IMDb > "Behind the Music" (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Behind the Music"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Behind the Music" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 16 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Behind the Music

Author: Gunnar Friðrik Eðvarðsson from Iceland
17 May 2003

Could be so much better. They often talk about lot of things that has nothing in common with music or the artists. They should hire real music experts to work on this show because it is missing a lot especially the shows that are about certain years in music. They could do so much better with this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Best of the genre!

Author: AlanSmithee0
31 January 2002

When Behind The Music debuted in 1997 with the Milli Vanilli story, it was an instant hit and became one of the finest biographical series ever probably second only to A&E's "Biography". Its in-depth and gripping situations definately makes it a spectacular series. It also still ranks above its lame knock-offs like the E! True Hollywood Story and Sci-ography. You probably won't find a better music series. Without a doubt, a 10/10!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Great Show

Author: Brian Washington (Sargebri@att.net) from Los Angeles, California
27 September 2003

This is probably the best show that was ever on VH-1. I love the fact that it will look at how much of a price today's rock stars had to pay in order to become as big as they are and the fact that being a rock star isn't as glamorous as it seems. However, my favorite features have always been the ones that look at a particular year (1968, 1970, 1972 etc.) or the ones that look at cultural phenomenas (Woodstock and Studio 54). I wish VH-1 would bring back this show because it is sorely missed.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable but became very predictable

Author: fivefids from United States
24 March 2005

While I really enjoyed this show, I found one thing about it quite amusing; with the exception of Ted Nugent and Jim Croce, they could have filmed one synopsis, or template, with a place-holder that said "Insert artist name here." Seems every famous rock star from the 60s and 70s has almost the same story - they have talent and as a result they get very rich and famous in their early 20s. They begin using drugs, as a result they lose their families then eventually their band breaks up. Fueled by that, they sink further into chemical dependency and almost die. Then they meet a new wife, go through treatment, make up with their old friends, put their band back together and are now struggling desperately to re-capture the fame and prestige they once had. It fits for most artists and I find that quite amusing. An amazing testament to the power the record companies and promoters had in the 1970s. Very enjoyable to watch just the same.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Behind the Music is the worst music show ever.

Author: Avg. Joe (jbaylot@hotmail.com) from Vicksburg, Mississippi
3 April 2000

Behind the Music is the worst music show ever. All they're interested in is pointing out the shortcomings of all of the artists they profile. They deride the heck out of 'em, like a tabloid show. I liked it at first, thinking these quirks simply a "new-show-with-no-budget" thing. But BtM never changed.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Behind The Music should hang it up if BRITNEY SPEARS is thier idea of a seasoned rock star

Author: mamamiasweetpeaches from New York, NY
12 November 2003

When BEHIND THE MUSIC on VH1 first came out it was Must See TV. We never missed an episode. Even when it wasnt an artist we particularly cared for, we watched (an example: TLC who I dont like ANY of thier songs...but thier story was quite interesting: how they were selling millions of albums and making very little money or (who can ever forget?) Lisa torching the house because her boyfriend didnt buy her sneakers. My all-time favorite Behind The Musics were Milli Vanilli and Leif Garrett....again, not my favorite celebrities, but still great stories! I remember one year on my birthday they were going to do Bon Jovi. I was psyched. When I watched it within the first ten minutes you were pretty much told that Bon Jovi had fully consented to this BTM and that no dirt was going to be dished. Well, what fun is that?????!!!!! Then a couple of months later BTM was doing newer artists like Barenaked Ladies and Creed...who had only been around a few years and not really made thier marks on the world(as far as Im concerned: neither band HAS made thier mark to date.) So i lost interest and stopped watching. Now this week while watching SOMETHING ELSE on VH1 I saw a commercial for BEHIND THE MUSIC BRITNEY SPEARS. Oh please! Lets list the great songwriters of our time folks: John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Bob Dylan, Paul Simon and...Britney Spears???(does she even WRITE those bubblegum melodys, or are they indeed written for her?) Tell us how in 4 years she has gone from a flirty school girl to a serious artist. oh wait...she hasnt. Note to BTM 20 years from now when we're all wondering whatever happened to her (like Tiffany!) THATS when you do a show telling us about her substance abuse, relationship problems, and short-lived career in porn.(if anything that exciting ever happens to Brit, and I doubt it will)

Was the above review useful to you?

