IMDb > "Undressed" (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Undressed"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Undressed" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 56 reviews in total 

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

The Young and the Horny

Author: WaxBellaAmours from The Great Northwest
6 July 2005

The phrase "guilty pleasure" doesn't even begin to describe the late-night MTV show "Undressed", a horny and very kinky show about young, hot and very horny character's various sexual escapades. Given, as an American basic-cable program nothing got too explicit, but the show crammed in as many elaborate sexual situations and fresh young flesh that was permitted. (Some of that Young flesh included the O.C's Adam Brody, Brandon Routh from the ill-fated Superman reboot and, I'm not freakin' kidding about this, Mad Men's Christina Hendricks).

In some ways I can't say the show was bad. The glossy look showed technical professionalism, and it did have some unusually creative set-ups to it's strictly libido-minded agenda, if never at all believable. It was also more diverse than other like-minded shows, with some topics dealing with the modern homosexual plight and the troubles of inter-racial dating. Though not they really dealt with those issues in a honest or realistic fashion. "Lord of the Rings" was closer to real-life than this. For all it's mock seriousness, it was ultimately extremely exploitive and very juvenile, busy but one-dimensional. None of it's elaborate scenarios led to anything particularly insightful.

However, you can't say it didn't know it's target demographic well. the show was solely populated by people in the sixteen-to-twenty-five age range, all extremely nubile and with only one thing on the mind: sex, sex and more sex, in all it's various forms. Even the class geeks and mousy bookworms we're all very attractive and well-sexed. And it certainly bridged the gender gap by having both it's hunks and babes frequently strip down to their skivvies. Parents, tastemakers and homophobes could all be deeply offended.

Perhaps it would've worked better on the stage. Given the histronic (actually I would just call it monotone) delivery of the actors to the mostly sterile sets where the outside world ceased to exist, it all felt rather silly and a bit uncomfortable on screen. I kept waiting for the laugh track was going to kick in (and some moments definitely deserved one).

All in all, it was a pointless and exploitive experiment, essentially PG-13 porn/soap opera hybrid trying to play naught, but not surprisingly it was a remarkably addictive little pill of a show. You might have never gone out of your way to watch one of it's frequent marathons, but when you did come across it late one night you never changed the channel.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

So bad.. its good.

Author: GEM-1 from Central Texas
25 February 2001

You ever watch something that you thought was so bad, that for some reason, you couldn't stop watching? It's why we like B-Movies, and just about everything that Aaron Spelling can throw at us. It's also why Undressed is so good to watch. It has 3 simultaneous storylines of different people in relationships, and it's not always completely heterosexual. While most of the time its completely unrealistic (if I myself was getting as much action as the people on this, I wouldn't be watching!), and it has everything that makes it such a bad drama/soap opera (and typical MTV drivel) of bad acting, bad storyline, and cheap 2nd rate actors. It's fun to watch the predictability of the whole episode. This is also what keeps it interesting, as each situation lasts a few episodes, and you just pant out loud wanting to see what's going to happen next. Just when it ends for one story, another starts up in its place. This is something the 16-28 year old audience can watch and relate, maybe for a present relationship, or something that's happened in the past to them.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

perfect

Author: andy from oh
12 April 2003

Undressed is one of my favorite shows on tv. I just saw most of season 6 in the summer. The storylines are sexy and insane at times. The show doesn't take itself seriously and its really hilarious. This show is perfect for teens who are sick of slow boring soaps where nothing happens and the characters look serious at each other for a whole minute into it slowly fades into a commercial. Even the opening song title with the bubbles is cool. If this sounds appealing then you might like it. If your offended by people undressed often then I suggest something else.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Awesome show

Author: odikysa from chicago, illinois
13 July 2003

I have seen tons of undressed episodes, and i think that as a teenager, having a show that can explore so many different sexual inuendos is incredible. It is a great summer show to watch and can be very well written with really good music, and good characters.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Don't be fooled, this show is not just for perverts (SPOILERS)

Author: Access Sanctuary from New England
9 August 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

UNDRESSED. One of biggest surprises to come from MTV. A hybrid of soap-opera and sit-com, the show chronicles patterns of support and neglect in the relationships of late teens and early 20-somethings as they discover love and sex, and often accept responsibility for their mistakes.

Showcasing a variety of issues involving sex and dating: sexual attraction, sexual intercourse, racial relations, sexually-transmitted diseases, homosexuality, lesbianism, masturbation, promiscuity, pregnancy, pornography, sexual discrimination, copulation, prophylactic, marriage, and abstinence (to name a few).

