Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Not exactly bad, but lacks the magic of the original

6/10
Author: Electrified_Voltage from Guelph, Ontario, Canada
14 September 2009

"The Brave Little Toaster" was a film I saw many times in my childhood. It came out the year after I was born, but the two sequels it spawned came out much later, in the late 90's, and I didn't even know about them until years later, when I found them on IMDb. Just over a week ago, I watched the 1987 original again, for what I believe was my second viewing since the 90's. After that, I intended to finally watch the two direct-to-video sequels. Apparently, "The Brave Little Toaster to the Rescue" was released after the other sequel, "The Brave Little Toaster Goes to Mars", but takes place before it. For that reason, I decided to watch this one first. While I think it's better than some fans of the original do, it didn't surprise me when I saw that it was another inferior sequel.

The appliances' "master," Rob, is now a college student, studying to become a veterinarian, and is now nearing the end of his final semester. He still has his entire treasured collection of appliances from when he was a kid (Toaster, Blanky, Kirby, Lampy, and Radio), and keeps them (with the exception of the lamp) at the veterinary hospital where he treats animals. Rob is almost ready to graduate, as he is very close to finishing his thesis on the computer, when suddenly, he loses it all when the computer crashes and he hasn't saved any of it! It doesn't help when his relationship with his girlfriend, Chris, runs into trouble. Meanwhile, Mack, Rob's bitter lab assistant, is secretly working against him and planning to sell the animals to a testing laboratory! So, the appliances have another problem on their hands when they find out about this scheme, and now must also try to save their animal friends!

One reason why this "Brave Little Toaster" sequel is inferior to its predecessor is the plot, which isn't quite as interesting or adventurous as that of the original. The appliances stay in the same place for most of this film and don't go on the kind of epic journey they did before. The film also doesn't quite have the eerie feel to it that's part of what makes its predecessor so good. Some new characters are introduced here, such as the animals the appliances share a room with, and the master's evil lab assistant, Mack. There's at least one new character I didn't care much for, and that was Ratso, around the beginning, though I think he improves after that. I didn't find the songs in this sequel to be all that memorable, though I've only heard them once. I can't forget to mention the humour. I did laugh at times, but definitely not as much as I did when I last watched the original. For example, the Radio isn't as funny here. I guess he's not the same without Jon Lovitz providing his voice, though he still has his moments. Despite the flaws, this movie does have amusing gags, plus a bit of suspense and some mildly poignant moments, though none of it is consistent enough to make for a really good family film.

"The Brave Little Toaster" was released by Disney, but produced by Hyperion Pictures, so it isn't really a Disney flick. However, just like a number of theatrical animated Disney movies, it got the direct-to-video sequel treatment. I haven't seen all of Disney's direct-to-video sequels, but the ones I have seen have lead me to believe that most of them aren't really that good, and tend to show a significant drop in quality from their theatrical predecessors. Basically, that's also the case with this sequel to the barely theatrical 1987 Hyperion Pictures production. Some parts of this one are pretty good, and I found that it improves along the way, leading to a satisfying ending, but there's definitely something missing from the original. If you're a fan of the underrated 1987 movie, you might like to see "The Brave Little Toaster to the Rescue", but I guess there's a good chance you won't like it at all, and if that's not the case, you could easily end up thinking of it as a mixed blessing, like I do.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lacking the original's charm, but not that bad compared to other animated sequels I've seen

6/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
1 March 2011

I love The Brave Little Toaster, it is funny with a great atmosphere and a likable story and characters. Neither of the two sequels are bad as such, but both are lacking in the first's charm, but both are watchable compared to other animated sequels I have the misfortune of seeing(ie. The Secret of NIMH 2:Timmy to the Rescue).

I do think The Brave Little Toaster is too short, consequently the story is rather predictable and rushed and lacks the haunting and eerie yet charming. The new characters are a mixed bag, Mack is interesting in a way as is Wittgenstein, but Ratso starts off a little bland and superfluous. The songs aren't as memorable, and while Radio has his moments he is not as funny or as sweet.

That said, the animation is good enough, the colours are quite nice and the characters are drawn well. The characters are still very likable, I liked some of the suspense and while not as funny or as poignant here the writing did at least make me laugh and cry. Another plus is the voice acting, which is really very good.

