We Married Margo (2000) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
19 Reviews
Sort by:
10/10
Oh yes, you need to see this one!
DCvetkovich29 April 2002
This is one of the funniest movies I've seen in a LONG time. It's funny from beginning to end, and very different. I'm an IFC addict, and I really wish it was available on DVD, so I could watch it over and over. Great job with the acting and story, and who would have thought it would have so many walk on additions?
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Want to smile? Rent this movie!
taaffleck10 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The spoiler is just a minor comment at the very end...not even a spoiler really, just something I noticed and need to comment on.

The review: I ditto the previous reviewers who raved about this movie. I ran across this film on TV a few weeks ago (I found this site while searching for the DVD to buy, as a matter of fact). I only tuned in because the guide description was more interesting than anything else showing at the time, but I really didn't expect anything too memorable from a 7 year old film that I've never heard of (indy or otherwise), starring no one I've ever heard of. Two hours later I was sad that it ended! Seriously. I thought "Bummer. I want to watch these guys a little longer." I was feeling crabby when the movie began, but that was completely forgotten by the time it ended. I've told anyone who will listen that this is one of the most charming, intelligent, laugh-out-loud-funny movies I've seen in ages. It's a buddy film that's undeniably appealing to the chick-flick crowd too. The chemistry and camaraderie between the two main characters (or maybe more accurately, the real-life friends who play them) is genuine and palpable. You'll be treated to a number of clever celebrity cameos, but mostly you should just expect to be hopelessly drawn to a couple of guys you've never seen or heard of before. The fact that Shapiro and Dozier are the same guys who wrote/lived the story undoubtedly contributes to the movie's charm, but who cares why it works...it just works!

Here's the minor spoiler: Watch for the constantly rearranging living room furniture. It was a little background quirk that cracked me up.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cute
swhipkey22 April 2002
This was a clever, cute movie; I happened upon it on IFC while clicking through the channels. The presentation is fresh, these guys definitely don't take themselves or their predicaments seriously. I even laughed out loud a couple of times, which almost never happens at movies nowadays. I would definitely recommend scoping it out.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the Funniest Indies I've seen...
sunmasque112 August 2002
Take the time to watch this very funny and very true story of two guys and their trials and tribulations with their common ex-wife.. If you have the independant film channel don't miss it.... Everything they is say is only funny because its true. We can all relate to the problems they face, i only wish i had a friend like Rock.... I hope they produce this film on DVD...
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Edgy and Funny Take on Relationships!
teacher84612 August 2002
What a great movie, a tangy, tasty slice of life, a dead-on combination of edgy, New York/Jersey everyman angst and West Coast/Left Coast laidback-but-so-very-self-awareness!! I laugh out loud every time I see this, anticipating lines and still enjoying them as they come up. The cameos are perfect. The rapid-fire pace may be exhausting as some critics have observed, but this is very typical of a NYer's conversational patterns. Anyone who's moved from one coast to the other and taken their city sensibilities with them, and anyone who's ever been a dumpER or a dumpEE will find something very familiar about the scenarios presented. Mr. Shapiro and Mr. Dozier should collaborate again; at any rate, I wish them both success in their respective romantic ventures!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very funny though annoying, definitely not formula
vchimpanzee11 August 2005
Jake was married to Margo for six months. He says it was the longest three years of his life. Margo later marries Rock, who leaves her after two years and moves in with Jake, eventually getting on Jake's nerves with all his annoying quirks. Meanwhile, Tracy breaks up with Jake for what she says is the last time. In flashbacks, we learn this has happened before.

The movie begins with Jake in a number of different locations telling the story to different groups of people (many of which never speak, but they appear in the credits anyway--a nice touch), and sometimes just to the audience watching the movie. Rock later joins him. With rapid-fire editing between locations, this movie appears designed for those with short attention spans. Frequent flashbacks show not only the lives Jake and Rock are describing, but also what happened before either one met Margo.

Inserted between scenes are the white-on-black words of great philosophers. In the style of a documentary, we also hear from many of Margo's other ex-spouses. I say spouses because some are female. One ex is a little boy who says he benefited from knowing Margo because he no longer wets the bed. Another ex is a grown man who benefited from knowing Margo because ... he no longer wets the bed. And Kevin Bacon even makes a cameo to show that all successful people in history are somehow connected to Margo--'six degrees of separation'.

One of the funniest things about the movie--and there is a lot to laugh at here--is the way Margo talks. We mostly hear her on the telephone, but even when we see her she sounds like a tape being fast-forwarded. And we don't see her entire face so that we won't notice her lips don't match what she's saying.

