IMDb > Jason X (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Jason X
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Jason X More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 69:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 682 reviews in total 

66 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Big, dumb and stoopid, but fun

5/10
Author: ExpendableMan from United Kingdom
13 January 2005

Let's face it, if you're going to rent one of the later movies in a slasher movie series, you'd be an idiot to expect high art. The fact that this is the tenth movie in the Friday the 13th franchise, the most knuckle-draggingly, ball-scratchingly cretinous 'horror' series of all time AND it's set in space doesn't exactly suggest that this'll be an all-time classic, but it's a good fun way to kill an hour and thirty minutes nonetheless.

Okay, the plot is so thin even a slight breeze would make it disintegrate and the horror element is practically non-existent but then Jason movies abandoned that long ago in favour of just providing dumb escapism with inventive and bloody death scenes, which this film certainly provides. People are sliced in half, impaled on large spikes, blown up, one poor woman even getting her head dunked in liquid nitrogen and shattered on a desk, but the characters are so one-dimensional and it's so cheesy you're more likely to laugh than scream. And I defy you to watch the scene when Jason gets transformed into 'Uber Jason' for the first time and not have a colossal grin traverse your face. There's even a later scene which pokes fun at the earlier movie's clichés with a hilarious "beating one camper to death with the other" sequence.

This is not The Exorcist, it's not The Omen, it's even a very long way away from the original Friday The 13th, but as director James Isaac has said, "it's just fun." Get your mates round, pop open a beer, disengage brain and you've got a very entertaining ninety minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

71 out of 105 people found the following review useful:

Jason in Space!

7/10
Author: preppy-3 from United States
30 April 2002

Basic plot: It's 2455 and Jason is loose on a spaceship killing a bunch of brainless, annoying 20 somethings.

Critics have been merciless on attacking this. Why? It's the 9th sequel to "Friday the 13th". What were they expecting? "Gone With the Wind"? For what it is, this is very good.

The plot is old, no characterizations, and the killings aren't really all that interesting (except for one at the beginning which was GREAT). Also it has an annoying tendancy to have characters say some really stupid jokes WHILE they're dying!!! The acting is totally horrendous--the worst I've ever seen in a "Friday..." film. I realize that's saying alot but it's true! All the cliches are squarely in place including the dialogue ("Get your people out of there!" "We're all safe here." "He's finally dead."). Basically this is so bad it's funny! Also, surprisingly, it wasn't too bad. It had it's dull moments but the characters, acting and lines were so funny...

So is is scary? No. Is it a good movie? No. Is it fun? VERY. So far the best bad/good movie of 2002.

Extra bonus--Some of the WORST jokes I've ever heard in a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining, if nothing else

6/10
Author: Peter Cook from Michigan
23 March 2004

Jason X is an entertaining blend of horror, sci-fi and comedy, though the film doesn't go very far in any of the three categories alone. The best way to view this film is to simply not expect it to deliver anything and just sit back and enjoy it for what it is: a slasher flick! And for being that, it is quite amusing. The comedy in the film does succeed considerably more than other slasher flicks which try to incorporate comedy into the mix. At least I thought so. Really, I just enjoyed this film cuz I had nothing better to do when I watched it and was in the mood for something... well, stupid. That's what it is, and for being stupid, it's fun. Sometimes it's fun to be dumb. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Fun, entertaining and highly enjoyable

10/10
Author: GL84 from Los Angeles, Ca
23 August 2012

Retrieving a relic of Jason Voorhees frozen in time, a group of students studying in the future find themselves stalked through their space-station home by the reawakened killer and must use the technology of the time to stop him.

