IMDb > Knockaround Guys (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Knockaround Guys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Knockaround Guys More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 14: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 135 reviews in total 

Better than expected

7/10
Author: JesNollie from USA
11 October 2002

I've wanted to see this movie since I saw the trailer a year or so ago, before the release date was moved. After all the delays and the less than favorable reviews, I was skeptical, but given the choices playing in my town, I figured this was as good a choice as any. I thought it was a good movie. Not great, not unpredictable, but good. The acting was a mixed bag. Barry Pepper was excellent. Vin Diesel, Andrew Davoli and Dennis Hopper were all good. Malkovich gave a typically hammy performance and was the weakest link of the group, though Seth Green gave a surprisingly poor performance. I liked the story, though, and thought it was well paced, but a better soundtrack would have been a help in this type of movie. It's not in the class of the great gangster films like Goodfellas or The Godfather, but it didn't suck either.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Good modern mafia film.

9/10
Author: George Webster (ghtw3@hotmail.com) from Missouri
10 October 2002

I think this flick was a good modern mafia film, which had a lot of unexpected twists. It also showed mafia life for the horror it is, not as a glorified boys club. I think that all the younger actors in this movie did a very convincing job, and the support of Mr. Hopper and Mr. Malkovich only aided in the making of a superb film.

Was the above review useful to you?

`Derivative without wit'

Author: jdesando from United States
9 October 2002

`Derivative without wit' is what I would call "Knockaround Guys." Blood,yes. Redemption--yes. Caring about anyone in this movie-No.

Four mobster sons descend on a small Montana town to locate a bag of cash meant for one of their fathers. Problem is, corrupt sheriff (Tom Noonan of "Manhunter's" Tooth-Fairy fame) plans to keep the $500K for himself and his deputy.

Barry Pepper leads the cast as the son most responsible for the lost bag and the one most in need of gaining his father's respect (Dennis Hopper). Pepper is an odd-looking chap, a pleasant caricature of Elvis, who should attended Actor's Studio to find out how Pacino does the Italian accent (a good script often helps).

Vin Diesel does show he's going to be big at box office like his unworldly muscles. With those muscles, scowl, and mumbles, he does have a quiet strength promising stardom (as he will prove in "XXX"). Not to be outdone, John Malkovich plays the savvy second-in-command with an accent not yet found on linguists' charts. He should stick to his regular mumbling--his accent is laughable. He ends up absurd rather than tough

Lawrence bender also produced "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs," iconic films of the shock noir genre. Both have lively stories and interesting characters (think of John Travolta and Harvey Keitel, for example). The "Knockaround Guys" story arcs through the boy/man trying to prove to dad he's now a man, the assumption of power, the loss of power and money, and a resolution guaranteed to serve up surprises and bodies, if not the `respect' it all promised to the young guns.

The story is slow, the dialogue trite, and nothing new has been added to the themes of father/son relationships and Mafia honor. Only Pepper as the idealistic son and Diesel as the weary tough save this film from itself.

Was the above review useful to you?

The worst movie of the century.

Author: mgressma from New Jersey
9 October 2002

I can't believe how bad this movie is. The script is laughable.

All I can say about the performances is, the post office must have been busy when it was made, because it looks to me like the actors just mailed them in. My guess is, John Malkovich couldn't decide whether to play it like "The Godfather" or "Johnny Dangerously." His performance leans more towards Johnny Dangerously. Seth Green is the best of the lot. I was going to put in some info about the unoriginal, uninteresting, ending, but I won't. If you go see this movie, rest assured, the ending dones eventually arrive.

Was the above review useful to you?

I've seen worse...

4/10
Author: emdee74 from Sahuarita, Arizona
8 October 2002

The overall idea is fairly original and good. They assembled a good cast. But in the end, the story is bland and you really don't care who lives or dies or why. Poor writing plus poor direction equals a waste of good talent in a miserably failed attempt to make a Tarantinoesque film.