In conclusion, a watchable sequel but lacking. 6/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The Appliances Are Back to Save Their Animal Friends!

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
8 August 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

Despite the fact this was released as the third film in the series, it is in fact the second. Think of it as the prequel to The Brave Little Toaster Goes to Mars. The appliances and their master Rob are in college. Rob has decided to be a veterinarian. Toaster, Kirby, Lampy, Radio and Blanky have made friends with the various appliances and animals at the

college. Among them are Ratso, a sarcastic rodent, and Sebastian, an elderly ape. Kirby denies that anything is wrong with Sebastian but soon takes it back when he shows him what's under his bandage. There's a problem lurking somewhere in the computer networks, for one night as Rob was finishing his 600 page thesis, the computer shut down. His work: lost! Toaster was determined to help, so were his friends. They learn about the Internet. Sebastian describes it as a highway. Lampy says getting along a highway was no trouble as long as they got Kirby, but this kind of highway was different. The appliances also learn that the animals will be sent to testing laboratories, and you know what they do to them there. The appliances meet someone who would help: Wittgenstein, a master computer in the basement. He's also the cause of the computers going down. One of his main tubes is busted and he needs a replacement. It's the kind of tube Radio has. Radio and Ratso search for another one and find it, but they get in a fight over who should give it to Wittgenstein and break it. Radio is blamed, though I think Ratso was somewhat responsible too. But Radio sacrifices his tube so Wittgenstein is up and running and the animals are saved from testing. Rob's thesis even came back! But what about Radio? Rob's girlfriend, Kris, found another tube on the Internet and he was saved. Not really as good as the first or the third. Most of the

original cast is here, except Jon Lovitz doesn't do Radio in this one. They got some guy who sounds like him. Lovitz was better. Thurl Ravenscroft is back as Kirby; I feel the reason they made three chapters to the Brave Little Toaster is to capitalize. Disney just loves that. So if you've seen the first one and the third one, you might as well see the second. It's common sense, isn't it?

-

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

I'd prefer to eat burnt toast...

3/10
Author: Pam J from Wisconsin
13 March 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

...than watch this movie again. My kids and I love the first toaster movie, and we were all excited when we sat down tonight to see what the next adventure would be. What a disappointment. With two young kids, I have seen a lot of cartoons and can tolerate almost anything: from Barney to Teletubbies to Oobi. I thought this movie was just awful. A very sketchy storyline with little depth, a plot that my kids could not even begin to follow... who writes kids' stories about animal testing, blackmailed assistants, lovers' spats, the inner workings of the worldwide web, computer viruses, and writing a college thesis? Ick! Many cartoons have child-oriented plots with adult humor. This one had a plot too convoluted for young kids but too lame for anyone old enough to follow it, with little or no humor whatsoever. I could hardly force myself to sit through it. Stick with the original and forget that they even made more.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An Awkward Trip Down Memory Lane

3/10
Author: tscheihing-74644 from United States
12 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Growing up, the Brave Little Toaster was one of my favorite animated films of all time, and it still holds up to me this very day. So naturally, I was a sucker for the sequels when they came out.

A lot of people seem to give the Brave Little Toaster Goes to Mars a bad rap just for the ridiculous premise and pointless celebrity cameos, and while it does seem rather silly in context, it's actually still a little better and more memorable than this one. Just because it wasn't as dark as the first one doesn't make it necessarily bad, and just because something is dark doesn't always make it necessarily good, either.

Recently looking back and re-watching this film again, the dialog is written rather awkwardly and a lot of it just predictable. Most of the songs are awkwardly forgettable, except for Remember that Day, which explained the animals' back stories rather briefly. While it does try to keep the dark tone of the original, it didn't really do much for me here... But kudos to those with differing opinions from mine.

One of the things about this film that I still find laughably bad is the villain, who lacks any kind of basic character development and depth and is just so unsubtle that it isn't even funny... Seriously, Rob hired this guy? The way he acts and looks on screen just screams bad news, that it's practically impossible to not know he's the villain.

While it does still have its moments, watching this again was just an overall awkward experience.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Did P.E.T.A. Make This One?

4/10
Author: gasmaskproductionsbooks from Canada
10 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw this a few times, each time was just as bad. It continues from the first in the series, but Lovitz as the Radio is replaced, there are some annoying songs, The internet was introduced, along with a whole new line of strange characters including a pregnant cat, a very stereotypical Hispanic chihuahua and a rat that seemingly has no purpose. The Master, Rob, is in college with his girlfriend, and he has to write a thesis statement. Rob's girl keeps getting hit on by this pimp-looking fat guy in a lab coat, who tries to sell all the animals in the college to be test subjects in a medical research laboratory. The plot kind of takes a turn for the crazy when the appliances discover an enormous but outdated computing system, one that needs a bulb to survive and help them rescue the animals. When the Radio accidentally breaks the bulb, the other appliances yell at him, so he wanders off behind a box and performs self-surgery to remove his own bulb and slide it over to them. The toaster, rather apathetically, declares the radio dead (this scene traumatized my sister and I when we were kids.) Anyway, after the new bulb is donated to the large computing system, all that's left is to save the animals and stop Mr. Unmemorable-Named Pimp Guy from selling them off.

For kids, this film is okay, save for the radio's suicide (although he lives because Master and the girlfriend repair him). If you grew up with the original though, you may be disappointed by this lousy sequel, complete with some highly dopey songs that just don't compare with the original, and some very pointless characters added in just for the hell of it. The animal rights activism gets very annoying, not to get into a debate in my review but there are two sides to every story, not just, "aw, don't hurt the poor little fuzzy kitties!" It's about saving lives, cancer research that could save millions of humans (and animals, too). I'll bet P.E.T.A. is a huge fan of this movie. My favorite character of the franchise has always been the radio, so it was disappointing that John Lovitz was no longer the voice actor of Radio. I thought the fat lab guy hitting on Rob's girlfriend was a little weird and out of place.

If you are looking for a movie to show your kids, I suggest you try the original from 1987, because not only is the radio scene disturbing, but the whole concept of just what is supposedly going to happen to the animals in the lab could be extremely disturbing to kids, and if you're a parent you might want to save yourself the trouble of explaining animal testing to your kid. There were several actions the characters did that appeared perverted and I think were there intentionally (in the VHS tape I ordered of it the fat pimp-like lab guy reaches for the girl's butt, that's one example). To be honest, it all depends on what you consider appropriate for your children, and if you're watching it for nostalgic value as an adult, you won't find it here.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A fun movie, great for kids.

Author: melc-3
6 January 2000

It is my favorite of the three Brave Little Toaster Movies and we finally get the whole story. This one puts the story line of all three movies in perspective. Wittginstein the old computer is a great character and we meet Ratso who introduces us to him. My three year old got if for Christmas and just loves it.

Was the above review useful to you?

An okay followup that could've been worse

6/10
Author: breakdownthatfilm-blogspot-com from United States
11 July 2016

During much of the 1980s, Disney was not performing well financially or critically. Release after release, almost all of their films weren't making the cut. Whether it was based on content or something else, viewers and critics alike at the time were unimpressed. That's not the case now however for many of the once unnoticed movies have found a home for those who appreciate the quality they gave. But of those, there were some movies that got recognized for being well done. A couple years before Disney hit it big with The Little Mermaid (1989), another animated film came out that has made a lasting memory for many children, that being The Brave Little Toaster (1987). As odd as the premise was audiences and critics were surprised to see how mature some of the basic themes and concepts were for the plot. Not surprisingly, Disney went on to release a Direct-to-Video sequel of the original 10 years later. Even though it was a few years in where Disney started cranking out sequels, it could've been bad but it holds up somewhat here.

Picking up some time after the first events, audiences rejoin the living household items once more but this time, they're in the master's (Rob) veterinary clinic. The master is also ready to graduate and in order to do so, he must submit his 600-page thesis. One night while doing the finishing touches, a power surge occurs causing Rob to lose all his work. Fearing he won't graduate, it's up to the little toaster and friends along with some animals to save the day. Directed by Robert C. Ramirez who's better known for directing The Prince of Egypt (1998) prequel Joseph: King of Dreams (2000) and written by Willard Carroll who served as executive producer to The Brave Little Toaster (1987), manage to put together an acceptable sequel considering the circumstances. It's not at the same level as the original but it's an allowable follow-up. What doesn't work in this sequel are a few components. The most typical of reasons being continuity errors; ones that go beyond the physical realm that the first had established. Things don't just materialize.

The other two problems deal with characters. The new animal additions to the original group is okay but they do feel a bit tacked on. It just feels very obligatory and one of the main animal's motive changes without reason. Then there's the role of Rob's underling named Mack who works as an assistant to him. Right when the character is introduced, his personality immediately gives away what kind of character he will be. No questions. Aside from these problems, there isn't much else to point out. Even with these problems dealing with development in certain characters, the script still contains some material that is dark when looked at under certain lenses. With that said, credit is due for at least not making the overall execution feel completely pointless. Some sequels get completely diluted and end up having no risk involved. When it comes to characters, unless the viewer wanted to know who voiced them, most would unknowingly discover that the majority of the original cast from the original did not return.

Since the release of this was a decade later, seeing why some actors who voiced childlike characters is understandable. Yet as to why Jon Lovitz, Timothy E. Day, Wayne Kaatz and Colette Savage did not return is beyond understanding. They did after all voice important characters. Thankfully the actors who do replace the old cast maintain the same quality performances. Jessica Tuck who voices Chris, Chris Young as Rob, Eric Lloyd as Blanky and Roger Kabler as Radio all sound very similar to that of the original actors and that's great. Returning from the original is Deanna Oliver as Toaster, Thurl Ravenscroft as Kirby and Timothy Stack as Lampy, which is great to hear as well. For new members of the cast, Jay Mohr plays the voice of Mack, Andy Milder voices the scruffy Ratso, Alfre Woodard voices Maisie the mama cat, Danny Nucci plays a Hispanic Chiwawa, Andrew Daly plays Murgetroid the snake and veteran actor Eddie Bracken voices Sebastian the monkey. There's even a voice appearance from Brian Doyle-Murray playing a computer.

The animation is actually another decent quality to this sequel. This is mostly because The Brave Little Toaster (1987) itself did not set such a high bar. If anything, the animation here is on par with its predecessor and that's okay. Taking into account that it was also animated on a smaller budget is important to recognize if the quality remains fairly the same. The film score was unfortunately not composed again by David Newman. In replace of him, Alexander Janko composed the music. This was Janko's first film composition and seeing that he frequently orchestrates more than composes, it's interesting that Janko made out rather sufficiently. The score itself consists of organic orchestra and uses those elements to its advantage. By this, the cues that involve the darker themes work properly. The songs that the actual characters sing aren't that bad either. Tunes like "Remember That Day", "Tap to the Super Highway" and especially "Chomp and Munch" are fairly catchy and can get the viewer to emote.

The sequel itself isn't memorable as to its predecessor but it isn't all fluff either. There are some mature themes involved, the music is composed nicely and the voice cast perform well. It's just all the extra characters and an unexplained motivation that make it feel forgettable to some degree.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

This is not a kids movie, no matter whether you watched it as a kid or not, it is highly sexual in nature.

1/10
Author: ameillezaronyx
24 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There are several instances in this movie that are highly sexual in nature! Computers talking about how it "feels good when you stroke me on the inside" referring to a scene when an old computer accesses a new one to retrieve a lost file. Several other sexual references of this type are all over this one. I was watching it with my kids and promptly turned it off after the first two...watched it by myself after they were in bed and was shocked that a KIDS movie references being "turned on" in a sexual manner and the stroking part was way over the top in my opinion...even the first movie has several sexual references but this one..it takes the cake!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE GETTING THIS AND THINKING IT IS OKAY FOR CHILDREN!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Don't stop making films Disney

Author: CmHowell99 from San Diego, Ca
11 December 2002

I saw this film a long time ago compliments of my mother. The Brave Little Toaster and her friends go to rescue animals from a vet who plans to send them to a testing laboratory. Kirby denies anything is wrong with his friend Sebastain but Kirby soon discovers what's under Sebastian's bandage. There we're problems in the computer area while Rob was finishing his 600 page theis homework. Toaster and her friends actually get to learn about the internet. Radio was blamed for stealing something that goes to a computer.

So check it out

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history