IMDb > The Iron Giant (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Iron Giant
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Iron Giant More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 51: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 509 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant animated feature, easily one of the best animated films of the 1990's

9/10
Author: FrankBooth_DeLarge from someplace
14 August 2005

The Iron Giant is one of the best animated films of the 1990's. It has everything you could ask for in a movie and it covers some great topics. It covers topics such as cold war tensions, childhood, and it even has an underlying message about anti violence and being yourself.

The story follows a gentle robotic giant who befriends a young boy. The giant has no recollection of his origin, or what he was designed for, but the young boy, Hogarth Hughes, tries to teach him about things, similar to how a parent teaches a little kid. At the same time, Hogarth also tries to hide the Giant and protect him from anyone who wants to destroy him. Unfortunately, not everything is well. A shady government agent is bent on trying to find the giant at all costs.

The animation is very colorful and very well drawn. The voice talents are all very good. What's interesting to me is how Vin Diesel, who later went on to be in action movies like Fast and the Furious and xXx, was the voice of The Iron Giant before all of that.

This movie has a great story, and there is a good message underneath it all.

Kids should definitely see this, and adults should too. Even though it looks like a kids movie, adults will be able to get something out of it and enjoy it as well.

Another thing this movie pulls off that many cartoons are unable to is to make you feel certain ways. When Hogarth and the giant are playing around and doing fun things, it puts you in a good mood. Later in the movie, when certain things happen to certain characters, you feel the way they feel.

Director Brad Bird later went on to make the excellent animated movie, The Incredibles. He has made some good movies, so I hope he can make even more good movies.

The Iron Giant is a brilliant animated movie, and as I said before, it has great animation and a great story, along with memorable characters, and a great underlying message. This is easily one of the best animated movies of the 1990's, and it has great elements. There is humor, but smart humor, not mindless fart jokes. There is never a dull moment, or a dumb moment. At certain points, there is action. Normally action at the end of a movie makes it that much more entertaining. It's very rare when you find a cartoon with all of these elements, and when everything works out perfectly. I recommend this for anyone, kids or adults, even teenagers.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

greatest animated movie ever

10/10
Author: lightgiver
7 March 2005

I think this is a secret masterpiece of the movie history. Not too many man knows Brad Bird's unforgettable animated feature, I don't know, why The Iron Giant didn't become a great success, and why didn't write itselves name in the box office history. Maybe the Warner is the guilty, I think they don't spend enough money for the promotion, and the movie ran "under grass" in the theaters. The Iron Giant is a great entertaining movie, however there are some deep emotions and thinks in it. It's more adventures than Finding Nemo, more funny than The Incredibles, deeper than The Lion King, the recall of the Cold War feeling is brilliant, and the final action-scene is... Oh my God it's SO GREAT!. Well, I think The Iron Giant is the best animated movie ever made. MUST SEE!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

In the world of animated flicks this one gets five stars.

10/10
Author: C. Antonio Cavenecia from New York, NY
1 December 2004

Iron Robot is a well crafted film and I'm not surprised to see Brad Bird knocking it out of the park for Pixar with the recent hit The Incredibles.

Obviously this movie is about a Giant Robot and a little boy in Smallsville, USA, so I'm not sure why someone would write 5 paragraphs about it. But I will say this; it is a perfect movie for children and even an old dude like me.

Most of the time animators and directors don't have the talent to breath life into animated characters without exaggerating their actions and reducing them to cartoons. But Brad Bird has a gift, he really gives the machine a soul, one that almost brings you to tears if you get mushy at films (I did).

If you have kids buy it. If you don't have kids, rent it and enjoy a really good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Pure Movie Magic!

9/10
Author: DaySleep (JeffScheidt@yahoo.com) from Seattle, WA
1 November 2004

Some of my friends told me to see this film years ago, when it came out in '99. At the time I though: "The Iron Giant? That's a kids movie right?" Well, now that I've grown up enough to enjoy kids movies, I casually picked it up at the video store- let me tell you this movie is awesome! It was barely advertised in it's day, and despite Brad Bird (The Simpsons, etc.) and a well known cast, "The Iron Giant," unfortunately, is overlooked my most viewers.

Granted, it's not a perfect film. There were some inaccuracies, especially with regard to the military, and some might argue that it runs short at 87 minutes. But this film has more compelling characters than you are likely to find anywhere. If you have a heart for movies, this film will inspire it. Hollywood, if you're listening, MAKE MORE FILMS LIKE "THE IRON GIANT"!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

FORGET DISNEY

6/10
Author: kevin c from HERTFORD, England
21 May 2001

This film does great service to the excellent Ted Hughes tale. It is one of the most beautiful animations of recent years. A film that perfectly captures the anti-Soviet paranoia of the 1950s in the atomic age.

With DreamWorks also producing interesting stuff like "The Prince of Egypt", it shows there is interesting, entertaining non-Disney animation to entertain the family.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Quite simply, this is the best non-Disney animated movie.

10/10
Author: Juni78ukr (juni78ukr@yahoo.com) from Odessa, Ukraine
27 October 2004

I'm so glad that I finally found this masterpiece five year after this movie has been released. This is a really great movie and in my opinion it's one of the best animated movies ever made. I think the biggest flaw of the Disney animation is the complete lack of human characters. Disney and now Dreamworks made movies about fishes, sharks, bears, lions, dogs, bugs, ants, toys, superheroes and many other animals and creatures but you can hardly find single movie with human character from a real life . Well, all their characters can talk, feel and behave like humans but it is not the same. Most of their recent movies were good, funny and entertained but at the same time they look a bit childish and not so emotional, even cold. They are typical commercial stuff and with strong marketing studios often get good box office returns. The Iron Giant is a different case. This is a very intelligent, good-feeling and enjoyable animation with powerful and clever moral messages in its core. At first sight it looks like a kids movie but it's a wonderful movie both for kids and adults. In fact the movie idea could have been unnoticed for small kids. The story happens in 1957 in small town in Maine. It was a years of the cold war and military paranoia, a period of total fear and misunderstanding from both sides. It was really amazing to watch how brilliant was recreated the atmosphere of that period. All begins than the Hogarth, a young fatherless lonely boy found near his home mysterious Iron Giant. I think it was s a clever idea what we'll never know where this giant come from. Different and unknown doesn't always mean bad and enemy. Hogarth helped him and they become friends. He gave Iron Giant some moral lessons and even taught a basic English. But when in the town comes paranoiac special agent Kent Mansley they friendship now is in a danger. He wants to kill the Giant without any reasonable reason, just because he think what this strange robotic Iron Giant can be dangerous. Most surprising and intelligent element in the story was the fact that this movie didn't become a cheesy childish anti-gun propaganda. The message is more wise and intellectual. As Hogarth said we are what you we choose to be. Our acts are always our individual decisions and some things can't be simply bad or good, and only our choice can decide how we can use them. Also you can find in this movie many other strong philosophical ideas and thoughts. Overall, the story of friendship between young boy and The Iron Giant is very touching and emotional.

Now about animation. It was absolutely fabulous. All movie is an amazing work of art. The Hogarth character so perfectly drown that you can easily forget that it's an animated movie. He looks like a real, well acted boy. I have seen almost all famous animated movies and I suppose he is a best animated character I have ever seen. The rest of main characters also very impressive, landscapes, sky and all minor details like ships and tanks were beautiful and looked absolutely real. The Iron Giant was the only computer-generated character and he didn't look as a soulless machine. He becomes a very warm and likable character.

With excellent characters development and interesting story The Iron Giant is an extraordinary intelligent movie. Sometimes it's funny, sometimes it's sad but it's always enjoyable, touching and entertained movie. If you haven't seen it before just go and buy, rent or borrow it. I recommend The Iron Giant to all people irrespective of their age. A solid ten. Thanks for reading and sorry for my bad English.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Iron Giant is a Classic Animated Masterpiece directed by Brad Bird.

Author: adonis98-743-186503 from Greece
10 October 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Brad Bird is an amazing director he has made great movies such as Mission Impossible 4, The Incredibles, Tomorrowland & Ratatouille. I never knew that Vin Diesel was actually the Iron Giant in this movie until some years ago and that made me love the film even more everybody did a great job for this film it's funny, action-packed and most of all it's full of emotion everybody cried when The Iron Giant went against the missile "you stay i go....you are who you choose to be" this film is an underrated masterpiece Hollywood has made sequels to almost every crappy film except the good ones such as this one and the Incredibles but finally after all this years our dreams come true since The Incredibles II is coming out on 2019. I really hope they make a sequel for this film someday and i hope it's actually better than this one but usually sequels ruin everything so it's a 50/50 for me. Like i said an amazing emotional movie that show us that Robots can actually be good and kind and learn more about life than us a perfect 10 out of 10 for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Awesome...

9/10
Author: brunofedericoluque from Buenos Aires
4 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What an amazing movie this is Brad Bird's initial "try-out" to make animation movie (off course The Incredibles is awesome!) and yes its amazing...

The "Iron Giant" is a story that touches you really amazing movie animation is good the story is really good from the moral things about the deer scene and the whole soul thing is really good...

Touching and i honestly cried when the Giant is destroyed (yeah i was 08 when i saw it for the first time) sacrificing himself the "you are what you choose to be" "Suuuupermaaan" and explodes... i cry I could never be more happy i think that is the second time i myself explode out of joy (The first was with T2 when Arnie's revives after being apparently killed by the T.1000 when he impaled him with the crow bar) but at the end when the screw wants to get out of the room and we see every part of the Giant moving trying to reach to the Giant's head to rebuilt himself i explode of joy...

Touching and good for kids and/or adults an amazing movie i approve this movie Bird... awesome...

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Brad Bird's Greatest Achievement

10/10
Author: moviemattb from United States
24 August 2015

I have seen many promos with this movie on television, and was curious to see it. Sadly, I didn't, so I guess you can say that I was lazy for not seeing it. No matter, I did see this on HBO and watch this many times as it aired as a 24 hour marathon on Cartoon Network when Warner Bros and Cartoon Network were promoting "The Powerpuff Girls Movie" with a music video during the end credits of "The Iron Giant." The movie itself feels timeless, and I know this movie will continue to find an audience despite of its failure at the box office when it first came out in theaters. I am more than happy that this movie has a cult following, and there many fans that are embracing it. With that said, "The Iron Giant" its about a boy named Hogarth Hughes who lives with his mother Annie a waitress has discovered a giant metallic robot, who fell from space and befriends him. A beatnik artist Dean McCoppin looks out for the Giant at a junkyard, but federal agent Kent Mansley wants to find the Giant and destroy it. The movie is itself is like Steven Spielberg's "E.T. the Extra Terrestrial," but it acts very much its own movie. I continue to love this movie as I watch it, and I see nothing wrong about it. The movie does look gorgeous in widescreen as it gives it a much epic feel to it in a CinemaScope format. As much as we love animated movies in CGI like Pixar or DreamWorks, but I do think its beautiful to see an animated movie to be all done traditionally by hand instead of having it all done by a computer. The animation is again beautiful with all the rich colors, and details that were all put into this movie. I do love how the movie looks as the movie takes place in 1957. The movie does have some funny moments, and I guess a bit edgy for an animated movie that features some curse words. The movie is made for kids, but its something that adults would enjoy. Hey, when I first saw this movie, I didn't expect to hear any curse words in an animated movie which I thought it was going to be a clean animated movie like what Disney did with their animated movies. I guess both Bird and Warner Bros. want it to take it up a notch. The movie is rated PG, and nothing to be worrying about. Or shocking for that matter. I do love the characters, and really love the way they're designed. Also, I thought it had great voice acting. Jennifer Aniston; Harry Connick, Jr.; Eli Marienthal and Christopher McDonald were all really good for their own roles. Vin Diesel, I thought, was perfectly cast for voicing the Iron Giant, and can't imagine any one voicing it aside from Diesel. Michael Kamen's score to the movie is very good, and nothing more that I can say about. I love its story and the direction that the filmmakers went, and I think its perfectly executed. This is Brad Bird's greatest achievement, and should be given a lot of credit for making this wonderful movie. I have heard that Bird and Warner Bros. are both working on bringing this movie for a limited release this year on September the 30th, and October the 4th for remastering it and presenting two new scenes for the movie. This new cut will be called "The Iron Giant: Signature Edition." I am very excited about it, and would love to see this on the big screen like I never had before. I love "The Iron Giant," and I am giving this movie a 10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A timeless classic which young and old alike can enjoy

10/10
Author: RainMan147 from United Kingdom
5 April 2015

The Iron Giant is such a beautiful film. This was a treasured childhood film of mine and revisiting it after all these years brings back a real wave of nostalgia and sentimentality.

There's something for everyone in this film. It's funny, its original, its heart-warming, its heart-breaking and it's full of positive messages. Children will love this film – after all – isn't it every child's dream to meet a giant, super galactic robot?! And adults will surely appreciate the self-referential jibes to the tensions of the Cold war backdrop; often brought out through the hyper-active, villainous character Ken. On a technical note, the animation is superb and meticulously detailed whilst the voice work is equally impressive.

If you haven't seen this film already, see it. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry and it will make you reflect. For behind this film's warm story lies some positive, practical themes – most prominently it's anti-war message. Don't be put off by the fact this is an animation; this is a film everyone can enjoy. The Iron Giant is a film with its heart in the right place.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 51: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history