There is a great deal of humor to be found in the situations portrayed nightly on the show. For example, a couple is enjoying sex but run into an issue when they realize their sexual activity might be holding them back from communicating with each other. For fear that when they one day cannot enjoy sex, they won't enjoy each other's company... the couple breaks up (following a sordid affair involving a leather-clad exhibitionist babysitter cracking a whip).

Or, a gay couple where one partner is concerned his lover might be fantasizing about women (only after he stumbles upon a stash of straight pornographic magazines). As he discovers his lover was only lusting after a former boyfriend who appeared in the magazines, his concerns shift to his lover's feelings on the boyfriend. Well, the lover puts his past with his old boyfriend behind him only to find out that his partner, who coerced him into being proud of his sexuality, had neglected to inform his older brother that he was gay. BAM! Bro shows up for a visit and brings along an attractive friend. We discover that the older brother is gay as well and that his friend is really his boyfriend. The two boyfriends then hook-up and form a plan to force the brothers into exposing their true sexuality by getting too friendly and attempting to make the brothers jealous of each other. After a lot of kiss-and-tell pairing, the two brothers confront each other and bury the odds.

Terminally trashed by porn-loving perverts over the net for not showing any sexual activity, this show an often exciting and outrageously hilarious romp through the battlefields of love and playgrounds of sex.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Very addicting

Author: HouTex-2 from Texas
2 November 2000

I had heard about "Undressed" from other cable channels, but had not sat down & watched it until recently. To me, this is an ideal soap for the high school & college age since all the characters are of that age group. They show enough skin to keep the viewer interested, & you find yourself talking to the characters. I only watched three episodes & I found myself trying to tell a character what to do. Unfortunately, MTV pulls the plug on a lot of interesting programs once when they seem to getting steam. Look at "Remote Control," & "Singled Out."

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Jaw-droppingly kitschy; "Undressed" is your quintessential TV guilty pleasure

Author: liquidcelluloid-1 from www.liquidcelluloid.blog.com
22 May 2004

Network: MTV; Genre: guilty pleasure; Average Content Rating: TV-14 (for strong sexual content and suggested sex involving teens); Classification: Contemporary (star range: 1 - 4);

Season Reviewed: Complete Series (6 seasons)

There are few TV experiences I've had that match the surrealism of MTV's 'Undressed'. It's really a strange and unique case of a mountain of wrongs somehow making a right. Like most TV it is about sex but unlike most TV it is also about nothing more than sex. If you want mindless, escapist trash - this is the place to come. Although, if you hear someone say that 'Undressed' is a great drama with great stories that are "true to life" - run. Far away. There is nothing real about this show, but that is what makes it so shamefully delicious.

'Undressed' is an anthology series that peaks in on the sex lives of high school, college and young adults in a format that brings the show around once a day - like a soap opera - but has no permanent cast, oscillating us between a group of kids for 4 or 5 episodes and then dispenses with those characters, never to be seen again, for another story. Playing like a toned down version of "Compromising Situations", the stories are about all manner of sexual inclinations, deviations and corny, soft core fantasy scenarios.

Labeling it a "drama" makes it seem as if creator Roland Joffe ('The Killing Fields') and his crew actually think they are doing something of substance. But 'Undressed' has absolutely no recognizable personality of it's own making it impossible to know what exactly their goal with this show is. Most of the time it is silly, playful and hollow. Sometimes it even seems to be a mocking parody of soap operas and sex-obsessed teen angst dramas. Either way if anybody is taking it seriously the joke is on them. The show rides this fence mysteriously all the way until the 6th and final season when it falls of and just becomes an insufferable, self-important drama. However, for much of this run, if you're willing to not take it and yourself seriously, (and possibly admit that a "guilty pleasure" is a sub-genera all to its own) "Undressed" may become a nasty, embarrassing addiction. An addiction you'll hide from everyone out of fear of being exposed as not the intellectual connoisseur of entertainment that you'd like everyone to think you are.

"Undressed" works, most likely in spite of itself, because it serves a purpose that teen angst dramas, soap operas and other so-called network wish-fulfillment shows are to full of themselves to. It dispenses with tangled plots and manufactured drama and the standard who-will-be-with-who scenarios and just cuts to the chase. Thanks to that simultaneous 3-story style, it can cut to that chase over and over. At any given moment, if someone isn't having sex they are either about to have it, or are talking about it. Literally, people. The show drops the pretension to be anything more than the trash that it is. No wasting time with character development or stories or messages or banal conflicts as if knowing these are a waste of time when the audience just wants a little cathartic entertainment. It is absolutely jaw-dropping and as unbelievable as this all may be, I can honestly say I have never seen anything like it.

