IMDb > Little Nicky (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Little Nicky
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Little Nicky More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 238 reviews in total 

89 out of 143 people found the following review useful:

Pretty underrated!

10/10
Author: robbie-20 from Sweet Home Chicago
20 December 2003

Geeze, this movie got the shaft! I thought it was a lot of fun and pretty funny. The Ozzy Osbourne line, 'Here, kill him with theeees' cracks me up every time. I don't know why this is disdained so much. Sure, it's no "Rushmore", but it has its place and I enjoy it for what it is--a kind-hearted, dumb, funny comedy in the vein of "Dumb & Dumber" or "Tommy Boy"--both classic movies in and of themselves. In that category, I give "Little Nicky" a 10! Blow-hards and elitists need not apply....

Was the above review useful to you?

69 out of 116 people found the following review useful:

The Quintessential Sandler Film!

10/10
Author: darkgodmobutu from The Pit of Ultimate Darkness
13 February 2001

This was a great film and one of the best films of the year, contrary to what so many others say. This is the second most underrated & unappreciated movie of 2000, following Book of Shadows: The Blair Witch 2. There is nothing to not like about this movie, it is virtually non-stop laughs from beginning to end.

Reading some other user's reviews I'm stunned at their disdain and hatred for this great film. People always say that this is no Citizen Kane...well duh...to quote Highlander "There can be only one!". Now I'm not saying that this movie is in the same league as Citizen Kane, but that doesn't mean it's bad. This is an epic Sandler piece, and his funniest to date, and is quite possibly the definitive Sandler film.

Unlike most people, I loathed Big Daddy, writing it off as cheesy and overly sentimental; a one-joke gag stretched beyond its limits. Luckily that does not apply to this film, every aspect of this film is great, from the surprise cameo by "CHUBS" (Carl Weathers) to Harvey Keitel's hilarious turn as Papa Satan. You've gotta love a movie that lets Quentin Tarantino use his "unique" acting "ability" to his advantage in a brilliant performance as the religious zealot. My favorite cameo belongs to B-Movie God Clint Howard...after this movie, I don't think I'll ever look at him the same way again! The Cameos are worth the ticket price alone!

The story was top-notch and was brilliantly executed. This film definitely shows maturity in Adam Sandler and Tim Herlihy's writing abilities, as they created a complex and involving storyline, and great and hilarious characters.

I recommend this film to any film fans. Give this one a shot, regardless of your personal view of Sandler and his talent. Sandler is one of the most underrated and ridiculed acts out there today, which is sad considering his remarkable talent. How many other performers out there today write, produce, and star in their own films?

I give this one * * * * * * out of * * * * *

Was the above review useful to you?

90 out of 161 people found the following review useful:

brilliant!

10/10
Author: gigamath2 from United States
9 January 2005

An absolutely brilliant and ingenious comedy. I am puzzled as to why this movie received such average reviews. I never listen to critics anyway. This film has so many angles. It's a fish out of water story with Sandler lost in New York, spoof of the punk rock genre, the damsel in distress theme, hilarious cameo with Rodney Dangerfield in Hell, the sarcastic talking dog, the John Lovitz peeping tom episode, sight gags galore, and the ultimate pineapple in Hiter's you-know-what. I laughed myself silly. This flick is raucously entertaining, but you need to appreciate Sandler's humor, which is an acquired taste, like beer. History will be kind to Sandler I think. Now for a true remake of Mad Mad Mad Mad World, with Sandler, Lovitz, Martin, Carrey, Murphy, and the rest of the SNL crowd.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 86 people found the following review useful:

The Shiz-nit!

10/10
Author: cousteau
23 June 2001

This movie rocks. From the actor who plays Adrian, (Rhys Ifans?) to Adam himself, to the "Kenny G" roommate, to the dog, who 'steals' the whole show.

