IMDb > Love, Honor and Obey (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Love, Honour and Obey
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Love, Honor and Obey More at IMDbPro »Love, Honour and Obey (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 86 reviews in total 

22 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Don't listen to them!!!!!!! Do not miss this movie!!!!!!

Author: dazyrs from United Kingdom
1 February 2007

I seriously don't understand some of the people who comment on this site.


This is my first comment on this site and I simply couldn't read the garbage written about this film without saying something.

This is one of my all time favourite films. The characters are superb and some of the scenes are just pure comic genius.

MAY I REMIND EVERYONE WHO DOES'NT KNOW.....This movie was all done ad-libbing, on the spot with a very loose script. And the single greatest thing about this film is that 90% of the humour is on the spur of the moment. When Ray and the gang are laughing.......THEY REALLY ARE LAUGHING.

Anyone who didn't enjoy the the comedy in the shootout scene in this movie doesn't possess a sense of humour. Simple as that.

AWESOME MOVIE Don't let any of these 90 year old, Pride and Prejudice loving fools tell you any different.

P.S.....never read ratings on this site BEFORE watching a movie, only AFTER. I have nearly been put off watching some right gems because of bad scores on IMDb. On the other end of the scale, I have watched some right tripe with scores of 10/10.....A mistake I will no longer make.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

An under-appreciated comic gem

Author: margot from new york city
8 July 2001

This film opened in London in April 2000 and was roundly panned as inept and self-indulgent. The 'Time Out' reviewer professed annoyance at the script's instant-classic nonsense line: 'Don't mac me off like a two-bob,' a imaginary bit of Sarf London street jargon. But the film's Jabberwocky dialogue is an essential part of its charm. It's a takeoff on cockney gangster films (Raymond Creed, head wideboy, is loosely modeled on Reg Kray, and is even mistakenly called 'Kray' in the DVD subtitling) and the violence is about as fearsome as that of a Roadrunner cartoon.

The best bits are tasteless and edgy, and certainly not everyone's cup of tea. A pathetic fat little hanger-on (Fat Alan) is forever being stabbed, clubbed, and tortured, or force-fed microdot LSD and made to eat dogfood. Another whingy gang member is chronically impotent and always being offered 'helpful' sexual advice from his colleague, who explains at one point how erections are caused by the penis bone being thrust forward from the spinal column during a state of sexual excitement.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Call me shallow, but I love it...

Author: jschoenweiler from Tiburon, CA
28 July 2004

Contrary to the other reviewer, I end the film wanting to add it to my collection. This movie has most of the elements of my favorite films, which sometimes include a bit of fun, self-indulgence, glam and humor. Oh, did I fail to mention gratuitous violence (ala the Catholic school girl from Kill Bill or the James Gandolfini scene in True Romance)? Jude Law makes me smile throughout the film, I see what he saw in Sadie Frost, and I must say Ray Winstone (Sexy Beast) is by far my favorite British mafioso. Great performances by Kathy Burke (Sid and Nancy), and Rhys Ifans (Notting Hill). The gang from The Sopranos never had this much fun. Someone else watch this movie, so I can find out if I'm one appreciated Very Bad Things but me! :)

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely brilliant movie

Author: evie-16 from Spain
3 April 2006

I borrowed this movie off of a friend and me and my husband thought it was the best movie we had seen in ages. We really enjoyed the whole movie. It was hilarious,the characters were fantastic and they all played really good parts. I would recommend this movie to anyone with a sense of humor,who likes a good laugh. we have watched this movie three times so far and every time we watch it we laugh even more at the things we didn't notice the time before. The script was well written and well acted. Well done to all the cast. Whoever got all these great actors together well done to you too, as we think the combination was excellent. Thanks for the great entertainment. Brilliant!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Much more fun than I expected

Author: jk-89 from London
24 November 2004

I seem to remember this film was not very well received when it was released in Britain, some critics loved it, most didn't. After Lock Stock there was a sudden spate of 'mockney'gangster films and this, very unfairly, was lumped in with the also rans. Its actually a lot of fun, the cast is excellent, (Has Ray Winstone ever given a bad performance?) the script is funny, and the pace never flags. Special mention must be made of the karaoke scenes in which all the cast sing for real, everyone acquits themselves well with special mentions to Sean Pertwee and Johnny Lee Miller (singing one of my all time favourites 'Avenues and Alleyways') If you enjoy gangster films or are fans of any of the the cast then this is a must see movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

