Very Bad Things (1998) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
485 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
One of the Darkest and Most Brilliant Films Ever
Mr_Vai1 February 2005
I know why people hate this film. They are wrong, but I know why they hate it. They take it too seriously. They are too easily offended. They fail to pick up on the subtle little reminders that Peter Berg includes every once in awhile to let you know, "hey, this is a comedy." The story revolves around a main character, who is soon to be wed to a dominating fiancé, who seems to love the idea of having a big wedding more than she loves her her future husband. Well, our main character and his four closest buddies are off to Vegas for one last night of freedom and fun. In the group you have a pair of Jewish brothers that hate each other, a confused mechanic, and a real estate agent that is a cross between Anthony Robbins and Charles Manson. Well, not to give anything away, but let's just say that some very bad things happen in Vegas, very bad things, and how it will play out after that, well, it is just too entertaining to watch. The acting in this movie is superb, I mean great. The story is fantastic, with tons of hooks and switches. Yes, there is violence and somethings happen, that if they occurred in real life, well, you might be disturbed. HOWEVER, this is a movie! And it is one of my favorite films of all-time. I give it a 10, without hesitation.
106 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very Black Comedy - wonderful
peterdavis30 October 2004
One thing that's great about actors turned directors, like Peter Berg, is that they can be great at eliciting performances from the cast.

Acting is everything in this movie - as the plot spirals out of control, the acting has to maintain the necessary suspension of disbelief. Here it does.

Daniel Stern gives an eyeball-popping tour de force among a cast with some excellent character actors.

A gory and grotesque comedy nightmare masterpiece!
63 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
"Very Bad Things" is in Very Bad Taste, but you may enjoy it!
lemon_magic2 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I am positive that at least 50% of the people seeing "Very Bad Things" for the first time are going to hate it outright. They are going to be offended by the sensationalistic violence, by the sociopathic behavior of the principals, and by the portrayal of women as harpies and of men as buffoons and clowns. They will hate the way the movie portrays marriage and family and children. They will hate the vulgar language and the drunken maundering and the utter charmlessness of almost every character in the film.

And they will especially hate the excruciating progression of the plot. In the tradition of Hitchcockian films like "Shallow Grave", "A Simple Plan", and "Dead In the Water", the events in the plot start out with a of a bad mistake, compounded by the worst aspects of human nature... and then motives of greed and fear cause more mistakes, things start to spiral out of control, and finally one mistake piles onto another until things are so awful that suicide seems like an easy way out...and in fact, an amazingly large number of people end up dead. That can be hard to watch, and it isn't every body's cup of tea.

I fall into the other 50%, the group who enjoy this kind of savage, mean-spirited humor. I am of the opinion that Berg made exactly the film he wanted to make, and that he left it up to the audience to take it or leave it. I think that Berg wanted to hit a top note of wicked glee right away, and to sustain it for as long as he possibly could. And I think that the actors - Favreau, Slater, and Stern especially - came through with hysteric, overblown performances that make the movie exhausting and hard to watch in spots. But there is JUST enough believability to their performances that you feel as if that could be you, stuck in their place.

Special kudos also go to Cameron Diaz for being willing to play such a narcissistic twit, somewhat of a stretch from the sunny, happy All American Girl types she has done so well over the last few years, And to Jeanne Tripplehorn, as the baffled and angry wife of one of the brothers, who knows something is wrong and can't be deflected until she learns the truth.

The final shot, as Diaz's character runs screaming out the dream home-turned-nightmare to collapse gibbering in the street, is priceless, and serves as kind of a cosmic punchline to all the mayhem, murder, and malice of the presetting 90 minutes, and leaves me with a guilty grin on my face and a huge sense of relief - my life looks so good compared to what just went on in the movie that I want to dance like a white guy!

The proper reaction to "Very Bad Things" probably ranges somewhere between a horrified giggles and the drunken bray of startled laughter you would make after hearing a really good "dead baby joke" for the first time.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bad things; good movie
gus12097017 May 2004
Warning: Spoilers
VBT, at it's very least is a polarising movie: the views expressed on IMDB tend to be love it/hate it rather than lukewarm, so it should be credited for animating its audience in that way.

Now, in my view, the haters would probably have been comfortable renting something like 'Independence Day' for sentiment and performances, or 'My Big Fat Greek Crowdpleasing Wedding' if they want an occasional satirical but ultimately life-affirming comedy about love and marriage.