Was the above review useful to you?

Complete waste of 90 minutes of my life.

Author: peteburkhardt
8 October 2002

I saw this at a radio promo-free event, and it still wasn't worth it. The good reviews must have been from studio interns, what garbage.

The characters are flat, you don't care about them at all. They are spoiled kids who think they deserve more.

Every cliché in the book is in this movie, someone commented that it was a surprise ending. Well it was a surprise that they decided to use the ending of hundreds of other movies before.

And John Malkovich, why couldn't he do a decent NY accent? The man is a versatile actor but sounds like an absolute idiot.

The budget for this movie must have been 10 grand besides the actors. No memorable scenes or camerawork whatsoever.

Did I mention I didn't like it?

Was the above review useful to you?

This Movie Will Knock-around the Others this week.

10/10
Author: (mdey@att.com) from New York, New York
2 October 2002

I think that the cast did am excellent job. Vin, Berry, Mr. Hopper, Seth, John and new guy Andy Davoli made their respected roles very believable. I will recommend this movie to everyone. Great Directing, Wardrobe, Editing and soundtrack to boot !! Team this with a great plot and surprise ending and you get a ten from me.

Was the above review useful to you?

Absolutely worth seeing....

10/10
Author: dan burges from Ft Hood TX
17 August 2002

I saw a screening of this movie in May of 2001 and it was fantastic. My wife and I have been looking for this movie to come out ever since. The entire movie grabs your attention and makes you look forward to each scene. I can't recommend this movie enough.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great cast

Author: Moody (Mloca7) from Miami, FL.
27 June 2002

I had been waiting to see this movie for a long time!! I love Barry Pepper and I think Vin Diesel is hot so when I found out that they would be together in a film again I knew I had to see it! Seth Green does a funny performance and Vin and Barry have great chemistry together. They worked together in Saving Private Ryan. if you like mobster movies then you'll like this one. It's even better because it has a comedy edge. I suggest you go see it...everyone in this film works together great. It's like Ocean's 11 because it has a big ensemble cast! This movie has been around for a while but I don't know why it took sooooooooooo long for it to be released! I had to wait over a year!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A pretty good movie, but don't be fooled, this is not an action movie like IMDb and other websites say.

10/10
Author: oldman007 from Australia
6 May 2006

I had some money and went down to the Video Hire place just don the road. I was n the mood for action, so I went into the action section. I saw "Knockaround Guys" in the action section so I hired it. I went home to find myself putting it on. I noticed that Vin Diesel was in it too. I'm not really a fan on Vin Diesel. I don't "hate" him, just don't care for him or find him "cool." I did like the rest of the cast. Barry pepper, Seth Green (I did it mainly for him), Dennis Hopper and John Malcovich. I finished watching the movie and I must say I was pretty impressed. I loved the story. It's about these Mafia guys that are trying to impress Dennis Hopper by giving him a bag of money. only problem is he bag gets lost thanks to Seth Green and they set out on an adventure to find it. I loved the cast. Barry Pepper, Seth Green, Dennis Hopper, John Malcovich and (Dare I say it) Vin Diesel. I usually don't find Vin Diesel all that good, but in this movie he did pretty good. Don't get me wrong, he wasn't "great", but "good." He just didn't try too hard to be cool or anything. He just suited his role. And that's coming from someone who 99% of the time dislikes him. For a low budget movie t had a great cast and put together a very good story. So this low budget movie did well. The only thing that really disappointed me was the action. What action lol? In my video shop it was in the action section and every website I go to says it's action. I've looked everywhere for reviews where maybe complained about it having no action. It didn't seem to worry anybody. It kind of worried me ab it, because it looked so good.There was one scene, however, when Vin Diesel bashes the guy n the pub. That Sen is action, but it's the only bit I know of. The pacing in this movie got slow at times, but apart from that, pretty good. if this movie had action like The Rock movies or anything like that it would have really been a terrific movie. Overall still good, but could've been better. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 14: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history