From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 156 reviews in total 

B Movie so bad its good cliché that actually delivers

6/10
Author: charlesbeutt from United States
2 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I laughed more in this B movie than in most phony Hollywood high budget nonsense.

spoilers

1. Rednecks live at the end...take that Hollywood +1 2. Bruce Cambell cameo +1 3. Growly vampire bats +1 4. Strong at the end, I cared how it turned out +1 5 Mid part a little silly and boring -1 5 Nice twist of vampires robbing bank instead of just constantly killing +1 6, Speaking "mexican" +1 7. No women screaming at men (fu feminists!) +1 8. Cheesy strip club...meh :)

Im gonna watch the 3rd dusk till dawn movie next.

Was the above review useful to you?

The word suck does apply....

2/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
7 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Five criminals get together to rob a bank in Mexico.

On his way to their rendezvous point, one of them gets into an accident, and stumbles upon the Titty Twister Bar.

This little detour sets up the terror that awaits the outlaws and the officers on their trail....

I don't know whether its the fact that I saw the brilliant original the night before, or the lame cameos at the beginning, but as soon as the title arrived, I know it wasn't going to be good.

The film has very little to with the original, and I don't even know where it rests on the Tarantino/Rodriguez movie timeline, which makes it all the more frustrating.

Patrick is there for the pay check, and the rest of the cast just try to to be too cool for school.

The script is a massive problem too, whenever there is a Tarantino type scene, its cringeworthy as it just doesn't ring true.

Action is boring, and on the whole, it shouldn't have been made.

Was the above review useful to you?

Blood Banking

4/10
Author: wes-connors from Earth
15 March 2013

We begin with an "elevator scene" proving directors Scott Spiegel and Quentin Tarantino are very familiar with Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds" (1963). This new version could be called "The Bats". It turns out the opening scene has no real connection to the story following. There will be further stabs at Mr. Hitchcock, herein. Passively enjoying sex with a beautiful woman, while watching television, rowdy Robert Patrick (as Buck) discovers his old "butt buddy" Duane Whitaker (as Luther Hecks) has escaped from prison...

Despite a testicle-crunching visit from Texas lawman Bo Hopkins (as Otis Lawson), Mr. Patrick decides to round-up Mr. Whitaker, rodeo clown Muse Watson (as C.W. Niles), muscular stud Raymond Cruz (as Jesus) and sleepy guard Brett Harrelson (as Ray Bob) to rob a bank. Vampires seemingly related to the first "From Dusk Till Dawn" (1996) movie get involved. It turns out vampires need money, too. This film is good at showing Mr. Spiegel's directorial chops. Alas, it is far too showy; the best examples of this are the dizzying push-ups and safe-cracking scenes.

**** From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money (3/16/99) Scott Spiegel ~ Robert Patrick, Duane Whitaker, Muse Watson, Raymond Cruz

Was the above review useful to you?

Not to be seen as a sequel to "From dusk till dawn"

4/10
Author: Motorskallen from Sweden
28 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was suppose to be a sequel to "From dusk till dawn". First of all, let me make one thing clear - the story of the film had absolutely nothing to do with the original FDTD, with possible exception of the presence of Danny Trejo (who, as far as I recall, doesn't have a name in either of the films other than in the role list, and therefor could have been a whole different character), and a bar called "Titty twister" (which doesn't even look like the original Titty Twister, and hence it might as well have been another bar).

The story has nothing to do with the original (it doesn't continue where the first one ends, for example), non of the original cast (except from Danny Trejo) appears. In Sweden, it was promoted as a direct sequel: according to the back of the DVD cover, they ended up at Titty Twister to wait for the Gecko Brothers (who doesn't even appear).

It is not nearly as well made as the first one. The "special effects" are crappy, the cinematography has little to no resemblance to the first one. The lines are suppose to be cool, probably trying to aim for something like the language in the first movie (that really were cheeky as hell).