This was an absolutely fantastic entry which was one of the more enjoyable and exciting entries in the series. The best part of this is the extremely high-impact action scenes, which generate the best times here, starting with the opening attack on the guards in the facility in rather fun fashion before the big chase that gets him frozen with her, while the retrieval and stowing him on-board gives this one some really good times along with the initial rampage through the ship resulting in a lot of cheesy goodness to come from having these scenes set in the futuristic landscape. The initial resurrection on the heating bed alongside the oblivious worker while the screwing couple signaling the true rebirth which spawns a brilliant, original death scene with the infamous face first into ice, then shattered on a counter-top along with the two soldiers playing a virtual reality game and don't know Jason isn't part of the game, then they allow Jason to kill them quite easily. The action is non-stop, and there are many impressive scenes with this one, as the inclusion of the soldiers allows for some incredibly fun times with a spectacular stalking scene in a cargo-bay that generates some fine deaths and great suspense as Jason uses a ton of creativity to his kills which allows the great shoot-outs with the soldiers as well to generate even more good times with this one. There are more, from the battle in the engineer's room to the numerous stalking in the lab where it gets some fun action and classic stalking scenes involved in here as well as getting the action requirements out very nicely. The gunfight in the corridor getting the cyborg into the proceedings on Jason is a standout, and Jason's continual sit-ups after being hit by the shotgun really makes the scene impressive. Also, the humor is here with a bit of subtle comedy here and there and a total tongue-in-cheek attitude, not just from the jokes but the goofy tone here with the look of Jason and Uber-Jason and his dealings throughout here. As well, the shift to outer space was a refreshing change of pace and a source of much needed originality here with all these changes giving this a rather unique change in appearance that suits the film's more Sci-Fi leanings perfectly. Coupled with a Jason that is absolutely menacing and scary and looks like he's having too much fun in the role and a few nice odes to the others in the series, there's not a lot wrong here. The biggest issue here comes from the apparent lack of logic here, most of which comes from the behavior of the characters. It's really hard to believe that Jason is fooled by a holographic representation of Crystal Lake that's not even a full-on trick with the edges exposed, yet he still takes time to destroy holographs of two women who look like they belonged in the first movie and allow the good guys to escape, which is the biggest example here. The plot line involving the idiotic professor who only wants to profit from Jason and his continuous assurance that Jason will get taken care of is quite lame, as well as the finale of Jason gets ridden like a surfboard as he's falling back to Earth. However, here the action tends to hide a lot of these issues and it's really not all that noticeable when they occur. All in all, it really only comes down to personal tolerance of the cheese to find any flaws here, since it's a lot of fun regardless.

Rated R: Graphic Violence, Graphic Language, Brief Nudity, and a short sex scene.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

The idiotic serial travels to space and the future.

1/10
Author: fedor8 from Serbia
11 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Not Jason & his Argonauts seeking for the golden fleece: that would be too intellectual for the year 2000. The 10th or 11th "Friday" movie, and it was time for the crap to move into space. Plus, it was time for the franchise to sink to new lows, much lower even than was promised at the outset, back in the 80s.

This film is TYPICAL of the 90s and 00s: the brand new level of idiocy that has engulfed Hollywood movies. So much here is cretinous that it would be pointless to list all these things. But since I happily indulge in pointless things I'll mention a few: 1) Jason V. (not X) actually stabs a women with a machete THROUGH A HALF-A-METER-THICK MILITARY METAL DOOR, 2) why does Jason V. get an automatic run-over by the medicinal worms (bugs) (whereas they seems to ignore the other piles of bodies)? 3) we are never given Jason's full bio, including his 20th-century studies of 25th-century space ships and how to move about them without getting noticed and without getting all-too confused, etc. Jason V. is one smart cookie, both omniscient and omnipotent.

Then, of course, there are the obligatory really, really bad, dumb gags, people cracking wise even when being pierced, decapitated - or close to getting there. And talk about political correctness: there are almost more women aboard than men - of whom the greedy captain is white (well, of course, we can't have a greedy black captain because - as we all know - only white men can exhibit greed; Michael Moore's best-selling garbage "Stupid White Men" tells us all about it). Towards the end we practically only have women and black guys as survivors (even the android is a a woman). Alright, alright, we GET IT. Equality of the sexes and between races and all that… And what better place to hammer that boring old point than in a SILLY HORROR film?

A movie that represents 100% the sadly retarded times we live in. Call it the AGE OF Paris HILTON, if you will…

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Afraid I'm gonna have to hurt you now.

Author: Ben Larson from Leesburg, FL
10 October 2011

OK, I have been warned that the bloom is off the rose and this is nothing more than "a porn movie ... with gruesome murders instead of gratuitous sex." Still, I venture in.

Earth has become uninhabitable. Voyagers from space dropping in after 400 years just happen to stumble upon Jason, who has been cyrogenicly frozen. They take him as a souvenir. Ha, are they in for a surprise.

Of course, Jason is indestructible, both on Earth and in space with weapons 400 years in the future,

Lisa Ryder as Kay-Em 14 stole the show. She was one hot mama that smokes Jason after everyone else fails - or so they think. Now, we have Super Jason.

Yes, it's cliché and silly, but it's Jason and we watch to see decapitations, and smashed faces along with that big machete in action. Just fun folks.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

It just doesn't get any worse than this!

2/10
Author: Frustrator from Copenhagen, Denmark
13 April 2003

This movie is incredible... incredibly BAD, that is. I can't believe that any screenwriter and/or director is willing to put their name on this--it simply has to be an attempt on professional suicide in the business.

The script is so full of cliches that belong in slasher-films of the '80s, not the new millennium. Good old Jason Voorhees gets cryogenically frozen and is thawed up several hundred years into the future, and guess what... NOTHING has changed at all. There are still tons of beautiful model-like teenagers showing their belly-buttons and having casual sex, and they all still get slaughtered by the monster in the hockeymask. This time around, however, he gets and upgrade in the last 15-20 minutes of the film, and is turned into some kind of hybrid man/monster/machine killing apparatus.

