IMDb > Resident Evil (1996) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bio Hazard
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Resident Evil (VG) More at IMDbPro »Bio Hazard (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

An enhanced version of "Biohazard"

Author: action-6 from Froland, Norway
3 December 2000

"Biohazard Director`s Cut"(called "Resident Evil" outside of Japan) contains three different versions of "Biohazard". The first version is exactly the same as the first game, the second one is the same as the first game but a lot easier, and the third version is what this game is all about: the re-arranged version. In this version there is quite a few changes that`ll please veterans. The two main-characters now have a new set of clothes, some of the camera-angles have been changed, some new dialogue is put in there, the clothing on some of the walls have changed, there are more zombies and monsters and all the items in the game are to be found at different places. All these changes have been made to make the game as different from the original as possible, and it is a huge success. I love "Biohazard" and I was very pleased to learn that a director`s cut-version of the game was coming out. If you already got the first game, and aren`t particularly fond of it, you shouldn`t really buy this game, but if you love the original game, this is worth picking up, and remember that the game comes with a playable demo of "Biohazard 2". 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Best game ever

10/10
Author: Rayman-8 from The Netherlands
6 June 1999

This is still the best game ever. No game is so scary, has so beautiful graphics and is so original as this one. I bought the game three years ago and I still play it sometimes. This game is the number one for the horror-fan. And I have also Resident Evil 2 but Resident Evil 1 is better. But Resident Evil 2 is also a great horror-game.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

This was the sole reason I bought PS console

Author: Michael Kenmore from Provo, Utah
23 March 2003

I remember fondly I was at a friend's house looking at a rental copy of Resident Evil one hot summer day in 1996. I wasn't familiar with Playstation, as I was ignorant of the next-generation consoles (partly because I couldn't afford $300+ price tag). Resident Evil, along with Initial D and Battle Arena Toshinden, were the first PSX games I played. Actually, I observed a friend or two play these games since I was new to the world of Playstation, and I was still a loyal Super Nintendo fan at the time.

After playing Initial D, which I wasn't impressed with despite its cool computer-generated cinematic moments, I watched a friend pop in a copy and play Resident Evil. I thought that game looked strange as I've never seen it before - a 3-D environment with a playable character facing the first zombie using only a knife and there were bursts of blood. I was very impressed and wanted to play it after a friend's character dies from zombie bite attack.

The first time I started, I watched a very entertaining yet cheesy introduction sequence in live FMV. I figured this looks like a seriously fun game. After the chatter with Albert Wesker in the beginning, I encountered a zombie eating Kenneth. When the first zombie walks towards the character to grab him to bite I was seriously scared. I've never been this scared playing a video game before, and it was an incredible accomplishment - the groundbreaking gaming moment of 1996. I knew Resident Evil was this great.

Resident Evil is an incredible game in polygon 3-D environment and convincing pre-rendered backgrounds. In fact the bright, illuminated hallways and rooms gave it a very tense atmosphere reminiscent of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining. That made me nervous playing the game looking around the corner to avoid zombies popping out of the corners.

The story is very well-plotted with memorable characters, monsters and twists, albeit with awful dialogues. But that's what made it feel like a campy horror movie as a video game.

Quite frankly, Resident Evil is one of the best video game moments I've ever had in my life because of the wonderful feelings I had the first time I played. I finally bought a PlayStation console and a pre-owned copy of Resident Evil on my 18th birthday later that year. Resident Evil completely changed the way I perceive how video games can accomplish - immerse yourself into the video game world - something that The Legend of Zelda and Final Fantasy series achieved to a certain extent but not yet whole.

I'm now one of the devoted Resident Evil fans and I look back to the introduction of the first game with a nostalgic sense of wonder.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

One of the best

10/10
Author: Daniel (TERMINATOR180) from United States
2 August 2001

This game is a classic, a gem, one in which is very hard to find. The Storyline isn't a rip-off,the Mansion is so creepy you want to memorize every inch of it, and the Suprises scare you each time you play. There are very few other modern Horror games that are worth playing. Some great oldies are Snatcher, Alone In The Dark, Rise of the Dragon, and Night Trap. Snatcher is,in my opinion, the best ever, of the Videogame horror genre, but it is hard to find, because it is solely a Sega CD/PC videogame. In Terms of Resident Evil, the first is the best, the 3rd is 2nd best, and Code Veronica is 3rd best. Resident Evil 2 is interesting,yes, but I have never cared for it's characters much. This series is one of the very few reasons I still play Playstation.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The original but still the best

10/10
Author: khanaway from Dublin
5 July 2000

Resident Evil is the game that defined the survival horror genre. When it was originally released way back in 1996 it took the video game world by storm and has since spawned a number of sequels and clones.

The story revolves around the members of a special police task force who are sent to a remote mountainous location to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a number of hikers. Contact with some of the team is lost and the remaining members flee into an old mansion when they are attacked by a pack of strange creatures bearing a resemblance to large dogs. It is here that the adventure begins...

By today's standards Resident Evil appears a tad dated at least technically. The visuals have been improved upon greatly by its many sequels and the video clips have a very 'low budget' look to them (not helped by the terrible acting which would look more at home in a porno flick). Resident Evil, however, excels where it matters most - in the gameplay area. The game simply oozes atmosphere something which I believe was lost a little in its many sequels (yes even Code Veronica). The excellent sound, particularly the eerie music scores which are still the best in any of the RE games, help to enhance the creepy atmosphere greatly. For this reason I still consider this game to be the best of the genre. A classic.

Rating:10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Best game ever!

9/10
Author: tojo-6 from Greenock Scotland
27 August 2000

Resident Evil changed the way I think about computer games. This was the first game not designed for kids. It has a great plot and even better game play. The acting is bad but oh so funny. "Wow, What a mansion!"

Its also far superior to all of the sequels. In the same way "Alien" is better than "Aliens". Bigger and louder does not equal better.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

play that moonlight sonata like you MEAN it!

Author: jarra_baron (jarra_baron@hotmail.com) from United Kingdom
15 October 2004

The best ever franchise debut and perhaps the best ever selling game on the playstation. Resident Evil is plot driven - but the special forces you command (Chris or Jill) still hold character: the story holds up extremely well and the subsequent movie producers and directors should be shot or at least eaten alive by bio-infected gimp zombies for their crappy introduction to the world of raccoon city. The opening FMV's create the tension between the unexplained body count and the S.T.A.R.S team sent in to investigate: BOOM! the chopper goes down- you find a hand; a severed hand still clutching the gun in a field; something ripped it off, the magazine is still in, whatever it was it is fast...extremely fast "WAHHH!!!!!!!!" the roar of infected HOUNDS pierces the night air and you pitch a running- gun battle to an isolated mansion. Closing the double large oak doors in just enough time; your team is safe. OR ARE THEY. CHRIS/JILL/BARRY/WESKER you are unwelcome guests at the mansion of RESIDENT EVIL. The definitive SURVIVAL HORROR video game that defines the console world like the Exorcist for movies. (but this is better) Triumphant escape from the labyrinth of corridors and puzzles or a slow agonising death to befall you and your comrades: Gameotography is excellent: the realist pre rendered scenery is beautiful to behold and the bloodletting is superb. One word: please delete the movies from our minds and start the TRILOGY off with the proper introduction for it is the best.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

simply amazing

Author: nemesis1986 from Liverpool, England
3 November 2004

one of the best games in the world to date,and still going strong,this has paved the way for games such as parasite eve and silent hill in my opinion,resident evil truly is a classic,from the graphics,to the suspense of walking down a dimly lit corridor,with eerie music being played in the background,wondering whether you heard the squelch of a footstep behind you,to the plot of the games(i'm not going to give anything away!).sure enough there are flaws (the dialogue is atrocious,but it doesn't bother me) but every game has flaws,i've bought near enough every resi game thats followed on from this,and will carry on to do so,i'm hooked! amazing 10/10 :)

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The gameplay is fantastic

10/10
Author: MovieAddict2016 from UK
25 May 2005

Forget the movie for a second. "Resident Evil," the game, works just as well theatrically as it does in terms of gameplay -- it's an addictive experience with haunting visuals, a creepy perfectly suited score and tense, suspense-building action that propels into bloody gore.

I've never felt so nervous and sweaty while playing an RPG before. This is the type of game that builds up all the tension until finally, out of nowhere, a zombie appears and it really freaks you out. Unlike the film, it takes its time getting to where it's going and works well as such. The only game I've ever felt as paranoid playing in the past was "Aliens vs. Predators 2," which in the marine campaign was really scary and took its time delivering the action.

Don't get me wrong. I thought the "Resident Evil" movie bashers were overly-cruel. It was, after all, just a silly action movie and worked as such entertainment.

But the game is better.

Much better.

Nine years later it still packs a bloody punch and is one of the best games ever. I'd rank it in the top ten.

Best of all? It's got brains, too. It doesn't just require a quick trigger finger.

Highly, highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The Best Survival Horror Video game Ever

Author: Yuri Cunha (yuricunha88@gmail.com) from Brazil
14 August 2004

The story tells that people were strangely disappearing in the Arklay Mountains, northwest Raccoon City. Half of the S.T.A.R.S., a police group who's always hired when things go really bad, goes in to investigate, but they don't come back. That's when the rest of the group come to Arklay Mountains to see what's happening to those missing people and to the missing part of the team... They would just wish they were never born.

Resident Evil is a classic video game series. Unfortunately, the first movie wasn't nearly as good as any of the main games from the series.

This first version of Resident Evil/Biohazard, is the best one yet in my opinion. The graphics might not be great since most of us own next-gen consoles like PS2, Xbox and GCN, but they're still decent.

The soundtrack is amazing, voice acting is a little weird and a little silly, but it's OK. Videogames aren't about how close to reality it looks and feels. If it was, games from the past would be forgotten very quickly. What makes horror games special is how fun and scary they are, and this, along with Silent Hill, is the best horror game you'll ever play.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history