American Playhouse (TV Series 1981– ) Poster

(1981– )

Episode List



1 Feb. 1989
A Raisin in the Sun
A substantial insurance payment could mean either financial salvation or personal ruin for a poor black family.
8 Feb. 1989
Ask Me Again
The heroine is a rebellious only child of a stuffy Upper East side family who struggle s to assert her independence. She (and her wildly curly hair) bravely fights her overbearing mother's efforts to tame her, and proudly works in a small esoteric publishing house and has a leftist neighbor/ boyfriend and a wacky best friend. She resists her mother's efforts to set her up with a suitable young man, but eventually finds that she was wrong about him.
15 Feb. 1989
A Montana teenager struggles to keep her family's farm together.
12 Apr. 1989
Life Under Water
Young man, who can't get along with the rest of the world, especially his mother, decides to try to take his life in his own hands.
3 May 1989
The Meeting
Fictional meeting between Dr. Martin Luther King and Malcolm X in Harlem in the early '60's.
31 May 1989
Land of Little Rain
In 1900, if you wanted to be a writer in California, you had better be a man. Mary Austin sought to prove herself against incredible odds as a poet, novelist, and playwright, teaching feminist ideals and becoming one of the foremost writers to document the complex culture and heritage of the American Southwest.

« 1988 |  1989  1990  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page