The writers of this movie must have enjoyed 'Peanuts'. In one scene Jake is dancing, with the video speeded up, to music that sounds a lot like Vince Guaraldi's. As a boy, Jake gave psychiatric advice at what looks like a lemonade stand. We see an animated version of Lucy pulling away the football from Charlie Brown, but they don't look much like themselves. And wait until you see Rock's Christmas tree.

This movie is definitely not for kids. There are some offensive gags, some of which TV censors would be unlikely to allow in prime-time, although the gags are not that explicit.

For me, this movie was enjoyable at times but exhausting. It would likely appeal to the 'Dumb and Dumber' audience because of the lead characters, but it actually requires you to use your brain. It seems like an art film, except for the fact the guys aren't exactly the coffee house type.

I would say this was well-done, well-written, and well-acted.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The greatest Indie Comedy ever
ChristopherPrice12 July 2003
"We Married Margo" is one of my all time favorite movies-- and I've only seen it twice. I think that says something. A note on my taste of comedy: Mel Brooks, Robin Williams, George Carlin, Kevin Smith. If that gives you some idea of my taste.

This film has a great feel to it. It is quick paced as the two guys (Jake and Rock) tell the story of how they lived together after their common ex-wife Margo dumped them both-- and half of the men and women in America.

Look for all of the guest appearances. I hope they'll release it on video/DVD soon. See it. You'll crack up. Trust me. 4.9/5
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
We Married Margo...Cute, Clever and a Great Soundtrack
sj_elliott11 March 2006
It's one of those quirky films that you wind up absolutely loving.

After you've seen it a few times (usually on IFC), you stay until the very last scene (after the credits all roll) and wish you had the soundtrack for it.

Even though JD Shapiro reminds me of a young Bob from Becker, and Rock looks like the California beach boy, the story is fresh and the back and forth stuff works well.

One scene I loved which was kind of a throw away scene is when Jake is laying on the grass feeling lonely and the ducks go by and he's looking at them like, "Not you too." It was just a quick, passing scene that I liked a lot. I also liked the Christmas scene when they visit Rocks, him, the dog and the tree. I thought that funny.

Kevin Bacon does the six degrees of Margeaux and also adds a lot of great stuff to the soundtrack.

The voice of Margo is terrific (esp her laugh)...just a lot of fun, clever stuff. I really like this movie.

Very cool, funny, quirky movie. I wish it was on DVD and I wish I had the soundtrack!!!!!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
My absolute favorite movie! Hilarious!
thewonderdrummer12 August 2002
This movie is perhaps the funniest movie I have seen to date, and I've seen PLENTY of them! Never before have I laughed so hard, and so long at a movie, much less a movie on TV! If you have ANY chance of seeing this movie (I saw it on IFC, but I understand it's supposed to be on Comedy Central soon), CHECK it out!! The more people that see it & comment on it, the better chance we have of getting it on DVD or, even better, in the Theaters! I honestly believe this movie would make a killing at the box-office!

But hey, don't take my word for it, check it out yourself

I honestly think this will become one of your favorite all time movies!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My favorite movie!
mere756 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I don't like most movies but I LOVED this one. It is funny, witty, clever and charming! It has a great script and flies by.

The story is so unique - a breath of fresh air after all the formulaic predictable movies out there. The acting is great and the cameo appearances are fun. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon reference is hysterical.

I found myself laughing out loud so many times - something that is really unusual for me. But the best part is that the movie really has a lot of heart. After seeing it, I had to find it so I could watch it again and again ... I was so excited to find out that it is on Amazon!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Outrageous, Hilarious
jlanemc4 August 2009
Pay no attention to Xabbu's comments. This movie is a riot from the start. Fast paced comedy based on real life experiences between the two male leads, Rock & Jake,(William Dozier & J.D. Shapiro) and their mutual "ex", Margo. Jillian Johns does a great job as Jake's on again-off again girlfriend Tracy. One gathers the impression that Margo is a man-eater as she runs through partners quickly and ruthlessly. Cameos made by established Hollywood names sprinkled throughout the film lend an air of credibility to the story, though the leads are for the most part unknown talents. The movie is funny enough that I go out of my way to watch it every time it airs on Independent Film Channel (IFC) and I've probably seen it half a dozen times already. I would quickly purchase a copy of this film if it were available on DVD. If you need a movie to lift your spirits or just appreciate a good laugh, We Married Margo is for you.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
DVD: Definitely Very Desperate... for this movie to come out on DVD!
lisa_red3 May 2005
Okay, to be honest, i only saw the last not even ten minutes of this movie on like TBS or something, but it was so hilarious that i did some serious research (i.e. checked the TV guide channel) to find out the title of the film. I had never heard of it before, but i was feeling pretty serious about it. So after calling every local movie store with no luck, i did some more serious research on the internet to find out where the H i could buy the movie, come to find out it's not even OUT. even on VIDEO! i'm less then pleased about this, and my fingers are crossed that "We Married Margo" will hit the shelves soon, and the second it does, i will totally be on top of it. gosh.. if you ever see that it's on, absolutely watch it, and tape it for me. seriously. i'll give you a hundred bucks or something.

