IMDb > Superstar (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Superstar
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Superstar More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 160 reviews in total 

46 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

What the Shiznit?

10/10
Author: cloudblood from United States
11 May 2005

I have no idea what is wrong with all these lame-ass downers.... Don't listen to any other comments on this movie. Because obviously, non of them got it.... This movie has been on my top 10 funniest movies since the first time i saw it. My friends and I still gather on occasion and light a Lil something up while we laugh are asses of at this film. Molly Shannon is a Comedic Genius, and Will Farrell falls right behind... Buy this move right now, smoke some bongs, and get your fiends over to watch it with you, so that after its over, and your quoting the movie ever 5mins after, they know what the hell it is you're talking about. As for he rest of you.. WHY DON"T YOU GO DRINK A BOTTLE OF YOURSELF!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Underrated comedy excellence

10/10
Author: flumpman-1 from United Kingdom
5 April 2007

I remember watching this movie when I was working in America in the year 2000 with my cousin and absolutely pissing my pants with laughter at it.

I then totally forgot about it until I noticed it on a website for sale for like £3 and thought I would buy it and see if it was as funny as I remembered. It was - and it was funnier the second time around.

Molly Shannon is an underrated comedic actress who we should see more often and who should be given lead roles on a more regular basis as she is absolutely hilarious in Superstar.

This movie has absolutely no point and no story but is just full of class comedy moments which make me chuckle over and over again. And not only is Ms Shannon rather good in it - Will Ferrell is on top form before he made it big time. Its just a shame he didn't drag Molly with him and make her as big a star as she is.

Get her in the Frat Pack now! Oh - and this movie is well funny so I recommend it highly to anyone with a sense of humour!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Are you kidding me? I LOVE this movie

Author: lambiebob from United States
1 February 2006

This movie is the funniest SNL movie ever. Another commenter said it was just about better than A Night at the Roxbury, but I thought that movie was good too.

Molly Shannon delivers a great performance as Mary Katherine Galligar, the weirdo that has always wanted to be a movie star so that she can get a movie star kiss. I love all of the comebacks she makes because they are so out of nowhere and are original. Will Ferral is also a laugh out loud as the hot football player of Mary's dreams, Sky.

I saw this movie in first grade and used a few of the comebacks Mary made when I was having a fight with a mean girl in my class, and she never bothered me again!

****outta***** see this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

A true classic comedy!

9/10
Author: Bryan Akers from United States
14 December 2005

I loved this movie! It was probably one of the funniest movies I had ever seen! When I had watched Molly Shannon preform her "Superstar" on SNL, I loved it. It was hilarious and something new and enjoyable. This movie makes me feel better for some reason. When I'm depressed or something, I watch this movie and laugh forever and instantly feel better! My favorite part of the movie was Mary(her name in the movie) saying Superstar! I loved it. It made me feel happy and made me laugh. Also, this movie does have some meaning to it. It shows you that anything is possible. And I mean ANYTHING. If Mary Katherine Gallagher can do it, you most certainly can. I really think you should at least rent it but I really think you should buy it because of how many times you will want to watch it. It's hilarious and you will find yourself watching it over and over again. "...you didn't know you were competing against a...SUPERSTAR!!!"

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Very Funny Movie

Author: Coe Linn (HellTex) from Austin, Texas
12 April 2000

This is one of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time. There are many really great belly-laughs here. There also are some very heartwarming moments when Mary Katherine Gallagher conjures up feelings of sympathy for her plight as a "nerd" among "beautiful people." The ending was wonderful. I really enjoyed seeing Glynis Johns again. I've always enjoyed her performances very much. All in all, I think this is an all-round good, very enjoyable movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Don't Always Believe Critics' Reviews

7/10
Author: reginamia from United States
6 June 2006

Because we had seen all the other comedies at the DVD store, my son and I finally watched Superstar. It had been so panned by every review I had ever seen, I thought it would be a waste of time. Perhaps especially for those who have memories of Catholic schools, it is as delightful as it is silly. My twelve-year-old does not have these memories but he laughed hysterically none the less.

I do recommend this film, but I do not recommend the critics who gave it only one star. Like psychologists, film critics must understand both the genres they review, and every type of audience that will view the film. This comedy may not be for everyone, but I cannot imagine anyone taking real offense at it either.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Very enjoyable

8/10
Author: BrightVibes from Los Angeles, CA
21 October 2013

I completely enjoyed Superstar. Its one of those movies that are kind of cute, but still had enough off color humor to keep your attention. It is not raunchy at all. The off color humor comes from many things that kids in the age group really go through.

I grew up attending Catholic High School. So I can related to many things in this movie. Just the uniforms alone are funny. And the characters of the Priests and Nuns are very funny, and reminds me of many of the teachers I had back in the day.

Yes both Molly and Will were a little too old for their characters. I wonder what the movie would have been like if they made it with child actors. It certainly would have been a whole different thing. But I like how they made it with the older actors. It's Molly Shannon's character and really no one but Molly can play her.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Superstar is one super movie.

7/10
Author: dobbin-4 from Australia
9 November 2007

Superstar is the not so hit movie starring Molly Shannon and co starring Will Ferrell in one of the first movies they did together. The movie is about Mary Katherine Gallagher and all she wants in life is a Hollywood kiss but she realises that to get that she needs to be like the people in the movies. The movie is funny on many bases and Will Ferrell's character just held it together beautifully. The movie is definitely a must watch for fans of Saturday Night Live or Saturday Night Live skit turned Movies and Molly Shannon/Will Ferrell shows. Overall this movie is funny the whole way through and Will Ferrell's character was excellently petried. I rate this 74%.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

If you want a good laugh even if you know you'll feel dirty, then this movie is for you!

Author: The Rayato (pre_2000@hotmail.com) from Somewhere in Puerto Rico
15 April 2000

The Rayato has a confession to make. I'm with stupid! Yep I am. While all you high-class society puppets prefer AN IDEAL HUSBAND or some type of crap like that, you know deep down you yearn to watch DEUCE BIGALOW,AUSTIN POWERS,or WATERBOY. Yes, you know you do. I am not afraid to show my love for the stupid comedy. And if you want stupid, then SUPERSTAR is as stupid as they get (and as funny). SNL alum Molly Shannon (who I plan to marry someday) plays everybody's favorite horny Catholic schoolgirl Mary Katherine Gallagher who wants to become a "Superstar!" so she could have a chance with Sky Corrigan (Will Ferrell, brilliant!)and get the kiss she dreams about. I love basically everything in this movie, from "Supermodel Documentary Hour" to the ARMAGEDDON spoof. God bless SNL, for bringing America Eddie Murphy, Adam Sandler, Mike Myers, and the latest among the giants, Ms. Shannon herself. B+

P.S. MTV's Tom Green makes a cameo has some dumb guy and well....he's....dumb.........BRILLIANT!

The Rayato has spoken.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Much better than I expected...a really funny movie!

8/10
Author: poulet (poulet_on_toast@hotmail.com) from Costa Mesa, CA
12 November 1999

I went to see Superstar on the understanding that some SNL movies are terrible, and I didn't expect too much...but I really thought this was a great movie. I also enjoyed the additional surprise that his film was directed by Bruce McCulloch (whose talent as a director was revealed in his Kids in the Hall sketches; i.e. "Sausages".) I think his direction was excellent. The plot was predictable (as some like to point out...predictably) but who goes to a film like this expecting wildly innovative writing? The actors were very funny and the humor quirky; it even managed to be warm, but not in a syrupy way. This is a movie I recommend!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history