VBT is neither. It's pretty much unpleasant from beginning to end, from prostitution to fratricide, and not in the least life-affirming. Everyone, from the psychopathic realtor played by Slater, to the morally vacuous and weak-willed groom-to-be is grotesque. However, I venture to add: it IS funny, and it IS clever.

Not merely, as Americans like to say, 'gross out' funny, but morally satirical. One of the darkest moments of the film is where the practising Jew character, the most morally developed of all in the movie has an attack of conscience as the group are preparing to dispose of the bodies of a prostitute and a security guard out in the desert.

He says they must observe the Jewish practice that requires the bodies to be interred as complete, which provies impossible as both have been hacked up, wrapped up in plastic and distributed amongst four suitcases. What follows is a gruesome jigsaw puzzle of body parts, culminating a great sight gag of them lying out neatly arranged.

There is a more serious premise behind the story of how five apparently ordinary guys who start out on a bachelor weekend are drawn progressively into more and more despicable acts. One of the great moral questions, from the time of the Greek moral philosophers to our own experience of the holocaust is how men come to do evil.

Are there just some evil men, waiting for their potential to be awakened, or is there the potential in all of us, if we are given the excuse and the opportunity? Or is all that is required for evil, as the axiom states, that good men do nothing? Certainly, in the early part of the movie when the first death is down to an accident resulting from a series of misdemeanours, the more moral and sympathetic members of the groups are crucially transfixed by the possible damage to themselves from coming clean at that point.

It's at that point that Slater's character, the charming, functioning psychopath (he does them so well) is able to seize the initiative, provide what appears to be a practical and just about morally palatable solution to their problem and a path back to normality.

This is the true moral junction of the film; everything beyond that is a satirical commentary on their inability to do the one good thing required of them - come clean at the outset. Trying to read the film as totally naturalistic beyond that point doesn't work - it becomes increasingly absurd and unpredictable for comic purposes.

This is a very wordy movie. The script is subtle and complex, and a large part of that is given over to Slater and his persuasive speeches on why a particular course of action should be taken at a particular time.

In the beginning, he exhorts the group that they should cover up the prostitute's death and provides practical arguments to support this, seizing on the upcoming wedding as a moral defence for the actions they are going to commit. The movie's absurdity lies in the ever more extreme and disproportionate acts the group are prepared to commit simply for a wedding to take place.

But there is a serious point underlying this. One common facet of 'organised evil' by apparently normal, moral individuals is the belief that unpleasant acts are necessary for a greater good. This becomes a device to obscure the badness of the bad things because the intent remains good. Should we judge acts by themselves or their intent?

The film suggests, in contemporary society, we've descended even lower. We are obsessed by the appearance of morality rather than the actual practice of it. A society obsessed by symbols, ceremony and rituals rather than the truths they are supposed to represent. And Cameron Diaz is a wonderful exemplar of that ideal as the ruthless bride who steals the last 10 minutes of the movie.
31 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
As stated previously "One of the best dark comedies ever"!
DCCALPENA8 March 2003
I have seen this movie three times and each time I am amazed, humored, frightened and relieved with the poetic justice at the end. And it's about time that I watch it again. The only problem I have with this movie is the title. Every time I try and remember the name I can't think of it. Maybe it should have been called Bachelor Party or Stag Party. I guarantee once you've seen it, you'll never forget it. Especially when your sons are planning marriage. The plot is great...fun time in Vegas. Girls, gambling, maybe sex. Then the plot thickens and from the bathroom scene on, you will not be able to leave the movie. Have your pacemaker checked, your box of tissue nearby, to wipe away tears of laughter, and enjoy. If there were higher than a "10" rating for a movie, Very Bad Things would achieve it hands down. It's not for children though, so view it after the little ones are in bed. Teenagers are fine, they know more about life then we want to believe. This movie has the comedy, the macabre and a justified ending. Rent it, buy it, watch it!
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
One of the Darkest Comedies Ever
Claudio Carvalho21 July 2015
A couple of days before his wedding with Laura Garrety (Cameron Diaz), Kyle Fisher (Jon Favreau) travels to Las Vegas for a bachelor party with his friends Charles Moore (Leland Orser), Robert Boyd (Christian Slater), Michael Berkow (Jeremy Piven) and his brother Adam Berkow (Daniel Stern) in his minivan. They go to an apartment in the hotel and get crazy drinking booze and using cocaine. When the stripper Tina (Carla Scott, a.k.a. Kobe Tai) comes to their room, she teases the friends and Michael goes with her to the bathroom to have sex. The prostitute hits the hanger for towel with her nape and she dies. The group panics, but Boyd convinces his friends to bury the woman in the desert. However one security guard comes to the room because of the noise and he glances at the dead body. He wants to call the police and Boyd stabs him to death. Then they clean the room and bury the bodies in the desert.

