IMDb > Chicken Run (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Chicken Run
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Chicken Run More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 37: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 362 reviews in total 

Definitely One for the Birds!

Author: da022002 from Red Bud
25 April 2003

"Chicken Run" tells the story about a group of chickens who desperately want to escape captivity at Mrs. Tweedy's Chicken Farm, in England. Mrs. Tweedy (voice by Miranda Richardson) is not a nice old lady chicken farmer. She takes her business very seriously. When a hen does not lay an egg daily, she is condemned to the chopping block. It is a matter of life and death for the hens to escape. Unfortunately for them, they run through one failed escape attempt after another. One of the more out going hens, Ginger (voice by Julia Sawalha), has tried many attempts to escape. She has tried tunnels, catapults and disguises only to be chucked into the coal hole for a week as her punishment. Mr. Tweedy (voice by Tony Haygarth) is positive that the chickens are scheming and planning, but can not seem to convince his wife. Tired of making miniscule profits, Mrs. Tweedy decides to phase out the egg operation in exchange for a chicken pot pie operation. Fortunately for the chickens, Rocky the Flying Rooster (voice by Mel Gibson), an American Rhode Island Red Rooster, literally drops in on the farm - just in time to save the chickens from becoming pot pies. Rocky is on the run from the circus. In the end, the birds are able to escape from Mrs. Tweedy's to a nearby bird sanctuary.

Peter Lord and Nick Park directed "Chicken Run". The intention for this movie was not just to entertain, but also to demonstrate that with hard work and determination almost anything can be accomplished (no matter what species). It also displays charm. Even though the chickens kept failing, it kept the audience hopeful for the characters, wanting them to continue on and be successful.

"Chicken Run" is the first feature length work done by Lord and Park in Claymation. I loved the meticulous details they had used. For instance, the way the mud on the ground was after it had rained to the gray in Mrs. Tweedy's hair made it look real. Even the sound effects made it seem life like. The way Mrs. Tweedy walked in her rubber boots and the way the doors slammed shut on the hen houses. This is a very delightful and brilliantly made movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Cracking movie

9/10
Author: wicketcooke from Barcelona
5 March 2003

Chicken Run, fantastic what can i say, i mean ok so im biased in a way as an avid fan and follower of the aardman animation studios but still, this film succeeds on all levels, some humour for kids and adults alike but what humour. Genius, inspired invention are the words i what i would like to use but as they have already been, although deservedly so, into a cliche that follows this studio after the world was introduced to Wallace & Gromit. The voice casting is spot on with Mel Gibson obviously enjoying himself thoroughly. The animation is excellent, well we expect nothing less. A riot, a great piece of entertainment, techniquely flawless and finally so much fun! If youve not seen it, what you waiting for? 8.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

a clear message

Author: trvwatson from london
29 December 2002

Being not a lover for animations, i was really surprised that i liked this film, partly because it wasn't to long, only (80 mins) but also because you could really appreciate the hard work that went into making it. It has everything in a nutshell, love, betrayal, sad and happy moments, and because its a family film we can all learn from it in different ways. There is a clear message that i picked up on, i thought was quite interesting, thinking of others in a crisis, and not just saving yourself, is the idea that we should all keep in mind, the leading character had all the means of breaking free herself, but refused to do so without the rest of the batch, it was touching, and i think alot of people can learn from it. I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

Claymation Chicken Adventure and Eggsitement For Everyone

Author: pksky1 from Northern California
20 November 2002

This is a claymation full length movie by the claymation slave who brought us Wallace and Gromit on PBS here in the US. I hear tell that Blue Sky 3D animators added a helping hand here, but purists will forgive the author, because it is loyal to the spirit if not the practice of claymation.

The story revolves around the struggles of Ginger, a layer on an egg farm run by a callous and cruel owner and her servile husband. She yearns for freedom and fears the ax that falls whenever a hen quits laying. Sadly, her many efforts are in vain and she nearly gives up until a rooster soars into the chicken yard apparently under his own power. Together, they hatch a plan to teach the hens to fly to escape their prison.

Might actually be a little extreme for some very young or impressionable children.

Was the above review useful to you?

Nice computer animation but this comedy could've been much funnier

Author: soranno from Las Vegas, Nevada
10 November 2002

After the hilarious success of the computer animated comedies "Toy Story", "Antz", "A Bug's Life" and "Toy Story 2", it seems as though the humor in computer animated films is beginning to run dry here. The animation in "Chicken Run" is excellent and the use of an all star cast to provide major voice roles throughout the film is also a plus but this film is usually kind of boring when it is compared to the aforementioned films. It sounds amusing at first but a severe lack of genuine laughs make it a huge letdown in the comedy and storyline departments.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Stroke of Genius

9/10
Author: mgirl from Shibata, Japan
16 October 2002

On the surface, this is a simple children's movie. It has a wonderful theme. Never give up hope on your dreams. You have your typical chicken jokes and some action. Now look under the surface. This movie is a very clever homage to the World War II escape movies. I strongly recommend watching Stalag 17 and The Great Escape before viewing this movie. The jokes and sight gags coming from those two movies are too numerous to count and will keep you laughing throughout. Near the end, it even tips its hat to the original Star Trek. Between Chicken Run and Shrek, Dreamworks has certainly come up with some children's movies that will appeal to adults on entirely new level.

Was the above review useful to you?

the film appeals to all ages!

Author: sharkey000 from London, England
30 July 2002

i enjoyed this movie because of the seriousness mingled with the humour. children can enjoy this movie because of the sheer fun that is the world of animation! the part where they build the plane is magical and uplifting. the seriousness which lies behind certain scenes - the chicken edwina when given the 'chop'/ the chicken pie machine/ makes for perhaps a theme aimed at adults. yet the seriousness never overpowers the fun and laughs. this matched with humour makes for an entertaining watch for the entire family! the movie is a must for children. also a must for all you adults on a weeknight in front of your tv! put your feet up and relax and enjoy this entertaining tale which suffers from no lack of plot, humour, or romance!

Was the above review useful to you?

Enjoyable but could have been so much more...

Author: springroll from Oceania
18 June 2002

This was a great film for kids, a visual feast from the Aardman team, but I just wished it had provided just a little more for grown-ups. I have to agree with previous writers that the script didn't stand up to the quality of the animation, with jokes that just weren't always funny. I wouldn't go so far to say that Chicken Run was 'totally forgettable' however, as this film has stayed in my head since first seeing it nearly a week ago. Where the script fell down the visual gags held it together, and indeed the impressive animation gives one enough to ponder on in technical terms. How anyone can say that this film is too scary for kids I just don't know, even with the beheading sequence. One of the best things about Aardman animation is the sense of reality it envokes in spite of the ludicrous situations, rather than being just another oversensitive piece of fluff production-line flick. If anything I would have preferred a Ginger with a little more gusto since, despite her role as the central character, the delivery of her lines sometimes seemed a bit weak and watery for such a driven leader-of-the-coop type character. If Aardman really wanted to make this film stand out (AND still be a role-model for kids) then instead of ending up in a happy-ever-after type paradise Ginger would be going on to free other hens in even worse conditions: Chicken Run II: The Breakout from Battery Hell. But all in all this was a good evening's light entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

Get set for the newest nugget of absolute film-making brilliance from the guys who brought you the claymated man and dog buddy duo of Wallace & Gromit

8/10
Author: Chris Brown (chrisbrown6453@hotmail.com) from Fresno, Ca. USA
21 May 2002

The creators of Chicken Run! Also brought us, more recognizable to Americans, the Chevron talking cars. Directed by Nick Park and Peter Lord, it stars the voices of Julia Sawalha as Ginger the oxymoronically fearless chicken leader, Mel Gibson as Rocky the Flying Rooster, Jane Horrocks as Ginger's bungling friend, Babs, and Miranda Richardson as the diabolical Mrs. Tweedy, owner of the chicken farm. When Mrs. Tweedy hatches a plan to turn her under-achieving egg-layers into pot pies (complete with gravy and... MIXED VEGETABLES!), Ginger must muster the hens into escape mode. Unfortunately, it turns out to be a plumper task than she had anticipated, and it's up to Rocky -- straight out of the traveling circus -- to further inspire the break-out from the seemingly in-egg-scapable Tweedy's Farm!

To fly right out of the coop, you're in for sheer entertainment! Combining elements of painfully meticulous clay animation (some 24 moved poses in one SECOND of film!), dynamite voicing by the ensemble cast, and one of the most hysterically well-written screenplays you'll experience this summer, Chicken Run will surely go down as a 2000 movie to remember. What's more, it's Rated G -- making this a joyride for the entire family. Not a whole lot of films that year could make that claim. So you're worried that it's rated G huh? You don't have to worry! In fact, adults could conceivably find it even more entertaining than kids. Think Aladdin; think The Lion King; think Beauty and the Beast; then think of all the fun YOU had while watching each of these. And though all of these films I mentioned are Disney, Dreamworks could very well be an integral part in the next evolutionary step in family entertainment. Though the Steven Spielberg/Jeffrey Katzenberg/David Geffen producing conglomerate has sponsored animated features before (The Prince of Egypt and Antz both in 1998, and last year's The Road to El Dorado), Chicken Run is so much more accessible, palatable, and just unadulterated fun than its predecessors.

Is there anything not to like about Chicken Run? There is so little, I have trouble even mentioning it. But then again, it is my job to be thorough. With that said, the story did tend to lull around the middle, but only somewhat. If you start feeling bored in places, do me a favor: Take a look at it from a different angle and admire the technical work that went into those characters. If you're not amazed by that, then very little will thrill you.

And for you movie buffs out there, let me add to your entertainment dollar if I may -- play the "How Many Movie References Can I Spot?" game. First off, since the film is essentially about breaking out of captivity, expect to see homages/references to just about every great prison escape movie out there. Scenes are staged and shot with an uncanny sense of detail to make you sit up and say, "OH! That's from, that's from...." But the allusions don't stop with prison movies. If you somehow manage to hear most of the dialogue through the laughter, you may catch a few things that even the most seasoned film buff will miss, and you'll pat yourself on the back for it without feeling the least bit of conceit!

It's the multi-tiered grade A quality that makes the movie one of the most well-rounded films out there right now -- a rarity coming from a major studio these days. Run out and enjoy the chickens!

Was the above review useful to you?

LOVELY!

Author: kimnil80 from Larvik, Norway
19 May 2002

This was good stuff! A lovely animated feature from the creators of Wallace and Gromit.This is way more charming than many of Disneys and Dreamworks animations.Great story and characters; and very entertaining! It is very funny;I`ve just bought it on DVD.It`s a must have.Rank this with Shrek and Monsters INC.Yes! Time to watch it again...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 37: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history