IMDb > Dennis the Menace Strikes Again! (1998) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Dennis the Menace Strikes Again! (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Actually, it's not all that bad...

Author: MovieAddict2014 from UK
9 August 2003

What can I say, I loved the original and though Walter Matthau is somewhat missed, Don Rickles does a fine job of replacing him. Unlike most films where you can't stop thinking about how much better the original actor would have been, you start wondering who's better: Matthu or Rickles?

Not as funny or sweet as the original but still worth a peek.

3/5 stars -

John Ulmer

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Mediocre, but not terrible

4/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
1 March 2011

I really liked Dennis the Menace with Mason Gamble and Walter Matthau, the Switchblade Sam subplot aside. It was entertaining and cute and Matthau was just brilliant. I was expecting this sequel to be terrible. To my surprise, it wasn't, but it was rather mediocre still.

The costume and set design are not too bad, in fact it is colourful, while the camera angles are quite good too. Don Rickles does do a worthy job replacing Matthau, and Betty White is good value as Martha. The music was also okay at best.

Though I wish I could say the same for the script and story, but I can't. The script and dialogue are not really that funny and come across as childish, while some of the gags are predictable and poorly timed. The story is thin and not always that well thought out, while the direction is lacklustre, the film is too rushed for my liking and is too short. Some of the actors do good jobs, but the characters are not so easy to relate to, they are not very well written at all and come across as silly. Dennis is annoying to me this time around in alternative to cute and funny, while the less said about Margaret the better.

Overall, the film is not terrible, but it is rather mediocre. 4/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Hey Mr. Wilson, It's Getting Stale!

7/10
Author: kylehaines96 from United States
14 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After I fell in love with the first Dennis The Menace movie I decided to check out the sequel, and needless to say I was very disappointed.

The film is about Dennis played by Justin Cooper who irritates Mr. Wilson played by Don Rickles who is being conned by Brian Doyle Murphy and Carrot Top into becoming young again.

This film was just O.K. The Performance from Justin Cooper Is about the same as Kevin Costner ordering oatmeal on wheat toast with a side of Styrofoam it is that boring. Don Rickles is over the top and this movie just was not as much fun as the first. But it is an O.K movie and has some good parts. I recommend it because it is not that bad.

Rated G.

1hr 15min/75min.

**1/2/****

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

This is a family movie, so don´t think your are getting anything els

7/10
Author: Hjortur Scheving (thunder@islandia.is) from Kopavogur, Iceland
4 December 1998

Don´t think that you will get great acting, or a great plot, it is just fun, old slapstick humor. So don´t take this one too serious and just enjoy this one and laugh....

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fun family film

7/10
Author: saint405 from United States
26 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dennis the menace returns in this direct to video film, Dennis The Menace Strikes Again! Justin Cooper plays the next door neighbor Dennis who will never stop bothering his best friend Mr. Wilson played by Don Rickles. This film has it's similarities to the original with Mr. Wilson in a predicament and Dennis helping him out. This film is perfect for you and your family to sit around the old t.v and watch to spend time together. You'll love how each new actor brings their character to life with their acting. Good job Justin, nicely done Don, great job Betty White, and George Kenndy you were swell! And hey Carrot Top, I never knew you would make a kids movie! 7 out of ten, a true family classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Hey, Mr. Wilson! He's Back!

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
1 August 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

This isn't really the sequel to the 1993 big screen movie. I don't really think it is. There's no reference, but anyway, today is Mr. Wilson's birthday and he didn't want anybody, especially Dennis, to know. But he already did. Dennis wanted to surprise Mr. Wilson with a bunch of frogs, snakes, spiders and crickets. Wilson was surprised alright. How we wished that Dennis could find another old man to annoy. But ask and you shall receive, for right at that moment, Dennis's grandfather drove in. And even with Dennis finally off his back, Mr. Wilson still tried to outdue Grandpa in several fields, such as fixing the car and dancing at the carnival. Mr. Wilson met two guys one day. One of them was called The Professor and the other was his assistant, Sylvester, they were con men working on a fountain of youth scam, but Mr. Wilson didn't know that. They sell Mr. Wilson all sorts of things that he believed would make him younger and more vibrant. Including a fake machine, which was destroyed when Dennis mistook cotton candy mix for car wash soap and covered the neighborhood with cotton candy when trying to wash Grandpa's car. That did it. Mr. Wilson declared he and Mrs. Wilson would be moving away, but then the Professor and Sylvester showed up as a bunch of different people, like exterminators, electricians, etc., claiming

there were problems with the house, just to get Mr. Wilson's money. Pretty soon, Dennis comes to Mr. Wilson's rescue and Professor and Sylvester are taken to jail. Even Grandpa decides that being around Dennis all the time was tiring, but he was able to take him to the Grand Canyon, which resulted in Grandpa's RV going over the cliff and Grandpa having to be air rescued. Though not as good as the first, it's still a good movie. Don Rickles is Mr. Wilson. Dennis is played by Justin Cooper (Liar Liar). Everybody was good in their parts. So, if you're a fan of the TV series from the '50s and '60s, or a fan of the comic strip, cartoon, or the first movie, then I recommend you see Dennis the Menace Strikes Again!

-

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Classy production for the kids

Author: kellyadmirer from New York City/Colorado Springs
13 April 2002

This is a cute, good-natured take on the Dennis the Menace story. You have vivid cinematography and appropriate directing/editing, some fine veteran actors doing their bits with utter comic professionalism, and amusing situations. It is all light-hearted, the villains are simply played for laughs (they could have given the Carrot guy more to do), and Don Rickles manages to keep his hammy tendencies under control. To take this seriously or think this is anything more than a vehicle for everyone to have fun is to miss the whole point - there is a definite place for films like this.

Most of all, it is simply nice seeing some familiar faces better known from many, many other roles and venues just buckling down and giving amusing performances that are just right for the characters. Come on, where else are you going to see ol' Don Rickles leap off a diving board or hang from a roof or have a hockey puck stuck in his mouth?

Kids (at least the ones I know) enjoy the Walter Matthau version, and they should this one, too. It is a family show that showcases the adorableness of all involved with tongue-in-cheek shenanigans and knowing silliness. Personally, I think Rickles is better suited to the Wilson role simply because he is inherently hammier and better supplied with expressions of pain and frustration (which are called for constantly in this role). The Matthau version was fine, too, just a little less saccharine and clearly intended for theaters. This no doubt intentionally plays like a tv movie, but a very good one.

A classy production in the Disney channel mold with no pretensions, perfect for family viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Dennis the Menace Strikes Again!

2/10
Author: Jackson Booth-Millard from United Kingdom
26 October 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first live action cartoon based film with Walther Matthau and little Mason Gamble is quite amusing, and this was straight-to-video sequel attempt. Basically Dennis Mitchell (Liar Liar's Justin Cooper) still causes misery for old neighbour George Wilson (Toy Story's Don Rickles), his wife Martha (Betty White) likes her and keeps reminding him he's a child. Mr. Wilson wishes Dennis could bother another old man, and along comes Grandpa (Thunderbolt and Lightfoot's George Kennedy) to take him out a little bit, but it is obvious he doesn't have as much time as he thought. Mr. Wilson isn't just worrying about how Dennis will make his life misery, he is worried that he is ageing too quickly, and cons the Professor (Brian Doyle-Murray) and Sylvester (Scott 'Carrot Top' Thompson) who in various disguises are trying to trick him into giving them loads of his money. Dennis meanwhile is not only causing chaos for Mr. Wilson and one or two other people in the neighbourhood, but he can't rid of "girlfriend" Margaret (Jacqueline Steiger), who wants to marry him. Dennis catches on to the con artists sponging off Mr. Wilson, and he saves the day in the end, and Mr. Wilson sees that Dennis does have his good side, for about ten minutes. Also starring Dwier Brown as Henry Mitchell, Heidi Swedberg as Alice Mitchell and Spy Kids' Alexa Vega as Gina. Cooper might be cute as the disaster prone little troublemaker, and the sequence where he tries to wash a car with candy floss mix instead of pink soap was amusing, but young Steiger is like the four-eyed equivalent of Annie, i.e. irritating, and it is a dull story, unfunny and just an overall boring family comedy. Pretty poor!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Better than the first one!

Author: Danorgan from MARYLAND
3 May 2000

The first Dennis the Menace was funny but this one I got more laughs from and I think it had a better cast because they look more like the ones from the comics. Like, at the beginning of the movie, they show Mrs. Wilson from the comics decorating a birthday cake and then it fades into Betty White making a birthday cake and it looked almost identical! Don Rickles seemed to be a better Mr. Wilson than the guy from the other one. It's just better.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

not as good as the first

Author: myaddress8248 from rockledge, florida
11 August 2002

The first one was practically a classic. i remember being Mason Gamble ( the person who played Dennis in the first one ) age when it came out. and i always remembered "Hey mr. wiiiiiilson!". I saw this one and i was thinking "um, okay???". If you've seen the first one starring Gamble, this one won't be as intertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history