They return home and Adam freaks out with the situation, causing an accident with his wife Lois Berkow (Jeanne Tripplehorn) and children. Meanwhile Laura organizes the wedding party and during the rehearsal, Michael and Adam have a serious argument and Michael decides to hit the minivan of his brother. Adam tries to protect his minivan and is accidentally murdered by his brother. Soon Lois finds a note written by Adam and presses the group to know what happened in Vegas. What will happen to them?

"Very Bad Things" is one of the darkest comedies ever. The storyline of a group of friends that accidentally kills a woman is not original and has been used many times (for example, the 1997 low-budget "Stag"). However, "Very Bad Things" by Peter Berg has improved the story and is little gem of black humor. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Uma Loucura de Casamento" ("A Crazzy Wedding")
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very original and black. It's fun while being depressing. *** (out of four)
Movie-1231 August 2001
Warning: Spoilers
VERY BAD THINGS / (1998) *** (out of four)

By Blake French:

"Allow me to be the first to say that what we have done here is not a good thing. It's definitely not a good thing. But it was, given the circumstances, the smart play." --Robert Boyd

If anything, Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" triggers a response, regardless of the nature. My initial reaction to the dark, disturbing parody was bleak and unpleasant. The movie displays sick, demented behavior and despicable, annoying characters. It's not humanly possible to like anyone in the movie. Christian Slater's character is cruel and selfish. Cameron Diaz displays a whiny, obsessive portrayal. I needed an aspirin during this unfunny mess.

I viewed the film a second time; surprisingly, my opinion differed greatly. I liked all the same parts, but this time, my attitude changed. I watched with more of an open mind-the film is advertised as a dark comedy, but-although a few explosively funny moments occur-the film seldom provokes laughs. It's important to watch abstractly, with no remorse or guilt for enjoying the unholy revelation of events. Everything that happens here makes perfect sense under the circumstances. If you don't expect a light hearted, laugh a minute comedy, then "Very Bad Things" fulfills a long-needed niche in Hollywood.

"Very Bad Things" is, like the tagline notes, a very savage comedy. It does not paint a happy portrait of our society-it's a scathing satire on American values. It's needlessly racist, sexist, and vulgar. It depicts a gross portrayal of modern families, the delicate but perverse male mindset, disgusting bachelor parties, and even the "happiest day" of many lives-the wedding day.

Cameron Diaz plays Laura Garrety, a selfish, whiny bride-to-be. She's getting married in three days to a handsome fellow named Kyle Fisher (Jon Faveau from "Swingers"). She isn't happy with his decision to travel to Vegas with his friends for a bachelor party. They include two bickering brothers, Adam (Daniel Stern), and Michael (Jeremy Piven, who stepped into the role after Adam Sandler stepped out to make "The Waterboy."), as well as an organized but cruel real estate agent named Robert Boyd (Christian Slater), and a quiet mechanic named Charles Moore (Leland Orser).

Once they arrive in Vegas, a stylistic montage sequence shows the five friends gambling, snorting cocaine, and drinking lots of alcohol. They settle in for the night at a fancy hotel, where a stripper (Carla Scott) arrives and lap dances the guys into a frenzy. Michael takes her into the bathroom for sex, but accidentally drives the stripper's head into a towel hook, instantly killing her. The rest of the men panic and want to call for help, but Boyd has a better idea. He wants to bury the body in the nearby desert. The intrusion of a hotel security guard complicates the issue. Boyd kills him with a corkscrew during a particularly unpleasant scene. The rest decide to use a chain saw to cut up the bodies and carry them to the desert in suitcases, where they do indeed put the unfortunate souls underground.

Although not for the easily offended, "Very Bad Things" takes us on a roller coaster ride through immorality and its consequences. It's fun watching the sequences of events, the bodies piling up, and the exaggeration of our most improper impulses. A great cast demonstrates their fine acting abilities. The script, also by Peter Berg, features very smart, witty dialogue. Berg directs the chaos with an engaging style-especially during the scenes in Vegas, and keeps the momentum throughout the movie. If the filmmakers played the material as straight drama, it might have worked even better, but as it is, "Very Bad Things" is a joy ride through harsh satire.
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
One of the best dark comedies ever
MisterWhiplash3 July 2000
I thought this movie was going to suck. But I was wrong. This film ranks among the great dramedies (Dr. Strangelove, Little Shop of Horrors, American Beauty, The Cable Guy) by adding sharp comedy with horrific themes that in the wrong circumstances would make this a hard core porno/horror film. Plot involves a couple (Jon Favreu and Cameron Diaz) who are about to get married, but not before the bachelor party with friends Christian Slater, Daniel Slater and others with stripper (and actual porn star) Kobe Tai. It gets juicy after the party when the stripper gets killed, and body count (and laughter) come up in high dosage. Peter Berg makes a great debut as writer/director by making the characters all bad in equal ways, but also throughout the film trying to redeem they're problems (except for Slater who gives his best performance in a while). Fun all around, even if it's Charles Manson fun. One of the better films of the decade. A+
35 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Gold!
Travis6 January 2001
Depressing? Maybe. Disturbing? Certainly. Tasteless? My God, yes. Brilliant? Without a doubt. If one sets aside one's prudish moral beefs with this film, there is no disputing the fact that this motion picture takes total advantage of its medium. The story is well-constructed, the direction is solid, and the performances are impeccable (they finally found a use for Daniel Stern!). And, sure, it's got some graphic violence, and a pinch of gratuitous sex, but in the end, it does have a moral. I'm sorry, but this is easily one of the best films of the 1990's, and I'll personally spit on anyone who says otherwise.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Sick...twisted...and a lot of fun!
MovieLuvaMatt11 July 2003
If you're expecting a pleasant Howard Hawks-ian comedy, you rented the wrong damn movie! So don't say I didn't warn you. Besides, the video/DVD cover shows Christian Slater holding a chainsaw. How much warning do you need? First of all, "Very Bad Things" works out better if you don't treat it as a straightforward comedy. It's basically a mix of suspense and comedy. Almost like "Fargo." Now before you jump on me, "VBT" is nowhere near as great as "Fargo," but the two films are practically equal in tone.

At least the film contains one element that some comedies lack: the characters AREN'T acting as if they're in a comedy! When the characters panic and do foolish things, they're not contrived comic moments. People do the most absurd things when they panic.

It's hard to explain what exactly it is that makes the film funny. You just have to watch the film. But people really, really mean it when they label this as a dark comedy. Writer/director Peter Berg tries to keep a somewhat quirky tone, though. There are some slanty camera angles and the soundtrack conflicts with the tone of each scene. Don't worry, it's done intentionally. Berg, who's known mostly as an actor in films like "Cop Land" and "The Great White Hype," makes a fine directorial debut, though there is some improper pacing.

Finally, the actors are what make this film most worth seeing. I've always been a fan of Christian Slater, and believe him to be an underrated talent. He seems passionate about every character he plays, and spouts out every line of dialogue like it's poetry. His character is very interesting, as he seems to keep his cool in every situation, no matter how tragic or violent. Daniel Stern's another underrated talent, since he mostly does lightweight family comedies like the "Home Alone" flicks, and does a great job at playing his constantly paranoid character, who's the complete opposite of Slater's. Cameron Diaz gives a fine comic performance as the tightly-wound, hot-tempered wife of Jon Favreau. I think this is one of her most unique performances up-to-date. I think this was before she became such a sex symbol. Now fame has gone a little bit more to her head, starring in such throwaway flicks as the "Charlie's Angels" films and "The Sweetest Thing." She is in fact a very talented actress, but this movie most proves that she's more than just a pretty face. Speaking of pretty faces, Jeanne Tripplehorn also gives a fine comic performance as Stern's tightly-wound wife.

I consider myself an admirer of dark comedies, but any type of film can fail. This one doesn't. It made me laugh and kept me in suspense. And it has a great share of profanity, violence and nudity (that Asian stripper was deliciously hot!!!). "Very Bad Things" is not for the straitlaced, or faint of heart, but for the rest of us--have fun!!!

My score: 7 (out of 10)
26 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of my all time favorite films!
Tiger_Mark28 August 2001
Boy, I have heard a lot of people knock this film and really slam it and I don't get it. Sure, it was dark, pitch dark, but it was funny. Lighten up people. The story picks up with Favreau about to be married to Cameron Diaz, not bad, Jon. Favreau's character seems quite nervous, we will later find out why that is. This is one of those classic abyss films, how much farther down can the lives of these guys go into the dark void. Each decision made leads them into more dire consequences. Christian Slater is at his comedic best, his character is sort of a cross between Charles Manson and Anthony Robbins. Stern has you convinced that he is about to have a stroke. Piven is also quite good. Everybody is good in this film. The film deals with the consequences of how people deal with a crisis. If one takes the moral way out, perhaps everything will be alright. However, if one takes another way to avoid possible punishment, what will be the long term outcome of that? In this film, you see through hindsight, what a tangled web we weave when we first practice to deceive. Great performances, great direction, great movie! **** out of ****!
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very Good Film
Steve Baker14 February 1999
Very Bad Perhaps. Very Good Yes. But definitely nothing in the middle. Very Bad Things will antagonise most. It's certainly not the comedy it's touted to be. It's uncomfortable and it's fascinating.

Very Bad Things is a cautionary tale about the war of the sexes, the battle of consumerism. It's about collateral damage: Friendly fire is liable to take out just about anyone in the suburbs if a wedding is at stake! It's about people who have lost heart, who have forgotten what's really important.

Five male friends are off to Las Vegas for a stag party. The bride stays home to continue the wedding preparations; to plan her day of days. Accidentally the boys kill a prostitute in their hotel room and decide to hush it up, bury her in the desert to avoid the unpleasantness of an investigation. And then the body count mounts.

The boys, and later, just as viciously the bride, take the pragmatic road. That same "let's get on with business, people don't matter" sort of morality that will allow a President to lie to Congress and get away with it, cricket champions to cheat and then be made Captain, politicians to sacrifice their citizens for the sake of overseas companies, and murder to be acceptable as long as no one finds out about it. It's not how you play the game, but you must win.

The boys are pretty average types really except for Robert Boyd (Christian Slater, who was let out of prison to do the shoot!!!). Robert Boyd is a Men's Support Group graduate. He's into self fulfilment and asserting himself but is also the catalyst that tips these average men into horror. The other dominant personality is the bride Laura played by Cameron Diaz (There's Something About Mary). Her single mindedness is astounding. (Cameron Diaz is an astounding actress! Watch her eyes.)

But what is " average" in these suburbs. And what about the pressures that go with paying the mortgage and keeping the wife happy? Very Bad Things finishes with a slow overhead shot of the suburb that has become hell for this lot. The tones are dirty grey. The mood is bleak and hopeless. The residents have sold their souls for a white minivan and a posh wedding. The pressures of keeping up with the Jones have had casualties.

There are continual references to being 'a loser' in the film. Even Kyle's Dad in the Toast To The Groom at the wedding refers vividly to his son's dismal failure as a school football player. The men are liable to crack.

Very Bad Things is about the pressure cooker male bread winners are living in. The fear of failure is lurking menacingly near by. The men in the film appear to be doing reasonably well from a fiscal point of view but when the pressure rises, the girl in the hotel room dies, horrible things happen with Boyd egging them on.

The editing is ferocious, the characters are vivid and the mood is very wry indeed. Don't expect to laugh much but hell, paying the mortgage isn't much fun either.

Men have been reacting to the mess they are in in the 90's but I would say that writer/director Peter Berg doesn't think much of Men's self help groups. Slater's Robert Boyd has twisted self assertiveness to his own ends. These suburbanites commit horrendous crimes, but still, we should all consider what the men in Very Bad Things are up against.

The phrase "you do love me don't you" from the women in their lives has never sounded more manipulative.
28 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Very Bad reviews
madnessx698 February 2003
Warning: Spoilers
People who say this movie sucked missed the point. Scratch that. People who say this movie sucked, don't have any sense of humour. Yes, it's a dark comedy. Yes, it makes you wanna kill yourself at the end of it, but does that make it bad??? Requiem for a Dream makes you feel like crap at the end of it but does that mean it sucks?? I loved Requiem for the fact of it's dark, macabre ending. That it leaves you with a dire sense of desperation at the end, as does this movie, only in a more "comedic" way.

Other reviews say it sucked cause everyone died?!?! What the??? Why does that suck?? 1st off, not everyone dies. Some live to WISH they died, but everyone dies in, lets say, Reservoir dogs and that movie is BRILLIANT!!

I think what most people's problem with this movie was that it made them uncomfortable. If you dislike movies that make you stir in your seat, not cause it blows, but because the content is subversive, then stay away. If you like dark comedies, with an all-star ensemble and tense, gruesome yet strangely funny scenes, then watch this. You will not be let down.

The only comment I will say is the yelling and screaming scenes got to be a bit much at times, but it's excusable considering what's happening to these people, as the movie plays it totally straight faced.

8.5 out of 10
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Loose one friend, loose all friends, loose yourself... I heard that somewhere :D
Kristine4 October 2005
Yes, to quote "Boy Meets World". But those were the only words I thought described this movie perfectly, don't you think? Five friends take their about-to-be-married friend on a bachelor trip to Vegas. All is going well, they're gambling, have a fancy hotel room, doing drugs, drinking, and hire a prostitute/stripper. When one of the friends decides to have a little fun with her in the bathroom, he accidentally kills her on a towel hook, they have two choices: call the police with a chance that they'll get off of not only killing her but hiring a prostitute, or they could just bury her in the dessert. You know the choice 5 men would make, and of course it all goes down hill from here.

I think I watched this movie at a perfect timing. I really enjoyed it because it was funny in a very dark way. I know it's kind of sick, but I did laugh at some of the darkest scenes and really got into it. My best friend, she's about to be married, and she reminds me a lot of Cameron's character. She wants her wedding day to be so perfect that she'll do ANYTHING to make sure of it. Well, not murder, but you get my drift. :D It's a dark comedy, there's no doubt. But I would highly recommend this because it is a good movie for laughs. Just let go and have a little fun and repeat: it's just a movie, it's just a movie, etc.

9/10
20 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Call me crazy, but I loved it.
squee4209 September 1999
In these days of oppressive political correctness (the most loathsome ideal ever to spew from the minds and mouths of those who would attempt to force their value system upon the world,) I am almost afraid to admit that I enjoyed this movie. I really did. I found it to be continuously, outrageously funny. The problem with the world today is that we are afraid to express our more primal instincts. We see something that appeals on a pure visceral level and we are conditioned to respond with shock and horror. Many, many reviewers have said that this movie made them physically ill. Well, I'm sorry to say, but if a piece of fictional work can create such a drastic emotional response, then you need more help than the characters in this film. At least Christian Slater's character has a pragmatic approach to extreme situations. It may not agree with the value system that you have been brainwashed into accepting as "normal," but it sure is effective. In fact, the downfall of all the characters in this film is not some vague idea that evil begets evil or of karmatic retribution. It is that the rest of the people involved in this situation are unable to overcome their own societical brainwashing and act in the same sensible manner as Boyd. As one branded as abnormal by those who conform to the norms of American life, I give this film 10/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Astonishingly Great Film
Jasson Cresanto14 June 1999
I am utterly surprised at the first few comments that I glanced at already. Either people just didn't get it or they lack my standards for a movie. The art of Very Bad Things, at least in my opinion, is that it is the first movie in a long, long time to surprise me every 10 minutes. NOBODY can tell me that they knew what was going to happen. I enjoyed this film thoroughly and gave it a 10+. Superb writing, superb acting***, and superb directing. Cheers.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best comedy in 10 years !
And I thought there was no imagination in the Hollywood comedies any more !

What a great movie and what a big surprise ! First of all, a warning, this is no light comedy. This is not a family movie. This is a very, and I mean VERY dark comedy !

Actually, it is more a TRAGEDY. A very sick, repulsive and violent one. There is nothing to laugh about it. Specially in the ending. BUT YOU WILL ! Believe me, YOU WILL LAUGH !

And you´ll feel guilty for laughing, but you won´t be able to stop. This is a very good idea for a story and originally presented. The casting is perfect and all the actors deliver excellent performances. It´s impossible to choose anyone in particular.

They really turn this film into something special, because above all it´s an actors movie supported by a brilliant screenplay.

This screenplay is so good that you might guess what will happen next, but you´ll never guess how it happens. And the ending is truly unbelievable ! Not to say unexpected !

In more than 10 years, I never saw so many people laughing at a movie. There was a woman next to me completely hysterical.

This movie reminds me of those Warner Brothers, ROAD RUNNER cartoons. An adult version maybe. And it´s a fabulous comedy !

But be warned, this is incredibly sick and violent, so if you don´t have a sick sense of humor, you´ll probably hate it and feel very disgusted by it.

That´s what´s so great about this screenplay. This is not politically correct at all ! I LOVE IT !

Oh, by the way, can anybody spot the MICROPHONES that appear in the kitchen night scenes ?... I love when that happens!

Maybe I´m a psychopath for liking this movie so much, but if you´re like me, you have to see this ! Just don´t get any ideas from it.

One more thing, stay away from people who have already seen it, because they might spoil all the story by telling you to much about it. Go and see this, but go totally in blank. Don´t try to find out anything about this movie before.

You´ll be surprised. And you´ll laugh much more.

ANOTHER WARNING : Don´t eat popcorn while watching this because you´ll choke on it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
great movie
RDebs24 February 1999
This is perhaps one of the most well written movies of the decade. many would choose to argue that point saying that the movie was disturbing and brutally disgusting. others would agree with me, saying that the movie was amazingly funny and truly poignant. either way, "very bad things" aroused immensely strong feelings. this is the true sign of great writing. the charachters make us laugh or cry or yell in anger. i took a bad topic, and every time i wanted to yell or cry i ended up laughing. that is the most amazing thing a writer can do. they can take your emotions and play with them to manipulate them in anyway they choose. anyone who says that peter berg is a disturbed man is probably right, but they are also jealous of his talent.

you should see this movie and laugh, because peter berg's writing will make you do it despite any thoughts against it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good movie
grimsi18 February 1999
I saw this controversial film yesterday and though I can understand that one or two sceens may have been over the top for some people, I can´t understand how anyone can trash it. This is a good piece of filmmaking, very well acted and I really admire Peter Berg for his script and how he tells this ugly story in a way that kept me waiting and wondering all the time what would happen next. The "wanna talk about us"- scene in the end is brilliant and gives the film the right to be called black comedy. Before that this is a black tragedy. Laugh or don´t laugh at this movie, like or dislike the story - but it still is a good film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Maybe the best film I saw of 1998!
jaws!21 April 1999
Very Bad Things is maybe the best,and most entertaining movie I saw in 1998! It's sometimes funny,and some scenes are very funny. It never really lets up. Top notch entertainment. It's maybe the best black comedy movie I ever seen. I give this movie ***1/2 out of ****
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Don't let anyone tell you this is a good movie!!
DoctorJ-228 May 1999
Go ahead and rent very bad things. Go ahead and please watch very bad things. Around 20 minutes into the movie you will be sorry you did. I love dark comedies, I am a fan of violent over the-top movies, and I have seen some of the most perverse horrible flicks ever released (i.e Cannibal Holocaust). I liked Cannibal Holocaust to a degree, but no other movie has ever disgusted me as much as this, with the exception of Carpenters Vampires.

Why did I hate this movie? It is physically upsetting to watch, all the characters scream and rant and are so blatantly stupid and idiotic that this movie probably gave me an ulcer, and I'm 19! No other movie has ever upset me as much as this movie did, Some fans of very bad things portray it has a a satirical depiction of suburban life, or human nature in general. It is nothing but an excuse to show some of the saddest excuses for comedy the writer had: a hooker's head impaled by a coat hanger, some of the most annoying children ever cast on film, and characters so hateful and one dimensional you cannot manage one ounce of sympathy for them.

I know that is the point of the movie, to showcase these male headcases and make a statement about suburbia. But much like vampires, the characters are so dark, misogynistic and downright stupid that it takes away all the enjoyment of the movie. The point of movies is to entertain, or at least get something out of the movie.

I walked away from Cannibal Holocaust, Tetsuo, Pink Flamingos, The Killer and many other violent, bizarre movies entertained and fascinated. I walked away from very bad things physically and mentally upset with myself, my girlfriend and the world in general...a real gem of a movie
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Ultimately, Very Bad Things is disjointed, mildly irritating and far more violent than the pilloried and much finer Natural Born Killers
walshio18 January 1999
"Strip away the morality, strip away the ethics, and we're left with a 105 pound problem. 105 pounds that has to be moved from point A to point B." (Christian Slater as Boyd).

Boyd is an estate agent. He is also a psychopath. Fittingly, given his recent incarceration for violence, Slater is landed the plum role. However, it turns out to be merely an extension of the nutcase he played in Heathers many moons ago. Only not half as good.

