IMDb > These Old Broads (2001) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
These Old Broads
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
These Old Broads (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

15 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical!

10/10
Author: susras from United States
13 February 2001

I have always been a big fan of all the ladies but not particularly of Joan Collins, I wasn't as familiar with her work and never knew she had such a great sense of humor. I LOVED this movie!!!! All the under remarks were the best knee-slapping part of the entire film! Everyone of the ladies were fantastic, poking fun at themselves and laughing and I just could not stop laughing! I wish I had taped it! I hope this is one tv movie that will be available for sale. Neither my husband nor myself wanted this movie to be over - what a great job everyone! The writers wrote great material and those old broads pulled it off grandly! Thank you for a great night of comedy!!!!! And thank you for laughing at yourselves. That wig scene that Debbie Reynolds did, the look on her face when she realized her wig was off, ohmygosh, I thought I was going to bust a gut! And Joan Collins, when she saw Debbie's wig was off....oh gosh, we had tears running down our faces we were laughing so hard! Then the cat fight with Shirley McLaine.....I just can't tell you how our sides are hurting today from laughing so. Thanks again, it was GREAT!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The Sunshine Girls

10/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
21 June 2007

Of the four female icons in the cast of These Old Broads only one so far at least has chosen this to be her last film. It could and should be the coda for the careers of Shirley MacLaine, Debbie Reynolds, Joan Collins, and Elizabeth Taylor.

The first three play aging film stars who co-starred in a musical that has become a cult item and has just had a smash hit re-release. What better than a nice television special reuniting the three.

Only problem is that they all can't stand each other. It's going to take someone of the skills of a Mideast peace negotiator to bring them all together. The catalyst might be Jonathan Silverman who is MacLaine's estranged, adopted son. Of course it turns out to be their agent, Elizabeth Taylor who deals from a financial point of view.

MacLaine, Collins, and Reynolds must have really been great sports about this female version of The Sunshine Boys. All the roles that Reynolds daughter Carrie Fisher wrote were such dead-on satires of each one of them. The three look like they're having a great old time spoofing themselves, it's positively infectious for the audience.

Of course the real highlight is at the beginning when Reynolds goes to see Taylor about the reunion. Today's audience cannot possibly appreciate all the innuendo because they weren't around in the Fifties when the Elizabeth Taylor-Eddie Fisher-Debbie Reynolds triangle was the number one news story in the nation. President Eisenhower was having trouble getting as much ink as the most famous movie love triangle ever. And that was only until the Richard Burton-Elizabeth Taylor-Eddie Fisher triangle topped that one.

You could never have imagined over 40 years later seeing Taylor and Reynolds on the screen together. Older, wiser, and sadder, they definitely came to a meeting of the minds about Eddie Fisher.

Collins and MacLaine don't lack for good material either, all of them are just fabulous. These Old Broads is an old stargazer's dream.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

These old broads are terrific!

8/10
Author: Barbara from Salem, Oregon
2 June 2006

When you have stars of this caliber, who needs a real plot? They do terrific send ups of themselves and the result is a funny, funny film. The fact that Reynolds and Taylor got together on screen makes the experience even more memorable.

Don't go in expecting Shakespeare ... but sit back and enjoy the inside jokes and the incredible talent of four of the living legends of Hollywood.

And whatever you do, ignore the snide comments of the adolescent male critics who panned this as a "geriatric" outing. These guys can't stand the idea of having older women who aren't ashamed of their bodies -- they'd prefer them all to go hide away so the young nubile and witless wonders can fill the screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

For those who know these actresses inside and out

10/10
Author: karalyeva from United States
9 May 2007

This film is filled to the brim with fantastic Hollywood injokes and highly entertaining dialogue for those people who are familiar with the historical private lives of these individual actresses. For those people who don't know the lives of "these old broads," don't bother watching it, you won't get it. I'm sure that's the situation with most of the people who gave this film negative reviews. I understand how this movie could be frightfully boring and meaningless to those people who aren't versed in classic Hollywood lore, as nearly all of the situations and lines are witty remarks about the actress playing the role, but for those of us who get the joke, it is a brilliant, hysterically funny piece of work.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Wonderfully funny