If you want to watch a sequel to "From dusk till dawn", skip this and jump to the third one at once. "Hangmans daughter" brings back at least some of the original feeling (playing with western movies the same way as the first one played with action/crime movies, for example).

If you however choose to watch this, please do not watch this as a sequel to "From dusk till dawn", but more of it's own movie. That was the only way I actually managed to endure through the entire film, by thinking of it as a totally different film.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not as good as the original

5/10
Author: Maniac-9 from St. Louis, MO
13 January 2013

The original From Dusk Till Dawn was a fun little genre movie that really was a fresh take on the Vampire genre since it was at first a heist/running from the authorities movie but then became midway a vampire killing flick. Which is also what they attempted to do here just not nearly as convincing as the first time. And while Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino might have their names attached to this movie as Executive Producers I don't know how much actual involvement they had with this project beyond just giving the red light to Scott Spiegel to make his own sequel to their film.

I mean if you're bored late night flipping thru the channels looking for something to watch there's worse things you can watch but not nearly as epic as the first movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Bland Sequel Doesn't Contain the Fun of the First

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
24 August 2012

From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money (1999)

** (out of 4)

Sequel to the cult film has a group of bank robbers heading to Mexico for a big score but instead of cash they find a pack of vampires who want the money for their own reasons. I'll admit right up front that I watched the original movie the day it opened in theaters, loved it and I love it to this day. I had stayed away from this sequel because most direct-to-DVD (or video) products are just cheap knock-offs of the original movie. This sequel isn't as bad as I was expecting but there's still no question that there's not a single thing here that makes it stand out and there's also no doubt that nothing here can come close to the original. I really think this sequel was doomed from the time it got the green light because the lack of any real meant that everything that worked in the original would have to be toned down. The vampire make up here is fairly forgettable with none of them really standing out. The CGI vampire bats are all forgettable and the attack scenes won't leave you impressed. Another problem is that the screenplay tries to blend the crime melodrama with the horror and comedy and it just doesn't work this time. Nothing really blends well together and in the end you're just left feeling that the entire film is trying to remake the brilliance of the first and it just doesn't work. It was nice seeing Robert Patrick who was good in his part as was Bo Hopkins from American Graffiti fame. Danny Trejo has a brief but fun cameo. FROM DUSK TILL DAWN 2 has a somewhat fun final ten minutes with several bodies melting in front of us but this type of fun was long overdue.

Was the above review useful to you?

this movie really bites

4/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
27 June 2012

First movie was great and I loved it and this sequel is not connected to last movie, one of the vamps return to this movie, well for part of the movie as goes missing for rest of the movie.

This movies does take a while to get started as there have a lot of filler scenes ,with some vamps scenes.

The first few scenes with vampires look descent with make up effect as the movie goes on the vampires look less scary

When the movie started get a little less boring, they make movie look messy, it just felt like the movie was all over the place and i did not were to go with and then gave up with rushed last 10 mins.

The effect in this movie was not were near as good as the first, some were little descent but most of it was really bad,

The acting was decent in the movie.

Worth watching a least once 4 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Irritating Directorial Gimmick

4/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
25 June 2012

Scott 'I Wish I Was Sam Raimi' Spiegel ruins what might have been an otherwise serviceable sequel with his obsession for trying to achieve the most idiotic camera angle conceivable. Behind fridges, under beds, on a fan, in a keyhole, within the coils of a telephone cord—almost* nowhere is safe from Spiegel's roaming lens. Without these extremely irritating shots the film would be bearable—it has pretty good effects from KNB, a reasonable cast, and enough gore and nudity to satisfy fans of the first film. But trying to watch with the camera disappearing into every nook and cranny is like having teeth pulled for an hour and a half.

For the record, here are just some of the gimmicky camera angles/POV shots that I managed to note down while watching: lift button cam, security camera cam, bull cam, cool box cam, press-up cam (shot tracks the motion of the press-ups!), dog water-bowl cam, car hood cam, keyboard cam, fender cam, hat cam, broken mirror-ball cam, glass cam, blood cam, bat cam, fang cam (several times), shotgun cam, sex cam, shower cam, hand cam, severed neck cam, plan cam, combination lock cam (shot rotates as the dial is turned), sack cam, metal pole cam, skull cam, rib cam. There were others, I am sure, but you get the idea...

