IMDb > "Sex and the City" (1998) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Sex and the City"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Sex and the City" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 231 reviews in total 

111 out of 151 people found the following review useful:

About Sex and the City

Author: Rob Patterson from St. Louis
10 October 2004

This is decidedly one of the best written and acted comedies I've seen in a very long time. The trials and tribulations of Carrie Bradshaw and her three friends is as riveting as it is true. As a straight male viewer of this show, I think that it gave me a lot of insight into the female aspect of a relationship and the world as a whole. This show also changed the way the public views women. Carrie and company are strong, self-sufficient women who even dislike serious relationships and the prospect of marriage. This is far from the housewife days of "Leave it to Beaver" and "Father Knows Best".

Particularly stunning about this show is the acting. Although much has been said about the relationships between the stars of the show, the characters they portray have such a sense of reality and conviction that they seem like ordinary people trying to get by. Why this show was not awarded more is beyond me.

For anyone who wonders about human relationships and interaction, this funny yet sometimes surreal show is the perfect addition to your viewing pleasure.

Was the above review useful to you?

149 out of 241 people found the following review useful:

Sex and the City bashers be damned!!!

Author: fusskins from New York
15 July 2000

I am a 23 year old single woman living in Manhattan and I love and relate to this show. All though I am younger and poorer than these women, and I don't get nearly as many men as they do (not to mention the fact that I'm Black!), I think this show has alot of insightful and funny things to say about being a woman in New York.

And to address the sex issue...I am so tired of the Madonna/Whore complex everyone in the country seems to be up to their eyeballs in. Get over it! Women like sex, they have sex, and they have sex with men they don't like. So what? And so what if they continue to look for Mr. Right even when they're with Mr. Right Now. What person man or woman hasn't consistently done something, seemingly at cross-purposes with their intended goal in the name of love, lust, or companionship? Stop with the tired double standards (that includes HBO's ban on full frontal male nudity on the show!)

Let's address the real issue: We all wish we were getting it as much as Samantha--even it's from just ONE person!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

74 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

The fifth woman is Manhattan

Author: didi-5 from United Kingdom
12 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In its 6 year, 94 episode run, we've seen the four girls grow and develop through their relationship, neuroses, and daily life in New York. The main narrator and the girl who 'knows it all' is Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker) who writes a sex column for the newspaper and has a bizarre taste in fashion. Her on-off boyfriend is the mysterious Mr Big (Chris Noth), who has dreadful chat-up lines and a big ego, but there have been others - notably the sweet Aidan (John Corbett, fresh from 'Northern Exposure') and the mysterious Russian artist in the final series (played by Mikhail Baryshnikov).

Charlotte York (Kristin Davis) is pure Park Avenue, looking for the man of her dreams. He isn't Trey MacDougall (Kyle MacLachlan), although they have a good try making things work; he turns out to be baldy divorce lawyer Harry instead. While we see Miranda Hobbes (Cynthia Nixon) move from power-suited lawyer to earth mother, with the cute Steve Brady (David Eigenberg); Samantha (Kim Cattrall) - man-eater and contortionist extraordinaire - finds love after a last season bout of personal trauma.

The strengths of 'Sex in the City' are mainly in the tone of Carrie's narration, some of the situations we see (the sex therapy session; the dance on the roof; all those opening nights at chic clubs), and the supporting characters, especially Willie Garson as Stanford Blatch. SATC was watchable throughout all its series, and remains so in repeated showings. I'll just miss seeing Carrie's wonderful frocks, how far Samantha will go this week, what Miranda will get worked up about, and whether Charlotte still believes in true love.

Was the above review useful to you?

86 out of 132 people found the following review useful:

simply Fabulous!!

Author: theviewer from Bothell, Washington
12 September 2004

I would never have imagined that Sex and the City would cause such a negative reaction. It is particularly surprising that anyone from London would dare be self-righteous enough as to spew a lengthy harangue of moral rights and wrongs. Since when is London high on morality? The show is something to be taken with a grain of salt. For those that think that it send the wrong message about sex, it's not an after school special and there is no reason to remind a thirty-something year old to practice safe sex. The show is on HBO late at night for a reason. I do not understand the point of watching the show if one does not like it. It's the TV show executives and cast that end up laughing all the way to the bank - while those sitting on their couches, complaining, are simultaneously boosting the shows ratings. Why bother contributing awareness and popularity to something that one so avidly disagrees with?

I am only a recent viewer of the show, now running on TBS - so I get the watered-down version, which is still quite enjoyable. I somewhat relate to both the women and the situations presented. I appreciate the fact that the show touches on some major issues of singles in the dating world while, at the same time, not having an overly dramatic or depressing tone. It's fun and light hearted - it celebrates the shallowness in each one of us while also recognizing the basic faults that make us human. In a sense it is hyperbole, but what good TV show isn't? Everything in the world does not have to be serious - in reality no one is politically correct all of the time. The show should not be viewed as representative of men, women, and New York - this is not the way the show is meant to be observed. Take as a spoof on dating life for singles in New York - and on men and women's idiosyncrasies - but by no means take it as reality. It's not - It's just a TV show. If you want reality then get your hiney off the couch and go live your life and stop complaining about how trivial and unrealistic TV shows are!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

62 out of 96 people found the following review useful:

Simply amazing.........

Author: charliebucket-1
16 February 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For anyone to refer to this show as discriminative or pornographic has simply never seen the wonderful show.... as for all intense and purposes this simply isn't television. From the outset this programme has been visually stunning and emotionally charged. The storylines, actors, writers and directors are nothing short of brilliant - this show truly deserves all the success in the world. The fashions are amazing, with full credit going to Pat Field for putting together the most sublime outfits, with looks inspired by everyone from Jackie O (Carrie's politician dating look) to 80's prom girls (Carrie's deconstructed 'Imitation Of Christ' 80's prom girl outfit was another strong look look of the 2002 season). No, the average writer person may not be able to afford these looks but it's this which elevates the show above reality (the documentary convention of talking to the camera which frequented much of the first season and some of the second was deemed 'too' cloying by fans, maybe adding a little too much realism to an already overly realistic show). Hands up who didn't well up at the sight of Miranda breaking down at her Mother's funeral? Or at Carrie when she sat, crippled by emotion on the floor of her bathroom for three hours after her gorgeous fiance, Adian left her? Or who didn't feel Carrie's pain when she was held up at gunpoint by a fashionista thief and screamed he could take everything other than her sample sale Manolos: 'No please sir, DON'T! They're my favourite pair, I got them half price at a sample sale'. My point is, to toss this show aside by calling it pathetic and lowly is a shame, simply because it uses ribald, salty language, the ladies have no qualms about peppering their sentences frequently with profanities and nudity and sex is shown frequently throughout the show - it basically does what every other show talks about but cannot do due to network restrictions - and you've got to give it some credit for that. Believe me, all the Golden Globes and Emmys speak for themselves - you will regret it if you do not check this show out. Trust me, you'll love it!

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Fabulous!!!

10/10
Author: Facehugger2K8 from New York, NY, USA
19 November 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

From Carrie's first date with Big, to Miranda's unexpected pregnancy, to Charlotte's divorce, to Samantha's outrageous statements, Sex and the City has touched all of us in one way or another, whether you're a woman or a man, I am brave enough to admit. The common misconception surrounding this show is that it is pornography, that these women are sluts, that they are "male-bashing, unmoral, unfocused, drunken losers" to quote a certain user. At the beginning, we were introduced with the theme of Sex and the City: If men can go around having sex with as many women as they want, why can't women benefit from the same right. Thus began an era of cosmopolitans, manolos, men, breakups, makeups,shakeups, tears, and many surprises. The show expressed a series of views, social standards and taboo statements opinionated by the women, which before were considered to be unlady-like, associated with men's sleazy mind.

This theme however began to be diverted towards each woman's personal life as their character develops from past mistakes and experiences. We witness this with Carrie, as she started with Big, in the very first episode of the series. Though Big turned up to have broken her heart more than once, they became even closer friends apart, until they realized that they just couldn't live without each other, all summing up to their grand reunion in the series finale. My personal favorite, Miranda, cynicism impersonated at its best, portrayed this development as she starts to realize to give up her pessimism about men meeting Steve, whom she ends up pregnant with accidentally. From the minute that the baby was born, one could not deny it that they were an inseparable trio. Though they decided that it would be best they run their own lives and have their own partners since so many differences arose between them while they were dating, a blind could sense the undeniable feeling that was flowing between them: love, for each other and the child that they share together. This love grows even stronger as the show breaks another taboo of society: Miranda asks Steve in marriage, strengthening their family love. The turning point in Miranda's life with Steve and Brady is when they decide to move together to Brooklyn, much to the girl's disappointment. At first, Miranda has doubts that her life will get better here but as she looks outside from the kitchen window, he sees Steve playing with Brady in the yard, and she thinks it would be selfish of her to ever deny this to her family. Next comes sweet Charlotte, who has been trying so hard to be pregnant to the point that she got upset when Miranda got pregnant when she didn't even try anything. When she was finally impregnated, she miscarried her baby, bringing to an emotional breakdown. But she wasn't alone to go through this, as her divorce lawyer, now her husband Harry was there with her, for her, the whole way and never gave up hope. Life seem to be laughing at Charlotte's face as after Miranda got pregnant, Charlotte's dog, Elizabeth Taylor got pregnant after being gangbanged in the park. Harry then proposes adoption, an idea that seemed unlikely to Charlotte at first as she wanted her own child. But then her heart gave in and embraces the idea. Again, bad luck strikes the Goldenblatt residence as the first couple that wanted to give up their child for adoption to Charlotte decided to change their minds. Charlotte doesn't give up hope and hope finally answers her call as they receive a picture of their baby in the series finale. Charlotte breaks into tears as her dream has been finally realized: she's a mother. And last but definitely not least, the controversy of the show: Samantha Jones, PR: "Translation: I give great head." Samantha has been the favorite, yet the most hated character by so many on the show for her boldness, her outrageous and provocative views on sex and men. Yet, who would have ever thought that this sassy diva could express emotions. Season 6, she meets Jerry Jerod, a waiter at a restaurant called Raw, serving everything cooked below 118 degrees, basically, lawn in a bowl, to quote Miranda. This waiter turns out to be a lot younger than her, but "the best sex I have ever had in years." But little did she know that this same waiter would bring about her emotions and be there as she faces her toughest challenge yet: she is diagnosed with breast cancer. For the first time, we see this wrong woman, who isn't afraid of anything, start to express fear for her life and her breasts. One of the memorable episodes is when she gives her "perspirational" speech, identifying herself as a victim of breast cancer along with thousands of other women suffering with her. Jerry, now Smith, turned out to be more than Samantha bargained for. Not only was he "a great f*ck", but a sentimentalist that isn't afraid to show the world that he loves Samantha. Samantha realizes this as he comes back from one of his acting trips all the way from Alaska and tells her that he forgot to tell her he loves her. Samantha cries and responds: " You've made me feel like no man has ever done before", an amazing breakthrough in Samantha's life. All these women have been through everything together, apart, and closer than ever as they reunite for a final walk together in the series finale. This show does not belittle men. It shows men that women are more than just things to toy around with, that they have feelings as well, and we can see that from the fina male characters in the show and some in between. These women are role models to so many in not just what they do, but what they are, for being there for each other through the toughest times, showing a whole new side to girl-talk. I may be a guy, but this show has been truly an experience for me.

Farewell, Sex and the City. You will truly be missed.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Sex and the City Deviated Way too Much for My Liking

6/10
Author: Sebastian (sts-26) from Canada
14 December 2008

I first caught SATC in the late nineties, and thought it was great. At the time the show really captured a certain nineties sensibility - it was cynical, tongue-in-cheek, adult. Though not your average SATC fan - heterosexual, thirty-something male working in IT - I became obsessed, and was sure to see each new episode the first time it aired. However, over time I became disillusioned with the series.

First, I eventually read the book. Despite the author's reluctance to say anything, the show never was much like the book, and has - over the years - strayed far far away. The book is, like most of Candace Bushnell's work, insightful and witty, with its humor derived from a certain urbane severity; it shares more with the works of Carrie Fischer and Tama Janowitz than any of the stuff now labeled Chick Lit.

