IMDb > Tower of Terror (1997) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Tower of Terror
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Tower of Terror (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 25 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical

10/10
Author: dragonfeeder-1 from USA
14 April 2005

Has a cute whimsical side coupled with a bit of macabre.

Pretty much what you expect from a film with Steve Gutenburg.

A good movie to watch when you want something light and funny..

Reminded me a bit of Don Knotts "the ghost and Mr Chicken" in style only.

A bit too campy to really be scary..but the characters definitely lead you to believe they are scared...nice little twist through out.

Not for the hard core thriller connoisseur but definitely good for a laugh.

I'd recommend it to Don Knotts type of movie fan..

I wish they'd make more movies based on Disney rides..they only help enhance the park going experience as you can't help but think of the details you might not have noticed in the rides before watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

feel good movie

10/10
Author: riley453 from United Kingdom
16 January 2005

I completely disagree there. I thought this movie was a good movie. Good plot, good acting, just enough fear factor for the children. And to top it off, it all happens in the Hollywood Tower Hotel. I take it you have never been to Tower Of Terror in Florida. The Hotel is exactly how the movie describes it. A great feel good movie for you and the kids. Harmless, silly fun. It should be on TV around Halloween more. Good sets, good costumes, good music, and it has enough to keep you entertained the whole way through. Definitely has my vote for a good movie.

A+

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The Tower of Terror is a winner

Author: Alyssa (Allayyy) from Texas
3 October 2004

I was bored yesterday and decided to watch Disney Channel when a movie was starting. The Tower of Terror was on and I had never seen it. Since the first couple of minutes I was hooked to it and I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. The beginning reminded me of Seabiscuit with all of the beautiful outfits and the 1930's setting (all before the elevator scene). Tower of Terror is about two people....Anna (Kirsten Dunst!) and Buzzy who get involved in a old...old curse and want to help 5 ghosts out that needed to get to the 12th floor of the Hollywood Tower Hotel for a party on Halloween 1939. When the group of people get on in 1939, they disappear when they get stuck on the 11th floor. Every year it is the same...they will never be able to go to the 12th floor because no one is there to help them. Now Anna and Buzzy have to help the ghosts get to the 12th floor on Halloween night and try to help break the curse on the elevator. It is truly a good movie and is full of suspense, especially during the beginning of the film like when Sally's (i think thats the little girl's name) ghost appears and little green rain falls down. The special effects were good. The acting was great. The plot was nice too. One of Disney's better films. I recommend it for families to watch on Halloween.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Interesting to know the whole story of the ride

6/10
Author: Chrissie Smith (phantom_lover_1881) from United States
28 October 2006

I absolutely love the Tower of Terror ride in California Adventure, so when I found out that there was a movie about it, I wanted to watch it. Since it is a Disney movie, it's cheesy, but still interesting. I mean, the ghosts weren't scary (especially after seeing "Sixth Sense") and the plot could've been better.

If you love the ride at California Adventure (in Disneyland) or at MGM Studios (in Disneyworld) then you should watch it. But be warned: the ride is so much better than the movie. Don't get your hopes too high up. Also, at parts it can get boring, but some parts are actually good. Overall, it is about 6.3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Terroriffic

10/10
Author: jupiterspecht from United States
22 July 2013

Made for TV? More like too good for theaters! Disney's Tower of Terror is based on The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror at Walt Disney World's Disney's Hollywood Studios, formerly Walt Disney World's Disney-MGM Studios. The stakes are just as high in the movie as the ride (about 12 floors high, he he he). Steve Guttenberg's acting has never been better. Dare I say no one's acting has ever been better? And Kirsten Dunst! What a lady! She's going places! The all star cast doesn't stop there! This movie also has the dude who played Lloyd on Brotherly Love whose name I am too lazy to look up here on IMDb! Oh and Jan from The Office was spectacular.

The Hollywood Reporter was right when they claimed this movie to be "A Thrill Ride!" (as seen on the DVD cover, though taken in context they may have actually been talking about the thrill ride). It'll give you Chills & Thrills with its Spectacular Special F/X! (also taken off the DVD cover).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Just amazing !

8/10
Author: Vijayanand Phad from Pune, Maharashtra, India
7 July 2013

Why Watch: Terror with some real fun. Why not: There's nothing like that.

Have fun for 129 Mins

After enjoying a ride at Walt Disney World with same name, I was quite interested to see the movie. No doubt Disney ride & it's beautiful/full of terror place is just amazing. I doubt if anyone alone can really go to that place. They have created exactly what you expect from haunted place.

Story: Fantastic, it's about a 4 people just get disappeared on one night in a hotel elevator and some twists and turns in later. Story makes you stick to chair.

Direction: Thanks for director actually for taking efforts not to run away from the story for a single moment. The story concentrates entirely on it's goal. It's fast, there's no time to think about anything.

Why Watch: Actually, there's no bloody horrifying scenes. There's nothing in the movie that will keep kids away from the movie. Director does his job for making a horror film with what he has. This movie is definitely make to watch with family. Thanks Disney for same.

Why not: Nothing actually to stop you watching. It's 129 mins of pure entertainment.

Overall Ratings: xxxx (4/5 or 8/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good for the kids. Bad for Steve Guttenberg.

6/10
Author: TransAtlantyk from Warszawa, Polska
12 January 2012

If you are planning on showing this to a child they will enjoy themselves and might even get a little fright out of the story. To an adult the plot is very cliché and poorly executed but the children will have a fun time. The characters are likable enough and Dunst and Guttenberg both give decent though movie-of-the-week type performances.

It is very much a low-rent television movie but it is good enough for the kids. There are ghosts and other spooky things but I don't think a parent would find too much to find offense with in the movie.

Watch if you want to show a child something a little more thrilling to them but don't expect too much yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Fun & creepy family horror

7/10
Author: Anthony Pittore III (Shattered_Wake) from Los Angeles, CA
9 June 2009

Among great family "horrors" like Hocus Pocus, The Witches, Monster Squad, and others, Tower of Terror (1997), starring Steve Guttenberg and a young Kirsten Dunst, is often forgotten. This is unfortunate because it's one of the rare family horrors that actually manages to be simultaneously fun, acceptable, and scary for everyone. Basically, like the botched Eddie Murphy film The Haunted Mansion, Tower of Terror is a vehicle to show off a Disney World attraction through a 90-minute narrative commercial. Unlike The Haunted Mansion, however, this film is actually good! The story focuses on Buzzy Crocker (Guttenberg), a journalist for a National Enquirer-esquire tabloid. In an attempt to become a serious writer again (and win back the affection of his old flame Jill (Nia Peebles)), Buzzy heads to the old Hollywood Tower Hotel, where he is told five people mysteriously disappeared in an elevator after the hotel was struck by lightning nearly 60 years prior. Said to be haunted, Buzzy wants to find out the truth and his niece Anna (Dunst) wants to join along with him to help make the story.

While the film is certainly nothing Emmy-award winning, it delivers on all it promises. It's very cheesy, fun, & entertaining, and has quite a few creep-out moments (especially for a kids' TV movie). To this day, the little-girl-in-the-rain scene gives me the chills just thinking about it. It does stick around the typical standard of Disney TV movies as far as writing & directing go, but it manages to work in a way that looks and feels better than even a big-screen adaptation like The Haunted Mansion. Obviously, this is not going to be the film for someone looking for a hardcore frightfest, but for a lighthearted time with or without the kids, I'd highly suggest this one.

Final Verdict: 7/10.

NOTE: Disney is apparently in the process of making another feature-length adaptation of the Tower of Terror ride, this one for the big screen.

-AP3-

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

This movie is for kids

Author: DanceDiva480
20 November 2004

A lot of grown ups say this movie is just bad but most kids seem to like it. Thats because this was made for kids so yeah kids should be the ones who like it. Also you cant go into the movie thinking that this a going to be a great heart warming story or anything but if you think of it as a kids movie with a low plot then you will like it. It does not make you think or anything. I really liked this movie but would not call it my favorite or anything but it was a good thing to watch on a rainy Sunday. The acting I thought was good and the movie had a fair plot. If you want something really great go to the tower of terror ride in Disney world. That is the best ride in the park!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Probably fun if you're under 12.

Author: eskaty from New York
30 October 2004

But this is really a silly movie for adults. The characters do really dumb things. The plot is transparent. Which is more than I can say about the ghosts. On the bright side, it's not the least bit scary, so the kiddies won't get nightmares. If your children must watch it, try not to groan aloud too much.

Better yet, if you want them to develop good taste, let them watch a better kid's movie. Like Harry Potter. Or make them read a book. Like Harry Potter.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history