IMDb > Dino Crisis (1999) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Dino Crisis
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Dino Crisis (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Magnificent

9/10
Author: Mr.Killer from Arendal, Norway
28 January 2000

When I bought this game I allready knew that this would be a great game.

You will be playing as a agent named Regina which assignment Is to recapture a doctor named Kirk who supposedly died In a laboratory accident on Ibis Island 3 years ago. After the arrival on the Island,Regina and her teammates finds out that somethings Is wrong,which Is quite right. The Island is inhabited whith drewling and hungry dinosaurs and you must fight`em to complete the mission.

The game is made by the creators of the Resident Evil series and that is not a bad thing. So If you got Resident Evil 1,2 and are planning to get Resident Evil 3,so go and get a copy of Dino Crisis at once

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant!

9/10
Author: action-6 from Froland, Norway
13 January 2000

Dino Crisis is a magnificent game, that all of you (over 15) should consider buying.

You play Regina, a special agent, who is sent in on Ibis island together with your team to find Dr. Kirk. Kirk was thought to be dead, but an agent infiltrated the research-facility some time ago, and saw that Kirk was still alive.

The game is from the same creators, who made the fabolous Resident Evil-series, and DC is clearly inspirated by their previous games+ Jurassic Park by Steven Spielberg. The game is very exciting, scary (but not as scary as Resident Evil) and very fun to play. So go on! If you`ve completed Resident Evil 1 & 2, Dino Crisis is a perfect apitizer while you wait for Resident Evil 3! 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Resident evil but with Dinosaurs

8/10
Author: shadowman123 from United Kingdom
14 September 2008

I got a copy of Dino Crisis years ago back in the day when I was computer game addict on the PS1. I never got round to completing it as my I managed to burn out my second playstation through all the time I spend on it. Many years later I managed to get my hands on a cheap copy of it and decided to resume my mission to finish the game off. What can I say , I think Dino Crisis was realised during the time of the still very popular Resident Evil series. Players assume the role of uber sexy and tough chick known as Regina and the plot revolves around them going to Ibis Island in order to capture a rogue scientist known as Dr Kirk. Here is where Dino Crisis works on the Resident Evil engine and succeeds on many levels even somewhat better than the others as we are presented with Resident Evil meets Jurassic Park and if you have seen the Jurassic Park movies , we all know how viscous the dinosaur species is. The game still retains some of its thrills along the way and still has a few jump out moments which in a way make it better than Resident Evil. There is a certain addictive-ness to to it , it will keep you very entertained although my only complaints are that some parts of the game i.e. the DDK system were not explained well enough and some puzzles you were quite hard and required a stress free mind to work with and not to mention the classic running back and forth with made it a bit frustrating. However to conclude , Dino Crisis certainly was not boring and worth a check should you ever come across it, especially if your a fan of survival horror.

DINO CRISIS : 8.1 OUT 0F 10

A SURVIVAL HORROR ON A MUCH LARGER SCALE...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

this game scared me so much that i couldn't play through the rest of the game until 2 years later

8/10
Author: Steven Griffin from United Kingdom, Stevenage
11 August 2008

i must have played this when i was about 7 or 8 I had saved up money to buy the playstation 1 and when i finally did have enough i brought it and received a number of games including resident evil 2.

however i wasn't allowed to play by my parents so in return they brought me a loveley little game called DINO CRISIS. Now when i saw the front cover i thought of this a s just a cool shoot em up dino game instead what i got was a horror survival game that would chill me to the bone.

got about 15 minutes into the game when i encountered one of the scary moments in the game, after that I couldn't play anymore it just scared me so much that i stopped playing it and left it till i was 12. by then i had a ps2 and was testing out ps1 games on it when i came across dino crisis and decided to dare play it.

i did and i realised that although scary at the time it was a great game and very enjoyable to play. the game has the kind of graphics you would expect from a playstation game they are better than resident evil 1 & 2 and are pretty much the same as resident evil 3. the lines in this game from the characters are cheesy at best and some parts of the game are predictable but overall this is a good game and should be played through at least once by yourself.

in short if you enjoyed the resident evil series then you'll love this.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Resident Evil meets "Jurassic Park"

9/10
Author: Michael Pilkington (mjpilkington@yahoo.com) from Richmond, CA
7 September 2000

The creators of the Resident Evil series gives a game that replaces zombies with dinosaurs. In this game, you are a special agent assigned to track down a scientist presumed dead at an island. Unfortunately, your mission will not be easy. You must dispatch a lot of dinosaurs. As the game progresses, more and more of these giants become very intelligent and will track you until they devour you.

If you're a fan of gory video games (take note of the warning as the game loads) like Resident Evil, then this one's for you. Great sound and detailed graphics compliments this game very well. Plus, the story doesn't let up. It's even better than the "Jurassic Park" video games. Try it out. My evaluation: 9 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Resident Evil + Capcom= Dino Crisis

9/10
Author: Terryfan from United States
29 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Since the success of Resident Evil on the Playstation that help set the bar for all Survival Horror video games to follow many have try and some even did it just as good.

But there is one title that has been a strong survivor in the fight and that is Dino Crisis.

Made by Capcom the same company behind Resident Evil. This game is a cross between Resident Evil and Jurassic Park and for fans of both it is a winner.

