IMDb > Knockaround Guys (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Knockaround Guys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Knockaround Guys More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 14: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 135 reviews in total 

This movie was actually pretty good

Author: SweetTooth4MnMs from Georgia
20 April 2003

"Knockaround Guys" was actually pretty good. I had rented it because I saw that John Malkovich was in it and I ended up liking it. It didn't have that much action like I thought it would but it was still good. All the actors did fine jobs (especially Malkovich, in my opinion) and I hated to see it end. The opening scene with Teddy Deserve and Matty when he was 12 was a litle disturbing and it didn't really tell much about the movie. Seth Green was cute as always and it was sad when his character was killed off. Vin Diesel was good but I think he was just in this movie for eye candy and to beat someone up. Andrew Davoli's character didn't have much to do except get killed in the end. Barry Pepper was good and I liked his character. Dennis Hopper was good when he was on screen. The two stoners were laughable and I think they were in this movie for the humor. The sheriff was good but he made me mad in several parts. I loved the surprise ending. I had no idea that Teddy was behind the money scheme the whole time. John Malkovich was really good in this one and I loved the line he said to Seth Green. "I will kick you upright like a f***ing field goal". That was a really clever line. The final showdown was a little sad but Teddy had it coming. Well, all in all I liked this movie and I think this is one I would like to own. But thans for reading my review! Bye!

Was the above review useful to you?

Nothing special but nevertheless entertaining

6/10
Author: basemnt-dwellr from Old Europe
10 April 2003

The story is another variation of the "fish out of the water" formula. Four sons of New Jersey mobsters travel to a small town in the middle of nowhere to retrieve a bag full of money. The plot is nothing special, we've seen it all before, but it is told well and the film never gets boring.

This isn't wall-to-wall action but actually bothers to develop its characters and take an interest in them. The film starts a bit slow and is pretty talkative, but when the guys arrive in Wibaux, Montana, it gets better.

Barry Pepper, whom I had only seen before as the sniper in Saving Private Ryan, gives a great performance as Matty. I'm sure I will check out more of his work.

Vin Diesel plays the tough guy (whom else), but compared to TFATF and xXx he actually gets to do some acting here. And he plays his role very convincingly.

Tom Noonan as the corrupt sheriff is just great.

The rest of the cast is pretty decent too. I didn't like John Malcovich's accent though, it sounded kind of fake. Dennis Hopper does not have much screen time so I cannot say anything about him.

I liked the film. All in all good entertainment for 90 minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

Decent throwaway flick

Author: byght from Washington, DC
3 April 2003

"Knockaround Guys" is not life-altering by any stretch of the imagination, but it's probably worth seeing for any fan of "Godfather" or "Goodfellas" (though it's probably blasphemy that I just mentioned them in the same paragraph).

Just like "Unforgiven" was a brilliant follow-up on the spaghetti Western (what happens when these guys get old?), "Knockaround Guys" is a not-uninteresting follow-up on the gangster movie (what happens when these guys have spoiled kids?). So that's Unusual Concept 1. Throw it together with Unusual Concept 2 (four Noo Yawk wanna-be thugs have to find a bag of missing money in Nowhere, Montana) and some pretty okay performances, and you've got a fun way to kill some time.

While Scott Evil was (at least initially) a stroke of brilliance, I've never been a fan of Seth Green, and this movie does nothing to change that. He's so talentless and one-note that I'm surprised he's not doing collect call commercials yet (patience, it'll come). The other guy (I'm not bothering to look up his name) doesn't bring much to the table, either. Vin Diesel and Barry Pepper, however, really do light up the screen. Pepper is likable and actually a bit subtle, and Diesel's booming mega-toughguy charisma has never been better utilized.

On the Seniors Tour, John Malkovich is as brilliant, quirky and unconventional as always--opting for a high-pitched, laser-focused menace rather than the stock fugettaboutit gangster machismo. Dennis Hopper seems kind of uninspired by comparison, however, and their chemistry with one another is...strange. My friend said he heard that they played a gay couple in the movie (he hadn't seen it), and honestly, it sort of comes across that way (they actually play brothers-in-law).

So, in summary, this is a pretty fun little movie that will probably be forgotten and then seem really cool to a kid going through the DVD racks 20 years from now ("Wow, Barry Pepper and Vin Diesel did a movie together? And Barry Pepper had HAIR?!"). To keep things in perspective, however, I'd like to point something out: Joe Pesci, who can't be taller than 5'6" and has the physique of a koala bear, is 1,000 times more intimidating than Vin Diesel at his best. THAT'S the power of acting, kids.

Was the above review useful to you?

My opinion, I welcome yours..

