American Playhouse (TV Series 1981– ) Poster

(1981– )

Episode List


Season 5

20 Jan. 1986
The Rise and Rise of Daniel Rocket
A young boy is ridiculed by his school mates for his eccentric behavior and assertions that he can fly. Little do they know..... All parts are performed by adults in a stage-play type setting.
27 Jan. 1986
The Roommate
Set in 1952, this tells of two young men who are polar opposites being assigned to the same dorm room at Northwestern University.
10 Feb. 1986
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Part I
Huckleberry Finn, a rambuctious boy adventurer chafing under the bonds of civilization, escapes his humdrum world and his selfish, plotting father by sailing a raft down the Mississippi River. In HD.
14 Apr. 1986
The House of Ramon Iglesia
Ramón Iglesias has plans to retire from his janitorial job, sell his house in a Long Island suburb and return to Puerto Rico with his wife and three sons. Unfortunately, he does not hold the deed to his house which was purchased through a verbal agreement, harping back to a different cultural tradition involving codes of honor and community. Javier, his oldest son, a college graduate who refuses to return to Puerto Rico, chastises him for being so foolish in his business dealings. Ramón seems stuck in a homeowner's limbo until Javier, who is constantly clashing with ...
21 Apr. 1986
A Flash of Green
Local reporter gets involved with corrupt county commissioner.
28 Apr. 1986
5 May 1986
Rocket to the Moon
In 1938 New York, a dentist finds his business failing and his marriage on the rocks. Turning 40, he is a hen-pecked husband with little drive left for success. That is, until he starts getting involved with his lively assistant, a free spirit with a penchant for tall tales and a hidden loneliness. Receiving encouragement from his own father-in-law, the two find comfort in each other's attention.
16 Jun. 1986
Sunday in the Park with George
Video production of the Pulitzer-prize winning musical stage production. In the first act, "George", a fictionalized Georges Seurat paints his lover, Dot, and "A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of Le Grande Jatte." Characters who become figures and vice versa walk through the story. In Act 2, George's descendant, a sculptor, comes to terms with his grandmother, Life, and Art.

« Season 4 |  Season 5  Season 6  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page