I honestly try to understand why so many people thought this film sucked. They are probably stuck on Sandler's old (less refined) style. Well, guess what; he's changed. Sure it was funny to watch him get drunk and violent, like in <Happy Gilmore>, but Little Nicky is 10 times the entertainment of all those other Sandler films combined. Especially Billy Madison, which I thought was his worst film (no, maybe Airheads;)

This is why you should see <Little Nicky>:

1) The soundtrack is awesome 2) It's romantic (talking about butterflies, perfume, love, and floating) 3) All the funny cameos (And believe me, there were a LOT and they were all funny-Henry Winkler, Rob Schneider, Dan Marino, Dana Carvey, Regis Philbin, Ron Howard's brother, and Jon Lovitz to name a few....) In response to the negativity toward short cameos and "ac-TEURS that should've been used more"...*PLEASE!* Since when were Adam Sandler films about boring the audience to death with actors that "deserve" this and that.....You say they're thrown in there just because? You're right! Sandler simply loves the effect a 1 or 2-liner has on an audience! So what else you got? 4) It was extremely well-written. 5) It was pretty scary..no joke! 6) There's a talking bulldog who went out with a sewer rat!

Seriously, watch Little Nicky; it's warm-hearted and a lot funnier than <Big Daddy>. Sandler's best film to date!

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 110 people found the following review useful:

A Paradise for Adam Sandler's Fans

10/10
Author: Tasos Tz. from London, England
27 May 2001

Let me explain something about Adam Sandler's movies (and his recordings and his SNL shows). His humor is something you either like or hate. There's no middle situation and there's not really a category for it except for 'Adam Sandler humor'. It also came to my attention that the people who think that Sandler is stupid, think the same of Jim Carrey and almost any other pure comedian, which narrows down their comedy taste to 'Scary Movie'.

Little Nicky is a film that every Adam Sandler fan has to see. This picture is about the son of Satan, who comes to earth in order to save his father from extinction. Everything (yes, everything) that takes place place in this movie, from the cast to the script, to the cameo appearances of celebrities, pays homage to earlier Sandler works. Those little or sometimes bigger references are not only links to Sandler's previous movies but also to his recordings and SNL shows. It's a real treat for every true Adam Sandler fan!

Also a great production along with a great Heavy Metal soundtrack make this film one of the best movies Adam's ever done.

I have to warn you that you have to have at least some experience with Adam's previous efforts in order to appreciate 'Little Nicky'. Of course if you are an Adam Sandler fan you're going to love this one. If you are not, please go rent 'Die Hard with a Vengeance' for one more time...

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Not as funny on repeat viewings, but a good silly comedy

7/10
Author: mattymatt4ever from Jersey City, NJ
1 October 2001

When I first watched this movie, I was cracking up! And it was one of those incidents in which I was in a crowded theater where I was pretty much the ONLY one laughing at most of the gags! It wasn't exactly embarrassing, but kind of weird. Then again, most of the people that came to see it were mothers and fathers with little children. Please ignore the PG-13 rating--this is NOT a movie for the young ones! I think anyone who has seen Sandler's previous films should know that by now. His sense of humor may be immature, but that doesn't mean it's appropriate for little eyes to see.

I watched this movie again, after I bought the DVD. First of all, I was impressed to discover the cool Easter eggs! It's actually the first DVD to be presented in InfiniFilm. But since it was used as an Easter egg, it wasn't credited as the first InfiniFilm feature. Well, as I learned a lot more about the behind-the-scenes work on this movie; mostly involving special effects, makeup, costume and set design; I gained a better respect for those who were responsible for making "Little Nicky." I thought of it as more than a shallow comedy. It's obvious that the producers of Sandler's previous films didn't have to bend over backwards to produce any flashy effects--in fact, most of them were made on a modest budget.

However, the laughs faded away a little. Since this is a silly, superficial comedy, don't expect to pick up on any subtle humor that you might've missed the first time around. I always found Sandler's schtick very silly and meaningless. But he's one of those guys who can make me laugh at things for no apparent reason. Almost as if I'm laughing AT him. I've seen "Billy Madison" countless times and I still roll with laughter every time. But with "Little Nicky" most of the jokes that I found silly-funny on my initial viewing were just silly on my second.

One thing to anticipate is a stellar cast. You'll be surprised at the kind of celebrities that pop up in the cameos. Some of the big-name stars include Harvey Keitel, Patricia Arquette, Quentin Tarantino, Reese Witherspoon and (my personal hero) Rodney Dangerfield! And that's just to name a few. It would also help if you've seen Sandler's past films, especially in one particular scene with one of our mystery cameos. You'll be treated to a great inside joke. And of course, expect to see many of Sandler's regulars including Allen Covert, Clint Howard, Peter Dante, Blake Clark and Jon Lovitz.