'Undressed' is out-in-the-open exploitation, where the actors soul purpose is to look good in their underwear. When they do, it works. When they don't, in much of the 6th season, it doesn't. The show really benefits, probably unknowingly, from network boundaries that keep it restrained. What it lacks in nudity and actual sex, it makes up for with the simple cinematic fact that insinuating something and letting our imagination do the work can be infinitely sexier than the monotony of premium cable porn. As a result it serves as a cathartic medium somewhere between the guilty pleasure failings of "Friends" and a late nigh Cinemax series.

That is why this show is so easily criticized. It proclaims itself in big bold letters to be things that the average network sitcom does, in fact relies on, but doesn't have the guts to admit, instead going using "safer", acceptable methods. Instead of subversively insinuating to teenagers that they need to find someone or have sex in order to be happy wrapped in a real-world scenario and false hyperbole about love (a la 'Friends'), 'Undressed' busts the typical TV pretension with love and depicts sex and any manner of getting it with such a cartoonish lunacy there is no possible way to take any of it seriously. It is an unbelievable, trashy and audacious - it is exactly what a guilty pleasure should be.

The show aims very low and mines every possible avenue of it's "subject" bone dry. The stories aren't the slightest bit creative (and more often flat-out stupid), the writing is amateurish and the acting is worse. By all the numbers the show is a total technical and creative disaster. But it does everything that it does with such enthusiasm and gung-ho shamelessness. And you know something else: its cheapness actually contributes to the half-assed late-night fantasy charm of it all. The whole production is high camp as good as it comes. Any show aspiring to be a guilty pleasure in the future should use this as the blueprint to springboard from.

'Undressed' is so bad it actually manages to cycle all the way back to good and is so stupid that it shouldn't do any harm to those with half a brain. And those that do have a brain, might find themselves turning it off for 30 minutes to escape into this addictive fantasy land. Before returning to a real show, of course.

* * * ½ / 4

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not exactly "quality" TV, but I still watch

Author: Zalis
18 February 2001

I don't know where or when I started watching this show, but I did. Granted, some of the situations are a tad unbelievable, and the characters aren't upstanding moral pillars. But still, one can find fun in predicting the next turns of events in the plot. As others have said, it's addicting.. .when they have Undressed marathons, I can sit and watch it for hours. Maybe that's a sign I lead a sad life. Some have questioned the format. As far as I can tell, they do run three unrelated plots with people in High School, College, and beyond college. As soon as one plot line "resolves" (meaning that a couple has settled into a secure relationship, or broken up permanently), it ceases, and a new storyline for that age group begins. These stories can vary in length. And also, as far as I can tell, the show is written by the actors, lending hints of low budget production as well originality. I wouldn't say it's entirely accurate (i.e., there's no unisex bathrooms or hot girls throwing themselves at guys (not me, anyway) at my dorm), but it's at least worth watching for the hot chicks (and presumably, hot guys).

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

perfect

Author: andy from oh
12 April 2003

Undressed is one of my favorite shows on tv. I just saw most of season 6 in the summer. The storylines are sexy and insane at times. The show doesnt take itself seriously and its really hilarious. This show is perfect for teens who are sick of slow boring soaps where nothing happens and the characters look serious at each other for a whole minute into it slowly fades into a commercial. Even the opening song title with the bubbles is cool. If you this sounds appealing then you might like it. If your offended by people undressed often then I suggest something else.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Why is morality an issue?

Author: Krystin (HD2005@aol.com) from Texas
21 November 2004

Okay, as far as I can see, most of these comments are on the morality or lack thereof of this show and the utter lack of acting talent. While I fully support anyone who questions the credibility of this show or questions the ability of the actors and actresses to act, I do not agree that this show is something horribly immoral and wrong. Morals are relative, not clearly defined by one person. Sex isn't illegal, and many people question their sexuality and experiment at some point in their lives. MTV has in fact abandoned playing music most of the time, but as most people know this, they should refrain from watching it unless they want to see something that's not music. Also, if teenage sex and homosexuality/sexual experimentation is something that bothers you or offends your morals, don't watch MTV (most of the time) or this show. However, those of us who don't care much about the educational value of a TV show (it rots all of our brains anyway) or the blatant sex (non-nudity) can watch this show all we want. Not all shows have to serve a purpose. Sometimes they just are. And this one is pretty darn fun to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history