of Mormon Missionaries. I like the scenes with Elder Kinegar mostly for a good reason. There is a lot of anti-Mormon literature out there. There's also a lot of evidence that what Mormons teach is real. It's all who you listen to, what you yourself decide. Kinegar listened too much to the logic of it and what his head told him. Allen and Dalton listened to what their hearts and the scriptures, the word of God, told them, and thus they continued to serve the Church. Words and arguements can't convert, only the person him/herself can convert themselves. I also liked Dutcher's comment, "There are drugs and disease in the world," et al, because the thing is Mormons are helping in their part to help the drug problem. The Word of Wisdom, mentioned by Elder Banks, prevents us from partaking in addicting substances and teaching our children that they are wrong. Mormons can't change how the world views things, but we can make a difference in our own homes. The attempt to make the world change their view is evidenced by the Missionaries knocking on doors and trying to teach the gospel. Dutcher wasn't commenting on the world in general, merely on those who spend all their time writing anti-Mormon literature. As a convert myself, I really appreciated the view of how nearly every person focused on in this movie is a convert. Dutcher did an excellent job supporting the Mormon religion. Every member has a moment of personal conversion or personal disillusionment. As I said, there are arguements both ways. What really makes the final decision is not those words, but the feeling inside. I consider the evidence of the priesthood and the power to heal as portrayed very important to this movie. It shows an extremely integral part of Mormon life and beliefs, mainly the fact that God is not absent in this modern world, and He will continue to perform miracles to those who continue to believe, as Benny and Dalton both firmly did. Facts aren't as important as the feeling. This movie makes me feel great. I hope Dutcher continues putting out this level of realism for the Mormon world and Mormon life, because to Mormons, it's great to see it out there, real and impressive.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Saw the film
Prometheus-61 August 2000
I saw the film at the dollar theater in Ogden, Utah. I had heard very little about the film beforehand, so I had no expectations or preconceptions. As I watched the film I was engaged by the similarity of the events portrayed in the film to events in my own mission. The prank mindset, the slammed doors, the different stock personalities among missionaries: it all rang true. For those of you who think this film was a little over the top, I assure you, Mr. Dutcher watered down actual mission experiences. (At least in my case.) He was respectful of sacred themes, but at the same time did a good job of portraying some of the foibles of 19 and 20-year-olds. I would recommend the film, especially to returned missionaries. It will definitely take you down memory lane.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Realistic portrayal of mission life. Good stuff!
Kurt-6225 June 2000
I was pleasantly surprised at the realism of the movie. Being a former missionary, I enjoyed the depiction of the flip side to the white-shirt-and-tie world that is seen by everyone else. After viewing this movie you should be left with the sense that these 19 year old guys on the bikes are just that. 19 years old but on a mission to teach what they believe to those who will listen. If you view this as a skeptic you will find fault. If you view this as a former missionary (as I) you will find reason to cheer. If you are looking for a presentation of doctrine and the defense thereof, you will be looking in the wrong place.

This film is presented in a Docu-drama style, essentially following the life of one missionary whose roots in the faith are questionable, his internal struggles as well as his struggles in a new environment. Through him we see the fun as well as the work involved in being an LDS missionary. If you just sit back and take it for what it is (and for what it was intended), you will be entertained. However, if you see or hear something in this film that makes you wonder, just stop one of those young bike riding guys and say, "Hey, Elder I have a question!" See what happens.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Anatomy of a cult
iamsethh28 April 2000
I'll grant that this movie was not as bad as I expected. I greatly admire Dutcher's making a movie on his own terms, because in these PC times, the typical response to movie stereotypes is to complain about them and not do anything. Making your own movie as an answer to them must have taken great guts. But as a rationalist, I have to say this movie is just propaganda. Dutcher also gets credit for bringing up some of the logical criticisms of the book of Mormon, but then he just dismisses them with hand waving and ridiculous justifications ("sometimes I think God gives us a few hundred reasons to believe, and just throws in a couple not to, so that we can choose for ourselves"). Ultimately, the movie decides that the issues that Elder Kinegar brings up don't really matter, as far as rational discussion - all that matters is when you want to believe so bad, go through so much mental anguish about it, until you experience a moment of insanity when you just "know" you're right. The movie also helped me realize how seemingly intelligent people can continue to not only believe in the religion, not only go on a mission, but even PAY the church to go on your mission: when you sacrifice so much.. so much of yourself, so much of your freedom, so much of your dignity, so much of your rational skepticism, then you just HAVE to believe in it to avoid the heart wrenching disappointment that would come when you realized your entire set of beliefs is absurd. Of course, you cannot deny this.. you can pretend to, you can never mention your doubts to other people, you can try to turn your brain off - that's why Utah is the Prozac capital of the world. At the end of the movie, the main character says he never found out what happened to Elder Kinegar. I know what happened to him, the same thing that happened to all my friends who are recovering Mormons - he felt a huge weight lifted from his shoulders when he left the church, then he went on to enjoy life, and wondered how he could ever have deluded himself so much as to waste so many years of his life in the church.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Better then I thought it would be...
troyjames217 April 2005
It's hard for me to watch these kind of films. They make my somewhat uncomfortable. I didn't think this one was going to be good..but I tried it out anyway. It was a lot better then I anticipated. It makes you wonder at some point during the film..Are these guys teaching the truth? If it made me think that then they most have done a good job in making the film. There are certain parts of the film that made me a little uncomfortable..such as watching them pray together. It was also hard for me to totally understand what was going on because I don't really comprehend the Mormon faith. I did find myself wondering after I watched the film with my wife however. Enjoy.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
ilovewrestling182 November 2004
There are some examples of missionaries blatantly disregarding very important rules, but unfortunately that does happen sometimes. I just hope they didn't do it to say "this is okay". If it was for realism, then all power to them.

I love this movie, it is funny, realistic, and smart. I know that the things that happen can happen. The church is true!

This movie contains one of the most profound lines I have ever heard. It says that God always gives us 100 clear reasons to believe that this is his only true church, and then one reason that with our current faith we can't quite see through, and it is profoundly sad how many people will fall to that one reason. They just won't exercise their faith based on the other reasons. I know this is true, but never thought of that until I saw this movie. I would like to say thank you to the makers!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Smoking Something....
ostertad18 April 2004
Some people must have been smoking something when they watched this movie (those who gave it good reviews.) Not only was the acting horrible the storyline was too Hollywood and not very realistic. If missionaries would have done half the things these ones did while on missions they would have been sent packing home to mom and dad. If you haven't seen God's Army don't waste your time. This movie is hazardous to your mental well being and should be viewed at your own risk as permanent psychological damage may be sustained. God's Army couldn't have been further of base if Ed Decker would have produced it. You now have my two cents I'll leave it at that. AMEN!!!!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excelente Película
andresrequenatappi1 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Andrew: I am not member of the church Mormons, not even I am believing and I have to say that this film from the technical content and point of view is exceptional. It is to be thankful that there are in the market films of this type that without proselyted spirit give a so beautiful vision us of the human soul. Thanks Cari: I liked much the film, mainly the Richard paper to dither, a missionary who chooses the work of the day to day teaching to his companions although he knows that he is going to die. The power of its example for the rest of the missionaries and as the power of The holy spirit is able to build miracles.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews