Shriek If You Know What I Did Last Friday the Thirteenth
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 156 reviews in total 

39 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

Setting the record straight...

Author: rdatsun
15 March 2004

Okay first things first... This is NOT a rip-off of Scary Movie. It was in production way before Scary Movie started filming and was slated to be released in theaters. However it got delayed and Scary Movie beat em to the punch. Knowing that people (especially now as I can see from the previous posts) were going to think it a rip-off if released right behind SM, the producers opted for a tv movie instead. This is the truth as it was mention on Entertaiment Tonight. So please, STOP CALLING IT A RIP OFF!

Now to the review This is actully a pretty cool parody. Unlike Scary Movie (which I also liked btw) not all the jokes are riddled with sex gags and toliet humor, so of it harken back to the days of Airplane. I love the bit where the characters are at the party and discussing what to do in a horror situations. That was just hilarous especially with the cameo by the dude who played J.J on Good Times and the Pop Up video chase.

I'll admit some of it doesn't work but that how parody goes, its hit or miss and Scary Movie had the same type of problems. Overall I say its on par with SM. Both have unique sense of humor, it just a shame that SIYKWIDLFtT will only be seen by a few and sadly be wrongly branded as a rip-off just because of circumstance and bad timining. It really is a good movie if you give it the chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

It's a parody movie, it is supposed to be bad!

7/10
Author: Rooster99 from Paris, France
8 August 2002

This movie is very much like Scary Movie. Either you laugh at all the silliness and jokes at other movies' expense, or you sit there frustrated thinking it is far too stupid to be funny. Remember, this movie was meant to be a joke!

That aside, there are hundreds of references to other films, some subtle, most not. There is a take on Grease's "Greased Lightning" which had me rolling in my seat, and at one point, Chucky makes a cameo appearance. This movie had a lot of stupid moments, but I would have to say it works as a whole. You have to be prepared for yet-another farcical Scream parody, if you go in expecting the finely-tuned humour of Billy Crystal or Woody Allen, you will be sorely disappointed.

Watch the background for many, many film references. The obvious slapstick gags sometimes overshadow the more humourous background references, some of which actually give this film second viewing possibilities. You will definitely not see all of the jokes this movie has to offer in one viewing (of course, many of you will not be able to stomach watching it a second time).

As with any parody, many of the jokes are predictable and somewhat lame. There are a lot of scatological references (expected), even some scenes pretty well ripped-off from Scary Movie (the entire first sequence), but there are some original bits which tip the scale in it's favour.

I gave it a 6 which is probably very generous, however I went in expecting a childish display of visual gags and got exactly what I expected. I think it was the "Greased Lightning" bit which pushed this from a 5 to a 6, it is one of those memorable moments in a comedy which when you think back on, always seems to make you chuckle.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Shriek is what Scary Movie was trying to get to...

10/10
Author: REMwoman from Vancouver, Canada
20 June 2001

I have to admit that I didn't rent this video, my teen daughter did, but she liked it so much, she insisted that I watch it, telling me..."It isn't dumb, you'll like it!" She was right. We watched it together and both laughed all the way through. Since that first viewing, I've watched it a couple more times and--this is my best review of all--I found new things to laugh at that I missed the first time. We've recommended it to my daughter's friends and to my friends, and from both age groups we haven't heard anything but rave comments.

I think what's most important for its success is that Shriek is well written by script artists who have a great sense of dialogue. They've got a good grasp of the essential nature of parody and I think they must have seen every 'dead teen' horror flick ever. Because they know them so well, they've put in gags about pretty much everything related to them, instead of having to resort to being one-gag wonders.

But they don't stop with lots of in-jokes about dead teen movies--added on to that is an absurd collection of sight gags and parody-within-a- parody subplots (everything from the dance sequences in Grease to a few glimpses here and there of the Rocky Horror Picture Show).

In fact, there are so many sly asides and one-liners that I couldn't help but think "Mel Brooks" all the way through it. Of course, just like Mel Brooks' movies, this movie isn't claiming to be War and Peace or something. If you are looking for some kind of deep intellectual insight or social criticism, Shriek won't be for you...but then again, the genre it spoofs isn't about deep intellectual insights, either. Those movies are just for a thrill and this one is just for fun. So if what you're looking for is a good time and a lot of laughs, you can't miss with Shriek.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

If You Didn't Laugh ONce...

8/10
Author: bp_188 from Australia
30 September 2005

....You must be a robot. In, this "Scary Movie" style spoof, a group of teens suspect they're the next target of a killer at their high school. This films was loaded with laughs, and kept me chuckling the whole way through. If you didn't laugh at it even once, seriously, you must be either brain-dead or just not watching it right. Sure it was goofy, but that's the point! The opening scene was hilarious, and didn't rip off Scary Movie in any way, except the fact that they both spoof "Scream". All these people who say it ripped on Scary Movie in any way, should realize that this film went into production BEFORE Scary movie! I'm not saying Scary Movie ripped this film off, I'm just setting things straight. So, if you want to laugh at a witty, but goofy film, watch this, you won't regret it, and if you want a film filled with gross sex humor, watch Scary Movie, which is also a good movie. Hey why not watch both?

