Freeway II: Confessions of a Trickbaby
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 66 reviews in total 

19 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

exploitation at its finest

10/10
Author: stefanlockdown from United States
2 June 2005

to give you an idea of exactly how over the top this movie is heres some of the key elements present:

bulimia/vomiting lesbianism amputees necrophilia serial murder transvestitism child abuse/torture cannibalism prostitution drugs (crack, huffing paint, drinking in the shower)

if you like that sort of thing i can practically guarantee this will become one of your favorite movies ever. Natasha lyonne gives easily her best, funniest performance and any fan of her work should stop at nothing to seek this out (although its not easy). same for Vincent gallo. Matthew brite is a sick genius and this is the most perverse, depraved, funny and entertaining film in his catalog.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant! A sick, sexy ride that I want to go back on!

10/10
Author: Mandrake Peterson from Beverly Hills, CA
18 April 2000

Please, don't read the reviews for "Freeway 2" that bash it because they weren't able to enjoy the mad celebration -- they just need to loosen their belts and get a little crazy. "Freeway 2", a modern retelling of Hanzel and Gretal, is a hilarious, shocking, camp extravaganza. Girls with eating disorders. Huffing binges. Lesbian sex. Exciting violence. Everything you could want in a motion picture -- Matthew Brite, in my opinion, has created a superior film to his first "Freeway" picture. And the superb Vincent Gallo's performance as Sister Gomez is one of the most haunting villains I have ever witnessed. Hannibal who?

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Couldn't stop watching!!

7/10
Author: xxmoonxx
21 May 2002

This movie was soo twisted I couldn't help myself...I couldn't stop watching...I hate the friggin title since it has NOTHING to do with the movie, but I've never seen anything like it...I loved the Hanzel and Gretel twist...Natasha Lyonne has become one of my fav actresses...A must see!!!...I cannot believe I completely lived my life for three years without knowing this movie even existed...

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Another twisted Matthew Bright movie!

Author: Infofreak from Perth, Australia
24 December 2001

'Freeway II' is just slightly disappointing compared to the original 'Freeway', but once again shows that writer/director Matthew Bright has ideas and attitude to spare. The first movie retold Little Red Riding Hood, this one takes on Hansel and Gretel. Natasha Lyonne is no Reese Witherspoon, but her spunky role here as White Girl, and her memorable turn in the forgotten gem 'Slums Of Beverly Hills' proves that she is more talented than lame-brained crud like the 'American Pie' series and 'Detroit Rock City'. Maria Celedonio had up until this point passed me by apart from a small role in Schrader's 'Touch', but she is sensational here as the psychotic necrophile Cyclona. Vincent Gallo ('Buffalo 66', 'The Funeral', 'Palookaville') has never been less than mesmerizing on screen, even in his dialogue-less blink-and-you'll-miss-it cameos in 'Goodfellas' and 'Basquiat', but portraying the utterly freaky Sister Gomez is one of his most bizarre moves to date! Gallo seems set on carrying on the scene stealing nut job reputation of the late legendary Timothy Carey. More power to him! Gallo even brings along his 'Truth Or Consequences NM' co-star Max Perlich ('Drugstore Cowboy', 'Georgia', 'Gummo') as Flacco, a mumbling hunchback. Perlich doesn't completely surpass his similarly gonzo bit part in Johnny Depp's 'The Brave', but it's great to see him try! 'Freeway II' will appeal to fans of Gregg Araki, John Waters and Bruce McDonald more than Michael Bay lovers that's for sure! A must see for trash cinema lovers.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Different but just as good as Freeway

10/10
Author: Jason from NYC, NY
11 September 2000

Out from under the watchful eye of Freeway producer Oliver Stone, Matthew Bright lets his id run wild and the results are fascinating. Less polished but far darker than the original, this film is hilarious, touching and deeply disturbing all at once. Natasha Lyonne gives her best performance ever and Vincent Gallo is wonderfully insane as the wicked witch. Bright weaves his fetishes into the plot more skillfully and enjoyably than John Waters ever did. I can't wait for his next one, reported to be a re-telling of "Three Little Pigs"!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical! Maria Celedonia is soooo hot!

10/10
Author: (jimmyjoe@i-2000.com) from New York, USA
25 September 2000

Great escapist movie. Forget realism. The Hansel 'n' Gretel references, Cyclona's assertion that all men are rapists, the violence, it was just a fun movie. As you read this, congress is actually trying to ban movies like this. Get out and see movies like this while you still can!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A freaky fairy tale for fans of weird films.

7/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
12 May 2007

Matthew Bright's unique retelling of the Brothers Grimm's Hansel and Gretel is a twisted, violent, shocking and entertaining film which takes the 'road movie' concept and injects it with class-A hallucinogenics. The result is a lurid nightmare tale of prostitutes, serial killers, cannibalism and paedophilia.

Natasha Lyonne shows she is capable of far more than just teen comedies by starring as White Girl, a bulimic teenager who poses as a whore in order to savagely attack and rob her 'tricks'. Sent to prison for 25 years, she befriends Cyclona (María Celedonio), a psychologically fragile murderous chronic-masturbator(!) and together they escape and head for Tijuana, Mexico, where Cyclona hopes they can find sanctuary with her childhood protector, Sister Gomez (Vincent Gallo).

This freakish fairy tale is certainly not for mainstream audiences, but those who dig more unusual fare should certainly get a kick from the non-stop weirdness on display. With Bright's array of 'colourful' characters and a story that unfolds in an unpredictable fashion, the film certainly never bores.

