IMDb > Blue Streak (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Blue Streak
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Blue Streak More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 140 reviews in total 

48 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

very good

8/10
Author: shakey_jake53 from Toronto, Ontario
23 April 2003

I dont know why this movie is hated by so many people. It's funny, action packed and Martin Lawrence and the rest of the cast give good performances. Sure it's pretty unbelievable but so are most movies out there. Also, the film has a solid car chase scene at the end which is a solid way to end a fine film. The opening heist scene is also pretty good as well, a good way to start the film. Also the shootout at the grocery store is very funny, as well as several other scene's. Highly Recommended, for anyone who likes action-comedies. 4/5

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Good mindless fun

Author: robinlinacre from UK
4 August 2002

Personally I enjoyed this. I often just want to sit down, relax, ad watch a film that I don't have to think about and will make me laugh. This fits the bill perfectly and I throughly enjoyed it.

A lot of people wold put down this film, mostly in my opinion to make themselves look sophisticated. I think if most people were honest they would say they had liked this film, at least to a certain extent.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Martin Lawrence was Very Very Funny!!

10/10
Author: whpratt1 from United States
11 March 2004

This film made me laugh from beginning to end only because of the great actor and comic, Martin Lawrence(Miles Logan),"Bad BoysII",'03, who is a bank robber, winds up hiding a large diamond gem in the heating ventilation of the LAPD Headquarters. Miles is very comical getting into jail and getting out and then trying to find this diamond gem after spending two(2) years in prison. Words cannot completely describe this great entertaining film. Luke Wilson, (Carlson),"Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle",'03, is a great supporting straight man for Miles and the two of them made this a great worth viewing. Martin Lawrence is destined to become a great Super Star of the Future!

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

SO FUNNY

Author: (hurte001@bama.ua.edu) from tuscaloosa, alabama
1 November 2000

HILARIOUS! HILARIOUS! HILARIOUS! That is all I can say about Blue Streak. Martin Lawrence and David Schapell did an excellent job acting together! Martin did an excellent job playing his part. When he lied(throughout the entire movie) it looked as if it was coming right off of the top of his head in a real life type situation. If you want a good laugh or two for an hour and a half, you HAVE to see this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Watch if you enjoy comedy

Author: Jack "Rainman" Oates
14 March 2004

"Blue Streak" is an enjoyable film that stars one of the funniest comedians in the business, Martin Lawrence. Lawrence is teamed with Luke Wilson as they take on the bad guys using humor.

From the very beginning, I knew that "Blue Streak" would be funny and interesting. The only requirement was to sit back and relax so the movie can carry me through. The story was quite unique having a thief pretend to be a police detective determined to collect a jewel left behind from a previous heist.

To make the plot better and more interesting the writers make Lawrence's character in charge of the burglary division. Wilson didn't really add to the story and seemed to fill a role of sidekick. It was a pleasure to see William Forsythe in a role that did not have playing a villain. Overall, "Blue Streak" worked for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

One of the best Martin Lawrence Action/Comedy movies!

7/10
Author: SonicStuart from Kansas City, MO
30 November 2003

Blue Streak

Starring: Martin Lawrence, Dave Chappelle and Luke Wilson

Genre: Action/Comedy/Crime

Rated: PG-13

Another great Action/Comedy buddy movie! The movie is about a bank robber named Miles Logan (Martin Lawrence) who steals a crafty jewel and then hides it in a construction site where his $20 Million heist went awry. Now that he is out of jail, he wants to get the loot back! But the problem was that the place where he hid it was now the new Los Angeles Police Station. So Miles goes in as a member of the LAPD and works with Carlson (Luke Wilson) a rookie at the LAPD. So now Miles gives up being a thief and becomes a detective. One of my most favorite Martin Lawrence movies ever! One of my favorite parts was when Miles was disguising as a wacky pizza delivery man. This is one of the most successful Martin Lawrence movies plus another one of the best movies of 1999! One of the best Martin Lawrence movies ever!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Very Funny Movie

8/10
Author: Marc Atkinson (shaqkobelakers87) from Garwood
21 December 2001

I know that many people may not like this movie, but I thought it was very good. The plot was very simple and unique, the characters performed well, and the movie itself was very entertaining. There were some funny and memorable parts, including the famous oodles of noodles scene. In my opinion the funniest character in Blue Streak was Sulley. All of his parts were funny, and I feel he expressed his part very well. I recommend that you see this movie before Blue Streak 2 comes out in 2002. Overall, 8 of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

great vehicle for Martin Lawrence

Author: mattkratz (themattk@hotmail.com) from Richardson, TX
30 July 2001

This movie really delivers in the laughter department and succeeds as a vehicle for star Martin Lawrence. In the film, Lawrence plays a thief who steals a diamond and manages to hide it in a building structure before being caught and sent to prison for two years. Upon his release, he finds that the building is now a police station, and he has to impersonate a cop to get in and claim his prize. That is where the real fun stuff begins.

*** out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Basic but funny

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
21 July 2002

Jewel thief Miles Logan and his gang are stealing a large diamond in LA. After the robbery Logan is double crossed by another thief, Deacon, but gets away when the police arrive. He stashed the diamond but is sent to jail. When he is released he returns to where he hid the diamond to find it is a police station. He pretends to be a cop to get access but he is partnered with rookie Carlson and sent out to do jobs. However Deacon is also searching for the diamond and Logan must also take care of him as he tries to find the jewel and solve crimes.

I gotta admit that I hate Lawrence – his comedies are always sitcom level and he is like a sub-par Eddie Murphy. Sadly I still find his clowning funny! I can't explain it. Here the plot is no more than an excuse for many funny scenes with all the action brought together in a `dramatic' climax! However it is funny – even if it's very straightforward. I imagine that if you hat Lawrence then you'll hate this but if you're in the mood for a simple no-brain comedy then you can rely on Lawrence to deliver just that.

He actually quite good here – even if he's the same in every film he does the same shtick. It's also good to see Luke Wilson in it – even if he's got a role that is really beneath his talents, although Greene is good. Really it's Lawrence's show and he does well but if you hate him then you'll hate this no matter what.

Overall if you want a silly no-brain comedy then this is worth a shot, but if Lawrence annoys you then don't even bother.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Martin Lawrence fits his role perfectly--not a bad film, but not necessarily great either. *** out of ****

7/10
Author: Blake French (dlfspartan@aol.com) from Michigan, USA
27 September 1999

BLUE STREAK (1999) ***

Starring: Martin Lawrence, Luke Wilson, Peter Greene, David Chappelle, Graham Beckel Director: Les Mayfield 93 minutes Rated PG-13 (for language and violence)

By Blake French:

Martin Lawrence was born to star in movies like "Blue Streak," a film with much energy and wit, both elements he has coming out of his ears. The film has no major flaw in it. There are no structural problems, dialogue issues, disruptive subplots, characterization uncertainty or tedious nuggets found in it. The filmmakers take advantage of Lawrence being in the movie, and have lots of fun with both him and the plot--things that make this comedy worthy of a minimal recommendation.

The film opens with four jewel thieves, Miles Logan, Deacon, Eddie, and Tulley, constructing a heist in the middle of a dark, cold night attempting to steal a large diamond worth millions. Miles and Eddie sneak in the building, that beholds the valuable rock, from the roof using a steady rope to lure them down through the elevator shaft to their destination: a security safe, located a few floors down. Deacon stays above assuring Eddie and Miles' safely, while Tulley stands watch below in the getaway car.

Then, something goes wrong. While the team of bandits do indeed succeed in breaking through the buildings security and swindle the diamond, when Miles and Eddie reach Deacon on the roof, however, he states that he is too greedy to spilt the value of the gem four ways, thus killing Eddie, and attempting to finish off Miles, who is holding on to the jewel, but before Deacon has the chance, the police arrive, and off goes Tulley in the getaway car, leaving Deacon and Miles no way to escape except to flee to a construction site nearby. There, Deacon manages to avoid being arrested by the cops, but never gets his hand on the gem. However, Miles keenly hides the jewel in the duct of this developing building, and makes note of where he hides it. As he arrested by the police, he vows to return for the secret treasure after his prison sentence is up--whenever that may be.

Two years pass. Miles is happy to once again be a free citizen. He returns to his girlfriend, who, after never visiting him once in the two years he spent in jail, dumps him without a second thought. Miles is not too depressed, however, for he still has seventeen million dollars waiting for his arrival at the old contraction site where he hid it. The problem: that exact constriction site is now finished. It is a brand spanking new police headquarters!

Miles tries desperately to enter the building, only to be rejected by security every time. That is, however, until one of his old buddies manufactures a false police identification for him, thus allowing him to break into the building, and search for his beauty. This is when he becomes involved with a crime bust that leads the police chief to believe that Miles is a professional, experienced cop, who is then partnered up with novice detective Carlson (Luke Wilson) to solve a criminal case. From here on out, the film runs from high energy and action packed excitement to clumsy and funny stunts of Logan trying to undercover the dream he once had located in what is now his office building.

Director Les Mayfield lets the film's writers have a lot of fun with the plot. The setup is at shaky and first a bit ridiculous, but then propels the entire story following it though the problems it faces; when the plot stumbles at times and forgets its purpose, the Logan character still has reason to continue on: the 17 million dollar jewel. The filmmakers do rely a bit much on that concept, but for the most part, the film stays clear from too many troubles.

Just a few days ago, I screened the horror thriller "Stigmata," and ended up not recommending it due to the fact that the film's scenes did not fit together to create a story possible to follow. While "Blue Streak" does fit together evenly and is distributive, if the truth be know, I would choose to see something with a little more depth, like "Stigmata," than something as shallow as "Blue Streak." But I feel that the majority of an audience goes to the movies for entertainment, not for some deep, disturbing message--if you're that kind of a moviegoer, then "Blue Streak" is for you.

Brought to you Columbia Pictures.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history