Bushnell's characters may fall in love, even marry. They may have Manolos and Birkin bags, but this is all background noise of sorts. Bushnell is an under-rated pop-anthropologist, depicting the tribes that inhabit the big city. We may no longer be hunting our food, or struggling to keep the fire going, but it is still all about survival. Bushnell is great at depicting the primal hunger that, while it once made man fight to the death over territory or a fresh kill, now makes women deck themselves out in top gear and hunt down that Banker or Fortune 500 Executive, or fight tooth-and-nail to break through the glass ceiling.

Second, somewhere midlife, SATC, the show, got lost. All that incidental stuff - the shoes and bags, and places-to-be-seen - moved from the background to the foreground. The show became one long glossy luxury goods advertisement, the kind found in Vanity Fair. The movie underlines this - while there are great story lines, etc, the theatrical release is one obscene orgy of consumerism and decadence.

Too bad. The last years of SATC is an insult to both the book and the early years of the show. It is certainly an insult to the public, but - considering SATC was most popular in its later years - maybe the insult is much deserved.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

Sex and the city

3/10
Author: VidSteh from Slovenia
11 November 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To be hones, I used to like this show and watch it regularly, but now (thank god!) I don't understand why did I watch it. Sex and the city is one of the most pointless and insulting TV shows I've ever seen. I really don't get the point of this show, despite of trying. People are saying, that Sex and the city is funny. In what way? By cursing all the time, talking about vibrators and the size of the penis? Give me a break.

I don't understand the plot: we have four girls who are trying to find a perfect man by sleeping with every dork, who comes around. And this show is all about four spoiled chicks, who are sleeping with every man in the city, but in the end they admit the best pleasure comes out of the penis vibrators. And yeah... the show is trying to tell us, that sex is the most important thing in every relationship. If you can have a good sex, you're a good husband (or wife). It doesn't matter if you want to be loyal and having a good heart.. the size does matter.

The biggest problem is also bad acting. The four main actresses (Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattral, Cynthia Nixon and Kristin Davis) are so bad and unconvincing, that it makes me sick just watching this show. Parker is just screaming and complaining all the time, Cattral is showing her old boobs and saying "the f - word" all the time, Davis delivers her smile (and nothing else) and Nixon acts like she is bored all the time. And yes... men are sex - hungry pigs in this show. But, judging by this show, women are not much better. This show is insulting for men and women. The women are shown so primitive and emotionless, like they don't have any heart, just hunger for sex. It's insulting for everyone.

Sex and the city is one of the worst TV shows and I'm glad that the show ended, because it delivers bad acting and pointless stories. The whole world is not all about sex and vibrators.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Splendid!!

Author: VivienLeighsnumber1fan (cocoababs1@lycos.com) from London, England, UK
21 May 2002

.."Sex And The City" is so unique, so original, so fresh, I totally understand why it appeals to men, women.... These stories are delivered with such honesty, and rawness that you can't help but say to yourself: "oh my God, I feel like that too!" or "that happens to me!" We all know of someone, who has experienced 'something' similar to the story lines. That's the beauty of "Sex And The City". It tells it like it is. And Something has to be said for the BRILLIANT performances each and every one of these women (and men) gives. Sarah Jessica Parker is amazing. She radiates every emotion to perfection. Kim Cattrall is my favorite. She's a blonde bombshell who does not beat around the bush. Her character is so openly honest with 'everything', you can't help but love her character "Samantha" and either cheer or crack up at her episodes. Cynthia Nixon's character is awesome. I think we all have a little bit of "Miranda" in all of us. And Kristin Davis as the annoying, "Charlotte", gives the story lines that feeling of "hope" and "innocence". This show truly deserves all the praise and awards it's currently getting. Do yourself a favor, buy and see "Sex And The City" and see for yourself. You'll be hooked, and you'll discover a world that many try to "avoid". We're only human! We deserve a little "Sex and the City".

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 83 people found the following review useful:

Great, honest, and funny show

Author: jimmyplm from Chapel Hill, NC
20 October 2000

I absolutely love this show. Every episode is fascinating and thought-provoking. Carrie, Miranda, Sam, and Charlotte are all wonderful to watch. I learn so much about myself and humans in general by watching this show. Anyone who has not experienced "Sex and the City" MUST do so as soon as possible. This is the best show to come to television in a long time.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history