10/10
Author: Marie-62 from xxxx
16 February 2001

I have never seen Elizabeth Taylor, Debbie Reynolds, or Joan Collins act in their prime, and what drew me to this movie was the fact that all of the old stars were in it. I have seen Shirley MacLaine act, and I was pretty much hoping that they didn't give her a dopey motherly part in which she's too eccentric and snotty. Let me just say one thing about that, they gave her a motherly part in which she's eccentric. A little on the snotty part, yes, but she's definitely not dopey. Shirley plays Kate Westbourne, a mother of "documentary" producer Weslie Westbourne. Kate was once in a show with two other women, Piper and Addie, and now finds herself realizing on what she really missed with her son. Addie (COLLINS) is a real sex-maniac whom slept with basically EVERYBODY and has a run-away jail-bird for a boyfriend. What makes Addie so funny is her "tummy tucks" and "face lifts". She still thinks that she's twenty-five. ("Look dear, one more face lift and she'll be able to blow her nose through her forehead.) Piper is the good-two-shoes ditzy blonde whom everyone loves. Debbie plays this part perfectly and is so cute at it. Piper and her husband Bill have a hotel. The nice thing about this woman is that she raised four children and unlike her 'peers' has a decent life. The truly funny thing about this movie is not only in the cast, but in the writing as well. Carrie Fisher was FANTASTIC. She wrote the script so that it had that wring of adultness to it but didn't stray from reality. As a fan of old movies, I was grateful to see one more "dance in the limelight" for the old broads. They deserved it. :)

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

"One more face lift and she'll be able to blow her nose through her forehead."

10/10
Author: Ashley (classicfilmbroad@aol.com) from North Carolina
12 February 2001

All I can say is I wish it could have lasted longer! Four absolutely brilliant actresses in one absolutely hilarious movie. Reynolds is darling as well as hilarious as girl-next-door type Piper Grayson, MacLaine is funny as eccentric Kate Westburn, Joan Collins is great as sex-pot type Addie Holden and Elizabeth Taylor is remarkable as tough agent Beryl Mason. Chalk one up for Jonathan Silverman as MacLaine's son Wesley, and for Peter Graves as Reynolds' husband Bill. Although at times rather... risque (it's a bit odd to hear sweet Debbie Reynolds say words such as *screw*), it's a TV movie that will be remembered, if only to be remembered as the film that rekindled the friendship between Debbie Reynolds and Liz Taylor. It's an absolute riot of a movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Fair.

7/10
Author: Rose from United States
14 February 2001

The four divas all looked great. Would of liked to of seen more of Elizabeth Taylor. When Debbie and Elizabeth was talking to each other about the past, it was hilarious! Eddie Fisher got his just dues. Some of the storyline was a little corny. But it was great to see all of them again.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Mixed feelings

Author: SirLizrd from Washington, DC
22 February 2001

I had been looking forward to this film ever since I first heard about Carrie Fisher's script. Unfortunately, the TV movie didn't live up to my expectations. It was great to see these legendary ladies working together, but the results were not as I had hoped. I don't know if it was the script or the directing, but most of the jokes fell flat. I know that Carrie Fisher had as hard a time getting the film made as the characters had in getting their reunion special aired. Studios wouldn't put up the money because they didn't think that it would be worth it. If the film was given the right director it could have been as witty and wicked as the 1939 classic "The Women" (Joan Crawford, Norma Shearer, Rosalind Russell, Joan Fontaine, Mary Boland).

I believe that the Joan Collins role was originally intended for Lauren Bacall. When Bacall passed the role was offered to Julie Andrews, who also turned it down. I think that Tony Curtis was supposed to play the gangster lover and June Allyson was supposed to play the mother of the Joan Collins character. I can't help to wonder if all of these bail-outs had anything to do with the poor quality that was ultimately produced?

It wasn't all bad, though. There were some really funny moments. I enjoyed the camp factor of Debbie and Joan's performance in the gay club. These bigger-than-life legendary stars are practically drag queens, anyway. The gay subplot was pointless, however, without having been developed properly. Carrie Fisher did toss in some great zingers and one-liners.

I'd definitely watch this movie again some day, but I'll always be haunted by the thoughts of "what might have been"...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

I loved it!!!

8/10
Author: Ed from New York, NY
25 April 2003

The "Old Broads" were playing themselves of course (or at least their public image) and a fabulous sendup it is. I thought it all hilarious and cheers to the ladies for their sense of humor. Maybe Liz was rather much with her obviously phony Brooklyn accent but it fit in with the camp sensibility.

I can't imagine why anyone finds the scene in the gay bar objectionable since it's no more "real" than the rest of the movie and fits in with the plot IMHO.

It's not Shakespeare but who cares?

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The Title Says It All!

Author: PowerpuffNita2 (PowerpuffNita@hotmail.com) from Motown
3 October 2001

If you're fed up to the back teeth with pretty young things with silicone enhanced breasts and un-enhanced talent, this is the movie for you! The team of Collins, Reynolds, and McClaine are a laugh riot in their roles as mature actresses with less-than mature mentalities, libidinous tendecies, and old grudges. And speaking of mature...well...let's just say that most of the humor is a bit too hot for children. (Especially when Collins' Mobster boyfriend...Nah, I'm not givin' it away!)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history