IMDb > Runaway Bride (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Runaway Bride
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Runaway Bride More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 26: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 256 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Two Thumbs Up !

9/10
Author: Joan Chow Mei Hoon from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
7 August 1999

Sequel? What sequel? Ah yes, with the same main actors and actresses...not forgetting the clips in the movies that reminds you of PRETTY WOMAN. For example the balcony scene, and the bargaining of money to be paid..gosh it almost felt like it was the SAME movie I was watching rather then the sequel to it...

None-the-less, this is better in terms of the many good punch line given to Richard Gere in this movie. I believe he develops his part better compared to the stiff person he played in Pretty Woman.

As for Julia Roberts, hey, what can be said..she is the natural thing..I believe she plays the part so well..But have you all notice something? She has been the one asking the man for their hands in marriage in like three movies..namely MY BEST FRIEND'S WEDDING, NOTTING HILL and last but not least RUNAWAY BRIDE.. When does she intend to give up doing this? mmm...I wonder..

Oh well, I still think at the end this is a great show and I have watched it like four times already. So I guess it is worth watching..I give it 9 out of 10. Fantastic job all of you. Last but not least, if there is going to be another sequel, please give Hector Elizondo more lines...he seems to be there but not there...if you get what I mean..Thanks.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Predictable in terms of plot, but very well played

7/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
8 September 2009

Runaway Bride is an enjoyable romantic comedy. Yes, it isn't perfect, the story is very predictable and repetitive, the direction is perhaps a little too leisurely in some parts and there are parts when very little happens. But it is a very well played romantic comedy at that.

The script is full of very funny one-liners and quotes. Whilst I had a few problems with the story, the script was fine. Julia Roberts makes the most of her role as the title character, and Richard Gere, her co-star in Pretty Woman, is his usual charming self as the somewhat over familiar love interest, and Joan Cusack is enjoyable as Roberts's friend who gives her the odd piece of advice throughout the film.

All in all, not too bad. It is predictable, like I have said too many times already, but it is well played and well scripted, so not so bad to pass the time. 7/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Do not runaway from the chance to see this darling and touching romcom

Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
3 November 2008

Ike (Richard Gere) writes a column for a major New York City newspaper. But, he's a "last-minute" man, that is, he works better under pressure to complete each piece, barely making the paper's deadlines. One day, the inspiration pipeline is running dry and he grabs at a last minute tip to conjure up a column about a very cold-footed bride, Maggie (Julia Roberts) who has run away from the altar three times. Getting the facts seriously wrong means bye-bye Ike, as his boss and ex-wife (Rita Wilson) lets him go to avoid a lawsuit. Naturally, Ike is dismayed but, then, he is courted by another paper to do an in-depth study of Maggie, for she is about to walk down the aisle again in a matter of days. Traveling to the small city of Hale, Maryland, Ike sets up residence in the town's lovely inn and starts snooping. However, very shortly, the whole village, including Maggie, knows he's there and friends and neighbors try mightily to impede his investigation. They do this because they all have hope that Maggie's fourth nuptials will result in a marriage to the town's high school football coach, Bob (Chistopher Meloni). But, even with best friend Peggy (Joan Cusack) hovering around Maggie, could our Mags somehow be attracted to the handsome Ike, even when he's out to expose her foibles? This is a warm, funny, and touching romcom about the uncertainties in attraction, love, and marriage. How does one know for sure that their beloved is THE one? The answer here is that one must first know oneself well. The cast is a delight, with Roberts and Gere shining brightly in roles that are not necessarily predictable. The supporting troupe is also wonderful, as Cusack, Meloni, Wilson, Hector Elizondo, and others are as entertaining as they come. As for the setting, the lovely little Maryland town in the film is most beautiful and the costumes, photography, script and direction are all worthy, too. So, do not runaway from the chance to see this darling little romcom. It has some very fine lessons, love, and laughter to offer audiences of any age.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!

8/10
Author: elsabelsa16 from United States
7 November 2005

Awesome movie! A very funny romantic comedy, with a good resolution. Roberts and Gere have great chemistry and should have an award for it. Never a boring part, always action! Must see for romantic comedies! A few suggestions not appropriate for children, but over all it was pretty clean. Joan Cusac did an excellent job as well, playing Robert's best friend. Very real and believable movie, with plenty of good morals. Overall it is a hilarious movie that keeps you laughing and has you repeating lines constantly until you laugh even more. It is older, so there are a few dated things, but it isn't that bad. Once again, hilarious. Good family things too. This rates up there with You've Got Mail and While You Were Sleeping. A must see for all!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A charming film

Author: Michael Hollywood
8 April 2000

Following up on the huge romantic hit "Pretty Woman," Richard Gere, Julia Roberts and Hector Elizondo reteam to produce yet another romantic comedy called "Runaway Bride."

Nobody lost a step or missed a beat as Gere, Roberts and Elizondo teamed up with newcomers Joan Cusack and Rita Wilson. The cast performed with such perfection it seemed like they were performing as it happened for the first time. I commend the casting director and the producer for putting together an excellent cast that really gelled and had chemistry that was like magic.

I must say that "Runaway Bride" was much more charming than "Pretty Woman." I still enjoyed "Pretty Woman" but the updated version had a certain charm and a twist that was lacking in the first film.

I can't say what the twist is without giving away too much, you'll just have to see it to find out.

This was a cute film with a unique way of telling a plot that seems to have been done before on the silver screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Did they need the cash so badly?

2/10
Author: theSecretAlchemist from Japan
8 May 2007

You can get past the absurd premise, the two-dimensional minor characters, the clunky script and the plot incongruities. What you cannot get over is the biggest failure in this film - trying to make Richard Gere funny. He isn't funny. Pretty Woman works because he is the straight-man who melts and opens up because of the hooker-with-a-heart-of-gold. Here, he is supposed to deliver ironic asides and sarcastic put-downs, and it just does not come off. It is unfathomable why these actors showed up for this. In every interview I have ever seen with a successful actor, they always say their reason for choosing a film is the script. If the story is fresh, challenging and engaging then nothing else matters. What made Gere and Roberts think this would add a new dimension to their CVs? You can only imagine they saw an easy way to cash in on the PW thing, and went for it. A real, real shame.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The stars coast through on their built-in good will...

6/10
Author: moonspinner55 from las vegas, nv
16 August 2005

Anybody could have written this movie (or, rather, concocted this movie, as the script itself is just a doodle). It creaks along like an antiquated piece of romantic machinery. Julia Roberts and Richard Gere coast through on the good will they've built up in other movies (like, say, "Pretty Woman"). She's an alter-shy would-be bride whose actions have intrigued a newspaper man; when he goes to meet her, naturally he's smitten by her nearly-hidden vulnerability and begins to feel something for her charms (she rebels at her own feelings, telling him, "You wouldn't know love if it bit you in the arm-pit"--easily the single worst line in the picture). The music used is heavy-handed, from the U2 song which opens the movie to Miles Davis' "It Never Entered My Mind", which underscores a romantic moment but is actually more appropriate for a suicide scene. The stars do have great chemistry together, the supporting cast is wonderfully colorful and not overly-eccentric, and it's a fine bauble for anyone in the mood for a generic romantic comedy (and, true, it's probably better than "Pretty Woman", which I didn't particularly like); but from a filmmaker's standpoint, "Bride" seems to have been made by-the-numbers. They didn't make this movie to stand the test of time; it's disposable. **1/2 from ****

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

total and absolute c**p

1/10
Author: Embley from vancouver, canada
24 October 2000

i didn't remember how awful pretty women was until it was on tv the other day and i watched it. well part of it. i couldn't stomach it. which is funny because when it came out i thought it was amusing.

why they decided to try another version of it i will never know. runaway bride is awful. one of the worst films i saw all year. i am so sick of the portrayal of women in film. is someone ever going to make a film where they don't look like fancy fluffy morons? what is up with that.

this film sucks. only watch it if you want to see what NOT to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

funniest movie we've seen in a long time!

10/10
Author: eadsdr from madison, wi
3 August 1999

The audience was laughing so hard, at times we couldn't hear the next line! Thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between all the characters! Enjoyed it even more than Pretty Women. . . no real comparison!! Great date movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

This is a funny, funny movie.

7/10
Author: Denny Keaton (Tripper-3) from Kansas City, MO
22 July 2000

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As much I have to admit I enjoyed the gross-out humor of AUSTIN POWERS and THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY, its nice to see a movie that manages to be funny without resorting to non-stop vulgarity. There's a lot of really good material in this one. As far the story goes, its pretty obvious to anyone with anyone with half a brain (spoiler warning) the two lead will get together in the end. Besides that, the story isn't too predictable, and the cast is outstanding. The whole Gere/Roberts chemistry is there, and the rest of the cast gets their good lines in too.

This isn't your average "chick flick," this is funny stuff. And its good clean fun.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 26: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history