IMDb > Drive Me Crazy (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Drive Me Crazy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Drive Me Crazy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 149 reviews in total 

This didn't drive me crazy tbh....

2/10
Author: Irishmoviereviewer from Ireland
16 August 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Even though we are seeing Sabrina's Melissa Joan Hart and Adrian Grenier in this to fall in love, it turns out that this film disappointed me!

The reason that is because, I didn't feel the story line to flow or made it easier for me to enjoy looking at it!

It's just a story about a bad boy who falls for a smart girl because of her looks and this story ends with them being happily ever after. BORING! We have heard of this before like seriously, this movie should've been redone.

It's just awful, I would avoid watching this even if you were like me, a fan of the Sabrina the teenage witch show!

Was the above review useful to you?

Drove me crazy

3/10
Author: millikin (travio@www.com) from California
27 March 2000

This was one of the worst movies I've seen in a while. The shallow characterization and predictable plot could have been somewhat saved by a little T&A, but, alas, I was left wanting. I knew I should have hit STOP when my head began aching after he first five minutes of the video.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The good kind of predictable

6/10
Author: Saarah N from United Kingdom
12 August 2016

You'll love this film if you appreciate light humour, a predictable plot and the message of staying true to yourself. A young woman, Nicole, wishes to avoid the ridicule of going to prom alone, so she enlists the services of her old friend and next door neighbour, Chase. Why do they decide to go together? So they can also make their true 'special someones' jealous. But they have to make it a good scam, of course, so they act all loved up before the actual prom. And they might just realise what true love is, who knows?

I'm a fan of Melissa Joan Hart, so it comes as a forgone conclusion that I'll enjoy this film. The other leading role was also equally entertaining. A scam well-played? But who's scamming whom?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

charming leads

6/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
10 July 2016

Nicole Maris (Melissa Joan Hart) is the popular girl in school. Chase Hammond (Adrian Grenier) is the activist troublemaker. It's their senior year. The next door neighbors and former friends don't get along any more. The centennial of the school is coming up. She and her friends are planning the prom. He and his friends are causing mayhem. Nicole is rejected by clueless jock Brad in the traditional popular pairing in favor of true love for a cheerleader from another school. Chase is dumped by girlfriend Dulcie (Ali Larter) for an animal activist. Nicole comes up with a scheme to date Chase to make Brad jealous. Chase accepts it to make Dulcie jealous.

Hart and Grenier are photogenic early twenty somethings with plenty of charisma. They bring a nice appeal to this teen high school dramedy. Despite being best known for the popliscious Britney Spears song, it takes a couple of deep dives. It does leave the movie uneven in tone at times. This is nothing ground breaking but it's passable for the genre. The two leads make it work.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A lovely traditional Comedy with a few weaknesses

8/10
Author: LitCritChas from Pennsylvania
18 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To be fair, this film is listed under the Teen Comedy genre so if you generally don't find Teen Comedies tasteful then do yourself a favor and move along.

Now as I say it is a Teen Comedy, I should also say that this is a Comedy in the traditional definition of the genre, meaning that it is a Comedy that explores some thoughtful and deep themes before the Act III obligatory turn away. This is what a traditional Comedy looks like: it's life affirming, completely aware of the human body and its limits, the community is reformed where it needs to be, the society merely exists in the earthly space that creates the community (ignoring Heaven and Hell), and it turns away in Act III informed by but not obsessed by some rather ponderous thoughts on what it means to be human in its society. It's not Satire like Scream, nor is it Farce like American Pie or Not Another Teen Movie, so don't come in expecting that you're going to be laughing every few seconds.

If you're familiar with the genre you know the story. Nicole (Hart) is a preppy girl in High School, aiming for the handsome jock, Brad (Carpenter), to ask her to a community dance that she's helped organize. Brad falls in love with a cheerleader from another school, leaving Nicole to make a deal with her former childhood best friend and "rebel without a cause" boy next door, Chase (Grenier), to make Brad and Chase's recent ex-girlfriend jealous. From here the plot begins to resemble a gender-swapped Pygmalion (aka. My Fair Lady) slightly as Nicole "cleans up" Chase to make the deal seem realistic. And here is where the "ponderous thoughts" begin to crop up--mostly having to deal with the social masks people wear throughout life in order to maintain some kind of status in their society.

Lovely performances are given by Keri Lynn Pratt, Kris Park, and Mark Webber, who play small but well fleshed out character parts that come across as refreshingly new looks at old archetypes (the pretty girl who used to be ugly, the quietly rebellious underdog, & the geeky outcast who both wants to and doesn't want to fit in) that are truthful and never exaggerated.