Much fun can be had spotting the parallels between this film and its source material, Hansel and Gretel. The film uses the theme of food prevalent in the Grimm's classic story, and features an interesting take on the 'trail of breadcrumbs' and a really nasty 'witch'.

A heady concoction of exploitation, art-house, action and horror, Confessions of a Trickbaby is recommended to fans of cinema's wild side, and particularly to those who enjoyed Natural Born Killers, with which it shares a similar vibe.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

An absolutely astonishing piece of gleefully demented & degenerate filth

9/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
14 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Any film which toplines a teenage bulimic drug addict prostitute criminal sociopath who when she isn't indulging in scarf'n'barf eating binges habitually robs her johns so she can eke out a sordidly meager existence as its anti-heroine is unarguably pushing the limits of good taste and restraint to the breaking point. Well, this shockingly base and savage exploitation stunner not only graphically depicts various acts of all-out depravity in unsparingly explicit detail, but also wallows in a festering sinkhole of unremittingly foul no-holds-barred cinematic scuzziness with a certain lip-smacking fiendish glee. When underage hooker White Girl (the luscious Natasha Lyonne) meets deranged lesbian sexual psychopath serial killer Cyclona (galvanizing spitfire Maria Celedonio) in a brutal juvenile detention center, it's clear right from the start that they are a match made in bad girl hell. Pretty soon the dangerously nutso twosome escape and go on the lam, embarking on a mondo berserko crime spree as they travel cross country to Tijuana, Mexico, where they believe both sanctuary and possible redemption awaits them in the form of demented pedophile cannibal transvestite kiddie-porn making nun (!) Sister Gomez (an amazingly wacked portrayal by "Buffalo '66" auteur Vincent Gallo).

Powered along by a pair of laudably fearless, anything-goes, let-it-all-hang-out dynamic and uninhibited performances by Lyonne and Celedonio, loaded to the grimy gills with nonstop seedy thrills, strikingly ferocious violence, and carnal perversions of every conceivable stripe, and rounding things off with a gruesomely over-the-top nasty conclusion that's sure to knock the air out of your lungs, this thoroughly warped and electrifying crime/chase/chicks-in-chains sleaze film take on the classic Grimm Brothers fairytale "Hansel and Gretel" will either delight you with its impressively shameless and aggressive assault-on-your-senses agenda or offend you to the ninth degree for the very same reason. Before you ask precisely which side of the fence I'm on with this particular flick, let me state for the record that any picture which features nifty cameos by John Landis as a hard-nosed judge, David Alan Grier as a scummy sex-crazed shyster lawyer, and "Drugstore Cowboy" 's Max Perlich as a slacker drunk, numerous acts of vicious murder, masturbation, full-frontal shower room nudity, projectile puking by the literal gallon, necrophilia, spray paint-huffing, and a funky, rollicking trashy score that's in equal parts digging rap and ripping surf-rock will always get my vote.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

One of My Favorite Movies of All Time!!

Author: femmecritique from New York
8 November 2004

Freeway and Freeway 2 are my all-time favorite movies!! I'll admit Freeway was more mainstream with very little sex and violence, and Reese Witherspoon is stunning and superb as Vanessa, but Freeway 2 breaks ALL the rules!! I've watched it several times and have it on VHS. This movie's got it all: girls in prison, bad girls gone badder,lesbianism, miscegeny, menstruation, childhood sexual abuse, bulimia, female serial killers, necrophilia, incest, hypocrisy in religion, radical feminism, chicks who pose as hookers to beat up and rob male tricks, manifestations of sexism and racism (in a very satirical way). The best part is that these things are all represented in an in-your-face matter-of-fact way. Its no sappy, emo-drama, Lifetime "channel for women" type of deal. This movie ROCKS! O, and there is some male frontal nudity at the end. I wonder, is that REALLY Vincent Gallo in that scene or just a prop??

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Natasha Lyonne hits the Freeway

Author: Dr. Gore (drgore@hotmail.com) from Los Angeles, California
22 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

I saw both "Freeway" flicks back to back. I was enjoying the first "Freeway" while I was watching it. When it ended though, I felt let down. I kept expecting a payoff scene to appear but it never did. I thought "Freeway" was going to be a B-movie extravaganza with Reese Witherspoon doing her thing as a country girl hooker. Nope. It turns out that the first "Freeway" is just an acting showcase for Witherspoon. I was disappointed. "Freeway II" takes the reins and gallops into B-movie sleaze land. I enjoyed this trip down the freeway a lot more.

"Freeway II" is a sequel in name only. It has nothing to do with the first one except for a girl going on the run again. This time it's Natasha Lyonne who hits the road after busting out of jail. She hooks up with a nutty serial killer and together they merge onto the freeway to B-movie land. Nuns, guns, hookers and killers mix in this sleaze jambalaya. It's tasty.

Natasha Lyonne totally gets it. She plays a hooker named White Girl. Her and her psycho friend, (Maria Celedonio), kill and maim for fun and profit. There is a great scene where the two of them want to relieve the pressures of mass murder and decide to jump into bed for some female fun. Thank the Lord, a hooker who finally has sex. Eureka. Lyonne has the foul mouth hooker act down and is not afraid to get dirty. She made the movie for me. Celedonio was good too and gets topless on many occasions.

The first "Freeway" may have been technically the better movie but "Freeway II" picks up the sleaze pace dropped by the first one. If you lean more towards B-insanity like I do, check this one out.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history