IMDb > Nutty Professor II: The Klumps (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Nutty Professor II: The Klumps
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 174 reviews in total 

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

How much Eddie Murphy can you take?

6/10
Author: FlickJunkie-2 from Atlanta, GA
7 January 2001

How much one likes `The Nutty Professor II: The Klumps' depends on how much Eddie Murphy you can stand. After grossing more than $125 million at the box office, I would have to conclude that moviegoers couldn't get enough. This sequel is a one-man show built around a character skit from the first movie. Murphy plays eight different roles and gives a tour de force performance without the benefit of any story whatever. I got the impression that the writers were superfluous anyway, since Murphy was obviously ad libbing about 90% of the time.

The humor is lowbrow and delivers a good deal of physical comedy laced with sexual innuendo. Though Murphy's caricatures are consistently droll, they rely too much on unflattering stereotypes of blacks. The first dinner scene is a rehash of the dinner scene from the first film. After that scene, most of the film is a repetition of the same tired sight gags. Though Murphy's amusing electricity runs through every character, once the novelty wears off the film's appeal wears thin.

Kudos to the makeup department for an outstanding job on Murphy's various alter egos. Otherwise, the production of this film was nothing out of the ordinary. Larry Miller also gets a very honorable mention as the obnoxious Dean Richmond, getting his just deserts at the hands of a giant hamster.

This film has some laughs but not enough substance for a feature length movie. I rated it a 6/10. Add two or three points if you are an Eddie Murphy fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Not very funny, and even less plot

4/10
Author: Denver53 from Denver, Colo.
1 August 2000

I expected to see lots of variations of the humor that The Nutty Professor (the Murphy version) used in the classic scene of the Klumps at the dinner table. Instead, what little humor this sequel had split time with disgust as the movie went mostly for sexy granny jokes.

The sad thing is, more fart humor would have been an *improvement.* This movie was boring. It was uninteresting. It missed numerous opportunities to have some fun. And it spent too much time showing off make-up and not enough time being entertaining.

Perhaps most painful to watch was Eddie Murphy just being Eddie Murphy (as Buddy Love). I never understand why some actors/directors think that if a character screams real loud and makes a face, it's funny. It is especially not funny when it happens 2-3 times. In the first movie, Buddy Love was funny (if cruel), and his observations were right on target. In The Klumps, Love is like a grown version of that Home Alone kid, when he grabs his face and just yells at the camera. Uh, if you are done shouting now, can we move on?

Janet Jackson was fluff. And I don't know what she has done with her chest, but it seems unusually huge here.

I suppose it would be appropriate to say how well done the make up is as Murphy plays his half-dozen or so characters. Yes, he makes them seem like different people, at least superficially. But none of the characters are really there, you know? They each have little tag lines, and maybe a quirk, and those lines and that quirk are used to death. Take the granny. Yep, she likes sex. She is a sex machine. She wants every man. OK, uh, so? We've seen that 20 times. Can we get to something new?

Overall, I feel sad to see the level Murphy's wit has been reduced to. He used to be more biting, more insightful and more, well, funny. Now he is a human cartoon. I gave this movie a 4.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Basically I thought this film had some funny moments, Eddie Murphy is amazing, Janet looked great, but the story was weak, and overall it wasn't nearly as funny as the first.

5/10
Author: Chris Brown (christopher6453@hotmail.com) from Fresno, CA USA
20 June 2002

Eddie Murphy once again slaps on the fat suit to play Sherman Klump. And Mama Klump, and Big Daddy Klump, and Grandma Klump, and Brother Klump, and Buddy Love (although without the fat suit on that one). Since the Klump dinner scene was easily the best scene in the original film, they decided to focus on the entire family in the sequel. And somehow got Janet Jackson to fall in love with Sherman. I wish I knew how that happened. Anyway, while the movie still focuses on Sherman and his quest for love and scientific goals (this time making people younger), the rest of the family gets involved in the story lines. And I thought that took away from the heart of the film. While it was fun to see all the Murphy characters, there needed to be a better story line for them, rather than a bad marriage. Although I will admit the horny Grandmother Klump story line was very funny. They should make a movie just about her next time. But I regress. The story line with Sherman and Buddy, about how Buddy was still inside Sherman, and Sherman managed to get him out, only to have Buddy come to life, and then Sherman is becoming more stupid by the minute and will go into a vegetable state unless he eats Buddy. It's all very cheesy. I mean come on, one tear from Janet near the end manages to bring Sherman back to life? It was all very corny.

This is not to say that there aren't funny scenes in the movie. Again, I thought the best scene was the entire Klump family going out to dinner and all the hi-jinks that ensue. And there were other funny moments scattered throughout the film, but not enough for me to really get into the movie and enjoy it. Basically it was a moment to moment film, not an overall enjoyment film. Eddie Murphy is amazing, and Martin Lawrence has got nothing on dressing up as a fat woman, but it's just not enough. The Klumps is something you can rent for a quiet evening at home.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny, vulgar excuse for comedy

1/10
Author: Flyer-6 from Nashville, TN
6 March 2001

If you think a fart is the appropriate punchline for most jokes, this movie might be for you. It makes Animal House look like upscale, sophisticated comedy. But the worst thing about this movie is not its non-stop, juvenile, toilet-oriented attempts at humor, but that fact that it is NOT FUNNY. It is just long and dumb. I finally got so bored that 3/4 of the way through it I rewound it and took it back to Blockbuster. This movie is not fit for adults or kids.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Oh - go on. Let's all throw some custard pies...

Author: Edu-16 from New Zealand
31 October 2001



Plot - dreadful Script - dire The film in general is of course terrible.

But.... Im sorry, I laughed, and laughed alot. I probably need councilling or something, maybe ECT ? Possibly, but Klumps is funny. Eddie Murphy is an exceptionally talented man - no doubts. If for no other reason, see this one just to watch him go to work.

Maybe one day he'll land a role like Alec Guiness in 'Kind Hearts and Coronets' (Barry Norman's favourite film btw)....which I probably need to go out and rent asap - by way of an antedote....

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Doesn't Measure Up

4/10
Author: ccthemovieman-1 from United States
7 November 2006

This cannot measure up to the first film - the first with Eddie Murphy, that is, not the Jerry Lewis film from 1963. (Actually, this doesn't measure up to the Lewis film, either.)

For me, the biggest disappointment was the "family" scenes in which Murphy plays almost all the roles including old ladies. In the first film, some of that was absolutely hilarious, the highlight of the movie. Here, that isn't the case. Also, some of the dialog is almost impossible to decipher. It's also too raunchy and this film should have been rated "R." A PG-13 rating is ridiculous with all the emphasis on sex. I hate to see kids watch movies like this.

Still, this had a decent share of funny moments. Also, to its credit, it is not as mean-spirited as the first film turned out to be. Still, the bad outweighs the good. It needed to be funnier, and less raunchy.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

You have to be hating the world so much to love this movie !

1/10
Author: ahmed elshikh (ahmed_abd_elreheem@yahoo.com) from Egypt
16 August 2011

This is hard to watch, hard to finish, and hard to remember.

Too far is a word this movie capably embodies. Review the number of characters Eddie Murphy plays : Sherman Klump, Buddy Love, Granny Klump, Mama Klump, Papa Klump, Young Papa Klump, Ernie Klump, and Lance Perkinscan. WAW, yet needless to worn you that too far can be too wrong sometimes. In this manner, they went so far with the filthy material to an extent turns the movie into a docudrama about the human body's middle, and its various secretions, or simply one of the most emetic movies ever made !

Mainly the idea is good "The Fountain of Youth", however the script just wanted to play dirty, with nothing but nauseating sex and endless farts in its mind.

Movies such as (John Waters)'s, since the start of the 1970s, used to be described as transgressing with historically awful scenes, frankly nasty elements, done in mostly independent production. Mainstream Hollywood comedies, since the end of the 1990s, seem to be feeding on none other than (Waters)'s inspirations. For instance the sexual humor, that this movie savors excessively, is beyond horrible. Just remember an anal sex between a man and a huge hamster, and an oral sex between 80 year old granny and her grandson's alter ego. So the historically awful scenes, the frankly nasty elements,.. are now being done with big budgets, famous stars, and sold as lovable time. See how we live an age where the major studios transgress us !

This movie is actually a milestone in the fart comedy (the Hollywood comedy once !). Among the many similar comedies nowadays this one is a godfather and a record. Makes you think deeply; had decency become so old-fashioned? Or had Hollywood become really bankrupt and incredibly dirty in the same time?

Look how many family movies Murphy had to make right after it : Shrek (2001), Dr. Dolittle 2 (2001), Daddy Day Care (2003), The Haunted Mansion (2003), Shrek 2 (2004), and Imagine That (2009). I can't precisely decide; was that a purgation? Or was it a way to woo his raising kids, trying to persuade them that he's a good movie star or nice person? The thing that I know for sure is that – unfortunately – old habits die hard, because in no time he went, or went back, to make Norbit (2007) !!

Still there is a rare angle in it. Remember the scene in which the hamster excretes, rather explodes with excrements, in the face of many dressy people at the press conference? While being one of the top nightmarish moments I have experienced with movies, not believing till now that it had been verily made, I see that it seduces brilliantly a dark place in every one of us, and even satisfies it. Sometimes we hate our world so much; hypocrisy, stupidity, corruption.. whatever the reason why, at that point we want to do what the hamster did, everyone with their hated persons who deserve such a fate best (a machine gun full of… you know what !). Ahhh, how fair am I to admit that this movie had something that could sound like "good" after all !

At any rate I detest (Nutty Professor II: The Klumps). It's poor, unfunny, and too smelly to stand. It has a talent only in bringing up a shockingly ugly thing every minute, to top it by yet another one in the next minute; which is not my thing at all ! My theory is that you have to be hating the world so much to love this movie altogether. Otherwise, you might hate its makers, wishing them the fate of the dressy people in the press conference moment !

P.S : I loved Hollywood's sneering at this piece of work in Tropic Thunder (2008). Parodying it as "The Fatties: Fart Two" made me feel that lastly I'm not alone in this universe, and that Hollywood does have a conscience, well.. some sort of it anyway !

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

could be much better

Author: Special-K88
25 April 2002

Frustrated by erratic and uncontrollable behavior at the hands of his troublesome alter ego, Professor Sherman Klump undergoes an experiment that separates his personality and allows the suave Buddy Love to become his own person. This time around they're battling each other for possession of invaluable scientific research which only further complicates matters in Sherman's personal life with colleague Jackson. Murphy, who's clearly having fun in his pull-out-all-the-stops portrayal of a horny grandmother, is as likable and energetic as he's ever been, but the script is awfully slim and throws out only a few genuinely funny ideas. A disappointment considering the impact of its predecessor. **

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

LAUGHABLY MADE!

1/10
Author: Joe Blow from Some place funnier than where The Klumps live.
1 August 2000

This film has to be the worst, if not one of, films ever made! Not once did I laugh at this attempt to be trash. Sure, critics say that "Eddie Murphy gives a rousing performance", but what about the film as a whole? Do they ever actually get into its core and speak on it? Peter Segal hasn't yet grasped the gist of comedic timing. After 'Tommy Boy', which I laughed my butt off on, this is a dissapointment to say the least. Quoting from the intelligent character that Bruce Willis played in 'The Kid', Russ Duritz, if you like this movie, you're STOOOPID.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"Viagra don't work on me no more. Been taking them like M&M's!"

7/10
Author: Predrag (pzivojinovic@yahoo.com) from Serbia
5 August 2016

"The Klumps" is just as funny as the first Nutty Professor. One aspect of the movie I enjoyed was that Eddie Murphy broadened his portrayal of the Klump family (Which, if you're not aware, every family member except the boy are Murphy. His talent is unbelievable.) and gave them larger roles in the sequel. It's a lot dirtier than the first film. We learn a heck of a lot more about Granny. The nudity scene was hilarious. The plot is about the professor, who is about to get married but his bad self, Buddy Love, is acting up. When Buddy escapes, there are two professors running lose and the professor's got himself a problem. It has many hilarious moments, but is different than the original as it's unrated and has some naughty but absolutely hilarious moments.

However, the movie isn't 100% perfect. Where it faulters is in terms of a decent story-line. It felt like a bit of a re-trip to the first movie with a similar plot. The film, though, is hilarious and will have you repeating lines for days after it, but my only recommendation is that you see it twice. The first time round, you are getting to grips with the story-line, and I have to admit, because I didn't catch all the jokes, I didn't find it that funny. But when you go back a second time, as you know the basic story-line (which is there - despite what I said earlier), you can listen in for the jokes, as they are quite hard to catch sometimes. Altogether, "Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps" is very good - in fact it is one of the best sequels that I have seen.

Overall rating: 7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history