Author: Shawn from jacksonville, florida
23 March 2003

My wife and I rented this movie because the famous actors' names caught our attention. I popped it in the DVD player and the first 30 minutes of the movie was awesome! I even mentioned to my wife, "This is a great movie". However, about 45 minutes to an hour into the movie it became talk, talk, talk, talk, and then more talk. Then at the end, a gun showdown left us wondering what the heck just happened because we were still numb by all the "talk". I recommend this movie if you can tolerate the 45 minutes of nothing but talk. I just thought they could have made the movie a lot more interesting. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

Knockaround Talk

Author: Shawn from jacksonville, florida
23 March 2003

My wife and I rented this movie because the famous actors' names caught our attention. I popped it in the DVD player and the first 30 minutes of the movie was awesome! I even mentioned to my wife, "This is a great movie". However, about 45 minutes to an hour into the movie it became talk, talk, talk, talk, and then more talk. Then at the end, a gun showdown left us wondering what the heck just happened because we were still numb by all the "talk". I recommend this movie if you can tolerate the 45 minutes of nothing but talk. I just thought they could have made the movie a lot more interesting. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

An average movie that lacks originality

Author: mcaddell-1 from Columbus, Ohio
22 March 2003

Plot and Theme:

The movie `Knockaround Guys' takes place in Brooklyn, and is centered on a mob family and their illegal operations. The leading actor is Barry Pepper (Matty), who is the son of the mob boss Dennis Hopper (Benny Chains). Pepper is trying to live an honest life unconnected to his fathers mob business. However, no one will give Pepper the opportunity to provide himself as an honest businessman. Once they find out Pepper is the son of the well-known mob boss, Pepper's interview ends up coming across as a mob tactic to infiltrate their business. Since the legitimate business world would not accept he, Pepper turns to a life with the mob. All in an attempt to gain his father respect. Pepper turns to John Malkovich (Uncle Teddy), who is his father right-hand man, to convince his father that his crew (Vin Diesel, Seth Green, Andrew Davoli) can handle and important job of picking up a bag of money in another state and bring back to Hopper. At first Hopper is reluctant to let Pepper and his crew handle such an important job, but Malkovich convinces him that the job was easy, and it would allow Pepper to prove himself.

What seems to be an easy job soon turns to trouble, when Peppers friend Seth Green loses the money, and the money ends up in the hands of corrupt cops in a small town in Montana. Pepper and his crew are force to retrieve the money before the Mafia kills his father.

The movie `Knockaround Guys' shows how hard it is to live a legitimate life, if you are the son of mobster.

Although the cast members were average, I thought Vin Diesel's character is one worth mentioning. Vin Diesel plays the tough guy of the crew. I found his character to be the most convincing; his muscular body along with his acting skills really showed is potential as an actor. The other roles were very average, which bring me to Malkovich. Malkovich tough-guy accent was not very good. I found his voice very disturbing.

Thanks to Vin Diesels I found this movie, which lacked originality more interesting. The plot of `Knockaround Guys' is similar to ` The Sopranos' and `Good Fellows' which are based on the everyday trials and tribulations of the mafia business.

What I did enjoy in the movie was the cinematographer's choice of camera shots. The close up shots of the characters really brought you up close and personal with each actor. The medium shot behind Seth, while fighting the airplane made you feel like you were in the plane with Seth. You were apart of the movie. The low-key lighting in the scenes leading up to the show down between the corrupted cops and the mafia alludes to the danger lurking around the corner. The cinematographer did a good job on the shots, which provided direction for the film. . In closing, the movie points out Pepper's dilemma of trying to l legitimate when society limits your options because your are the son of a mafia boss.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not What I Expected...

Author: BloodyValNtine913 from Toledo, Ohio
22 March 2003

After seeing commercials for this movie, I thought it would be a light-hearted-Ocean's 11-Catch Me If You Can-type of movie. I soon learn that when the Mob is involved, nothing is light-hearted...or profanity-free. I lost count, but they may have broken Jay and Silent Bob's number of times the f-word was used. The movie was really not too bad, although it left me feeling depressed and disheartened. I especially liked the performance of Seth Green, who was the main reason I saw the movie in the first place. One thing that bothered me though was that whenever anyone got shot (which happened several times throughout the movie), they never just shot them once, they had to do it several times. I don't know, it just bothered me. If I had to rate it, I'd give it 2-and a-half stars out of four.

Was the above review useful to you?

much better than i thought

Author: mdago88 from FSU
20 March 2003

Knockaround Guys was a lot better than i thought it would be. For one, it had a story. Second, decent acting coming from Pepper, Diesel, Green, Malkovich, and Hopper. The accents were a little strange, but worked with the background fro the characters. Good movie. 8 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Good movie to have in your DVD collection

Author: qwave54 from Canada
18 March 2003

If you come into this movie expecting very little, you'll be happily surprised. It's got a few good action scenes, i.e. the Diesel vs. Redneck scene is good. It gives you a somewhat unique perspective of the lesser mob families. For example, the main plot revolves around the fatal loss of $500,000 which to the larger mob families is nothing but to this small family is a fatal blow. Overall, a good flic to have sitting in your DVD collection and to watch with the guys. 7.5/10 BTW, yes I know there are some (i.e. the final scene) Reservior Dogs-like scenes, but after all the main-stream big time mob movies that have been made, there really is very little left in the mob world that hasn't been done yet.

Was the above review useful to you?

Trouble in the edit room

Author: ChimpyMatlock from Los Angeles, CA
16 March 2003

The premise isn't bad, the acting is at least average, but the editing is really substandard. It feels like one of these cases where the movie ran out of money before filming was completed, and they decided to put it together anyway. A

stitch here, a nip there, and a bit of an unfocused mess as a result.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 14: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history