The film's largest weakness is with its antagonists: Alicia and Eddie, who are played by Susan May Pratt & Jordan Bridges. Jordan's Eddie is simply a jerk for the sake of being a jerk--and is hardly developed at all. Susan's performance is well nuanced, but there seems to be a deeper inner life to her character that we are never allowed to see. I feel that this is because Alicia as well as Eddie, are developed poorly compared to other more minor characters. All the characters that you are supposed to care for are developed in quite humane ways, while the two main antagonists (S.M. Pratt and Bridges) are left by the script as nearly two-dimensional stereotypes and the film never bothers to explore how or why they came to be who they are or provide motivations for what they do throughout the course of the film.

Overall, the film is a simple and lovely Teen Comedy that is worth watching if you enjoy Teen Comedies and want to see a fairly decent one. It's not the best Teen Comedy of the bunch, but it is quite far from the worst one every made. I'd give it a B/B-.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

drive me crazy drive everyone crazy

3/10
Author: mbg411 from United States
27 May 2009

3 stars for ONE thing. The title could not be more fitting. This is truly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I finally realized what a talentless hack Melissa Joan Hart has become. She was so much better in the TV movies that she did before this movie, especially "Silencing Mary", which is actually a very good movie mostly because of Melissa Joan Hart's performance in that particular movie.

But her acting is so fake in "Drive Me Crazy". It certainly drove me crazy. Don't even get me started on the other actors. The movie also has a horrible concept to boot, and the delivery is much worse. I don't think the delivery could be much worse than it already is. It would have to be a porn movie, or a Teletubbies movie, or something for it to be ANY worse.

I'm only giving this movie 3 stars because Melissa Joan Hart is sometimes a good actress. But she's not that good and she always get mixed up in the wrong scripts. And like I said, I have to admit that the title could not be more fitting. Gotta give 'em credit for that!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"Entourage" Prequel

4/10
Author: lotrfanboy900 from United States
24 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie isn't so bad if you think about it as a prequel to the award-winning HBO show "Entourage". Adrien Grenier plays almost exactly the same character, a kid named Chase. Oddly enough, his character in "Entourage" is named Vincent Chase. Just pretend through the movie that everyone is calling Vincent by his last name. This film also fits into the "Entourage" mythos. For one, Vincent has once claimed that he never broke up with a girl. This fits here: he is dumped twice. Also, it echoes Vincent's love of sex in strange places, like closets and bathtubs: he has sex in a treehouse in this movie. It also foreshadows Vincent's tragic fall into drug and alcohol abuse, as Chase gets high, and drunk repeatedly though the film. Finally, Chase and Vincent chase seem to share the same ideology: "Tell everyone to go f*** themselves". Unfortunately, Drama, Turtle, and Eric don't make an appearance, but I think this should be considered canon.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Drive Me Crazy

4/10
Author: weberpr from Australia
5 June 2005

Drive Me Crazy is the new Comdedy Romance film directed by John Schultz its about popular high school student Nicole Maris (Melissa Joan Hart) who plays a charade with grungy nextdoor neighbour Chase Hammond (Adrian Grenier) after being dumped for the prom, there charade fast turns to a love that neither expected, also starring Susan May Pratt and Ali Larter.

Drive Me Crazy actually wasn't a bad film for your typical high school romance movie, it did have good and believable acting in it. Melissa Joan Hart still seems like that young girl from Clarissa Explains It All. I have always been a fan of Ali Larter and she played a good role as the bad girl, the only reason it wasn't great is because I have seen better of this type of film its all be done before.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

BLAH!

10/10
Author: Jack the Ripper1888 from Chicagooooooo
10 June 2002

This is another one of those "Teen Movies". Aside from all the many other films of this genre, DRIVE ME CRAZY only manages to make you laugh once or twice throughout the entire film. Rob Thomas is a bad writer. He should stick to soapy TV shows like "Dawson's Creek" and never again try to write a romantic comedy. This film is only funny on camp level.

Nicole (Melissa Joan Hart) has just been passed over for a date to the prom. Chase (Adrian Grenier) has just been dumped by his girlfriend. Hoping to make their ex-loves a little jealous, the two decide to pose as a couple, but complications arise when they discover they may actually have feelings for each other.

DRIVE ME CRAZY tries hard to be another comedy that follows in the footsteps of 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU and SHE'S ALL THAT. But, unlike it's predecessors, this film was not spoofed in the rowdy NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE. Why could that be? Because this one was forgettable. Maybe if you think of it as a horror movie, you might actually enjoy yourself better....3/5.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Adrian Grenier Drives me Crazy!!

6/10
Author: wicked_witch81
6 May 2002

The movie is OK,the plot pretty predictable,Melissa Joan Hart is an 'OK' actress,the way she acts doesn't show much difference from her Sabrina character on 'sabrina:the teenage witch' shown on tv,and it has the basic elements of stereotyped people (jocks with popular chicks,bla bla).so why am i watching this movie????Because of the actor,Adrian Grenier!!!!what an awesome dude!if you're a big fan of tasty good looking guys,watch this movie!you won't be disappointed!hehe!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history