Very Bad Things is part of a trio (the other two being The Opposite of Sex and Your Friends and Neighbours) of very nasty American independent movies coming out in the next month or so. Like its contemporaries it's memorable and scabrous.

The tale concerns a trip to Las Vegas for the boys. Kyle Fisher, Favreau (of Swingers fame), is getting wed to snotty ex-sorority girl Laura (Diaz), but before he takes the plunge Boyd has organised some drugs and frolics in seamy Las Vegas.

Accompanied by brothers Adam (Daniel Stern) and Michael (Jeremy Piven) and mute-like Charles (Leland Orser), the big boys' entertainment is abruptly curtailed. Michael, high on coke, has accidentally embedded an Asian (played by real-life porn star Kobe Tai, a.k.a. Carla Scott) prostitute's head to a coat-hook in the bathroom. This is a truly gruesome scene that is interspersed quite cleverly with the revolting sight of two wrestlers on the TV. Noticeably, Berg's direction lingers very uncomfortably on her naked corpse.

The boys panic and before you can say "blood bath", Boyd misuses a corkscrew on a hotel security guard, leaving him wailing like a pig, before, inevitably, slaughtering him. He duly announces: "Surrender is no longer an option."

This kicks-off a lot of histrionic yelling and a burial scene reminiscent of Shallow Grave - shopping for equipment, decapitation and dismemberment. Aiming for humour, these scenes flop laugh-wise. Left in the hands of Tarantino or the Coen brothers, these sequences may have succeeded, but in Very Bad Things there is far too much screaming going on. The Coens would have tempered the chaos and brutality with pathos or a hint of humanity. Director Berg aims hard for "cool", but only achieves bad imitation.

After the horror of Vegas, the utterly charmless set of businessmen return to their suburban homes and go swiftly mad. What ensues is a series of events reminiscent of the classic Ladykillers, interspersed with the occasional witty line. Diaz, in particular, gets some fine dialogue: "The scent of cheap hotel's whore's sex" and "No one is going to rob me of the wedding I've waited 27 years to have." Slater also gets a couple of good scenes where he takes corporate business logic to an insane limit: "I'm a lighthouse, I never go dark."

Ultimately, Very Bad Things is disjointed, mildly irritating, far more violent than the pilloried and much finer Natural Born Killers, contains obnoxious characters and receives a rather good finale that it doesn't really deserve. A film that illustrates just how clever the likes Tarantino, John Dahl, The Coens and David Lynch really are.

Ben Walsh
15 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Very Great Film
jmcgee32128 February 2005
Now five friends are at Vegas, because one of them, Kyle Fisher(Jon Favreau), is about to get married to the beautiful, yet nagging Laura(Cameron Diaz). So Boyd(Christian Slater), along with Charles(Leland Orser), and brothers Adam(Daniel Stern) & Micheal(Jeremy Piven), plan a bachelor of a lifetime. But When things go out of hand and the stripper ends up dying.That's when the whole movie turns over to a new leaf.

When I first saw this movie I did not expect the level of violence that was heading my way. It was so real and so shocking that no I didn't turn my head, but just watched and was amazed at how a movie can level this well on human comedy/horror .Thus this may being one of my favorite movies of all time. Some people found it disturbing, and guess what....there right. This is not for the faint of heart. Although every performance was great, only two stood out to me. 1.) Being Christian Slater psycho performance and 2.) Leland Orser who in my respects made me laugh at he's reactions to almost every gut wrenching scene.Especially my favorite line of the whole movie, "I've got toes,I've got toes,I've got somebody toes."

So be prepared to be very gross out by a Very Great Film called VERY BAD THINGS.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
THE definition of a dark-comedy
Rlnearon29 March 2011
Hands down, best dark comedy ever made! Although in my opinion this film portrays the simplicity of the lying snowball effect and how it always comes to a disaster of an ending. For anybody who can't see past the comedy of it or the "realism" of it, maybe think of it like that. It upsets me when I hear how unrealistic this movie is when the director was OBVIOUSLY not trying to make it realistic. I don't like the comparison to "Something about Mary" though, two completely different genres of comedy.

Laughing at a horror movie and appreciating a true dark comedy are two totally different things, (for those who say they like dark comedies then list off five horror movies!). You will like this film if you enjoyed self-destructing films such as, "Serial Mom", "Fargo", and even "Bad Santa" (in my opinion!)
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews