IMDb > "Hulk" (1966) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Hulk"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Hulk" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 13 reviews in total 

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A classic, Recommended for Jack Kirby fans!!!

Author: (Nic_hse) from New York
26 June 2003

Don't be mislead by some of the negative comments you may have read. They just don't get what the creators were going for. Some say that the animation for the 1966 Hulk cartoon is poor. What they fail to realize is that the lack of animation was INTENTIONAL. The creators intended to bring the pages of Jack Kirby's Hulk comics to TV. Each scene in this cartoon was essentially a page straight from the comic with voice-overs added. They were going for an authentic comic book look and feel here. I've seen all the 1960's Marvel superheroes cartoons and they all lacked animation for the very same reason.So if you don't like the Hulk's animation, you wont like the animation for Captain America, Sub Mariner, Iron Man, Mighty Thor, or Spider-man either.

As far as the Hulk theme song goes, it's comparable to the other 1960's Marvel superhero cartoons. They were all sung by the same people and in similar style. So it makes little sense to say Captain America's or Spider-man's theme song is great but the Hulk's isn't. I liked all the theme songs. They all have a certain classic charm, especially if you grew up watching these cartoons. In the end I recommend the 1966 Hulk cartoon mostly for Jack Kirby fans and classic comic book fans. Any true comic book fan would know what the creators were aiming for with this cartoon. They did Jack Kirby justice.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A moving Comic Book

Author: B. Stanfield (Stapa-Bomar) from Houston, TX
15 November 2003

This series should be viewed as a video comic book. Don't expect great animation or you will be let down. However, everything else is positive. The voices are fantastic, along with the sound effects, stories and still art. Most art is ripped right off the comic page itself. The creators may have taken some liberties with the plots, but one can get the feel of the 1960's comic creativity boom by viewing these cartoons. As for the theme, yes it's campy but fun. I would probably rank Hulk's song last amongst Thor, Captain America, Sub-Mariner, Iron Man & Spider-Man. It's still a cool song to me

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A unique way to enjoy your favorite comics

Author: vvenger
27 February 2003

I remember watching the Incredible Hulk and the other Marvel Superheroes every day on tv after school when I was a little boy. I thought that it was pretty cool, watching my favorite comic book heroes on tv. Looking at them again brings back fond memories.

Watching these old cartoons, it is quite apparent that they wanted to get these shows out of the studio and on the air as quickly as possible!

In the Marvel Superheroes Series, although the color was vibrant, the animators simply used the drawings of Jack Kirby straight out of the comic book, and animated one or two parts of the character (or in some cases, simply moved a static picture of the character across the background to simulate walking), which I imagine saved a lot of time and money. This gave the cartoon a very stiff and cheap look compared to it's counterparts of the day.

Today, with the aid of computer technology, animation is much sharper and makes cartoons like the old Marvel Superheroes look very primitive in comparison.

One thing that is noteworthy is that the story lines in the Marvel Superhero cartoons (compared to story lines in today's cartoons) were always well written. Each story was faithfully recreated from the comic books on which they were based on. Todays cartoons have to rely on their sharp look to keep their viewers watching, with very little attention to the plot - that's why very few of them last more than a season.

The voice acting in this series is excellent! Whenever I think of The Hulk, I always hear the gravely voice of Max Ferguson from the cartoon series in my head..."NO ONE CAN STOP THE HUUUUUUULK"!