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Runs circles around 'Scary Movie'.

Author: sprockets86 (sprockets86@hotmail.com) from New Jersey, USA
27 January 2001

This film, like 'Cherry Falls,' was scheduled for wide-screen release but due to some other films - other horrible films - they were not. Instead, the USA Network, which is widely known for its pornography that consists of the Pizza Guy entering, then a cut, then the Pizza Guy leaving, aired these two films and others.

I believe this was the jewel of the bunch. Unlike 'Scary Movie,' it provided humor via dialogue - and not a penis impaling. The movie kept throwing joke after joke at you, at times making it hard to breathe. From the cheerleader lapping Scotch in a water fountain in school to the surprise 'dastardly' ending, the film did what many thought impossible: parody a parody.

And yes, even before (and after) 'Scary Movie' left its path of destruction throughout audiences all over the world.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

10/10
Author: BuffyAnneSummers (dpainter@hotmail.com) from Sunnydale, California
9 February 2002

I personally think this movie was a great Parody. I can't see how you people can say it sucked. This movie was very funny and I love it. I'd love to find a copy on tape or DVD to add to my own personal collection. This is one of my favorites.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Not very intelligent, but not without entertainment

Author: andyscott77 from London, ON CANADA
7 February 2002

I don't know why, but I didn't hate this movie. Maybe it was because I was just in the mood for something stupid, or maybe it was because of Majandra Delfino's long legs, but it was worth a smile or two. This movie might not win any awards, but if you want to see something kinda light, go for it. If you're looking for something that's going to be interesting, deep or meaningful, rent something else.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It was great!!!

10/10
Author: joy-40 (joycelyn.dipalma@nbc.com) from New York
5 December 2000

For all you LOSERS who said it was a bad ripoff of Scary Movie, get your facts straight. This movie was written and produced BEFORE Scary Movie was even a thought. The Scary Movie production team stole pieces of this film right from the original draft. USA did do a lousy editing and mix job, but that is NOT the fault of the writers or actors. For those of you who said it reminded you of Airplane, kudos, from an article I read about the writers, that's what it was supposed to achieve.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A decent alternative to Scary Movie

Author: zedex (cnsherry@iolfree.ie) from Dublin, Ireland
17 June 2001

Scary Movie, while hilarious, relied too heavily on gross-out gags and crudeness. While Shriek If You Know What I Did Last Friday 13th has these too, they are fewer and farther between. It's quite a funny movie, although some of the jokes take too long building up, however they are almost always worth the wait. Like any other parodies, it requires you to have a fairly extensive knowledge of horror movies, especially Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer. There are loads of visual jokes to make it worth watching again and again. The acting is decent enough, though none of the stars stand out that much. I would recommend it to anyone who liked Scary Movie (its more of the same) and to those who didn't (its a lot less vulgar) Score: 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A very, very good movie

10/10
Author: Stalker-19 from Germany
29 September 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

THIS CONTAINS SPOILERS! LOTS OF SPOILERS!

Okay, first of all, I think it´s very sad if people are insulting other people who liked this movie. If it´s not your kind of humor and you prefer the (body fluid) in your face style of Scary Movie, fine. I liked lots of jokes in Scary Movie, if was a really great film, but some of the jokes (like the entire scene when the two had sex) were too gross-out to be funny for me.

Now, let´s get back to Shriek. There´re no gross-out jokes here. Instead, you´re treated with LOTS of great spoofs, and (at least for me and the guys I watched this with) pretty much none of them fell flat. As Scary Movie, Shriek pretty much follows the plot of Scream, so there´s really not much to say about it.

Highlights were an insanely funny Menthos-spoof, the "Chop-up-video" (think Pop-up Video on MTV) and the "What happened to them" after the end credits, so be sure to wait until the credits have finished or you will miss out on one of the greatest jokes in the last couple of years - the fate of Barbara. And let´s not forget the "Are you SURE you´re not a lesbian?" line and the following retort - the last time I laughed that hard was at the flute-line in American Pie. And there were tons of other great lines in the movie (like "Wanna go into the scary dark forest?" - "Sure!") which made it a laugh-a-minute ride.

Anyway, if you liked Scary Movie, I´m not too sure you´ll like this one. I liked both, and my friends did too, but judging from the comments from other users, a lot of people can only like one.

But if you like comedies in general, like Airplane and Naked Gun, definitely check this one out, too. You won´t be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history