The perfect example

Author: yougallaghers from London, England
24 June 2004

This film was brilliant, although it is capable of having a wide appreciation you need to be British and from London and adjoining areas to really 'get' it. Fans of 'Operation Good Guys' will especially enjoy the humour as I did. The actors are all themselves very good - imitating characters you know in your own lives. It made me cry with laughter in some areas. The areas other people have commented as amateurish are examples of where the actors have 'camped up' ridiculous characters and that's the humour of it all. Unfortunately these sorts of films don't often get made. Really the perfect example of London Humour.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fix bayonets for the North and South London divide!

Author: Spikeopath from United Kingdom
14 May 2009

Bored with his hum-drum life as a North London postman, Jonny approaches his pal Jude about getting in with the North London Mob run by Jude's uncle Ray. After winning favour with Ray by bringing a credit card scam into the gang, Jonny starts to spice things up by causing trouble with the rival mob from South London. But although Jonny has won respect from his fellow gang members, he's also getting ideas above his station, and it's not long before his actions put everyone in danger, including their families.

So a load of well known British actors make a humorous tongue in cheek satire of the gangster genre, and many failed to get it. Working from a very basic plot and script, directors and writers Dominic Anciano and Ray Burdis gathered the likes of Ray Winstone, Sadie Frost, Jonny Lee Miller, Jude Law, Rhys Ifans, Kathy Burke and Sean Pertwee. And let them run with it. Creating a funny ad-libbed picture that the cast clearly enjoyed making, and really the viewers should be in on the joke as well. Anyone expecting some hard edged Brit gangster film are in for a big disappointment, there is violence and there are drugs, but nothing here is designed for shock value. This really is a fun movie, slyly poking the ribs of gangs and their bosses whilst cutely reminding all that families get involved as well. From the use of Viagra to karaoke sequences, Love, Honour and Obey is a British treasure that has been badly misunderstood. If the fact that the coup de grace at the finale is played out in fancy dress doesn't tell you that it has been taking the urine, well you have walked down the wrong garden path. 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Don't listen to the people who say this film is bad

Author: Nemo Brown from Cornwall, UK
11 July 2003

I saw this film on a whim and I have to say I am glad I did! The cast is brilliant. The plot is simple yet effective and the humour is hillarious!

Frankly, this is the best film to ever come out of the UK bar classics like Monty Python and the Italian Job.

There are so many memorable scenes like the heist where they have all taken viagra, the stabbing in the pub and, of course, Denise Van Outen doing her bit with a cucumber.

What makes this film so good is the sub plots. While the main story ticks along the viewer can also follow each characters own mini story.

Watch it with an open mind though. It is not great cinema but does not pretend to be. Just enjoy the jokes and cast.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I can watch this, again and again

Author: rikaitch
24 January 2007

From personal experience, I can understand the escalation of violence in the underworld of a large city like London. This film is a superb concise representation as such, but even more of a bonus is the humour that goes with it. Yes it can be childish, just like a Roadrunner cartoon or Tom and Jerry, but does that make it a bad thing? I think not. As for acting, considering the backgrounds of a lot of the actors, it's exceptionally well done. Note how almost all the characters have the same first names as their characters, which in turn makes it easier to keep up with. Some genuinely disturbing and violent scenes also add to the bitter-sweet mix, and possibly one of my all time favourite action scenes with a mass shoot out really get the adrenaline going.

All in all, if you get the chance to see it, do. It's a great "unheard" of film history, certainly up there with Lock Stock or Snatch.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Funny gangster films that does not rely on blood and violence to make it work

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
23 November 2006

This film is about a man in London getting involved with a group of gangsters.

This film, although is a gangster film, is in fact very funny. There are many subtle jokes and one liners in the film, which does make people laugh. The sets in the film are often simple, but it still looks thoughtfully created. The dialogs are very British, which could be an impediment for it to have appeal in the United States.

Jude Law is a gem in the film, his character is memorable and remarkable.

Another notable thing in this film is that, despite being a gangster film, it is not violent or gory. This is a big plus for non gore fans!

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history