So, if you're looking for cutting edge animation, rent Titan A.E. or Princess Mononoke. But if you're looking for great story telling, good clean fun and action, as well as a unique way to enjoy some great comic book art work from a legend, I would definitely recommend The Incredible Hulk and the rest of the Marvel Superheroes Series!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Animated Comic Book

Author: giantdevilfish from Pacific Ocean
7 January 2004

This show was basically early 1960's Hulk comics animated the crudest possible way. Early issues of THE INCREDIBLE HULK, THE AVENGERS, and TALES TO ASTONISH were used. The original drawings by Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko were taken from the comic and moved around with minimal animation, accompanied by narration. I know it was the 60's, but they could have came up with real animation to add some fluidity to the characters, like some of the other cartoons at the time. Unless you're a huge Hulk fan, or you remember watching this as a kid in the late 60's, you'll be extremely bored by it. The only cool things from this show were the voices (which were brilliantly cast, although the HULK himself was probably the poorest of the bunch) an appearance by Iron Man, Thor and the rest of the Avengers in one episode, seeing the legendary Jack Kirby's art, seeing some old school villains like the Toad Men and the Metal Master, and of course one of the coolest opening theme songs of all time. "Wrecking the town with the power of a bull. Ain't no monster crowned who is as lovable" They don't write theme songs like that anymore.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I Criticize the Critic

Author: StarAngel_Forever from United States of America
13 December 2002

I read the comments of the person who reviewed the Hulk (1966) I enjoyed it "Immensely" it's obviously this person whoever he/she is doesn't appreciate a good story. There wasn't anything wrong with the plot, the characters, or theme song,ESPECIALLY the theme song. The Hulk's theme song is the hippest,coolest theme of any of the marvel heroes,Don't get me wrong I like the other themes but,the Hulk's is a little better.To me who ever made those cruel comments isn't a comic book reader.The Hulk (1966) series, that Stan Lee created liteally came to life, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that out.It's a shame whoever this person is wouldn't know a good superhero series if someone hit them over the head with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The best 60's Marvel cartoon.

Author: RedHornet from Baxter Building
3 March 2005

The 1960's Incredible Hulk cartoon is in my opinion the best of its kind. It very cleverly recreates the mood and feel of Stan Lee/Jack Kirby's early and later Hulk stories from firstly The Incredible Hulk and later Tales to Astonish. For the first time also, the animation employed by the Grantray-Lawrence company suits the subject it is based on. This Hulk series, like the 1970'S/80'S Bill Bixby/Lou Ferrigno is supposed to be moody, paranoid, even creepy at times and the animation suits this allowing for action and adventure too. The only problem i have is with the Hulks voice, which doesn't have the rage or sadness that the character needs. He just sounds a little annoyed most of the time. However the series has enough delights and a cool and memorable theme song to boot, and is a classic of its kind.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Hulk Smash!

10/10
Author: WakenPayne from Valhalla
24 September 2010

Well This Is A WELCOME BACK For A Review For A Marvel Comic's Production. Hulk Was One Of My Favourite Comic Book Characters As A Kid Now Its Ghost Rider Or Moon Knight (I Honestly Can't Decide Between The Two Heroes). I STILL Find This Cartoon Enjoyable. The Guys Making The Cartoons For THE MARVEL SUPERHEROES Must Have Had A Lot Of Spare Time To Be Able To Hire The Same Voice Actors Over & Even Though This Was Made In '66 & In That Year Colmen Francis Made His Directorial Debut & The Classic "MANOS" Was Released These Cartoons Show That Not Everything Made That Year Was Crap. I Love All Marvel Productions With The Exception Of PUNISHER (1989) & CAPTAIN America (1990) & That Awful Bill Bixby TV Show & The Captain America & Thor TV Shows From The Marvel Superheroes Series. All In All A Great Series

"Don't Make Me Angry, You Wouldn't Like Me When I'm Angry"

EDIT: Someone has made me angry

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

OKAY NOW FOLKS, Follow the Bouncing Ball! "Doc Bruce Banner Jumped in front Gamma Rays; Turned into The Hulk, Ain't He Unglamorous? The Ever Lovin' Hulk, Hulk, Hulk!"

7/10
Author: John T. Ryan (redryan64@hotmail.com) from United States
5 March 2008

WE can well remember the years just prior to the "POW", big Batman Campy Pop Art Television Revolution. Being mostly "Boomers" in our household, we five Ryan Kids were big fans of that now cult TV Series, "THE ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN" (National Comics, 1952-58). Only our older sister, Joanne (born in 1942) remembered the SUPERMAN Radio Show and had followed it in the Post-War years. The rest of "the Tribe", Rose Mary ('49), Jim ('51) Bob ('52) and me, John ('46) never had the pleasure of listening to the daily episodes on our Crosley.

Superman TV was another story. This was the first contact that we had with the Man of Steel. In 1957 that we abandoned the likes of Little Lulu, Dennis the Menace, Casper and The Fox & Crow for comics titles like Action Comics, Detective Comics, World's Finest Comics and Jimmy Olsen. The Super Hero thing had arrived on Damen Avenue on Chicago's Southside!

SO in '65 that we got hold of a mimeographed catalog of one Mar-Bren Sound company which sold Reel to Reel tapes of Old Time Radio. They listed what seemed to be an extensive list of Superman Radio Shows, at least 2 dozen or so!! There was one which had a synopsis saying that it featured not only Clark Kent, Jimmy Olsen, Lois Lane, Perry White and Superman; but it also guest-starred Batman & Robin!

Well, this was for me! An order was placed for about 4 of "THE ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN!" The familiar characters appearing in those "Theatre of the Mind" stories; seemed to a bunch of young kids to be from a time period that was so very long ago.

Listening to this old Mutual Radio Network showgot me little head a bit of inspiration. I reasoned, why couldn't the people over at National Comics/D.C., Superman's publishers and the Mutual Radio Network adapt the old Radio shows to the TV.

My "plan" would be easy to carry out and had the potential to be quite lucrative, I'm sure. It would require the use of the recordings of the radio shows would serve as the sound of the stories with the visuals being new drawings, with a small amount of limited animation. The art work would have provided by some of the current Superman Artists; like Wayne Boring, Al Plastino and Curtis Swan. The TV viewers would be treated to the great sounds and stories, with visuals that would give the "series" a look of being a screen comic book.

DAMN! Isn't that what "THE MARVEL SUPERHEROES" animated TV Series is? I shoulda had sense enough then to commit the idea to paper, to WRITE IT DOWN and get it submitted to somewhere or somebody who can do something with it! Oh well, no sense in crying over spilt milk! AS for the "HULK" segment of "THE MARVEL SUPERHEROES" (Grantray-Lawrence/Famous Studios/Marvel, 1966), what can we say that hasn't been said already? The series was made up of the finest direct-from-the-comics-page Art Work, the finest of voice acting and exciting stories taken right from the comics. All of that and they had the most limited animation; being just this side of "CLUTCH CARGO".

The Hulk is a manifestation of all of the fears that we Baby Boomer Kids had learned ever so early in our lives. Ever since the days when far off places such as Hiroshima, Nagasaki and Bikini Atoll became common parlance; Mankind has had a collective fear of causing our own self-inflicted extinction. The Hulk gives us a huge, almost giant humanoid distortion; representing the power and, to a degree, even the size and shape of the "Mushroom Cloud" unleashed by a nuclear blast.

Nuclear power and its uncertain application has long been a favourite of Writer/Editor Stan Lee and his creative partner, Comic Artist Extraordinaire, Jack Kirby. Their FANTASTIC FOUR and X-MEN*, as well as the "Green Giant", the HULK, all owe their origins to various varieties and applications of radiation.

The HULK'S origin was due to Dr. Bruce Banner's being in the wrong place at the wrong time when the super-secret Gamma Ray Bomb was detonated. Dr. Banner somehow survived and absorbed the energy; thus transforming his very genetic make-up to a sort of Post-Atomic Age version of Jekyll & Hyde.

And even within the personality of the Hulk, there is much conflict between the forces of good & evil within the "Biggie Sized" green headed brain of Dr. Banner's Alter-Ego. The presence of Banner's love interest, Miss Betty Ross and the local Dessert Urchin, Rick Jones, provides the Good Doctor with loved ones who try to cultivate the good that they see deep in Hulk's heart and try to steer it in a productive direction.

