IMDb > Miracle in Lane 2 (2000) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Miracle in Lane 2 (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Great Family Film

9/10
Author: KCS82 from Virginia
24 July 2000

Franky Muniz lights up the screen in this movie. While it is a predictable plot in many ways, it is nonetheless touching. A good plot line will keep parents interested, with numerous side plotlines. All around, this film is well acted, and for the most part, avoids cheesiness and cliche (though there are a few moments). Kids and adults alike will love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Uplifting movie with outstanding cast

8/10
Author: Loraine from USA
13 November 2001

Justin Yoder (Frankie Muniz) wants desperately to win a trophy. He wants to compete, to succeed, to win. One problem. Justin is in a wheelchair.

While his disability has hampered him for years, Justin finally finds something that he can do--soapbox derbies. After talking his parents into it, he launches into a whole new stage of his life, finding that he is good at something, and he might even have a chance at a trophy.

This movie caught my eye one day a little over a year ago on the Disney channel. I watch 'Malcolm in the Middle' and quickly recognized Frankie Muniz. However, it was not him I came away loving, it was Patrick Levis. Patrick plays Seth Yoder, Justin's older brother. I have a brother of my own with a disability, so I understood every single one of Seth's feelings and frustrations. The scene in which Seth breaks down and spills his feelings to his father was especially poignant. Thank you, Patrick, for such a beautiful and understanding performance. This movie is careful not to deny the truths of being a sibling to someone with a disability--a rare and wonderful thing for films.

All in all, a magnificent piece of work, especially for a made-for-TV movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Disney Channel has another winner

10/10
Author: Zane Thompson from Arizona
28 September 2000

This was a really cute family film---it shows that the underdog CAN rise to the top and win the prize. Of course, it didn't hurt to have Frankie Muniz as the star; he is a likeable and talented young actor. No wonder "Malcolm in the Middle" is such a big hit.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A good anti-discrimination movie

9/10
Author: Mike-DD from Singapore
27 August 2000

Enjoyed the movie and the message. Didn't realize it was Malcolm's Frankie Muniz at first, but thought that he did a pretty good and convincing acting job anyway. The cast seemed to have pretty good rapport with one another, and you are never bored at all as the story progresses. A good one for the family to enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

great movie it made me think twice about discrimination

Author: Nikki
15 May 2000

I thought that the film was well done and deserves to be recognized. there is an all important theme of discrimination all b/c you are not normal. I think that through this move people can see that people with disabilities are just as human as we are, and they have feelings too.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

My Favourite Movie Ever!

10/10
Author: garyandkitty from Ontario, Canada
17 February 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Justin Yoder (played by Frankie Muniz) is your average twelve-year-old kid, except for a movement problem known as spina bifida. He likes sports, but until a point near the end of the movie when he finds out he at least has a chance to be good at something. I indirectly quote: "Okay, there may be a few minor problems with me trying to win a trophy. For starters, will I have enough time? You see, I have a problem called hydrocephalus. It makes spinal fluid build up in my head. One shunt malfunction, and unless they get me to the emergency room right away . . .well, you get the picture." Right after he says, "you get the picture," I always say to the TV, "Yeah, I do." This is because I have the same problem, but we won't get into that yet. There are some very funny parts scattered throughout the movie, like right after Justin explains hydrocephalus. His parents and brother freak out. I like the climax, because it is realistic. I think you know what happens.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Great movie, but...

Author: Jerry-114 from Hood River, OR
16 May 2000

This was a great family-oriented movie. The only criticism I have is regarding the "God" sequences. They were stupid. They added nothing to the film, and, in fact, detracted a great deal from it. The very last scene of the movie (the angles-in-wheelchairs) should have been cut out completely. It left a very bad taste. Otherwise, a great film!

Was the above review useful to you?

What i thought of the movie

10/10
Author: gavinlucraft from United Kingdom
4 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am a big fan of this movie and like this movie because it is a good way to show people what hydrocephalus is really like. i know the movie can't show the condition in full as this is a Disney movie it does show the struggle of people with the condition.

As i have hydrocephalus myself i found it rather interesting to watch. I totally know what the character in the movie feels like in the scenes where he is not feeling too good.

If you haven't seen this movie it is a great way to learn a little bit about hydrocephalus i would tell anybody who hasn't seen it to definitely do so. its a good one

Was the above review useful to you?

Great movie on many levels

9/10
Author: card54 from Vermont, USA
18 February 2008

Miracle in Lane 2 works on several levels. First and most noticeable, it is a wonderful movie about overcoming obstacles, being persistent, working with mentors, etc., etc. Everything we come to expect from this genre.

It is also a good disability awareness movie, suitable for a wide audience. The movie demonstrates the way 2 groups of people typically respond to persons with disabilities; those who "get it" and those who don't.

"Miracle" reflects, in Disney's soft-edged style, some of the challenges faced by children with physical disabilities, their parents, their siblings and the larger public. It deals with some touchy subjects with sensitivity AND a dose of reality.

Based on fact? Yes. Factually correct? Well, the writers took a lot of license with the details of how the All American Soap Box Derby works. That's secondary to the story, however. Suffice it to say one won't learn much about the way AASBD operates from this flick, other than kids building and competing in gravity-powered racers. You will learn more about the issues mentioned above.

That said, there was enough factual correctness that when my stepson, a wheelchair user most of his life, was motivated by this film to compete himself, we were able to make contact with the gentleman who (still?) manufactures the hand brake used by Justin. Last I heard, it remains the only "non-standard" component permitted on any standard AASBD racer.

BTW, Not only did my stepson compete locally, he became a Vermont State Champion and competed in the 2002 World Championships in Akron. While we were there, he spent some time with the real Justin.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good, Good, Good

Author: Elizabeth (somswimcats@aol.com) from Boston, Ma, USA
20 May 2000

I luved this movie. On the Disney Channel they do it to death but I don't care I watch it all the time. My mom said that Seth was a jerk but I could understand him, though I migh want to point out that I will always think of him from So Wird. You might say that he is a jerk on that too but I like him anyways. On Brink he is nice. I think that this movie should have ended with Justin geting the trophy and maybe a sene where it showed the trophy on the shelf. Cause I really was not crazy about the angels in the wheel chairs scene either.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history