Gekijô-ban poketto monsutâ - Myûtsû no gyakushû
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Pokémon: The First Movie - Mewtwo Strikes Back More at IMDbPro »Gekijô-ban poketto monsutâ - Myûtsû no gyakushû (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 260 reviews in total 

66 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

For the love of God, people! It's a good movie!

Author: PeyotePete from A Higher State of Consciousness...
13 October 2002

I admit that I came into the theater completely biased against Pokémon, and I still hate nearly everything about it... with the exception of this film (and the opening theme for Johto League Champions.) Admittedly, the movie was probably pumped out of the studio in order to rake in more and more cash (and it worked) but somehow, the writer managed to keep a stong, albeit thinly veiled anti-violence sentiment. There were also some acts of cheesy heroism I found downright heartwarming. Also notable is the incredible magnitude of the backgrounds. The flying palace was absolutely stunning. I liked it. But, you probably won't. Don't watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

Tell me what we're fighting for

9/10
Author: GaryCXJk (GaryCXJk@msn.com) from The Netherlands
12 September 2003

Well, I liked Pokemon the first moment I saw the series... actually, after a few episodes. Anyways, after I saw the video clip "Don't Say You Love Me" (M2M), I wanted to see the movie.

Now, finally, after a few years and a DVD player later, I bought the movie, and I gotta tell ya, I regret it that I didn't see it in the cinemas... actually, I don't, because, well, I was "too old" for pokemon. That's the biggest bullpoo I ever heard. Well, sure, pokemon is mainly for young people, but I did enjoy the movie, for an 18 year old guy.

Well, back to the movie. The movie is great. I've seen the movie in Dutch first (because I'm used to the Dutch voices, and they sound better to me). The way Mewtwo's voice was used, it was as if Mewtwo was really in your head. But you'll need Dolby Surround for that experience. Also, the way the movie reffered back to the series, perfect. I mean, if you haven't seen the series, then that's okey, but don't look weird if you don't understand certain events and jokes and such.

The most unique thing is that this Pokemon movie really shows how much the Pokemon can care for their trainer. ** ENDING HINT ** You can mostly see it near the end of the movie.

Pokemon: The First Movie is probably the first movie that succeeded on following up their series successfull. It may not be a great movie, but it sure was fun to look at.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

People This Movie is for Little Kids

9/10
Author: rpannier from United States
6 December 2003

I took my kids to see Pokemon with their friends and they all loved it. Every child in the theater seemed to enjoy the movie, as did some of the adults. I think this movie is much more appropriate for children than a lot of the schlock that is put out for kids. This movie is for children. And it worked well on that level.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Prepare for trouble

10/10
Author: Vasitor
17 November 1999



Okay now, be honest. How many of you who rated this movie a '1' actually saw it? Probably none. Pokemon rule; yes, I will admit to being another 20 year old who enjoys pokemon; I went to see it with my 18 year old brother, too. It might be a little sappy with its message, but it's a lot of fun to watch, anyway. The best part of the movie is the final showdown between Mew and Mewtwo; not because of the battle, but because of the conversation: Mewtwo- "Why do you run? Are you afraid to learn who is supreme?!" Mew- "Mew"

If you've rated this movie a one just because you think it's dumb or a bad influence on kids, I've got three words for you.

"Get over yourself"

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Well, I liked it!

9/10
Author: Super Goji-San (ash_ketchum09) from wemyss bay, scotland
12 June 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK I know being 17 it isn't cool to like Pokémon, but I do and I love the movies even though 2-3-4 and probably this new one suck. The first movie involves scientists creating a super strong clone of Mew (Which they name Mewtwo and hence the title of the film) Mewtwo (After first escaping from the head of Team Rocket) moves to an island and he sends out invitations to Pokémon trainers across the world, when all of them arrive (Including our heroes Ash, Misty and Brock and thank god NO TRACY!) Anyway after soundly defeating all the Pokémon Mewtwo clones them into super strong versions and then another big fight takes place between the "real" Pokémon and the clones. In the end Ash tries to stop the fight by placing himself between Mew and Mewtwo and ends up being turned to stone, in a Disney turn of events the Pokémon realise they have done wrong and their tears bring him back to life (Sappy I know but who cares) Everyone is returned to where they started from with no memory of what happened. This film was a little more intense than the cartoon and had some violent moments so parental guidance is recommended (Like the scene were the clone Pikachu is attacking the "real" Pikachu) Anyway a good film and sadly under-rated by people who are not willing to give it the chance it deserves.