For a short while, it appeared that they would be successful. Along with the help of the MIGHTY THOR, ANT MAN & THE WASP and IRON MAN as The AVENGERS, the HULK'S power was channeled toward good, for a short while (about 3 issues, anyway!). But there were so many distractions; not the least of which was the hateful attitude of General 'Thunderbolt' Ross; the Commanding Officer in charge of the Gamma Ray Bomb test and incidentally, Betty Ross' Pater! Standing out in the vocals applied was the work of Max Ferguson. It was Mr. Ferguson who supplied perhaps the ideal voice for the animated "HULK" TV episodes (cartoons). Gruff, gravelly and constantly speaking of himself in 3rd Person Neanderthal Dialect ( i.e., e.g. "Hulk mad now!", or "Where Hulk go now?"), Max had Hulk nailed, to a tee! The stories were all excellent; being "torn right from the headlines" (of the Comics any way!). The Marvel Comics style of having highly dramatic, almost Shakespearian dialog supporting the visuals was continued in the small screen venture. To this was added some quite well done and highly appropriate incidental music, which also made its contribution to the melodramatic effect.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

HULK NOT LIKE THIS SHOW...HULK SMASH!!!

Author: Ron Broadfoot from Canada
23 April 2002

Everything about this show sucks. That horrible title song, the animation, etc. If the Hulk himself watched it, he would get quite mad at the guy who did his hair. Thank goodness the character was resurrected in the much better cartoon show from the 1980s and the live-action show starring Lou Ferrigno in the title role. As for theme songs, I think Spider Man and Wonder Woman had much better singers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Very poor

Author: The Extra In The Background
22 December 2001

Before the review, a brief plot summary: Dr. Bruce Banner, possibly America's most renowned scientist and leading expert on gamma rays, is about to test a bomb on a supposedly abandoned site when neglected teenager Rick Jones wanders out into it. Banner runs out to get Jones to safety, but his Russian assistant, Igor, sets it off anyway hoping to kill Banner and steal his formula for his superiors. Somehow, Banner survives, and Jones becomes his apprentice. He soon learns that at a certain point of day (and later when he gets angry) he will transform into a huge, brainless green giant who strikes fear into the heart's of the army. General Ross is desperate to destroy this incredible hulk, but his daughter Betty secretly knows he's really her lover, Bruce.

BAD, BAD, BAD. Unlike most Marvel cartoons at that period, it wasn't even in the "so-bad-it's-good" category. It's just boring. Let's start with the theme song. Most people know "Spider-Man"s theme, and it's wasn't a fraction as good. Anyone whose seen "Captain America" will also be accquainted with a cheezy but catchy little tune. The Hulk's theme was UNBELIEVABLY poor, and had this little squeak who sounded like Bat-Mite spouting inane lines like "so he ain't glamorous" in an attempt to make rhyme with "stricken by gamma rays". Usually the best animation on the show would be in the theme, but this is WORSE.

On to the stories. Before "Spider-Man", as most know, cartoons were mostly just comic-book cut-outs were mouths and sometimes a limb would move, sometimes not even that, the fastest animation (besides the theme) being in scenes were the hero would pull down a mask or something to that extent. Somehow, with the flow of the plots, you could still tell what's going on. Here, the poor drawings (they look like rough drafts with colour) pop up, showing scenes from all different, often irrelevent, angles that make it impossible to tell what's going on, and the narration is a drab equivalent of a Power Ranger overstating the obvious, only not nearly as addictively corny. The dialouge sounds like it was aimed at particularly dumb children, and the voices always sound SOOO bored, so unconvincing. Of what little you could make out of the plot, you could tell it stunk like Baldrick's family heirlooms. I simply never cared about Bruce Banner, he was so poorly characterised, and what characteriztion he got was cliched and sterotypical.

Stan Lee and everyone down at Marvel must cringe when they look back at this. Watch just about any other Marvel cartoon from the era, but pass this one over.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history