"Little Nicky" is not a thoughtful piece and will probably do nothing to contribute to mankind. But it's a very funny comedy that I simply advise you don't watch over and over again. You'll enjoy it a lot the first time! Of course, the DVD has some really cool features, so if anything pick that up.

My score: 7 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Nowhere near as bad as you've heard

5/10
Author: dbborroughs from Glen Cove, New York
1 July 2004

Ever hear of a movie that is suppose to be the extreme of one sort or another that doesn't live up to its billing? Little Nicky is one of those films. Roasted upon its release as one of the worst films of all time Little Nicky turns out to be an okay comedy. Actually this is the kind of movie that has all of the ingredients to be a screamingly funny comedy, but somehow things don't work.

Nicky, the son of the devil and an angel is sent to make his way in the world while one of his many brothers tries to take throne of Hell from their father. Casting everyone from Harvey Keitel to Rodney Dangerfield this is a film that fits into the Adam Sandler universe since several characters from some of his other films appear. Its a film that on star power alone should work, but it never catches fire. Sure there are laughs but on the whole nothing ever hangs together to form a full movie. I've seen the film several times and can't figure out what went wrong. Even Adam Sandler as Nicky, in one of the worst portrayals in screen history, isn't the reason this doesn't work. There is something else, some other reason.

Still its worth seeing if you like okay comedies. It never scales the heights its ideas and bits say it should be reaching. If its on try it and see if its for you, you certainly could do worse.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

One of Sandler's best (however,that's not saying much)

7/10
Author: DancingPotato from Jonquiere, Canada
19 November 2000

I have to admit that I have a soft spot for Adam Sandler. He might be "juvenile",but in a way,we all are. In this one, Sandler plays a son of Satan (Harvey Keitel) and an angel (Reese Witherspoon),who has a deformity because he was hit in the face with a shovel.Once again, Sandler does something strange with his face (like in The Waterboy) and it is a little annoying. However,the movie bristles with some form of charm from a great cast,which has hardly been seen in a Sandler movie.A lot of stars show up,such as Rob Schneider,Ozzy Osbourne and Quentin Tarantino (in a especially funny part).The funniest character in the movie is the dog who teaches Nicky how to survive.There is a scene where Nicky learns how to eat chicken that is uproarious. The movie also benefits from good special effects and a rockin' soundtrack.This does not mean the movie is without flaws. Like I said,Sandler's face is annoying,and the beginning is a little boring. This movie will not advance Sandler's career much,but it sure won't kill it. 7.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Funny....when i was 7.

1/10
Author: Tab132 from United States
24 August 2009

*Sigh*, looking through my VHS collection and biting the bullet to re-watch this piece of sh*t was the easy part. Within the first 3 minutes you already know what your in for, a peeping tom dies and goes to hell to get humped by a actor dressed like a big bird, meanwhile 'I'm your boogie man' is playing in the background. We're introduced to Nicky who 'jams' with some large random weapon, his dad's assistant is basically used as the introduction to the plot, his dad (the devil), played by Harvey Keitel for some odd reason, is making the decision on who should be his successor for then next 10,000 years. It never explains why someones 'in office' for 10,000 years but there's not much need to care anyways. He also remarks on how Nicky was pretty until his brother hit him in the face with a shovel, foreshadowing his brothers as the antagonists. Basically, his dad declares himself ruler for another 10,000 years and Nicky's 2 brothers go to earth freezing the gate to hell, thus causing the devil to die for some reason(?), Keitel's finger falls off and Nicky starts his journey to return his brothers to hell.

