The Ruth Rendell Mysteries (TV Series 1987– ) Poster

Episode List


Season 7

2 Sep. 1994
Master of the Moor: Part 1
Stephen Whalby loves the moor. When a series of senseless murders of young women invades his beloved moor, he becomes intrigued...and a suspect.
9 Sep. 1994
Master of the Moor: Part 2
The second murdered woman is a Mrs Morgan, a local whom Stephen had previously met, albeit briefly, on two occasion. DI Manciple questions him aggressively and Stephen appears confused. Stephen is clearly not a happy man and many of the psychological issues he has to deal with relate to being abandoned by his mother when he was just a young lad. His father never really recovered from her departure either. The situation leads to a major row with Lyn who asks him if he killed the women, but he admits he doesn't really know. Unbeknown to Stephen, Lyn has started a ...
16 Sep. 1994
Master of the Moor: Part 3
Slowly, Stephen Whalby's world begins to collapse around him. His mother's visit has profoundly shaken him and his idealized image of her as forever young and forever beautiful has been shattered. He finally identifies the mysterious man walking the moor as his childhood friend Peter Knowles who has returned to the area after having trekked around the world. Lynn admits to him that she has had an affair but has told Nick it is over and wants to repair her relationship with Stephen. Finally, Stephen locates a cave where he once played and now clearly has someone living...

« Season 6 |  Season 7  Season 8  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page