The game has you play the character named Regina a red headed female along with her team mates Gail and Rick who don't see eye to eye on things and Cooper the radio man.

Your team is send to a island that is home to a Military Experiment Facility to bring back Dr.Edward Kirk who by reports was found dead in a Experiment that went wrong however thanks to a spy on the island the facts were straight.

You are order to bring him back however things go wrong from the start first when you team lands on the island, Cooper becomes dinner for a T-Rex. So with you and your team mates not knowing of Cooper's Demise you carry on the mission.

However you soon discover that the island is crawling with Lighting fast Velociraptors,Pteranodons, and the main boss The T-Rex. Now you have to fight for Survival against Dinosaurs and find Dr.Kirk to get your mission done.

The Game Graphics are very strong gives you a real feel for how scary the game is and the characters look very good and the Dinosaurs are very well designed and the level designs give you the chills.

The Sound is very good with good weapon effects, The Dinosaurs sound effects are very good with the roar and growls, The voice acting is at it best with a very good cast and very good story telling for this Survival Horror title.

The Controls are very much the same from Resident Evil and the feel for the game is very much Resident evil.

The Game Play is very good and it is very much the same format as Resident evil.

Overall this game has become a hit on the Playstation one and remains a strong player in The Video Game world and Survival Horror Games.

I give Dino Crisis a 9 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I need more ammo!!!

6/10
Author: Aaron1375
11 July 2007

Yes, this game is basically a Resident Evil type game, that instead of zombies we get dinosaurs!!! We also get a really attractive red head heroine, a rather interesting story involving some sort of device that opens portals, and we get lots of dinosaurs. Dinosaurs that are very hard to kill! What we don't get is a lot of ammo to kill said dinos. In fact, we mainly use a pistol that does so little damage that it is maddening. Granted, later in the game you can devise a dart that kills the dinos instantly, but I want to shoot away to my hearts content in a game of this sort. Unlike Resident Evil where if you do run out of ammo you can still sort of fight with a knife, here you are sol if you are out of ammo. So near the end of the game I was just running past the dinosaurs hoping they wouldn't hit me instead of fighting and this is how I got through the game, and I apparently got a rather bad ending in the process. So basically, if I could have had a decent supply of weapons and ammo this game would have been a lot more fun instead of the hell it became!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Too good to be true, bro!

8/10
Author: Liam Rogers from United Kingdom
11 May 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When i got this game, i thought it was Jurassic park but instead its a survival horror of Dino's like resident evil 2. This game is very scary but not that scary if your about 10 or 12 because i was scared when i was seven, now I'm ten. I bet the people who made resident evil made Dino crisis because its got the same graphics as it and the weapons and inventory is like resident evil too, man. The actors are not that good but they look cool. The Dino's are bit slow but they do sneak up on you good because one of those Little creeps jumped on my face when i was walking down from this lab. There is 2 things i don't like about the game (1. There's only Dino's in this game, i wish there could be like a mutant creature or armies (2. The places look all alike, man. Its not that bad anyway because there's lots of creepy Dino's plus a huge t Rex and its scary. I will give this an 8 out of 10 for good enemies and scary parts but two things i don't like in this game.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Resident Evil with Dinosaurs

10/10
Author: Éamonn Green from Belfast, Ireland
7 July 2002

Much scarier than the resident evil games, much more fun to play than the resident evil games and much better graphically than the resident evil games. It rips off Jurassic Park, an island military base is crawling with dinosaurs and team go in to find the man responsible, Dr Edwin Kirk. The team find him and several of their attempts to get off the island are thwarted by attacks from the T-rex. 9 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Jurassic Park meets Resident Evil.

Author: vlad_davidov
10 April 2003

Dino Crisis improves on many aspects of Resident Evil, but it falls short in some other areas.

The main plus - Now you can aim AND walk at the same time. It's just...really cool. Another plus is the advanced mixing system, that allows you to create even more powerful medical equipment/weapons than before.

Not to mention that killing dinosaurs is just fun in general.

And the storyline isn't what you'd think at first glance, either. The dinos aren't created by some horrible genetic experiment horribly gone wrong, but I'll leave how it actually happens to the gamer.

Also, gone are pre-rendered backgrounds, the game is now completely in 3D ( Sort of like Code: Veronica ), and the graphics are just sensational.

Saving is also much easier. Instead of having to have enough Ink Ribbons ( Meaning you can only save so many times ), you only have to locate a save point, where you can save your game as many times as you'd like.

The FMVs are sensational, and the voiceovers are superb.

The problems lay in the gameplay though. You only get three weapons tops ( But you can upgrade them to compensate ), such as a Glock, a SPAS shotgun, and the HK Grenade Pistol.

Another downside is the item box system. There are now three different kinds of boxes you can store things in, and in order to open them, you need so many 'Plugs' to open them. But, as an added plus, each box will usually come ready-equipped with stuff already in it.

Also, the game has many keypads which require codes, which are either incredibly hard to find, or just darn-near impossible ( Thank God for FAQs ).

If these problems don't affect your gameplay, you'll get quite a lot of mileage out of this game. Otherwise, this will only be a one-ride game. Kudos to Capcom though, this was a really good idea.

**** out of Five.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history