The dialogue is below even the worst standards, the plot far from new, the acting is just above kindergarten ability... frankly, I don't know why any studio would jump onto a script like this.

For God's sake, I know it's just another teen slasher movie based on an ancient franchise, but for crying out loud: Who ever said that innovative writing is forbidden in films like this one? I was very tempted to watch the entire movie on fast forward, but didn't.

In the end, though, there is one positive thing about my Jason X experience: Luckily, I wasn't the one who paid for the rental.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Jason returns in fine form.

9/10
Author: Spanner-2 from United States
29 April 2002

Alrighty now.. the long awaited 10th film in the legendary "Friday the 13th" movie series hits theatres and what is the result? If you liked the previous nine you will like this one, if the hockey masked machete wielding Jason Voorhees isnt your cup of tea then you should probably avoid the latest installment in the franchise. In this film, Jason (once more played by stuntman Kane Hodder) is placed in suspended animation and winds up getting thawed out on a spaceship some 400 or so years later to wreck havoc on a hapless group of hollywood newbies who decided to audition for this film. Actualy the cast is pretty good as this sort of thing goes and the producers decided to have some fun with the concept, throwing in everything from an obvious "Alien" inspired storyline to a "Terminatrix" babe (played by Lisa Ryder, who like co-star Lexa Doig hails from the "Andromida" TV Series). Some funny bits with Jason and a pointed parody of the original film due to a virtual reality simulation (!) make this one a step above most of the efforts in this series. So, until Jason rises again, this one is a keeper for fans of slasher movies worldwide. GRADE: B+

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Probably the best since the first Friday the 13th

10/10
Author: Timothy Audet (timmy106) from Staten Island, NY
11 October 2002

I thought that this was probably one of the better Friday the 13th movies in it's franchise. Granted it takes place in space but it was still pretty excellent for a B horror film. I mean did you see "Jason Goes To Hell" thats all i have to say. Kane Hodder comes back to play Jason Voorheis again and did a very good job. Lexa Doig who played Rowan was hot and played the authority female very well. Lisa Ryder as Kay-Em 14 Her scenes were hilarious.

I just thought that this was a very great film and i reecommend it too anyone who enjoys horror films. Todd Farmer who worte this did a very good job. Especially after that disater of a film "Jason Goes To Hell". The actors were great, the movie had suspense , GORE, and comedy- Especially the scene with Jonathon Potts and Melyssa Ade, you all know what i'm talking about, that was hilarious. Let's just hope that if they do make another Friday 13th film hopefully it will be good as this one and that they bring Kane Hodder back as Jason Voorheis

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

"I think he's gone." "Why don't you stick your head out there and find out??"

5/10
Author: lemon_magic from Wavy Wheat, Nebraska
3 September 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, I don't quite understand the 'hate' for this tenth installment of the Friday/Jason series. It's "Friday the 13th", for crying out loud! ANY change in the direction of the series is welcome at this point. It seems as if the fans have forgotten how 'winded' the Jason series had become - after the absolute dregs of the series in "Jason Goes To Hell", "Jason Takes Manhattan" and "The New Breed", the series' creators were not just beating a dead horse, they were dragging it around the track behind a tractor. "Jason X" at least tries to give the horse a jolt with the defibrillator.

In spite of the 2nd rate effects, and general silliness, the 10th film in the series has visual energy and freshness that has been missing for at least a decade. The characters are all stereotypes, but they are GOOD stereotypes in new, snazzy 'futuristic' costumes, and they get to use snazzy new assault rifles and hologram projectors and stuff to fight back. It doesn't work of course, and Jason still kicks everybody's butt, but the change in atmosphere and sets does rescue the film from the tedious dread of previous installments. There is some actual levity and some winking tribute to some of the classic conventions of earlier films (such as when Jason beats one camper to death with another one, but it's OK because they are holograms). And Jason gets a 'new look' in the middle of the film. It doesn't really add that much to the character, but again, at least it is different enough to help you 'see' the character again after decades of over-familiarity.

I rented this DVD fully expecting it to suck, but to my surprise, the opening scenes and the way the premise was set up caught my bemused interest, and the SFX of the future were JUST good enough to entertain my eyes. And eventually I ended up enjoying the proceedings quite a bit. Not nearly as much as a 'real' movie, of course, but much more than I ever expected from "Friday the 13th" ever again. I'd say it is the only really watchable entry in the series in several years, and if there are no more after this (and I hope not), "Jason X" is not a bad way for FXIII to end.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 69:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history