IMDb > Kiss Toledo Goodbye (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kiss Toledo Goodbye
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kiss Toledo Goodbye More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Reality flew out the window with this one

Author: (durangeek12@aol.com) from toledo, ohio
16 September 2001

Ok, for starters, I live in Toledo, Ohio. No-I'm not going to go into one of those righteous rants about how much better my city is, personally I don't care that much..but COME ON! It didn't even look like Toledo...all the high rises were wrong and our downtown area doesn't have cute little Italian family eateries, it's dilapidated and dirty. For the most part suburbia is in Maumee. Also, the mobsters from Detroit were totally unbelievable, and I hate to say that because I love Christopher Walken. I thought maffioso's had to be fairly intelligent... To be nice-Living in Ohio isn't the same as being retarded. We have our share, but really! Rent at your own risk, better yet, wait until it comes on network tv.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Not the Worst Way to Spend a Couple Hours

6/10
Author: (christiano@snet.net) from Connecticut
3 March 2001

There are far, far worse movies out there. For a mobster movie with less intensity than the standards, this is a lot of fun.

Michael Rappaport is (as always) excellent, and this film offers one of the few opportunities we've had to see Christopher Walken in a less-than-terrifying role.

Sure, the film meanders a bit, has little poignancy, and, in the end, is mostly forgettable...but it's also a bit off the beaten path and is worth a rental, especially for an evening where you just don't want to bother with another lackluster Hollywood Blockbuster.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A very imperfect movie ........

3/10
Author: merklekranz from United States
25 June 2013

"Kiss Toledo Goodbye" is a very imperfect movie. Essentially it is a very sloppy movie. The editing is a real chop shop job, with absolutely zero flow to the story. Characters disappear for many minutes, then suddenly reappear for no particular reason. Christopher Walken gives a rather uninspired, typical quirky performance. The combination of attempted comedy along with a lot of gun banging goes nowhere. Especially weak is the "surprise" ending that is totally unbelievable and makes what precedes it even less compelling. In summary, do not let the presence of Christopher Walken tempt you into watching this, as it is a very lame excuse for entertainment. - MERK

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

What a monumental waste of real talent!

4/10
Author: Elswet from .: Fiendish Writings in the Dark :.
31 May 2007

This has a great cast, and a great premise, but unfortunately, Chris Kattan already did this, and did it BETTER! Unperceived family ties drag a young man into the gangster life. Unfortunately, this is pretty lame, in spite of the fantastic cast. What a monumental waste of real talent! Every possible stereotypical Sicilian mob element possible has been brought into this production, but instead of making the individual components work, it flooded the story line with unnecessary "Italianizations;" most of them ineffectual and out of place, clashing with one another, and rendering scene after scene nearly unwatchable.

Sorry, but I didn't derive much pleasure from this, at all. If you want a good mobster/comedy, please do yourself a favor and check out Corky Romano. While it's no masterpiece, it's light years ahead of this.

It rates a 3.8/10 from...

the Fiend :.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

From the Incompetent School of Filmmaking

1/10
Author: Starch from Seattle
24 July 2001

An unfunny comedy with a silly premise that moves arbitrarily from situation to situation with little or no regard for narrative sense. In short, a quintessential product of the incompetent school of filmmaking.

I won't bother with the story or character details, since they don't make much sense anyway. At points, the characters suddenly appear in some new setting and situation, with no clue where they are or how they got there. In some cases, the filmmakers apparently tried to correct this after completing the main shooting, adding some voice-over dialogue on top of exterior shots by way of exposition.

The comic and dramatic situations are hackneyed, contrived and unconvincing. The dialogue is uninteresting and unnatural. Some scenes seem to have been improvised (I mean that in a bad way). From time to time, it looks like there was no script for a scene, just "the characters argue about something, then stop."

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

strange

8/10
Author: takmaz (takmaz@netone.com.tr) from Istanbul, Turkiye
11 March 2002

there are some movies, that seems bad, but they're not. kiss toledo goodbye is a kind of movie that you cant count on anybodies reference or review. I like it very much, there were weird dialogs, weird jokes. but It cheered up my sunday morning. and 3.9 is not the real value of this movie

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

i was disappointed

1/10
Author: utfilmmike from TOLEDO, OHIO
6 September 2005

all i wanted to comment on was the fact that the creators of this film seemed to do absolutely no visiting of Toledo. wherever it was that they shot this movie looks nothing like Toledo and nothing referenced or shown in the film is in Toledo not even the skyline shown in the film. i mean couldn't they just shoot the film in Toledo for crying out loud or at least try to learn about the city before trying to represent it on film. the movie itself was horrible too but with a great cast. i just was so upset as a Toledo filmmaker myself that they would disrespect my city so much by ignoring it and using the name in its film.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

My Mom made me watch this

1/10
Author: jed-estes from United States Kentucky Hancock
8 August 2006

My mom is a semi fan of Christopher Walken and this appealed to her I guess though I am usually baffled by what she picks up when I let her choose a movie to watch. I too like Christopher Walken and also so saw on the box that Nacy Allen was in it. I love her from her Brian De Palma days and the Robocop film series. So I went with it and watched this movie. Little did i know that Michael Rapperport would turn out to be the star of the film. I can take Rapperport in small doses like, True Romance, Bamboozled and Hitch. But a whole movie surrounding him, naw can't handle that, unfortunately I was forced too. Because if I give my Mom crap about watching stupid movies like this she will in-turn gripe at me for making her watch good movies like Last House on the Left and The Hills Have Eyes, so I this is how i'm forced into watching crap like this. My mom will never learn. The film however has only one saving grace and that is the appearance of Chris Walken as the second in charge of a mob family. Nancy Allen on the other hand has so little screen time it is a wonder she was involved with the film at all. She must have owed someone a favor. Avoid this film at all cost unless you are a Chris Walken completest.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history