IMDb > Boiler Room (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Boiler Room
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Boiler Room More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 25: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 246 reviews in total 

Big disappointment, Mamet need not fear

5/10
Author: sprung (nbello@netcom.ca) from Toronto, Ontario
23 February 2000

I went to this movie expecting a hard hitting look at the inside world of shady stock traders. I'm a huge Glengarry fan and I knew that this movie explores many of the same themes from that film. However, the script veers off into two unnecessary subplots (girlfriend and father/son conflict) that threaten to steal any momentum it might gain. Ben Affleck is no Baldwin. In fact, in many instances the movie played like "Mamet Lite". Sure the cursing was there but it had none of the artistry or proper placement found in other films. Also, the blaring rap soundtrack does little to add to a proper sense of atmosphere. Avoid at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

'Traders Don't Cry,They Close!"

8/10
Author: stvnwllms from NYC
23 February 2000

This cynical , mad money macho movie rips the dry wall off Wall Street day trading and takes you into the belly of the broker beast.A poor, middle class jewish boy and in-home college casino owner,desperately attempts to win his hyper-critical, judgemental, judge father's approval by becoming a legit high-powered broker in a bogus firm run by a "Mac-villian" guru of greed."Pitch Black" Vin Diesel is his guide to the world of 'Don't ask, just close.." who doesn't want to be a millionaire? See this movie and enjoy the deal!

Was the above review useful to you?

Been there, they got it right!

8/10
Author: Janine Smith from Los Angeles, California
23 February 2000

I used to work on Wall Street (not in a boiler room, but these guys are everywhere). This movie gets it right. What a lovely two hours of reliving that world, and how it reminded me why I'm still not there! Well done all around--good writing, directing, acting, etc.

Was the above review useful to you?

Maul Street

Author: MuteMae
23 February 2000

Giovanni Ribisi stars as a conflicted young huckster, who goes to work for a sleazy brokerage in Long Island - the appeal of the movie is in being absorbed right along with him, into the who-wants-to-be-a-millionaire high of stock trading. The characters are like frat-boy versions of the con artists in "Wall Street." Writer-director Ben Younger, lifts major swatches from that film, yet his dialogue has its own misanthropic snap and verve. For all its blatant borrowing, "Boiler Room" is a fast and funny look at a world where "greed is good" has become the only reality in town.

Was the above review useful to you?

Another $7.00 lost

Author: RJ-14 from Los Angeles
23 February 2000

The best part about this movie was the cuts in the background from Wallstreet. I hope it plays better on TV. As for Affleck's attempt..... maybe he should try acting class but, that may not help with this one. on the other hand, Vin's part was the only reason for not walking out early.

Was the above review useful to you?

Stock brokers have consciences too! (Who knew?)

Author: janeleelit (janeleelit@quackquack.com) from California, United States
22 February 2000

This is a surprisingly heart-wrenching story of a man striving to change the immoral world of the stock market. This young man, (Seth), drops out of college to run an illegal casino for all ages (to his father's dismay) but, by fate perhaps, is visited by two stockbrokers who happen to be extremely wealthy. Since Seth is looking for a way to earn a quick buck, he decides to join the firm. When he finds the firm to be corrupt, he develops a scheme to set up his company, but doesn't know that the FBI are secretly watching his every move because they too know the firm to be corrupt. Seth and his father are reunited and share, as they say, a "moment". The movie is resolved with the firm being raided by the FBI and everyone (except of course for the bad guys) living happily ever after. I really enjoyed this movie though it left me craving a tad more. The ending wasn't quite resolved. All in all, I give this movie an A-.

Was the above review useful to you?

Basic story, good delivery

8/10
Author: Kevin Burke (jenster058)
22 February 2000

One could derive a few comparisons between this movie and "Fight Club". "Boiler Room" consists of a basic story preaching the evils of a materialistic society. The plot is excellent at times, yet too drawn out on unimportant details that force the main plot to be fast forwarded. The movie is however blessed with wonderful performances from Ribisi, Diesel, Katt, and Ben Affleck. Ribisi's portrayal of the bad kid turned worse was enthralling, as was Affleck's strong cameo appearance.

Was the above review useful to you?

a caustic examination of the shrewd world known as capitalism.

10/10
Author: TOXIC-7 (weatherman@sportsmail.com) from Toronto, Canada
21 February 2000

Ben Younger has succeeded in giving us a microscopic look at the lifestyle & corruption of young Wall Street-type American men. With cutting dialogue and sharp characterizations, Boiler Room intensifies the personification of the American Dream, "Get rich and get rich quick". An excellent young cast devour the screen as hip hop sound beds have you nodding your head, as you play voyeur into these characters lives and dreams. The first great movie of the new millennium.

Was the above review useful to you?

Suave, Sleek, and Superb

10/10
Author: Robert (RAKMan) from Ft. Lauterdale Florisa
21 February 2000

An amazing cast headed up by Giovani Ribisi make Boiler Room a must see for anyone who was a fan of "Wall Street", or anyone a fan of money for that matter. Ben Affleck was great and made the most of his semi-cameo role as a recruitor, but it was Vin Diesal(Saving Private Ryan, Blackout) who stole almost every scene that he was in. While there are a few faults, the movie moves ahead and as a whole is an entertaining way to spend 2 hours and 8 bucks.

Was the above review useful to you?

Check this baby out

Author: whiterussian8 from NC
21 February 2000

For all of us poor suckers enthralled with the Stock Markets glossy dreamworld, this movie serves as a wake-up call. Yes, there are people out there, hundreds of them, who will gladly cheat you out of whatever money you have left, and the Boiler Room is a long hard look at who they really are. Ben Younger's bad boys, are smooth-talking, tough, attractive and creepy in their fanatical worship of Dead Presidents. Which is, of course, highly enjoyable to watch, and yet depressing to think about.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 25: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history