Probably about 10 minutes in now, the first thing that sticks out, is Sander. Sandler, while acceptable in just about all his other movies to this date (excluding that one where he's on a boat.), he's f*cking terrible in this. No words can explain how bad his performance is, its shallow, its half-a*sed, its not funny, its just ridiculously awful. To quote another disappointing movie, the ringer, 'I've seen better acting in porno'. As a whole, the supporting cast is also terrible. Nicky's sidekick i guess you'd say is a talking pit-bull glances at a doorstep that says 'i love acting' on it, he pis*es on it and says 'you love acting, well i love pis*ing', and to make matters even more mind numbingly awful the pis* is cgi'd obviously. Oh thats the next thing, the effects and production. This paragraphs dedicated to acting so let me get back on track. Usual members from the happy Madison gang are here, i've spotted like 4 people that are also in grandmas boy, and other crap flicks like the animal and Mr deeds and crap. Performances are half a*sed too, at most times secondary actor just read a line or two devoid of emotion or any form of acting. One standout role though is Quinton Tarantinos cameo as a blind preacher who appears about 3 times, other then that, nothing.

The production is awful. Hell looks, for lack of a better and less offensive term, retarded. There is around 3 sets I've noticed. Nickys room, the entrance to hell, and the (INSANELY BOTCHED) throne. Nicky's room is literally covered in stickers of heavy metal bands, problem is, i counted like over 9000 Ozzy stickers and one big metallica one, obviously the set designers know nothing about metal, nor the crew/cast. The throne is just like a mass hall, except the size of a small house basement, there's nothing that resembles artistic detail at all, it'd pass for a normal room to me. the gates also stupid, there's some rock like walls and a cheap frozen fire effect for the gate it self, no effort seemed to be used. the sad thing is, the gate is easily the most used. The rest of the sets on earth are one apartment room, a basketball stadium thing(I'm not a sports fan.), a park shoot, and the rest is all sidewalks. Oh yeah hell breaks loose by the end, and the sets turn into cgi awfulness, its so awful that by that point i went on my laptop and started chatting. The CGI is as awful as you'd expect from 1999/2000, but...its used throughout the whole movie. in fact all the special effects in the movie were cgi i noticed, of abysmal quality.

Last thing i'm going to rant about is the script, 'What we're they thinking!?' - avgn. Its a comedy, to be a 'good' comedy, it has to be funny. Unfortantly it isn't, its like a stream of half baked jokes like Nicky spinning his head around to entertain his friends (Oh he's doing the exorcist thing, thats pure comedy.), and Satan sticking a pineapple up Hitler's a*s. At a glance, you'r still likely to ask to your self, 'whats the point.'. The plot it self is rubbish. If two brothers out of hell for some reason make the devil have 'a week' to live, wouldn't another one shorten his life span even more thus making his coming to earth a bad idea. The brothers deceiving the humans is also like 'wut?'. They possess a minister and tell everyone 'let the Sin, be-Gin', to which a completely packed church gets out of their seat and everyone starts cheering. Yeah, thats very likely to happen. These parts are somewhat spaced out, because until like the last 20 minutes, Nicky does nothing but walk around, and do nothing. None of the jokes are funny, the plot is literally insane, its lost in its own continuity also.

i'm not going to spell check this review cause i feel that the movie sucked so bad that it's not worth the time of what i've already written. It sucks, it sucks even on a Adam Sander level. Its not funny, its not entertaining, its just downright lame. Bad script, bad acting, bad story, bad production, bad just about everything. To the mind of a child, its acceptable, but for a audience over 12 (The movies rated pg13 by the way.), its damn near worth destroying. I wouldn't watch this movie again if i were paid too, even for a million, i'd rather have my dignity.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Funny, but dumb

5/10
Author: Steven from Columbus, Ohio
21 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is probably the dumbest of Adam Sandler's movies. But I still find it funny. Adam Sandler plays Nicky, the son of Satan. Nicky is on a mission to take over Earth and stop his brothers from causing more havoc on Earth. His brothers are more powerful than he is. It is up to Nicky to stop his brothers' terror and save his father, played by Harvey Keitel, from dying. Satan decides that he is not going to let either of those two sons reign in Hell.

Of the usual Sandler supporting players, Allen Covert plays a roommate of Nicky's on Earth. Peter Dante and Jonathan Loughran play buddies that Nicky meets on Earth. Kevin Nealon plays the gatekeeper of Hell.

There is also a supporting performance in Reese Witherspoon as Nicky's mom. However, Nicky's mom is an angel who is in heaven.

The movie is funny, but it has a lot of dumb humor. Only watch it if you are an Adam Sandler fan.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history