basically it's my favorite movie, and i haven't ever even watched it, so that should seriously say something about how awesome it is.

ugh.. i want it so bad!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst Movie Ever Made
mikenap1516 February 2009
This was the worst movie I have ever seen and I have seen Howard the Duck twice. The writing was clichéd and terrible, the "acting" was like a second grade play (the kid who played the tree would be better)and the "quick and flashy" editing was intolerable. It really makes you wonder how drivel like this gets financed and who talks celebrities into making cameos in crap like this. Although, this is America the country that made Paul Blart the #1 movie at the box office. I would weep for the future but I immediately poked out my eyes after watching this absolute steaming pile of crap. (I had to dictate this post to someone.)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Delightful!
gingercurry14 July 2008
I love this movie and watch it whenever I see that it's playing on IFC.

It's one of those films I'd like to have in my DVD collection--easy & amusing through many viewings.

It never fails to lift my spirits.

That was the end of my review--short & sweet, but I see that I must write more in order to have my review included here, so:

The two stars (and writers) are wonderful. The celebrity cameos are fun & surprising. Fat Boy the dog is one of my favorite canine performers. Surely there's an award for him somewhere.

Unfortunately, this delightful film is not available on DVD. How is that possible? Surely there must be a cult following (even if small) for We Married Margo.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great movie, no DVD?
acustomer15 December 2007
I loved this movie. I was trying to get some work done, with the TV on as background noise- and then this came on. No work was done until the credits had stopped rolling. I enjoyed this movie that much, just hilarious and also insightful at times. "When Margo left me, I shaved 5 strokes off my score- thanks, Margo!" - Lee Travino

I immediately went to buy the movie on Amazon... and could not. How is it that no one is distributing this? Why don't they just distribute it online even? If people can make money distributing films starring Mario Van Peebles, I can't imagine how this could be a net loss. I really hope someone picks this up, as it is one of the only movies I would actually pay a full 20 dollars to purchase a DVD for.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad, bad, bad
xabbu_fv12 May 2006
I stumbled across this *gem* last night while I was flipping channels looking for a movie good enough to hold my interest. I watched We Married Margo from start to finish. I didn't watch it because it was good. I watched it because it was horrible.

This movie (I am hesitant to call it a movie) was release in 2000. However, it appears to have been filmed in 1980. I'm not talking about the sets, I am talking about the grainy texture of the film.

This movie appears to be an independent film and it shows, but not in a good way. The script is horrible and the acting is even worse. The overuse of catch phrases reminds me of a poorly written comic book.

I should be awarded a badge for having suffered through this hardship.

Here is a free hint to the Director: Speaking directly to the camera went out of fashion with Saved By The Bell.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Captivating
Minstrelman11 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was really different--part comedy, part documentary, part character study. I loved the quick cuts--it was what kept me watching. The acting was stiff, but it was supposed to be stylized like a 5th grade play (or at least I assume it was).

The cameos actually took away from the film a little bit for me. They were fun, but they took me out of the moment. They were too "clever" for the rest of the film. I was more interested in the strange circumstances that caused these guys to first become acquaintances, then reluctant roommates, and eventually, friends. So the cameos were a little distracting. (I have to admit, though, that the Kevin Bacon cameo alluding to "6 degrees" was really funny).

Overall, I enjoyed the 90 minutes or so of this experience. In other words, I was entertained, and that's all that really matters, right?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The ifc channel
vee8-15 November 2007
This is on the I.F.C. channel all the time. I liked this movie a lot. The flashbacks and comments about the flashbacks are great. Almost like you are have a real conversation. With these people and they are going back and forth. About things that happened to them. This thing says I have to have 10 lines.

This is on the I.F.C. channel all the time. I liked this movie a lot. The flashbacks and comments about the flashbacks are great. Almost like you are have a real conversation. With these people and they are going back and forth. About things that happened to them. This thing says I have to have 10 lines.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
We Married Margo - Very funny -if you are a guy
danatphoto22 October 2007
This is a remarkably funny film. It is amazing that it hasn't received more acclaim. It is definitely geared toward the male perspective concerning relationships. My guess is that most women may not appreciate this film as much as men because they may have trouble relating to some the antics that only men can value. If you note, some of the obvious female authors seemed to hate the movie. However, it really is a sophisticated film. There seems to be literally a million jokes, puns, comical references and refined humor that both the uninformed and informed mind can appreciate. This is a definite must see if you are a guy. Enjoy it with a beer.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews