IMDb > Welcome to Hollywood (1998) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Welcome to Hollywood
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Welcome to Hollywood More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant filmmaking, an absolute great rental

10/10
Author: amcdonald-2 from Los Angeles
9 November 2000

A fantastic satire in the vein of Spinal Tap, only more clever. A wonderful supporting cast, great locations and an air of spontaneity all add to the wonderful acting jobs turned in by Tony Markes, and in his own Woody Allen-esque way, Adam Rifkin. This film is a "10".

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

funny funny funny

Author: krazykat29 from United States
3 August 2004

This movie gets funnier the more you watch it - like Spinal Tap. I thought it nailed reality, as well as nailed the comic timing of most scenes. The Baywatch stuff is amazing. Well done, Tony! You deserve a real career (as a writer, director, producer, whatever).

The wax museum was also another priceless moment.

Here is an under rated movie that I think should be passed out at the border of California to every moving truck going west.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fu*#in' hilarious

9/10
Author: Rio Nugara (rionugara@telstra.com) from Australia
30 March 2003

I can tell you right now that was a very funny film. It was funny and for anyone thats in the industry, you know how accurate it was. Just the casting sessions and the way they conduct them was so real. Exaggerated a little but real. When he went for that baywatch job as the by-stander and met everyone I just felt for the guy so much. When he was in the make-up chair and he met Carmen Electra I just couldn't watch and that fu*#in smile he had the whole way through the film just killed me. The look on his face every time he was around someone important to him was gold! "Two thumbs up!"

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

interesting and captivating

7/10
Author: Nate (Nathan_Fisher) from PA
6 August 2001

I saw this movie at 1:30 AM one night, and couldn't turn it off. I'm a bit of an obscure movie buff, and I turned this on just as it started - so I didn't know the premise. Well, within a few minutes, I was dying to see how it turned out. Because I had NO clue what was going on, I really thought this was a documentary about the now-known fake Nick Decker. I really felt bad for this guy, because he was a putrid, horrible actor. However, the actor playing Nick was convincing me that this guy was a really bad actor, while when he was not in auditions was what I consider a GREAT performance. He really made me think this guy was real, his struggles were genuine, and his angers real. He seemed like a young, naive, honest guy from the midwest trying to make it in a killer type of acting atmosphere. The best scene in the movie is when Angie finds out he's been lying to her.

What had captured my attention was when I heard the name Adam Rifkin...who I had heard of, but wasn't quite familiar with. Well, I think he did a terrific job with this movie! Sometimes the "normal" way of doing things gets old, and this was very refreshing. It also goes to show how hard it is to get work in Hollywood.

What the big surprise of this movie was lies with that of the red-headed vixen Angie Everheart. I REALLY THOUGHT THIS HAD happened, with the fake press clips, newspapers clips, etc. She was fantastic!!! Look at her career before this movie, and you will see like 6 jobs in 5 years in movies. Since this movie, she's had like 15 jobs in 3 years! Angie has really matured as an actress...I also like how the "angie" character was sincere and genuine, it really made me like the personality of her and want to know more about her....overall, very entertaining..surprisingly good performances when you find out afterwards it's fake (but based on someone else's story)

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Dead-on Satire of Hollywood

Author: critic_at_large from Hollywood
2 September 2002

Full Frontal - which Steven Soderbergh describes as a "satire" of

Hollywood - does a fine job of sampling the seedy, sexual, shallow and

sycophant side of the entertainment business. But the earlier Welcome to

Hollywood does an even better job skewering a different side of

Hollywood. Spend a few days following an actor/waiter/bartender around

town on the circuit of headshots, casting director workshops, agent

searches, auditions, and bit parts, and you will more deeply appreciate the

bitter sarcasm of this film. Tony Markes - a former casting director - nails the part of everyman Nick Decker - a talentless wannabe trying not to

drown in a sea of negativity. Adam Rifkin nails the role of the name

director who would cheerfully dump his friend in a trash bin in order to

advance his own career. Together, Markes and Rifkin manage to scam their

way into the Oscars and collect cameos from big-name Hollywood actors

who clearly think they are talking to the entertainment press, not two guys

trying to make a movie about Hollywood. It's a clever stunt with a clever,

funny script, and it is right on the money. Most of the "actors" in this film are real agents, real casting directors, real actors, directors and producers playing themselves. It's not a documentary in the strict sense, but it

accurately and gleefully depicts the reality of what goes on in Hollywood.

If you have any interest in seeing how the process works (or doesn't), see

this movie today.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Great!!

10/10
Author: dasa108 from Montevideo, Uruguay
14 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is the kind of movie that you can't wait for the success of the protagonist. The protagonist, looking for the success, has a lot of difficulties, expending money, time, energy, and all is a disaster. All the people in the movie is great. All is so real, so well acted, that the first time you are seeing the movie, you really think all is true. All the actors who want fame and glory, should see this movie. Sometimes this movie works as drama, sometimes as comedy. But in the end, you really think you are working and trying with Nick, giving strong to his determination, and is so terrible the karma, you feel sad. Great, 10 points.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A great eye opener for aspiring film actors

Author: movieguy-52 from Hollywood, CA
24 October 2000

This movie was a great eye opener for aspiring film actors like myself. It's the actual story of an unknown actor, who with the help of a Hollywood Director, Adam Rifken, attempts to turn him into a Hollywood star. This film takes you deep into the process of what it takes to make it in Hollywood and how far some actors are willing to go to succeed.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Okay spoofy indie put-on.

5/10
Author: George Parker from Orange County, CA USA
30 August 2001

"Welcome to Hollywood" pretends to be a documentary which chronicles the career of an unknown wannabee actor (Markes) who, hopefully, will become a big star during the course of the film. Kinda/sorta cute and fun, this flick doesn't pan out as it become increasingly obvious it's a fraud and scenes are set up or staged. Nonetheless, "Welcome..." does give some slight view-from-the-bottom insights into the inner workings of Hollywood and the movie biz. A marginally entertaining pseudodocumenatary for people with an interest in Hollywood behind the scenes.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Where was Nic?

Author: afrances
22 January 2001

I don't think Nicolas Cage was in this film...I didn't see him anywhere and he was listed in the credits after the movie. I didn't like the movie either - it was neither funny nor enlightening about the moviemaking or acting experience.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history