Pretty insightful

Author: MovieAddict2014 from UK
5 November 2005

I got the VH1 Behind the Music documentary on Guns N' Roses and thought it was really good (as far as TV specials go). It wasn't extremely in-depth but it had some good interviews and a few funny anecdotes. It also exposed some of the sleazy attributes of the band that are not typically focused on, at least not today.

I have seen a few of the other episodes on television (in segments) and they were all pretty good as well. The one on Madonna taught me a lot (not that I necessarily WANTED to know very much!).

If you like music and want to see the "behind-the-scenes" (or some of it) of your favorite band, check this out. VH1 isn't usually a reliable channel for quality programming but this is certainly one of their better outputs.

Was the above review useful to you?

One of my favorite shows!

Author: Christopher Smith
8 September 2002

BEHIND THE MUSIC instantly became one of my favorite shows when it first aired in 1997. It's a fascinating and entertaining look at musicians rise and fall from fame. However, there have been some episodes where I've changed the channel. It depends on the musician or band. If I like their music, I'll watch it. If I don't like their music, I'll turn it off. Overall, it's still an amazing show.

Was the above review useful to you?

What Good Can You Not Say About This Series

Author: Eric Silva (polynesiancr@yahoo.co.jp) from Riverside, California
11 October 1999

I Am Compelled To Watch This And Some Like MC Hammer, Vanilla Ice, And Of Course Milli Vanilli (Both Versions) 2 To 3 Times. Whoever Thought Of The Idea To Start This Fine Show Should Get Commended Or, In Due Time Get Inducted Into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Because This Show Is A Historic Dent In The History Of Rock And Roll.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"Let Us Take Time To Face The Music"

Author: pooh-24 from Los Angeles
15 August 2000

When they started this documentary series VH1 wanted to highlight music acts that were once so big you thought they would never come back down to earth.Hence the "shows" on Milli Vanilli and MCHammer, BTM's first two shows.They were successful.These stories about Milli Vanilli and MC Hammer were the usual entertainment stories of acts rising like a rocket and falling like a stick it is as good lesson for anyone whether in the music business or not.

BTM has had many shows on many acts that had the problem of quick overwhelming success. These various acts were not able to handle success for a variety of reasons falling down back to where they were previously in their careers.BTM has portrayed various music acts in the three years the show has been on the air.It is a decent documentary,not the best mind you,but somewhat good enough for those who could not remember the acts they have showcased on BTM.

The show should be called on the carpet for having shows concerning performers that really shouldn't be showcased here,Madonna,Cher,Bette Midler,Celine Dion,these are celeberties who are in the tabloids all the time,a show about them in something like Behind The Music is pure free publicity.

Or how about acts that are currently still in vogue with the general public,Shania Twain,Celine Dion,Ricky Martin,Dr.Dre,TLC,Goo Goo Dolls.These acts still sell tickets to shows people of today want to go to folks,they aren't novelty or oldies acts,their careers haven't had the time for a true retrospective to be put forth about them and VH1 should ashamed about doing a show on BTM with them in it.

Behind The Music is a documentary about acts like Peter Frampton who sold the most albums in one year with "Frampton Comes Alive" in 1976,only to have nothing in the bank and walking the streets by the late 1980's,discarded and forgotten.

It is a documentary about acts like Vanilla Ice who was so hot and so popular at one time with his hit "Ice Baby Baby" you had to live in a cave not to know who Vanilla Ice was, now just another guy named joe settling down to a normal life trying to recapture the old magic he once had but finding out the success he had comes around just once.

It is a documentary about acts like Jim Croce,who worked long and hard for success,a talented man who finally was seeing some success with "You Mess Around With Jim" among other hits,Croce was just about to settle down and stop touring and live with his wife and young child until tragedy stuck and Jim Croce was left us due to an unfortunate plane crash.

Behind The Music should do more shows on acts like Jim Croce and give them 90 minutes to do their story,like they needlessly did for Cher,patheic.Done longer and without glossing over facts and not being too cheesy BTM ,a very good documentary program can become a better one.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history