Rating - 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

It's not THAT bad!

6/10
Author: AdrenalinDragon from United Kingdom
26 April 2010

I'm a bit shocked at the low ratings of this movie. It's no way near a 1 out of 10. I think its because if you were an adult when you saw this, you would give it a 1 out of 10 straight away. Like when I saw it when I was 8 or 9 years old originally at the cinema, all the kids enjoyed it, including myself, whilst the adults were just snoring away! They didn't even give it a chance! As of writing this review, at the age of 19, the movie is still OK in my opinion. The sequel was better, but I think Mewtwo was pretty cool in it, and its not that long either so don't just completely bash it just because it has the name "Pokemon" on it. Season 1 of Pokemon was awesome, and I wasn't even a huge fan of the anime! Finish it first, and sure there are some plot holes in it, but hey I still think the movie is entertaining. Overall, a 6/10 at best (as a teen/adult), but that means its passable.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

An awesome kid's action flick

9/10
Author: Dragoneyed363 from United States
9 April 2008

Although I am certainly not a fan of some of these animated fighting shows that are utterly ridiculous, in my opinion (i.e.: Naruto, Digimons and One Piece), Pokémon has always had a place in my heart, for some odd reason, and I really enjoyed this movie to the fullest extent. I had always hated some of the animated TV shows that came on television, more specifically Cartoon Network, except for a small amount, and Pokémon was one of the exceptions in the small amount.

Soon, when they came out with the movie, I was actually impatient to see it! It of course was some time ago when I was still somewhat little, but I would still be dying to see it if they made it nowadays and would be just as pumped up about it. When I did see it, I thought the film was true to the show and did an excellent job at conquering what it set out to do, and that was entertain fans and be fun all around!

It wasn't like any other kind of animated movie in it's genre, as many think it is just a run-of-the-mill letdown. I thought it had a really interesting theme and I was amazed at how they were able to pull off such an exciting and fun kids movie without destroying the originality of the TV show and without the use of lame jokes like toilet humor, though I mean, there were still some jokes and lines that could be considered extremely lame, unless you just accept it for what it's worth, which, I did, and without the use of inane "curse" words that parents would find insulting nowadays, if you understand what I mean.

Yes, there is fighting, which cancels out "the heart and soul" the show and movies try to set out, but still, in the end, it tells kids that fighting isn't the answer and kids eventually grow up knowing that Pokémon aren't real, so they shouldn't have to copy their actions. I say these things only because most critics condemn this film for those reasons. Oh well, Pokémon: The First Movie, I must say really isn't even the best of the Pokémon movies, it's actually my second favorite, but it was still very excellent and worth the time to watch with great battle sequences, superb characters and an effective plot and message. This film is great, people need to lighten up and enjoy it for what it was...

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

This Movie rocks you gata see it if you love Pokemon!

Author: olc from Ottawa, Canada
17 November 1999

This movie is "da bomb"! If you love pokemon you will obviously love the movie Quote the tagline "Prepare for the gratest match ever!" so I recommend you see it. And yes James of Team Rocket does rock. But if you want to know the movies plot too bad you will have to see the movie! BYE P.S. this site and every member rock!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Short yet long

8/10
Author: chrisjgray2000 from Belfast, Northern Ireland
15 June 2001

This movie is really has you may have heard a feature length episode of the cartoon series and got to get a cinema release. The thing is with this movie is that it is pretty good. It has now become one of my favorite animated movies along with Mulan and Perfect Blue. Its really about Mewtwo who wants to destroy all Pokemon and humans so he and clone Pokemon can rule the earth. Its dialogue isn't bad and the movie could have used a bit more effort than rushing through the movie and giving no detail but all in the end I'm going to be nice and give it a nice **** 4stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Great movie!

10/10
Author: Erica Storm from Netherlands
28 April 2008

I loved this movie! :D It was the first movie I ever saw in the theater. Great movie! the action, the drama.. For a kid i was really impressed! (A) and secretly I still like to watch it :O i have not seen the other movies yet of pokemon.. I wonder how they are? I am confused when it comes to the series.. what part they are and what has all happened and has Ash already won a final? ;o i only followed the first season completely, after that it slipped. I don't get it why a lot of people voted 1 for this movie tho :S Its not that bad! oh well.. i don't know what else to say,, :P GIVE THE MOVIE A CHANCE, you winers! :P i have it on video.. haha

Xxx

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history