American Playhouse (TV Series 1981– ) Poster

(1981– )

Episode List



18 Jan. 1983
The Skin of Our Teeth
Production of Thornton Wilder's Pulitzer-winning play about mankind's triumph over chaos, which wildly altered dramatic conventions in freely shifting between modern-day New Jersey and the ice age - the Antrobus family pets being dinosaurs; and having characters speaking directly to the audience and criticizing the way their own dialogue was written.
25 Jan. 1983
Miss Lonelyhearts
A young Depression-era reporter is assigned to write his newspaper's advice column on the insistence of his mocking editor. Unhappy in the demeaning assignment, he begins to take an interest in one of the readers sending letters.
1 Feb. 1983
Family Business
Isaiah Stern is a wealthy, but dying, toy manufacturer. Once more Stern has gathered together his grown sons to once more revise his will. Three of the four boys are used to these idiosyncratic changes, and have come to accept them: the fourth son , a married psychologist, is heavily in debt and doesn't like his thin share of the pie, which sparks a confrontation. The remaining sons, are a bachelor who runs the family store, an indecisive sort who still lives at home, and daddy's favorite, a closet homosexual.
22 Mar. 1983
For Us the Living: The Medgar Evers Story
Medgar Evers and his fight for Civil Rights in his hometown of Mississippi.
26 Apr. 1983
Former aviatrix Emily Stilson suffers a stroke and is plunged into a world of disorientation and grief. Memories flood in between painful attempts to re-learn the basic functions of everyday life.
3 May 1983
The Rothko Conspiracy
A drama based on the fight over the estate of artist Mark Rothko, who killed himself in 1970.
1 Mar. 1983
The Great Whodunit
The viewer is led through crime mysteries by the stars and encouraged to outwit them. The viewer decides at home....Whodunit!

« 1982 |  1983  1984  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page