Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

15 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

a kid show with some of the best writing on tv

Author: drassoc from United States
30 June 2003

This is a television show that for its three season run consistently had some of the best writing ever seen on television. Comedies are rarely given much recognition and commercial shows for kids, never, but Honey, I Shrunk the Kids episodes are really well-crafted, witty spoofs that stand up over time. The best episode I feel is about Morpheus who rules the dream world. In this show, Nick is worried about dissecting frogs and keeps having nightmares. His sister, Amy, is worried about taking her SAT's. The plot weaves together their fears and their personal strengths and weakness (nick is logical/Amy is intuitive) in a humorous, dramatic and meaningful way. If there were any justice in the world, this script should have won an emmy and be discussed in film and English classes. If this show ever comes out on DVD, it is definitely worth purchasing.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Good/ Not enough publicity

Author: serack (serack@aol.com) from D.C.
26 March 2000

When I first heard of this series, I thought it was going to be a stupid, corny, throw-away series. After a few episodes, however, I was pleasantly surprised. The family is perfectly casted (they're better than their original movie counterparts), and the dialogue is original and funny, which is the basis of this show's success. The plots are extremely corny (e.g. family gets trapped inside of T.V., family harbors a bigfoot couple, and family travels back to the Wild West days with some aliens) but amazingly they are able to pull them off with sharp dialogue and very creative elements (e.g. every comment is punctuated, very humorously, with a laugh track when trapped inside a sitcom, and the bigfoot couple whine and bicker like married humans). It's sad that the show is so underrated and has such a obscure time slot (11:00 AM, Sundays).

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

ha ha funny or weird funmny

Author: boycebrown-1
8 June 2003

The kids are well casted, the parents are loving and humorous. They are truly better casted than the movie. The characters do a fantastic job, and they work. They're compatable, they have loving moments. Even though the fathers problematic inventions can make plans go awry, they make it through and with pleasantly funny moments. The best episode is the one where the father joins a Canadian spy mission, and so does the family. They actually shrunk the moon.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A zany, quirky, and often witty show

Author: Mulliga from United States
26 November 2002

"Honey, I Shrunk the Kids" is the rare film-to-TV series that beats its source material. While the movies are often plodding, cumbersome messes with anonymous characters, "HISTK" the TV series is firmly grounded in Matheson, Colorado, a sort of Anytown U.S.A. where anything can happen. Realistic science is, thankfully, tossed out the window: it's supposed to be a silly romp through suburbia fueled by wild creations from the Szalinskis.

I dare say the casting and acting is better than all the movies. Peter Scolari replaces the recognizable Rick Moranis, and actually does an even better job at the character. Scolari's Szalinski is a family man who invents things that go wrong, but he still has enough charm to make his relationship with his wife and kids reasonable. Barbara Alyn Woods makes what could have been a typical "Mom" character into an interesting, intelligent, and active co-conspirator/victim/commentator on the happenings in the household. Hillary Tuck and Thomas Dekker play the Szalinski kids, with Amy being a witty, sarcastic-but-never-irritating rival to Nick's sensible, science-minded personality. They form a believable family, more believable than most "normal" sitcoms on primetime.

Created by Kevin Murphy (he also created the brilliant "Weird Science" TV show on USA with Vanessa Angel), the show's stories are often breezy, sometimes predictable, but never boring. Unfortunately, HISTK is over (it had a three-season run), but, for my money, it remains a memorable comedy/scifi with truly likable characters.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

genius

Author: thomasgulch from United States
11 May 2002

I too thought that this would be a hacked rip off of the movie. Boy what a supreme surprise. The show was infinitely better then the movie. Then I realised why this series was so clever and so awesomely funny and intelligent -Savage Steve Holland who did the acidic and hilarious 'better off dead' movie, was directing these. And this has even wound up on the Disney Channel - go figure!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Honey, I Travelled Back In Time - A Tale Of Far-out Adventures

Author: ngb.channel from Neston, Cheshire
8 November 2000

This show is under-rated and deserves more acclaim. It is a fine series of far-out adventures which always keep you entertained. The dialogue is witty, the characters are perfectly cast and despite the low plausibility of some of the material this is always forgiven. The plot of some of the episodes ,aliens taking over the world, a corporate leader turning everybody into choose are as entertaining as many blockbuster films, and the storylines make constant reference to fairytales and make satirical references. This deserves to be bigger than it is, catch it if you can.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

New take on common sitcom situations

Author: Thomas from Denmark
5 May 2005

There were two things I enjoyed about this show. The first was the actors who actually did a better job than those in the movies. The second was how the show used (odd) science and magic to put a new spin on the problems facing the cast of countless other family sitcoms.

The boy wishes he was an adult, no problem, drink a potion and he becomes an adult. The girl has a stalker, but here he is an alien. The dad doesn't get the credit he deserves at work, but why should he when his invention turns the future into a dystopia.

But while the cast was great, and the action even greater. The one thing I did not like about it was that despite being a comedy show the dialog simply wasn't funny. I cannot remember a single time I laughed watching this.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Better Than The Movie (or it's silly sequels)!

Author: bluefire_72 from The Background
8 June 2001

Before the review, a brief plot summary: Wayne Szalinski is a brilliant and eccentric inventor working for Mr. Jennings at GENTEK. Happily married with a lawyer named Diane for a wife, he has a son, Nick (who follows in the tradition of his father) and a daughter Amy (witty but a bit spoiled). Neighbour to Police Chief Jake McKenna and his family, Wayne is the inventor of the shrink ray, the time hopper, the fully equipped van, and several other wacky creations which, whie functioning almost exactly as they were supposed to, always somehow backfire, sending the family into situations involving crime, aliens and the supernatural.

For one thing, the cast is far better than the movie. Peter Scholari is amazing at Wayne and far better than Rick Moranis, and these actors potray the characters and their relationships far more easily and with more wit. Now potraying Wayne's job and the people at work, this is like a sitcom... only much better.

The titles are always amusing, with examples like "Honey, The House Is Trying To Kill Us", "Honey, We're Past Tense" and "Honey, I'm The Wrong Arm Of The Law", and the one-liners make James Bond blush. "Deader than a Charlie Sheen flick", "When you have a brainstorm, it's a drizzle", and "The mayor will be back in six months, his term was shortened on good behaviour" are some of my favourites. Like Stephen King, When the plots are explained, they sound silly and corny, ie the van is shrunk and falls into Grampa's drink ("Honey, We've Been Swallowed By Grandpa"), a machine sucks them into the Tv ("Honey, We're On TV), and that Wayne inherits a billionaire's brain to re-animate ("Honey, It's A Billion Dollar Brain"). However, also like Stephen King, they are executed well. Unlike "Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves", "Honey, I Blew Up The Kid" and those other cheap sequels, of course.

The spoofs are also very amusing. For example, in "From Honey, With Love" Wayne is showing some foreign buyers some metal at GENTEK, which they try to steal, when Dalton Pierce shows up. He's a Canadian secret agent, and impressed by Wayne's gadgets. He joins Dalton's organization taking the code letter P ("Oh, I can just hear: 'Let's get P on this one'."). When the superspy is accidently blinded by one of Wayne's inventions, P takes his place, trying to trap a villian on the Canadian submarine Scotia. He finds it has been abandoned and the villian has left explination of his death (the way villians would tell Bond) on the computer, where Wayne can listen like on voice mail, "If you were suprised, press one. If you saw it coming, press two." Wayne then finds a bomb left to destroy the ship, and, when failing to disarm it, uses his hand-held shrink ray to turn it into a tiny explosion. Better than Austin Powers, Get Smart or Spy Hard.

Theres so much more about this show I cant list it all, see it for urself!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Honey, We're on TV!

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
31 December 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[MAY BE SPOILERS]

The popular 1989 Disney hit is now a TV series! Wayne Szalinski, his wife Diane and their children Nick and Amy always get into all sorts of trouble. I'm a fan of the movie so I've tuned in to a few episodes. My favorite was the one where Wayne and his brother Randy are shrunk by Wayne's shrink machine and get lost in a McDonald's. Randy was known to television viewers as Randy Rude, the Science Dude. Wayne and Randy are then taken home as Happy Meal toys! That was a good episode. A very good idea. There were other interesting episodes like the one where the family travels back in time or when an alien friend comes to visit. He eats with his butt. A group of government agents all named after presidents were out to get him.

Peter Scolari looks exactly like Rick Moranis so he was a good choice to portray him. The other actors and actresses are good too. Though the show is not GREAT, it's still watchable so tune in to an episode some time, won't you? You may like it if you're a fan of the series or looking for something to kill an hour.

-

Was the above review useful to you?

I can't get enough of this show

8/10
Author: smallvillefan6290 from United States
15 June 2017

I originally watched this when I was a kid when I think it was going through repeats. I loved every episode I was able to watch. The adventures of an inventor who continually makes world-changing gadgets and devices is just an incredible notion to me (I really love fun sci-fi like this). I loved the movies and, honestly, I think the show is better. All the different inventions and family dynamics were done so well for the show. All the characters are fun and have their own identity which is something I find refreshing and bright.

One thing I absolutely hate is that this series has never been put out on DVD. I think you can buy them off Amazon but I much prefer having a hard copy for collecting sake. As well as just making sure I have a physical object to own instead of being given license to watch.

If you're able to find a way to watch this show nowadays, good luck. Pretty much most main links you could think of don't really exist. Probably have to go off the beaten path if you want to recover this gem.

Just watch the thing if you can. I doubt emails to Disney would wind up doing any good.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history