IMDb > Scary Movie (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Scary Movie
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Scary Movie More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 90: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 895 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Avoid this disaster like the plague!

Author: Chris Gavez (chrisgavez@home.com) from Toronto Canada
3 November 2001

This afternoon, I finally watched this movie through from beginning to end. You know what...I did not laugh once. This movie is just ridiculous. How in the world can such a stupid movie, make so much money at the box office? Are we all without minds in this world?

This movie is a complete ripoff of Scream (which it parodies), and all other of the newer 90's style horror movies. Hollywood must really be hurting for ideas if a movie this terrible could actually be made.

If you want to laugh, watch one of Mel Brooks' parodies, or the Monty Python films, or even The Pink Panther movies. These are true comedies. This is just a sick and twisted, incoherent movie with absolutely nothing funny in it.

Now excuse me while I go and dust off my copy of Beverly Hills Cop, and watch a real entertaining, funny movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Too Darn Funny

10/10
Author: esoteric-4 from NJ, USA
17 July 2000

OK people. Enough is enough. I'm standing up for this movie. I had walked into the theater not knowing what to expect. After hearing about the nudity, I was definitely intrigued. Yes, this movie has a TON of gross out jokes that make Something About Mary seem like Sesame Street. The gross out jokes will no doubt make many people uncomfortable. In retrospect, this movie should have probably been NC-17, but it was really pretty harmless. (the girl-in-the-movie-theater-talking-on-the-phone bit should have been done a long time ago) The stereotyping is pretty bad, but again, harmless. I was more or less shocked at the material, rather than offended. There could have been less Scream spoofs and more "old-school" horror jokes, but I wouldn't trade the Doofy material for anything. Great impersonation! Cheri Oteri was a wonderful presence, in a great Blair Witch knockoff. The ghostface killer does a nifty little Friday the 13th music impression. And, there is a very brief Halloween spoof with Cindy in the classroom. The sex jokes were way over-the-top but pretty darn clever. After seeing Me, Myself, and Irene (which was god-awful, especially if you're used to seeing Jim Carrey doing good movies) I was thrilled to leave Scary Movie thoroughly pleased. Regardless of the tagline, everyone should expect a sequel. (the movie is grossing a ton of money) I'm already buying my popcorn...

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Ohhh...the boredom..

1/10
Author: JMFIS from Kentucky
2 August 2001

The only laugh I had in renting this movie was in reading on the box that someone considered it "razor-sharp" satire and an "outrageously funny parody".

The box was hilarious!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Sick and horribly dumb

1/10
Author: (jmgirlie@yahoo.com) from Michigan
24 June 2001

My parents took me and my siblings to see it. We are all teens, and the movie looked really funny on t.v., so they decided it would be cool to go see it. What a mistake. The movie was full of profanities and horrible sick sex humor. It was full of crude sex jokes and acts and I was disgusted. I was embarrassed for my parents to see that, let alone myself. The only funny parts were the parts on the commercials and t.v. reviews of it. This movie was a waste of money, and I told all of my friends not to go see it. If you like really sick and perverted movies, than this movie is for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

What a scream!

10/10
Author: MBDougal from United Kingdom
15 March 2008

What to say! I kept hearing about this film during my first few years at secondary school, as Scary Movie 3 had just come out. So I decided to watch it and I'm glad I did! What an achievement,comedy everywhere you look, TASTEFUL gore (not simply blood everywhere) and a selection of decent actors. Anna Faris will most likely have a great movie career, the Wayans brothers were a nice touch, as was Shannon Elizabeth, Lochlyn Munro and another intriguing character, Regina Hall. All I can say is see this film, have some laughs and buy the sequels as soon as possible, as they are equally fantastic in all aspects of comedy and quite possibly, horror!

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Puerile Amercian Humour

7/10
Author: Alex Brown (alex_brown@blueyonder.co.uk) from Woking, England
12 September 2000

Not really knowing what to expect when I went to saw this, other than a parody of the recent crop of teen horror films started by Wes Craven's excellent Scream, this was utterly puerile and silly Amercian parody humour.

It was well done though, unlike the Leslie Nielsen bores that we have seen in recent years. Going by the cast list and the credits - it was definitely kept in the family though!

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Scared silly

Author: george.schmidt (gpschmidt67@gmail.com) from fairview, nj
28 April 2004

SCARY MOVIE (**1/2) Jon Abrahams, Carmen Electra, Shannon Elizabeth, Anna Faris, Kurt Fuller, Regina Hall, Lochlyn Munro, Cheri Oteri, Dave Sheridan, Marlon Wayans, Shawn Wayans, Kelly Coffield, David L. Lander.

`Airplane!' meets `Scream' could've been the pitch made by director Keenan Ivory Wayans and his talented sibling screenwriters Marlon & Shawn to their studio, Dimension, in this riotously funny, hit and miss, parody of the horror genre.

Taking merciless jibes at the slasher films including `I Know What You Did Last Summer' among others, the satire focuses on B.A. Corpse High School and the costumed serial killer who begins a string of nasty killings starting with bodacious Electra (aping Drew Barrymore's signature opening to the first `Scream') whose silicone implants can't save her attacker nor from getting run over by her parents (oblivious to their daughter's plight by engaging in oral sex, the first of many sexual jokes throughout). Of course the media jumps on to glamourize the murders with the help of newshound Gail Hailstrom (`SNL's Oteri, spoofing Courteney Cox's rabid media blitzer) aimlessly trying to get a scoop. And then there are the generic teens-victims-to-be including Faris as the Neve Campbell/Jennifer Love Hewitt character, Cindy.

Though not as hilarious as the granddaddy of all spoofs `Airplane!', `Scary Movie' (incidentally this was the original title of the first `Scream'), does attempt to get as many laughs for its buck in taking shots at the mentally ill, smoking dope, homosexuals, genitalia, and for me the biggest laugh was the predominately white film audience silencing an obnoxiously loud black character through all types of violence. Gross jokes, sex jokes, and any thing that will stick to the wall jokes get their dues paid here and then some.

The Wayans brothers - Shawn as Ray, a football player with sexuality issues and Marlon as Shorty, the fun-loving pot head who hooks up the killer with some hilarious moments of getting baked - co-scripted this lampoon (and get onscreen credit with co-writers Buddy Johnson, Phil Beauman, Jason Friedberg & Aaaron Seltzer) and provide most of the laughs often at their own expense and with a helping hand from elder brother Keenan (who has a cameo in a trailer for `Amistad 2'), clearly know how to make one laugh and even if their tv series for 5 seasons was axed (as it is fondly recalled in the film's climax), be certain that an inevitable sequel will unearth itself in all its grotesque giddiness ensuing.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

John Waters did it better 25 years ago.

2/10
Author: FleshAndTheFiends from United States
21 February 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Crude, rude and annoying parody of 'Scream' (parts 1 and 2) and 'I Know What You Did Last Summer', follows their plots pretty closely, but also throws in gags poking fun at The Sixth Sense, The Blair Witch Project Project, The Matrix and Amistad (?), plus some American PIE. Anna Faris, the only thing to shine in this cesspool, has the Neve Campbell virginal heroine role. She's perfect as the aloof Cindy Camp-bell, whose friends are stalked by a mysterious ghost-faced killer(s) who likes to smoke pot and look at porn mags. Supporting characters include Deputy Doofy, a retarded deputy sheriff who has sex with his vacuum cleaner and SNL star Cheri Oteri as reporter Gail Hailstorm, who "swallows." Shannon Elizabeth becomes Miss Teen Fellatio and Shawn Wayans gets a penis stuck through his head.

For some reason, it took six writers (including 3 Wayans brothers) to come up with juvenile bad-taste gags involving farts, semen, snot, drool, silicone implants, penis size, pubic hair, vomit, panty-sniffing dyke gym coaches with testicles and other yummy stuff. Gays, retards, suicide cases and fat chicks are other points of comedy. John Waters was targeting the same taboo subjects for parody in the 1970s, but he managed to make it all funny. The novelty shock value is now gone and the gags are just tiresome and disgusting. There's a whole lot going on in 'Scary Movie,' but the obnoxious cast overacts and very little of this is actually funny. A surprise box-office hit, it was followed by two equally pitiful sequels and some direct-to-video copies.

Was the above review useful to you?

Scary Movie, the first and best horror spoof movie in the franchise which has slowly died a death.

8/10
Author: ATEreviews from United Kingdom
12 September 2016

It all started so strongly, back in 2000, a comedy film which shone light on the very popular horror film 'Scream' was released and it became an instant hit, a cult classic in fact. The latest movies are unrecognisable when compared to the original, so re-watching it last week really brought back some memories from my teenage years. The movie is downright stupid and it knows it. Following the scream storyline very closely and re-enacting the scenes with a slapstick comedy twist was original and brilliant at the time. It is so absurd and silly but it completely works.

It is written by and stars the Wayans Brothers so that should give you a good idea as what to expect from the film. The cast is well complied, perfect for a teen horror/slasher movie so when put into a spoof spin off film; they really fit the part and make it all the funnier.

You honestly have to take this movie for what it is, It really won't be to everybody's taste and there will be many, many people who find it crude, distasteful, offensive or simply not to their humour all together. For me though it is brilliant, the strongest Scary Movie out of them all, it didn't complicate things and stuck to mocking 1 movie (with a couple of others thrown in here and there), something which changes drastically over the later films.

It's a popcorn flick, have a few beers, sit back and enjoy it for 90 minutes. It still holds up after all these years.

8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Scary How Funny It Is.

8/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
29 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Scary Movie (2000): Dir: Keenan Ivory Wayans / Cast: Anna Faris, Jon Abrahams, Shannon Elizabeth, Shawn Wayans, Kurt Fuller: Hilariously crude comedy that sets out to spoof the slasher film sub genre particularly Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer. The title is a mockery suggesting the extreme vulgarity within the humour with jokes like the ear-tickling penis scene or the testicles that hang just below the skirt of an unshaven gym teacher. Director Keenan Ivory Wayans proves that he knows the genre and is backed with a terrific resembling production. Anna Faris plays the heroine who receives ominous phone calls. Jon Abrahams plays her moron boyfriend accused of murder. Shannon Elizabeth plays pageant winner in a role highlighted by Sarah Michelle Gellar in I Know What You Did Last Summer. She is even named Buffy like the famed character whom Gellar portrayed in a popular TV show. Carmen Electra exploits every flaw made by horror heroines in the film's hilarious opening scene. Shawn Wayans earns a few laughs as a flamboyant homosexual character who seems to say the wrong things. Kurt Fuller is hilarious as a police captain low on empathy and high on showing pictures unrelated to the case. The ending is a tremendous Scream reference only it goes the extra mile that has Faris screaming at the heavens. Vulgar but very clever and…scary. Score: 8 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 90: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history