IMDb > 10 Things I Hate About You (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
10 Things I Hate About You
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
10 Things I Hate About You More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 56: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 556 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

the taming of the shrew

Author: tlcook-3 from United States
22 July 2008

I think that this movie will be referred to as one of the great classics of its time in the future. I know that it is cheesy and predictable... but when i watch classic movies today i find the cheesiness and predictability endearing. One day I hope people will watch this movie and understand that this movie provides pure entertainment, in the way that movies and theater have always provided entertainment.

Plus the fact that it is based on a Shakespearean play only adds to its intellectual depth. It appears to be a shallow romantic comedy but appeals to the more knowledgeable to appreciate the great literature that came before our time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A superior teen comedy

8/10
Author: Max_cinefilo89 from Italy
14 June 2008

"Teen comedy" and Shakespeare: two concepts that shouldn't fit very well in the same sentence, especially if the former turns out to be an adaptation of a work by the latter, set in the present day. Thankfully, the writers of this film get it right most of the time, which is why 10 Things I Hate About You should be rightfully considered one of the more interesting interpretations of the Bard's works.

One of the smartest moves on the makers' behalf is actually the choice not to reveal the origin of the story: Shakespeare's name isn't mentioned anywhere in the credits. Instead, we get a few playful and fun references to the original author and the comedy The Taming of the Shrew, on which 10 Things is loosely based: the high school where most of the action unfolds is called Padua (the city where The Taming takes place), the female protagonist's last name is Stratford (Shakespeare's place of birth) and the male main character is named Verona, after the town where Romeo & Juliet was set.

Instead of two ill-fated lovers, we have two people who can't stand each other: Kat Stratford (Julia Stiles), the "shrew" who refuses to socialize with anyone, and Patrick Verona (Heath Ledger), an Australian textbook rebel who allegedly served jail time for setting a cop on fire. Thw two are brought together thanks to the actions of a younger boy, Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), who has a crush on Kat's sister Bianca (Marisa Oleynik). Unfortunately for him, her father (Larry Miller) won't let her date guys until Kat dates someone as well, and since no one will spontaneously go out with Kat, Cameron and is friend Michael (David Krumholtz) come up with the idea of paying Patrick to ensure everyone gets their happy ending.

Naturally, as in all rom-coms starring teenagers, things get a little more complicated than that, and so the entire third act is about how everyone screws up and has to fix the mess they caused. It's all quite predictable, but that doesn't lessen the movie's appeal: sure, it'a very traditional genre comedy, but it's executed with wit and pace, both delivered by sparkling dialogue and above-average performances. Stiles, best known for more troubled roles, pulls off the difficult task of making Kat sympathetic in spite of her apparent coldness, while Ledger, in the part that got him noticed in Hollywood, goes beyond a mere "brooding thug" clichè. So much of the movie is in their hands one wishes there was less focus on Gordon-Levitt and Oleynik, who might provide the tools for setting the story in motion, but also happen to be incredibly daft compared to the main couple and constitute the film's biggest flaw (paired with an embarrassing paint-ball scene). Fortunately, that kind of blandness is compensated by a terrific adult cast, most notably Miller (familiar to Seinfeld fans) and Allison Janney, whose two-scene cameo easily qualifies as the best laugh in the whole picture.

To summarize, romantic comedies aren't always that good, especially when teenagers are part of the main plot, but when they work, the result can be something as warm and funny as 10 Things I Hate About You. Then again, the Shakespearean roots of the screenplay must have helped a great deal too.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

My insurance does not cover PMS!

8/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
23 January 2008

This is supposedly based upon some play by Shakespeare. Who cares? he is so last millennium. This is a fantastic and funny movie that was brilliantly written by Karen McCullah Lutz & Kirsten Smith. You can be sure that I will look for more of their work.

I never came across Julia Stiles until the Bourne trilogy, and then I caught her in a quirky little film called The Business of Strangers. This performance here makes me want to see everything she has done. She was just fantastic and I am totally in love with her! Heath ledger was also perfect in this film. You can see why he became the star that he was until this week. I understand this film made him and you can certainly see why.

If you want funny and romantic and cute, there isn't a better film.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

My Favorite Movie- Ever!

9/10
Author: kirbycrazi from United States
1 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love this movie, it's my favorite of all time. The cast was wonderful, the script hilarious, the soundtrack amazing and the characters lively.

The entire time I was watching this I kept marveling over how cute everyone was. Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles made an adorable couple on the set, as did the actor who played Cameron and Larisa Olyenik (sp?).

****** The acting was great, as well. The characters were portrayed wonderfully. The only character that I didn't really understand was Chastity. She was friends with Bianca... then what happened? Also, I nearly cringed at the horrible acting during the scene in the bathroom where she says, "very generous, princess..." The character of Chastity definitely could have been done better. ******

I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good teen romance.

Kudos go out to the makers and cast of 10 Things I Hate About You!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Underrated

8/10
Author: aimless-46 from Kentucky
16 July 2007

"10 Things I Hate About You" (1999) is probably the all-time most ambitious of the teen comedies. Updates of classic literature like this have become relatively common; "Emma" is adapted as "Clueless", "Othello" as "O", "Pygmalion" becomes ''She's All That'', etc. etc. "10 Things I Hate About You" is an adaptation of Shakespeare's "Taming of the Shrew" (which has also been adapted as the Broadway musical and film "Kiss Me Kate".

The strange title is less Shakespeare derived than a play on the Elizabeth Barrett Browning sonnet that begins ''How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.'' Even knowing this, the title withholds its relationship to the film content until the climatic scene late in the film when Katerina (Julia Stiles) reads her poem (in iambic pentameter) to the class: "I hate the way you talk to me, and the way you cut your hair. I hate the way you drive my car. I hate it when you stare. I hate your big dumb combat boots, and the way you read my mind. I hate you so much it makes me sick; it even makes me rhyme. I hate the way you're always right. I hate it when you lie. I hate it when you make me laugh, even worse when you make me cry. I hate it when you're not around, and the fact that you didn't call. But mostly I hate the way I don't hate you, not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all". Either the producers can't count of they didn't like the sound of "13 Things I Hate About You"

The film was fairly popular at the time of its release and made a considerable amount of money, but critical reaction was mixed. Most of the negative reviews came from critics who felt the film was too distanced from the original; specifically that Katerina was not Shakespeare's mega-shrew and that her taming was just too tame. While these observations are correct, in this case toning down the original makes the film work better. A less gritty story allows for more lyrical storytelling and better a unity with the great pop soundtrack and the inventive cinematography. And few will miss the original's out-of-control misogyny. The film goes out on fantastic rotational helicopter shot of the group "Letters from Cleo" as they perform the closing song on top of spectacular Stadium High School in Tacoma.

The story begins with obstetrician Walter Stratford's (Larry Miller) grudging agreement to allow his younger daughter Bianca Stratford (Larisa Oleynik) to date if her older sister Katerina (Stiles) starts dating. Walter's occupation has made him super-paranoid about teen pregnancy, but he feel quite safe with this compromise because Katerina is a brain with little interest in boys and an abrasive enough personality to drive away anyone who might be attracted to her.

Miller and Stiles are exceptional in these roles, the best performances of their careers. Oleynik (formally Alex Mack) does not have nearly as much to work with but is solid in her role. My main criticism is that the film has the same dynamic as "Some Kind of Wonderful", with the abrasive tomboy significantly more desirable than the foxy girl every guy is after. Back in her "Alex Mack" days Oleynik was the #1 ranked female in a People Magazine survey of the most beautiful person in the world. I don't see it and I'm pretty sure that I have a lot of company.

One interesting bit of trivia is that Oleynik went on to attend and graduate from Sarah Lawrence College, the school that Katerina wants to attend in the film.

Female viewers will generally be pleased with Heath Ledger as Patrick Verona (afterall the action takes place at Padua High School), who is hired by two of Bianca's admirers to tame the shrew. Joey Donner (Andrew Keegan) is the obnoxious pretty boy who is cruising for his comeuppance throughout the film; but he is not close to the bad guy standard set by "Some Kind of Wonderful" and Pretty in Pink". Allison Janney is hilarious as a porno-writing guidance counselor.

I really liked the tentative feeling between Patrick and Katerina. In one of the most enjoyable scenes he appears in the grandstands while she is at soccer practice and sings ''I Love You Baby'' over the P.A. system, having bribed the school's marching band to accompany him down on the field.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

good things come in small packages

8/10
Author: susannakerr from United States
11 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think this is a fun adaptation of "Taming of the Shrew." It is the ultimate girl rage movie. I love the Cat Stratford character, she is so bad ass. I like that she values intelligence over being popular. Heath Ledger is still cute in this movie even though his hair is extremely weird looking. I mean what were they thinking with raggedy mane. There are a lot of little funny parts in this movie that make it great. For example: when the people crash the nerd party, and the doorbell rings and the king of the nerds says "That must be Nigel with the Brie" Then a whole group of cool kids come running in and if you look closely you can see the Nigel character carrying a trey of brie! It cracks me up every time. I really enjoy this movie. The small characters really make the movie; the dad and the principal are hilarious. I highly recommend eating some brie and watching this enjoyable film!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Where is their house?

8/10
Author: zorro_42 from Canada
13 January 2007

Watched this film again recently on TBS.

Loved the movie. I think I enjoyed it more years later.

We watched it again recently & even though it is a teen flick rework of a classic - Heath & Julia are great in this film.

Also fun to see the younger version of _______ (from Numbers)

However - where in Seattle is that house? The wrap-around porch is AMAZING! My wife wants to go look at the area around their house when we're next in Seattle.

If anyone can tell us where the house is - we'd really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

paint balling?

10/10
Author: onlydweepie from United States
11 January 2007

first of all, i love this movie!!! perfect cast, cute story, hot boy, what more could you need in a teen movie?? so what i was wondering is does anyone know what the name of the place that Kat and Patrick played paint ball? where it was just balloons with paint in them? it looks like so much fun! i really want to go try it out. i don't even know if it is real or not. my boyfriend loves to paint ball and i think it would be a fun date for valentines day. i don't want to go play with guns and stuff because i don't want to come home with bruises on valentines day. so if anyone knows if it is a real place and what it is called, that would be a huge help to me. thank you so much!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

great mix of characters

10/10
Author: madman_salv from United Kingdom
28 September 2006

i have watched this so many times and i have never gotten sick of it because it is the best and most funniest film.I wouldn't usually get into a film like this.I went to the cinema and i was surprised so i bought it. The reason that i thought it was incredible was because of the taming of the shrew link which made the film more excitable.I laughed at everything that Kat said in the movie because i loved her character and i liked her don't care attitude.Bianca was my favourite character of the lot because of her dumb humour and shes a person who thinks she is so popular.This movie has got the most strangest but the best cast of characters which are perfect for the part.I say 2 huge thumbs up for this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Rare "teen" movie worth watching

8/10
Author: voyageur0713 from United States
13 March 2005

"10 Things I Hate About You" is a rarity in the genre of "teen" movies. The teens are for the most part smart, and the film is not non-stop drug and sex obsession. In fact, that's hardly a part of the plot at all. I did find the glorifying of the "Let's Party 'Till We Puke - that's what parties are for!" attitude unfortunate and disappointing, because the characters were otherwise very intelligent and mostly independent thinkers. But, that, too, was only a small part of the whole.

This movie is intelligently written and acted and does not rely on the tired clichés that ARE nearly all other teen movies. The interaction between characters is the real draw, though Larry Miller playing the same character Larry Miller always plays in everything he does, gets old quick.

8 of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 56: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history