*Ironically, the place I WOULD most like Spiegel to shove his camera is one of the few places he doesn't opt for. Seriously, would an ass-cam shot be any worse than the dog-bowl shot?

3.5 out of 10, generously rounded up to 4 for IMDb.

Was the above review useful to you?

"She sucked me dry"

5/10
Author: lost-in-limbo from the Mad Hatter's tea party.
8 August 2010

This sequel had a lot to live up to, but after coming across nothing more than bad comments and reviews I was surprised I came away thinking isn't wasn't as awful as it's made out to be. Something faced with another such film; "Starship Troopers 2: Hero of the Federation". Sure it doesn't come close the kinetically wild and gory original penned by Quentin Tarantino and directed by Robert Rodriguez with stars like George Clooney, Harvey Keitel and Salma Hayek. So how could it compete, however for a quickly produced, low-budget straight to video effort it passed the muster for me. I was looking for simple fun… bloody fun… vampire fun. Get your crosses ready, as it delivered! Again it wasn't perfect, but it threw you into the chaos, shook you about and then went all-out for its final showdown (which paid homage to spaghetti westerns). Its budget kind of shows in some tacky scenes, but the whole thing went by in no time. It kind of sets up the same formula of the original by slowly unfolding with trivial dialogue exchanges (however not as razor sharp as the original) then erratically breaking out, but this moves the action to a Mexican bank with a heist being planned and then put in progress. What eventuates is a standoff between the robbers inside and police outside. But the officers will soon find out these are no ordinary robbers, and Robert Patrick's character finds himself stuck right in the middle of it.

The b-cast are spot on with their performances with Patrick quite solid in the lead with the likes of Duane Whitaker, Raymond Cruz, Muse Watson and Brett Harrelson as his partners in crime. Bo Hopkins is fittingly good as the sheriff on their trail and Danny Trejo pops up as one nasty bloodsucker. Also Bruce Campbell and Tiffani Thiessen appear in nothing more than mere, but amusing cameos.

Writer / director Scott Spiegel (who brought us the late 80s slasher "Intruder") paints around his low-rent look with inventively unhinged camera-work, stylish imagery, electrifying soundtrack and sardonic humour with a nice sense of irony. It's quite illustrative, as he tries for the same over-the-top flavour with its plastered jolts and free-flowing blood. While the mixture doesn't always come off, it's far from a botch. The make-up FX is decently handled and computer special effects are never too distracting.

Was the above review useful to you?

Shannanigan

5/10
Author: tomimt from Finland
2 August 2006

After I had watched 'From Dusk Till Dawn 2' I felt more than a bit cheated. Not that I didn't have a couple of laughs from all the bloody mess, but I actually thought, that Bruce Campbell, the king of B-movies would have had a bit larger role than he did, as, at least on the DVD cover I own he is billed on the top next to Patrick, he is the type of an actor, who can enhance any movie he is in.

Oh well... This time the Titty Twister bar has only a small part to play in the film, in fact only one of the gang members enters the bar. But let me back up a bit: the plot.

Buck (Robert Patrick) gathers a group of thugs in order to rob a bank in Mexico. After Buck, C.W (Muse Watson), Ray Bob (Brett Harrelson)and Jésus (Raymond Cruz) get to Mexico they stare some porn and wait for their front man Luther (Duane Whitaker) to take contact. And then things go all vampiric.

As a film FDTD2 is very shameless B film, in fact some things make you wonder if that all is deliberate, as the film is full of silly camera angles and views and the dialogue doesn't even try to be smart or clever.

So despite of a couple of laughs I got from the film I can't say I was otherwise very thrilled. The action is very basic, missing every ounce of creativity. But at least the actors look like they are having fun.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history