Funny Valentines (1999) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
30 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
Best made for tv movie ever!!!
winp3128 June 2003
This was the best made for tv movie i have ever seen. It was a good movie about a rich woman from the city who gets mad at her husband and movies to live with her cousin Dearie B for a while. From there they recollect on memories of their childhood, good and bad. Loretta Devine and Alfre Woodard both did an excellent job in this movie.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A warm hearted feel good drama for the ladies
George Parker29 December 2002
"Funny Valentines" tells of a well to do middle aged wife and mother of two daughters who returns to her rural southern roots when she learns her husband is cheating on her only to resurrect old issues while discovering new ones. "FV" is a syrupy feel good chick flick which will likely make the sentimentalists laugh through tears while the realists are gagging and changing channels. A good production with good talent, the film deserves credit for doing what it does well and carving out a particularly delightful character in Dearie B (Devine). (B-)
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Heartfelt, warm, inviting,a must see.
blcklkme29 September 2004
This movie is my favorite of all times. It hit so close to home. I feel this movie is one that almost anyone can relate to in some way in their own life. I was so moved by the seriousness of the characters. The closeness that they shared is practically unheard of now days. I love this movie for the wholesomeness, warmth, and family environment that it intells. I would recommend this movie to everyone I come in contact with. This is a movie that the whole family can enjoy. I almost felt the the characters were right in my back yard at times. The script was so well written, and the characters made it all seem so real life. I absolutely Loved it.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fantastic Movie!!!
chatkinson12 March 2004
When I first read this short story by J. California Cooper I was blown away. When I heard about the movie I got excited and viewed it whenever possible on BET. It should be joined by other stories that Ms. Cooper has penned since her writing career got started by Alice Walker. Maybe one of her novels can be adapted to the screen or produced as a movie for TV. This is a story that needed to be told and shown in schools, churchs, reunions and public gatherings. Now I want to know when will it be availible to purchase? It has been 5 years and there still is no outlet for distribution. As a member of a book discussion group for 8 years, people ask me when will this movie be released? I have no answer and am not in a position to effect the release of this movie. Who can and will? Please hurry...
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best movie featuring Africian-Americans I have ever seen
R.L. Hill7 March 1999
There are several things about this movie I liked and nothing that I didn't like. The way the movie is written, the viewer is left to conclude for themselves how relationships between the characters will play out (much like a John Sayles movie, i.e. Passion Fish, Lone Star.) What I liked most, however, is even though the main cast is entirely Africian-American, the issue of race never enters into the picture. It is a movie any race can watch, enjoy, and identify with, and not feel guilty or blame about who or what they were born. As each character came across the screen, I either knew a person like that or had been in a situation similar to the character myself. We all want a life free of complications, good relationships with our family and friends, to honestly care for someone, and to be honestly cared for. Overall, it is good to watch an intelligent, well acted black movie and not get cussed out and shot at in the process.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wonderful
MajRusKitt1 December 2008
I simply cannot say enough about this movie. I am watching it right now on Starz in Black, and I cannot understand why there is no DVD of this available! With all the trash out on DVD, why is this lyrical,inspiring, fantastically cast and acted film not offered for sale? I myself want 10 copies to give as gifts. The relationship between Dearie B. and Joyce May is so loving and special, and the picture of small town life is movingly drawn, even the locations are so carefully chosen, every aspect of the movie is so exquisitely perfect. The story is unforgettable. The first time I saw it I was thunderstruck that it did not get more press when it was released.This is film-making at its absolute finest.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Heart warming, Well thought out, Eye catching, tear jerking
weemoo14 September 2004
This movie moved me in such a way, because the characters came right off the screen and into my heart and home. Alfre and Loretta were the best actors making the script come to life with heart pounding, tear jerking, togetherness that sisters share. Only one could dream of a sister to sister relationship such as this. As I watched, I could not miss a part fearful of something juicy happening and me not seeing it. I wished that my sister and I had shared a bond like that one. My sister went though some of the things Darie B went through and to this day many other girls are still going through it. The question is how many of our realatives stand up to the person who has inflicted harm on the them? I really liked the way this movie portrayed a closeness and the struggle to get through rough times. I have passed the title of this movie on to my friends and family in the hopes that they will see what sticking together really means. I would love to purchase this tape and view it time after time again so if anyone knows where I can get it pleas email me.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Timeless classic like Peanut Butter and Jelly
sweetcherry428224 June 2004
I truly love this movie for all the values it processes. It shows the power of personal growth, family values and unconditional love. I love all the characters because they remind me of my family. A southern family with strong personalities.tied to the simple pleasures of life. I love the way Dearie B captures every season with the forgotten art of canning vegetable and fruits. These are traditions lost from our old generations and they are falling by the wayside. I love the change Joyce makes in the movie, she learns valuable lessons. I've been patiently waiting on this movie to be available on VHS or DVD because this is something that everyone needs to see.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I thought this movie was amazing
delace-215 September 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Of course with this cast they couldn't go wrong. While some may find it sappy, I think its one of those films you watch when you want to feel better.

Alfre Woodard and Loretta Devine two of the best African American actresses today.

For the commenter here who mentioned race not being mentioned...why would the filmmakers mention race? ...what would be the point? It would be like mentioning that Oprah Winfrey is African American.

I especially liked the scene when Dearie B confronts Troy, although I think she should have had more support from the onlookers.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My Special Valentines!
JLRMovieReviews10 January 2017
Alfre Woodard and Loretta Divine are excellent in "Funny Valentines," in which Alfre comes back to her small town home and reconnects with her cousin, with whom she shared her childhood. We see flashbacks of a disturbing trauma that still has present-day consequences. The scenes with Alfre and Loretta are electric, with Loretta being especially sweet and vulnerable. But we feel such strength from their love for each other. We care so much for Loretta, with her mother being sick in the hospital and yet also being hard to manage. I can't believe this isn't out on DVD! This is one the best TV movies I've seen! It makes you feel so good. You feel like these people are your family, your friends. Watch "Funny Valentines" for a story rich in love and full of hope with the under-appreciated Loretta Devine and Alfre Woodard.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Wonderful acting!
savinacavallo1 April 2013
I saw this movie yesterday on TV as a repeat. I hadn't heard of it before and found it as I was scrolling though the channels. I just loved it. Exquisite acting on both Alfre and Ms. Divine. The story is also very heart-warming and I could only identify with it as I too am a middle-aged woman and loving the thought of possibly moving to the country-side, a cottage. The story is convincing. I found myself teary-eyed at more than one instant and also laughing and loving the characters because of their love for each other. More movies like this need to be produced. I would watch again if they repeated it. I recommend this movie 100%!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Funny Valentines
j_arnita28 February 2009
All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great.

All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great. All I want to do is buy the movie, because it great.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wonderful movie!!!!
meandDAS3 September 2008
This was one of the best movies ever. I can't find it on DVD otherwise I would watch it every day. I laughed, cried, yelled, and through blows. This movie has real life situations that happen everyday, especially among African Americans. If anyone knows where I can get this movie please contact me via email at meandDAS@hotmail.com. The only movie that I can compare this movie with is the color Purple, and that's my favorite movie in the world. If I was able to get that on DVD I know this one should be on DVD as well.

Biggest Fan,

Andrea Davis
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Funny Valentines
redboneclem7 July 2007
I really loved this movie and I can't believe that this is not anywhere on DVD as are so many other TV movies.... I would love to have this movie on DVD and if someone is out there with a copy, I'd be so grateful to have a copy also. Come on people, let's make this happen! The people in this movie were so wonderful. I loved them all. It kind of took me back a moment because some things I could relate to and it was kind of sad but again, I enjoyed the movie so much that I really wish they'd play it more and it would be wonderful to have in my DVD collection. My daughters and I watched this movie and it also reminded me of the times when my daughters and I took road trips to the country.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
love it!
claire18 July 2006
I was flicking through the channels one day and caught this film on t.v a few years back. i have always remembered having watched this particular film as it really touched me. It was very emotional and had issues which really leave you to think. It moved me so much so that i have really tried to look absolutely everywhere in order to buy it. but as it is a movie made for t.v i have not been able to purchase it. does anyone have any ideas as to how i might be able to get hold of a copy??! i would greatly appreciate any help in finding out as this really is a movie i want to have in my collection. This film definitely reminds me of the film 'societies child' which again has issues about differences between people in society and how others react to them. x
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I'm not sure if this is the right movie.....
TheRiverMidnight997 June 2006
is this the movie where a little girl got raped by her cousin? i cant remember...i saw this movie so long ago that i'm not sure if this is it or not. its about this African American girl who's either 8 years old or 10 years old and she was having a flashback of her cousin raping her and when she ran into him in the future, he turned out to be a total jerk...she argued with him outside of a bar and he nearly hit her or something. I'm PRETTY sure that the name of her character looked VERY familiar but I'm not 100% sure just yet. if anyone has information about this movie, e-mail me. TheRiverMidnight99@yahoo.com I just want to make sure its the right movie before i got out and buy it or something
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Greatest TV movie ever!
whisper95098 April 2006
This movie is by far one of the greatest movies ever. Not only was the characters in rare excellent performance, but the plot was excellent as well.

When a character can make you feel the emotions that they are trying to portray, then you know that you have a great movie. And that is exactly what this movie did. You laugh, you cry and you even get mad. Alfre Woodward is a great actress and held her own in this movie. But I think that Ms. Devine stole the show. Lorretta Devine is a very versatile actress and she proved just that in this movie.

This is definitely a much see film. I would recommend this to everyone who has a heart and can let a movie take you away.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Feast
arslupae3 June 2003
This movie is an incredible journey. The characters, especially Dearie B, are well-drawn, and so real. I have always admired Alfre Woodward, but this role brought a new dimension to my appreciation of her work. I was drawn in to the slow and romantic mood of this small town and this deeply tragic yet triumphant tale of growing up, leaving and not leaving home, and coming home again. It is lovely, lyrical and so resonant of the bittersweet taste of life.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent Movie
ladydiva4u215 January 2003
I think Funny Valentines is an excellent movie. I've seen this movie several times and consider this movie as one of my favorites. It is more of a family movie. This movie is not a typical movie with nudity, violence and foul language. I enjoy watching this movie very much.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
pfmiller0078 November 2002
I saw this movie for the first time while on vacation in Jamaica of all places. It is a movie to make you laugh, make you cry, make you angry, and is so versatile that you can't help but feel a kindred spirit to at least one of characters and a trail he/she goes through. I would love to purchase this movie, so if anyone can tell me where, please email me.

Thank you.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the most touching, deep meaningful movies ever
ficomirka16 March 2001
This movie touched my heart showing you that true friendship never ever dies. True friendship lasts forever, and through 'thick and thin' you always standby your friend no matter what gets in the way.

The most powerful performance by Loretta Devine bought me to tears on several occasions. Her character 'Dearie B' such a loving and caring one that you could almost 'feel' the love between herself and 'Joyce Mae'.

This movie everyone should watch for the message that it sends of friendship and love, and for the powerful acting by Loretta Devine, Alfre Woodard and the rest of the wonderful very believable cast.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Poignant, enlightening, joyous, couldnt take my eyes away
ficomirka4 March 2001
I had the pleasure of seeing this most incredible movie that I have seen, just recently - two years after it was made! The actors in this movie, without pinpointing, pulled this movie together under the wilful eye of a fabulous director. I was riveted to the screen and under no circumstances let my eyes move away.

Such ashame, alas, I cannot find this movie anywhere in northamerica.

Its a great movie, that is so enlightening!

I absolutely love it!

Roger Roberts
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent - It has been a long time since I have seen a movie that captured so many of your emotions. It made you laugh, cry, and think about what is really important in life.
kymmitchell26 September 2000
Alfre Woodard is a genius. I was pleased to see her credited as Executive Producer. I hope she is working on more projects, like Funny Valentines. Little Joyce was adorable, and no one can play a role like Loretta Devine.

Great writing and great cast!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This was a charming, heart-warming film. A must see.
xxmuthaxx17 February 2000
This was a charming, heart-warming film. A must see. My 16 year old daughter loved it too. Great story, great acting! My only disappointment (not a big one tho) was the ending. But it's not hard to figure out what happens. Alfre Woodard and Loretta Devine are the greatest. Thanks for reading.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Ten Toes Up!
Corneila7 March 1999
This movie is a must see! Ms. Dearie B. won my heart from the very start. I laughed, then I cried and then I laughed again and again! Do yourself a favor: escape with this movie and take a friend! The Best Ever!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews